Customer Reviews


1,382 Reviews
5 star:
 (874)
4 star:
 (300)
3 star:
 (83)
2 star:
 (58)
1 star:
 (67)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joy in Sequoiah, Oklahoma
You know that you like to laugh, as well as feel sober and near tears. This is a book that should please. The well-thumbed trade paperback in our library continues to be checked out and praised. Even since the movie was released, folks still want to read the words of Billie Letts, a comic, heart-felt word crafter.
Such great names as Novalee and Americus Nation,...
Published on March 4, 2001 by dikybabe

versus
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars yech.
When the reader-reviewers' enthusiastic words of praise include "Quickest read ever!" and "Finally, a book you don't need a degree to understand!"-- well, you know you're in trouble. The characters are two-dimensional and utterly predictable; the plot even more so (if that's possible). Billie Letts works every poor-but-plucky small-town-gal...
Published on October 26, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2139 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joy in Sequoiah, Oklahoma, March 4, 2001
By 
dikybabe "admeyer" (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Where the Heart Is (Oprah's Book Club) (Paperback)
You know that you like to laugh, as well as feel sober and near tears. This is a book that should please. The well-thumbed trade paperback in our library continues to be checked out and praised. Even since the movie was released, folks still want to read the words of Billie Letts, a comic, heart-felt word crafter.
Such great names as Novalee and Americus Nation, Willy Jack Pickens, Sister Husband, Moses Whitecotton, make the reader want to see what this is all about. And Novalee's superstition over the number 7 adds to the folksie manner in which Letts develops her story. As to plot, a baby born in a Wal-Mart, why not?
In one episode, you find yourself laughing out loud, and in another there is suspense, sorrow, and a teary eye. Letts gives you the full experience in a book that can't be put down. Add these characters to your friends in print. And read The Honk And Holler Opening Soon, too. While not a sequel, exactly, it does depict another set of Sequoiah, Oklahomans who are a part of another good story.
Letts is a talented story teller. For a relaxing good read, try her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Letts Really Hits Home With This One!, December 7, 1999
This review is from: Where the Heart Is (Oprah's Book Club) (Paperback)
A Walker Percy Award Winner, this believable down-home tale will melt over your senses like warm butter over thick grits! Letts tells the story of a young pregnant girl who is left stranded by her boyfriend in a small town at Wal-Mart. She lives in the store until the night she gives birth to her baby in the middle of the Wal-Mart floor. When the secret of her living, sleeping, eating, and having a baby in Wal-Mart gets out, Novalee Nation becomes an instant headliner! The people in the town fall in love with this seventeen-year old girl and her miracle baby. What she finds in this town full of strangers who open up their hearts to her is a place she can call home. Novalee is full of life and positive spirit. She is determined and overcomes each obstacle thrown her way by never giving up. Through losing her boyfriend, losing her baby, losing her best friend, and losing her job, Novalee still marches on. This book can be read easily in one sitting, no complex words or lengthy paragraphs, just an unpredictable plot full of wonderfully descriptive narative and infectiously endearing characters. Where the Heart Is can be read, understood, and loved by the whole family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She's Blindingly Sweet, August 2, 2000
This review is from: Where the Heart Is (Oprah's Book Club) (Paperback)
Billie Letts has created a novel unlike I have ever read. From start to finish, this book is surprising, unexpected and very creative. She never takes the easy way out, NOR does she do what you think she's going too. Her characters are one of a kind, and unlike any you've ever read about. Sister Husband is worth the price of the book alone.
"Where The Heart Is" is a wonderful book that digs deep into your heart and tells a wonderful story. I found it very enjoyable, a nice and easy read. Certainly one for anybody looking for a good story with interesting characters. Very enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good summer read, June 7, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Where the Heart is (Hardcover)
Some of the previous reviews said that this book was"sugary" and "cheesy." Yes, I agree, it can becheesy, sugary, and all those other food-description words. But it has very good character development and I think it's a cute book. I'm fourteen and can relate to the main character, Novalee, who is seventeen (and by the end of the book twenty-five). When she is seven months pregnant she is abandoned by the father of her baby at a Wal-Mart in Oklahoma. She finds her place in a small community where she raises her daughter, Americus. Forney, Sister Husband, Moses Whitecotton, Benny Goodluck, Lexie Coop, and many others quickly become Novalee's friend. All these characters have different and colorful personalities. It's a fairly long book, but a quick read, and I recommend it to anyone aged twelve and over just for a nice, fun read. It's fast-paced and a lot happens. Also it follows Willy Jack's story as he tries to make it as a musician, and it's almost like a separate book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well written novel, I recommend it to anyone and everyone., July 12, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Where the Heart Is (Oprah's Book Club) (Paperback)
I opened up the book to chaper 1. and from the first sentence, I was hooked. Every word has it's own meaning if you just look. Based on the theme of "the home is where the heart is", you slowly learn to understand that no matter how old you are, what color you are or what religion you are, even a Wal-Mart could be your home. Each character has their own uniquely genuine personality. Once you pick it up, just try to put it down. Every page takes you through a maze of laughter and tears you always seem end up in the same, warm and comforting place, where your heart is, home. In my opinion, everybody and everyone can read it and enjoy. You'll find yourself smiling, laughing, or even crying. I give it 5 stars with two thumbs up. This is #1 on your must read list. "Where The Heart Is" is one of the best books I've ever read and has left some of the Best Seller authors speachless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great weekend read, December 9, 1999
By 
This review is from: Where the Heart Is (Oprah's Book Club) (Paperback)
I started reading this book on Thanksgiving Day and finished it by the following Monday. The book is engaging with its eccentric characters, its lighthearted way of dealing with the pitfalls and tragedies of life, and its overall message of love and redemption. I'll be looking for more Billie Letts books in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where The Heart Is Review, November 9, 2000
By 
Sam (Rhode Island, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Where the Heart Is (Oprah's Book Club) (Paperback)
Meet Novalee Nation, a highly superstitious seventeen year old, seven months pregnant and stranded at Wal-Mart with seven dollars and seventy-seven cents in her pocket. Abandoned by her boyfriend in Sequoia, Oklahoma on their way to California, Novalee will soon discover that home is where your history begins. Wandering in and out of Wal-Mart in a haze of disbelief, she meets three people who end up playing major roles in her life in the years to follow. Moses Whitecotton, her mentor, Benny Goodluck, her inspiration and Sister Thelma Husband, her sponsor on life's journey. Novalee's first nightis spent, after being accidentally, or perhaps fate-ly, locked inside the store, waiting for her history to begin.
