Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magical family film
I first saw this film on VHS, had never heard of it before then. It is a truly magical family film, with excellent performances by the young Alessandro, and his younger brother Marcelo in the flashbacks, as Lazaro. The beauty of Lazaro's innocent life is rudely interupted by the intrusion of Church complicit societal rules of order. This orderliness, including...
Published on August 4, 2005 by C. L. DuBarton

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars son of the fallen priest and the native girl
The reason I can't give this a better review is that I think the story
is at least partly a fabrication on the part of a priest.
Orphans are treated badly in many cultures:
the Jungle Book and Kim talk about orphans in India ; one of them a wild boy such as in this story. The true wild boys that I have read about
are almost never "treatable": they are...
Published on July 15, 2009 by Roger Bagula


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magical family film, August 4, 2005
By 
C. L. DuBarton (Jersey Shore, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Where the River Runs Black [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I first saw this film on VHS, had never heard of it before then. It is a truly magical family film, with excellent performances by the young Alessandro, and his younger brother Marcelo in the flashbacks, as Lazaro. The beauty of Lazaro's innocent life is rudely interupted by the intrusion of Church complicit societal rules of order. This orderliness, including child-prison scenes that remind one of the classic film PIXOTE, although not quite so brutal, are only escaped by a return to the myths of childhood and the mystery of nature. See it with your own youngsters, and talk about it after. Hopefully, Sony/Columbia will release it soon on DVD, it is visually stunning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent family movie !, May 17, 2002
By 
"humana12" (gahanna, ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Where the River Runs Black [VHS] (VHS Tape)
tale about inocence , fantasy, and fate.
the fate of a child who had the opportunity to come back to his origins, his birth place, to play with a dolphin.
the fate of a catholic priest who die for a sin .
the legend of a beautiful woman who lived where the river runs black...
I recomend this movie to anybody who likes to enjoy a good trailer together in family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mix religion and mysticism, October 15, 2005
By 
Paulo R. C. Barros (São Paulo-SP, Brazil) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Where the River Runs Black [VHS] (VHS Tape)
"Where the River Runs Black" (1986 - 97 minutes), directed by Christopher Cain, is a beautiful adaptation for the cinema of the awarded novel "Lazaro", of David Kendall. The film mix religion and mysticism when tells the history of a boy created in the Amazonian forest that is taken to be educated in an orphanage. The tram starts when an American missionary, the idealistic priest Mahoney (the actor Peter Horton) - that works in the region where the waters of the River Amazon becomes black -, knows a mysterious and sensual woman. A child is born of this relation and Mahoney dies. The boy, Lazarus, is played by a 10 years old Brazilian boy, Alessandro Rabelo who carried out the film side by side to the experienced actor Charles Durning (priest O'Reilly). Educated in the forest, Lazarus develops a strange relation with the "botos" (dolphins of the Amazon River). Of the wonderful landscapes of the Amazonian forest to the dirty and hard urban scenes, the story of magical realism maintain its attraction due to the delirious photograph of Juan-Ruiz Anchia. Entirely filmed in Brazil, the film had the participation of some Brazilian technicians and actors as Marcos Flaksman, Chico Diaz and Ariel Coelho
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this movie!, May 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Where The River Runs Black (DVD)
I have long said this was my favorite movie. I have looked and looked for it the past couple of years and could not find it anywhere on VHS or DVD. When this became available I snatched it up right away. The video is pretty poor quality by today's standards. It looks like an old movie off a projector. The audio is clear and overall it satisfied my desire for watching this film again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Family Movie, November 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Where The River Runs Black (DVD)
The Movie made on a Budget is one of the top 10 Foreign Movies of all time in my view. Great photography, wonderful acting, along with a great story line makes this long awaited DVD transfer worth watching. This is a great Buy! I waited a good ten years for this DVD to come out, and the wait was well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long-'lost' program finally comes home., June 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Where The River Runs Black (DVD)
I have had the program on VHS for many years and of course things have changed and the tape is no longer useable. I discovered that while there was some demand for the story, it wasn't easy to come by on DVD. By chance I found that Amazon could supply it, so in I went like a drover's dog. Many thanks Amazon.
By the way there is another story I'd like to pick up, and which it seems the copyriught owners are resistant to allowing on DVD for some reason. You may be able to help there as well -- the story of an American boy accidentally orphaned in the Australian Outback who is rescued by an Australian bushman on his way out to his old Outback home. Called "The Earthling". Another very good story. Sorry I haven't got any other details, like principal characters to help identification.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have seen + very good seller, May 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Where The River Runs Black (DVD)
Very beautifull movie.

Nice surroundings in the original Amazone.
Touching story.
The music is incredibily beautifull. you feel like you are there.
No film is comparing to this one, you must have seen it to believe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars son of the fallen priest and the native girl, July 15, 2009
By 
Roger Bagula "Roger L. Bagula" (Lakeside, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Where the River Runs Black [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The reason I can't give this a better review is that I think the story
is at least partly a fabrication on the part of a priest.
Orphans are treated badly in many cultures:
the Jungle Book and Kim talk about orphans in India ; one of them a wild boy such as in this story. The true wild boys that I have read about
are almost never "treatable": they are feral and not teachable by the age
of this boy. Raised by dolphins is just a pretty way to make a legend
that will sell books and movies.
Not that I didn't like and enjoy the movie:
just that it didn't convince me.
The murder of his mother after being raped is probably the most believable part of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rare Find, May 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Where The River Runs Black (DVD)
I choose 4 star instead of 5 star only because the quality of the movie was not great. This is a movie that was not digitally re-mastered thus the less than perfect picture. It is as if you are watching it on VHS tape. What I like the most about this movie is it has a plot that has not been re-done over and over again by other films which makes for a interesting movie. Recommend for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Family Film, April 26, 2013
By 
William M. Bowen (Plant City, Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Where The River Runs Black (DVD)
This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Love the music and wish it was available on CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Where the River Runs Black [VHS]
Where the River Runs Black [VHS] by Christopher Cain (VHS Tape)
Used & New from: $3.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.