Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Where We All Belong
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 12, 2004
The Marshall Tucker Band's third album called "Where We All Belong" was originally a double album which consisted of a "Studio Album" and a "Live Album". Released in 1974, "Where We All Belong" left no question as to as to why these Spartanberg, South Carolina boys were fast becoming one of southern rocks best groups to emerge from the land of Dixie. By combining elements of country and blues and mixing in some good old rock, they had a sound unlike other groups at the time. "Where We All Belong" enlists such artists as Charlie Daniel playing his fiddle on "This Ol' Cowboy" and Elvin Bishop adding his touch of slide guitar to "Where A Country Boy Belongs", but it's lead guitarist Toy Caldwell who clearly shows why he's one of southern rocks most gifted guitarists on songs such as "This Ol Cowboy", "How Can I Slow Down", and "Now She's Gone" (not to mentioned the "live" songs). The "live" versions of "Ramblin'", "24 Hours At A Time", "Everyday (I Have The Blues)", and "Take The Highway" all of which were recorded on July 11, 1974 in Milwaukee's Uhlein Hall Performing Arts Center absolutely smoke. The entire group is as tight as ever! This remastered version of "Where We All Belong" also contains a bonus "live" track called "See You Later, I'm Gone". The remastering on this disc is excellent with crisp highs, increased midrange and bass. If you enjoy listening to The Allman Brothers Band, Lynyrd Skynyrd, The Charlie Daniels Band and The Outlaws (to name a few) then you owe it to yourself to add this to your collection.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2004
The MTB was a classic "too rock for country, too country for rock" band. They had their own identity forged around the distinctive vocals of Doug Gray and the solid songwriting and unrestrained guitar work of the late, legendary Toy Caldwell. He could jam like a man with the proverbial hellhound on his trail, but he could also write tight and tuneful little three or four minute songs. The studio and live tracks here are the best representation of both ends of the spectrum. The extended live version of "24 Hours At A Time," with guest Charlie Daniels, stomps toward a climax as Doug Gray repeats the line "feel the same way," Daniels saws away at his fiddle and Caldwell pulls off speed run after speed run on his Les Paul. An nice live version of their massive FM radio hit "Take The Highway" is here too, and it's the song that first introduced many fans to the band. The original vinyl double album erroneously lists a credit for a live version of "Can't You See" that didn't end up here (it was on this album's follow-up, "Searchin' For A Rainbow," re-released on CD as well and highly recommended). The recent "Stompin' Room Only" live compilation uses the same Milwaukee versions of "24 hrs" and "Ramblin'" found on "Where We All Belong"...but even that small moment of recycling doesn't prevent that one from being a "must-have" as well.
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2002
The Marshall Tucker bands third release was eagerly anticipated for two reasons. (One), their first two releases "The Marshall Tucker Band" and "A New Life" had made them nearly co-equal with the best of the Southern Rock bands and (Two), fans who had not already seen them perform live (as I had a chance to do just as this album was being released) would get a chance to hear them live. And what a fearless live band they were! Half of this album is live with two songs off the first album ("Ramblin' and "Take the Highway") and one off of the second album ("24 Hours at a Time") getting extended jam here as well as another live gem ("Everyday I Have the Blues") that has Toy Caldwell playing some intro licks that make you feel as if there must be smoke coming off of his Gibson Les Paul.
The other half of this album was cut in the studio and showcases a great piece of western swing/jazz melancholy called "This Ole Cowboy", plus some superb vocals by Doug Gray, especially on "How Can I Slow Down" (the band opened with this tune when I saw them live) which has him really stretching his vocal range; and a sentimental favorite, "In My Own Way", which he sings as convincingly as any song they ever performed. And although Charlie Daniels was not an official member of the group, his fiddle playing contributes essentially to this record and can be heard on the studio as well as the live portions of this record.
All in all, this album finds the Tucker Boys at the top of their form, and to many of us MTB fans, they would not come off of this until several albums later.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 1, 2003
This is Marshall Tucker's best album. It had gone out of print for a long time. It is great to see back!
Musically, Marshall Tucker was the secong best of all the Southern Rock bands (behind the Allman Brothers). They didn't write powerful lyrics like Lynard Skynard, but they certainly could outplay them. Most of Marshall Tucker's material was either love songs or about being a cowboy.
This was originally a double LP. But like all of Marshall Tucker's albums, the sides were short enough that you could easily fit two LP's on one CD.
This album is Marshall Tucker at it's countriest and at it's rockingist (how's that for two made up words). The first half is studio material, that has more of a country twang than most other Marshall Tucker albums. It also features two of the best songs, This Old Cowboy and In My Own Way. These two songs were on the first side of the LP. The second side of the LP rarely got played, but it still has some strong songs, like Scared Me to Death.
The last half of the CD is live material. Marshall Tucker was a fantastic live band. But, unfortunately, there are not too many live recordings available. Other than this album, there is one other live track, Can't You See on Searching For A Rainbow. The real stand out is 24 Hours At A Time, which is the best thing on any Marshall Tucker album. It is a fantastic 14 minute jam, that even features a little bit of Charlie Daniels on violin.
I have an earlier version of the CD. It is a little flatter than the original LP. It is a slight difference and very difficult to tell unless you play them side by side. I don't know if this newer version has an improved dynamic range.
In the beginning, I had written off Marshall Tucker as a band going nowhere. The first time I saw them as a lead act, they only played 20 minutes and then came back for a 20 minute encore. However, the next times I saw them, they really opened up their show. They had a really great version of Never Trust A Stranger. They were opening act for Fleetwood Mac at a sold out University of Arizona football stadium. The starting time for the concert was changed to earlier time, because both groups wanted to play longer.
Marshall Tucker stuck together for a long time, until bassist Tommy Caldwell died. The group continued for a while longer and then disbanded. Singer Doug Gray and reedman, Jerry Eubanks reformed Marshall Tucker into a gospel band. Be careful of any CD's released after 1983.
Toy Caldwell continued to perform on his own and released a few CD's. I really like his CD "Can't You See". It is a little bit rough, but it is one last chance to hear him play live. Toy Caldwell died in 1993.
22 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2011
You wouldn't expect someone from Southern California to love The Marshall Tucker Band so much. No, scratch that. You wouldn't expect a Korean-American from Southern California to love this band so much. But hey, anything is possible in the United States. This Southern Rock band has created such fantastic gems ever since their debut album. This album in particular, Where We All Belong, continues the tradition of long-lasting admirable music. Every song on this album (both studio and live) is performed with genuine American passion. "Low Down Ways" and "Try One More Time" turn out to be my personal favorites, while every track that's live will no doubt please even the most diehard fans ("24 Hours at a Time" especially). Congrats to the Marshall Tucker Band for creating this fine album.