Sleeping in Wal-Mart every night, surviving on canned foods from the shelves (of which she keeps an exact detailed price list, in order to pay her debt someday) Novalee sneaks out through the employees entrance into the world of small town, America. The library draws her in search of a cure for her sick tree, and here she finds a man who will grow to love her more than she loves herself. Overcoming her childhood of abandonment and growing up with neighbors, Novalee becomes a woman, a mother and finds herself along the way. Living under the tin roof of Sister Husband's trailer, Novalee loyally works at Wal-Mart while discovering her deep love for her daughter and her passion for photography. She grows to love herself as she develops from the empty frame of feeling unloved and unwanted to the picture of a confident, self fulfilled woman who learns to look fear straight in the eye.
Billie Letts' debut novel is a glimpse into the every day of American people. Letts has breathed life into her characters that lead you by the heartstrings through their stories. I couldn't wait to read the next chapter, yet I didn't want the experience to end. This is a must read, not because it is on Oprah's Book Club list, but because, it is a book for all walks of society, reaching out to people where they live; Where the Heart Is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "What I Will Do For Ms. Smith's English Class", January 13, 2000
By 
This review is from: Where the Heart Is (Oprah's Book Club) (Paperback)
If you are like me, a male high school student who never really looked forward to reading (to say the least) especially in Ms. Smith's English class, then Billie Let's "Where The Heart Is" is a great book to get you hooked into the habit of reading. The reason I choose this book was actually a coincidence that I am grateful for. Like any other high school student I put off picking an independent reading book for my English class until the night before. Eventually I realized that I had no idea where to find a good book... so I naturally asked my mom if she had any recommendations. Immediately she recommended Letts's "Where The Heart Is". I then purchased the book and like all other high school students I let it sit unopened for weeks. Eventually, I got around to looking at the book's cover and reviews while on vacation (which is a big step for me) and saw all the reviews praising the "Oprah's Book Club" winner as a perfect novel depicting a "women's struggle to survive" yada yada yada... I'm sorry if this offends anyone but I automatically classified this book myself as a 376 page "chick flick" (except for the fact that it is a book) and began dreading the day when I would have to read it... Never have I been so wrong(Just don't ask my mom). Bille Letts's "Where The Heart Is" is simply a great feel good book that makes you approach your own life in ways you never imagined. It's filled me with laughter, sadness, suspense, and a motivation to live life to it's absolute fullest. I must also accredit Letts for writing such an excellent story so articulately yet simply smart and fresh that affected and influenced my own writing for the better. In conclusion... never judge a book by it's cover, awards, or reviews.... just read it and find out for yourself! PS I hope some other men out there are man enough to read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book Is Worth Ten Stars, April 27, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Where the Heart Is (Oprah's Book Club) (Paperback)
The only reason I insisted on buying this book at first was because I had seen a preveiw of the movie and I love Natalie Portman, Ashley Judd, and just about every one in it. But the first page pulled me into it, and I couldn't stop until I'd finished it. Novalee Nation is an all American teen, dealing with, an unfortunatly common problem with us teens, teen pregnancy. But she overcomes it and becomes the gem of a small town in Oklahoma. And yes, the dialogue and overall word content of the book wasn't challenging but the things suggested in it were so overwhelming that Billie Letts seemed to know her readers might not be able to handle it. Even though the names are a bit unrealistic, they add spice and character to the book. It was a great read, and I hope the movie does it justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read "Where the Heart Is", February 29, 2000
This review is from: Where the Heart Is (Oprah's Book Club) (Paperback)
"Where the Heart Is" grabbed my attention in the first few pages, and I couldn't put it down. It is both heartwarming and funny. Billie Letts does a fabulous job developing the characters in this book, and I shared their experiences as if they were my own. Novalee Nation takes you on a journey to the heart of Oklahoma, and there she becomes apart of a community and finally finds a place she can call home. You will come away from this novel feeling as if you are apart of the community in Sequoyah, Oklahoma. This is an amazing book, if you haven't read it I urge you to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2139 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Where the Heart Is (Oprah's Book Club)
Where the Heart Is (Oprah's Book Club) by Billie Letts (Paperback - June 30, 1998)
$15.00
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.