Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Eli Paperboy Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 14, 2009
This book is great if... you need common sense. It lacks real substance and there's no practical advice. If you were looking for some actual example of what to do to get anything the cover says, well, within the first 25 pages he tells you directly this isn't that book. Sorry. I'd definitely save the money if I could go back and I'd avoid this book unless I was lacking common sense.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 27, 2009
Readers looking for plain speaking advice on getting attention and recognition might find some nuggets of interest on the pages of Howard Bragman's book, Where's My Fifteen Minutes?: Get Your Company, Your Cause, or Yourself the Recognition You Deserve. You have to love a publicist with a name like Bragman. He draws from his three decade career in this field to offer readers ways to influence perceptions. For me, I kept turning the pages with a degree of amazement that anyone could spend one's working life in the public relations field if this is what it is all about.

Rating: Two-star (Mildly Recommended)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2013
Despite that he’s still well under age 60, Howard Bragman is a public relations and crisis management legend (except to himself). This down-to-earth, ego controlled and otherwise “nice guy” does a fantastic job of telling the reader both his story and background from his Michigan roots to learning the trade to today where he heads his own, well respected and successful firm. If you want to learn and to better understand the inner-workings of the P.R. world and how it goes hand-in-hand with a celebrity’s career management, this book is definitely for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2008
This book is chuck-full of practical, creative ideas to get your cause (or yourself) some media coverage. It is written in a consise, easy-to-read style that entertains while it informs. I particularly liked the "Ten Commmandments of PR" section with important nuggets such as "All press is not good press" and "They're only building you up to knock you down". PR can be an extremely helpful, cost-effective way to get your message out to the world. This book is a great guide to the ins and outs of the biz from someone on the inside.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2012
This book tells you how to go about getting in front
of PR sources in order to grow your brand. I've done
so but this is very temporary. Nothing good in the
follow up. I'd recommend this but ONLY if you get it
on sale!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2015
Simply the best! The world wouldn't work without PR and Howard Bragman is the most skilled, professional, and accomplished man in the biz! Incredible book that is a MUST have if you want to elevate your know-how and navigate the multifaceted arena of public relations! I keep my copy on me for any moment I can squeeze in a chapter!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2009
If you are curious to know about the differences between perception and reality and how those are shaped in the marketplace of ideas, then this is an ideal read. It is one of the few books that truly captures the essence of what it means to be a practitioner of public relations -- from how the publicity machine works to what steps to take when crafting an effective message. For those who have an open mind and are willing to learn, this is the book that can teach you about the modern world of public relations. What it is ... what it means ... and what it does and does not do in shaping the opinions that affect our day to day lives.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2009
I didn't finish this book. After reading about 90 pages I couldn't stand it anymore. There are a lot of books out there that really help push a message or a cause or teach you something but this isn't one of them. I don't know where the enthusiasm came from for the other reviewers, but this is just a waste of paper.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2009
This book is a fun read and filled with good common sense approaches about how to get the "coverage" you need for a cause you're promoting. I found it useful and informative. I'd recommend it and have given an extra copy as a gift!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2009
An overview of PR, variously defined, by a master practitioner, its focus is mainly the glamour, entertainment and celebrity industries. The book has few guiding principles, and its lessons are more by example than reasoned argument. Not as much name dropping as might be expected, used to the point to primarily highlight a point. A good reality check for anyone interested in developing ongoing media campaigns, and the closing Ten Commandments of PR is a concise summary of the book as a whole.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.