Grade: 9.7 out of 10

Also from The Marshall Tucker Band
Self-titled debut (9.5 out of 10) Marshall Tucker Band
A New Life (9.3 out of 10) New Life
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2014
Having seen the original band live in concert as an opening act for the Allman Brothers they were in my opinion the world's best band. I have attended over 100 concerts and none matched their show. Their albums are unquestionably some of the best songwriting anywhere and in my opinion Toy Caldwell was probably the most talented guitar player this country has ever seen.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2012
It's a toss-up between this album and "Searchin' For a Rainbow" as my favorite Marshall Tucker Band album. This one might get the nod simply because it was originally a 2-record set and there's more minutes music on it. As noted by others, this album also includes some live material, and it's very, very good stuff too. The live songs, combined with the studio cuts give you a good overview of what this underrated band was all about. They were much more than another Southern Rock Band with guitars. Listen to that flute, and the fiddle, and the whole range of instruments. These guys could play, holding their own with anyone on stage. And on this album you get the complete uncut version of one of their very best songs: "This Ol' Cowboy." Sheer majesty.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2014
Partly studio album, partly live. It does justice to this magnificent band from the 70's They ruled with Charley Daniels, the Outlaws, and the Allman Brothers. This is an album when they were at there musical peak. If you like guitar, this is for you. If you like jazz, this could be for you. Don't pigeon hole these guys. There's more hear than meets the reviews
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
The original double-LP was all studio on the first LP and all live concert recording on the second. The entire album is a wonderful introduction to the hey day of this band.

My only problem with this edition is the extra live track tracked into the end. It should have been mixed in with the others instead of being an afterthought, and the album still gets five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2015
This is a great MTB album that I lived by back in my college days. Both albums which were once two vinyl records(one live and one studio) are now on one disc and it sounds great. This Old Cowboy and 24 Hours At A Time are much better on this album than some of the other versions they have produced. The song Ramblin' with Charlie Daniels sitting in on the fiddle is AWESOME! If you are an MTB fan this is a must have album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$7.99
$8.99
$8.99
$7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.