Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Educational Series Arrives on DVD
Earlier this year Shout! Factory released The Electric Company on DVD in a best of format. They continue to bring educational young adult programming to DVD with the release of Where On Earth Is Carmen San Diego?.

Where On Earth Is Carmen San Diego? was a popular young adult educational series during the 90's. Prior to the series Carmen Sandiego was popular...
Published on June 23, 2006 by Dorrie Wheeler

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was a gift.
It was a gift and the recipient appeared to like it. I am not sure what else to say. You should have an opt out choice.
Published 17 months ago by David R. Polan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Educational Series Arrives on DVD, June 23, 2006
This review is from: Where On Earth is Carmen Sandiego? (DVD)
Earlier this year Shout! Factory released The Electric Company on DVD in a best of format. They continue to bring educational young adult programming to DVD with the release of Where On Earth Is Carmen San Diego?.

Where On Earth Is Carmen San Diego? was a popular young adult educational series during the 90's. Prior to the series Carmen Sandiego was popular computer game series. The television show further spread awareness about the title.

The Emmy (r) award winning animated series is now available on DVD for the first time. The DVD set includes 13 episodes from the shows first season which began in 1993.

This series is recommended for young adults between the ages of 8 and 14. Younger kids may find themselves lost at times and older kids may not find the show very challenging.

Special features include opening title sequences from around the world, storyboard to screen: The Stolen Smiles, original art galleries and episode trivia.

Where On Earth Is Carmen San Diego? is a great series that teaches about geography and the world.

Disc 1

1. The Stolen Smile

2. A Higher Calling

3. Dinosaur Delirium

4. Moondreams

5. Bonus: Storyboard-to-Screen: The Stolen Smile

6. Bonus: Episode Trivia

7. Bonus: Art Galleries

Disc 2

1. By A Whisker

2. The Good Old, Bad Days

3. Rules Of The Game

4. Chapter And Verse

5. Bonus: Episode Trivia

6. Bonus: Art Galleries

Disc 3

1. Music To My Ears

2. The Play's The Thing

3. Split Up

4. A Date With Carmen (Pt. 1)

5. A Date With Carmen (Pt. 2)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wait is over, October 21, 2006
This review is from: Where On Earth is Carmen Sandiego? (DVD)
Finally! While this series wasn't perfect, I have to admit that it led to my interest (and college degrees) in Anthropology and International Relations. It won't make your kid a geographic wiz but might pique his/her interest where dusty artifacts and flag memorization won't. As an adult some of the educational facts seem simplistic now, but I still appreciate that they attempted to have people speak in the language of the country visited. It had characters that were intriguing (Carmen especially), and most of the plots were good too. I was a big big fan of the show when I was a teenager, and hope they come out with the other seasons. (Though I noticed some of the worst episodes from Season 4 were already released, leading not surprisingly to at least 1 bad review). Seasons 2 and 3 were, I think, the best, so I hope they get released too.

Note: Some facts may no longer be valid at this point in time, like the names of world leaders who were current at the time. But most of the information has a historic basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FINALLY! My favorite animated series is on DVD!, July 23, 2006
This review is from: Where On Earth is Carmen Sandiego? (DVD)
I can't even do this justice with this review but I am absolutely thrilled that the long long wait for this to arrive on DVD is finally over! WOEICS is my favorite animated series of all time, occasionally even better than the X-Men animated series that was popular around the same time as this.

ACME detectives Ivy and Zack work on cases where they are on a nearly perpetual mission to apprehend and catch the 'uncatchable' criminal thief Carmen Sandiego. Together they must decipher the clues that she leaves behind in order for them to solve and recover stolen items especially of historic landmarks.

This series is very educational for younger TV goers especially kids and teenagers and yet even for adults like myself as I was just entering adolescence when this series premiered in early 1994.

Although catering to younger audiences, I am suprised that grandparents have found this to be very entertaining as many older people I know have actually told me that they loved this show. It goes to show how diverse it's fans really are.

As of writing this review, animated TV series have declined back into banal garbage lacking any good character development and no innovation. WOEICS pushed the limits in animation and stands as a landmark series of the 1990s.

This DVD is of the first season of the series and is highly recommended for all CS fans out there, wherever they are!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great for a classroom!, January 9, 2007
This review is from: Where On Earth is Carmen Sandiego? (DVD)
I am a 6th grade Geography teacher and this product has been great in helping my students with Geography. The episodes are only about 25 minutes each. The students always look forward to watching! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where On Earth Is Carmen Sandiego Season 1 DVD Set, December 6, 2008
By 
Seamus Flynn (Woodstock, CT USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Where On Earth is Carmen Sandiego? (DVD)
This is a great DVD. You can finally have Carmen Sandiego on DVD!
Shout Factory will not be releasing Season 2. Still, buy this. It is the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carmen Sandiego rules!, August 12, 2002
...
The God Old Bald Old Days is an episode of where Carmen successfully breaks into the most secured vault in the modern world. The player says that anyone with such high tech gadgets could've done the same. So now Carmen decides to pull of a major theft by not using any of her high tech gadgets during her heist. The rest is history. Go and buy all of the Carmen Sandiego videos. They are all worthy of owning...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mom for educational fun, February 28, 2009
By 
Hawkway (Metairie, LA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Where On Earth is Carmen Sandiego? (DVD)
My kids love this show (9 and 7). They have certainly learned new things from it. It is exciting and has a real kid draw while dishing out the info. My kids watch the shows over and over and now know all the information given in the shows (places, peoples, definitions) by memory.

I really wish they would release additional series. I would buy them immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More clues on Carmen, Please!, June 21, 2008
This review is from: Where On Earth is Carmen Sandiego? (DVD)
Where on Earth is Carmen Sandiego? is one the best Educational shows of the 90s. I wish Shout! Factory has plans to release more DVD sets of the series in the future. Please Shout!, release more Where on Earth is Carmen Sandiego? on DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Finally Found Her!, December 24, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Where On Earth is Carmen Sandiego? (DVD)
Yes, it is true. I have finally found her TV Show. I have been hoping that this series would be released so long ago: So what can I say about this...

If only the biggest reason possible for watching any video: It is both entertaining and educational. Now when I say educational, I don't just mean there is a few things you can learn. I mean there is lots you WILL learn. Although primarily geared at a younger audiance (which means this is perfect for elementary school classrooms!), there is still much I at my age (early 20's) still will learn from this. After watching the whole series once through recently, I knew I would have to watch it at least twice more to learn most of everything it was offering. As well, it is 'Where In The World Is Carmen Sandiego?', so obviously you will learn about things from all over the globe.

Of course, if it were just educational, it would be only classroom appropriate and wouldn't have lasted four seasons. The series does have a good action pace, with well placed humour and deffinite kids appeal. There's even a bit of mystery (through Carmen Sandiego's character -of course). It is a very well rounded show.

Now, the only thing I need to know is... Where in time are the next three seasons coming out on DVD?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, February 12, 2007
By 
E. Puigdoller (Vega Baja, PR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Where On Earth is Carmen Sandiego? (DVD)
Where On Earth Is Carmen Sandiego?, was one of the best cartoon shows back when it aired on tv, educative, thrilling and fun. I highly recomend this cartoon for children and parents as well. Is just a fun way to learn. The dvd box set is really nice too, cant wait for the second season to be released on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Where On Earth is Carmen Sandiego?
Where On Earth is Carmen Sandiego? by Dierk Torsek (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: $3.25
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.