Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars intriguing...
This book was pretty involved and very intriguing. Each of the sister's lives, not to mention all the other characters, really kept me in suspense. The fued between the Taggerts and the Hollands was interesting. The only reason I can't rate this book higher is because the sex gets to be too much. Everyone is constantly having sex and the graphic nature of it gets to be...
Published on November 26, 2001 by lusty22

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, but she really needs an editor
Overall this is a very good story with an interesting plot and characters. However, as was stated by another reviewer, there are way too many repetitions of the same themes, and even the exact same words, over and over again. But even worse than that are the glaring discrepancies. Like this from Chapter 26 "He looked so deeply into her eyes she was certain he...
Published on March 26, 2004 by Dixiesummer


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars intriguing..., November 26, 2001
By 
This review is from: Whispers (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was pretty involved and very intriguing. Each of the sister's lives, not to mention all the other characters, really kept me in suspense. The fued between the Taggerts and the Hollands was interesting. The only reason I can't rate this book higher is because the sex gets to be too much. Everyone is constantly having sex and the graphic nature of it gets to be tedious and boring. Each encounter is the same and I found myself skimming the sex parts to get to the meat of the story. I mean, who cares? I enjoy a good mystery and this story has murder, suspense, romance, the works, but the sex is way overdone. This is the second Lisa Jackson book I have read and it seems as though she tries too hard to throw that in when in reality it is not necessary for a good story. Leaving a little to the imagination is a good thing sometimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, but she really needs an editor, March 26, 2004
This review is from: Whispers (Mass Market Paperback)
Overall this is a very good story with an interesting plot and characters. However, as was stated by another reviewer, there are way too many repetitions of the same themes, and even the exact same words, over and over again. But even worse than that are the glaring discrepancies. Like this from Chapter 26 "He looked so deeply into her eyes she was certain he could see past her pain, past her lies, to the truth. The seconds ticked by in silence and finally Miranda opened her eyes." How the heck was he looking deeply into her eyes if her eyes were closed????? There are too many of these to list, but another example is that early in the book it is stated that Claire found out her husband was cheating on her when she was pregnant with her daughter, and late in the book it is stated that she found first found out when her daughter was two. Discrepancies like this spoil my enjoyment of the book.
However, I did really like the story. This is the first Lisa Jackson book that I have read and I definitely will read more of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complex tale of lies and betrayal...., July 6, 2003
This review is from: Whispers (Mass Market Paperback)
Claire Holland has come home to Oregan after her marriage crumbles. After a summons from her father, Claire returns to find out that the truth about one night sixteen long years ago is finally going to come out. Not only that, but Claire has her own truth to deal with, including the boy whom she finally realized she loved, Kane Moran. After one passion filled night, Kane left town to join the army and Claire never saw him again.
Miranda Holland has her own secrets to keep, ones that she will guard religously. Only two people beside herself know what happened on the night Harley Taggert was killed. After getting pregnant by the boy she loved, Miranda thought she had it all. Although she knew she would have to put her career on hold, it was worth it to have the man she loved and a the baby that they made together. Now all the lies are about to come out and Miranda can only wait for the fall out.
Tessa Holland has been fighting her own demons for all the years that Miranda lied for her. Never being the strong one like Miranda, nor the smart one like Claire, Tessa knew she came up short. Messing up her life at an early age cost her much, but she knew that when all the truth came out, she would be the one at fault.
Kane Moran fell for Claire fast. It was a classic case of the princess and the peasant, but he only now realizes that she felt more than pity for him. Never having much, Kane knew that one day he would amount to something, and when he did, Dutch Holland, father to the three Holland girls, would pay for messing up his life. And it starts with writing the book of the Holland family, to stop Dutch from becoming govenor. Kane soon realizes that his love for Claire means more to him than any fame or revenge and all he can do is protect her and her family as best as he can.
Whispers is a very complex tale of so many lies that I don't know how the reader can keep track of them! These four characters will tug on your heartstrings and the other characters involved will make you sick. In her classic tale of romance and suspense, Lisa Jackson doesn't dissapoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing Fluff, August 17, 2003
By 
Hippolytos (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Whispers (Mass Market Paperback)
Perhaps what I most like about Lisa Jackson's prosaical style is that she's not desperately trying to write "The Great American Novel." Her yarns are about misguided love, heartbreaking betrayal, earth-shattering forbidden secrets, and characters that seem, regardless of their origin, akin to the reader. I began reading Lisa Jackson with "Hot Blooded," and it's sequel "Cold Blooded." I was so impressed with Jackson's ability to draw a reader into her story, I continued with "The Night Before," and am eagerly awaiting "The Morning After" in early 2004. While waiting, I happened across a copy of "Whispers" at Wal*Mart. Jackson notes at the beginning of the tale that this is a rewritten version of a previously-released novel. Having not read the first edition, I cannot say whether this new version is any better, but I was impressed with it nonetheless.
Other reviews summarize the story for you, so I won't waste your time or mine repeating it. If you've read other reviews, you know the novel is told from the point-of-view of Claire Holland, a recently-divorced single mother who has recently returned to her hometown in Oregon at the behest of her battle-ax of a father, as have her two sisters. What is most interesting about this is that Claire is the LEAST interesting of any other character! Perhaps it is just Jackson's keen sense of storytelling, but I found Claire's sisters to exhibit much more demonstrative, and often humorous, characteristics. Or perhaps Jackson has fooled me in that, by allowing a bland character like Claire to relate the story, you become more captivated in what she sees. Either way, Jackson has written a fun, frothy novel full of all the good stuff we're not supposed to like, but really do. Great summer reading, or just great to curl up with in your favorite spot for a few hours. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jackson Cranks up the Heat!, August 27, 2006
This review is from: Whispers (Mass Market Paperback)
Lisa Jackson's romantic suspense `Whispers', is the kind of book I most enjoy taking on a holiday. It is filled with suspense, an easy read, hard to put down but if I have to, I can get back into it easily. Jackson knows how to write the perfect `getaway' novel. She is in my personal top 10, of female authors I read.

As the letter in the beginning of the novel states, `Whispers' is a reprint of an earlier 1996 edition that has been revised and includes "new twists and turns". I believe I read the earlier version as I've read almost all of Jackson's books, but since I'm an avid reader I don't recall for sure. All I do know is that when I want a good read, I pick one of Lisa Jackson's suspenseful novels.

`Whispers' is the story of three Holland sisters, one of whom may be responsible for murdering Harley Taggert, their father's rival's son. Claire Holland returns to her family lake house after sixteen years and struggles to keep a secret that has haunted her. Kane Moran, journalist-turned-writer from the `wrong side of the tracks' (or lake) has also returned. With one purpose in mind. To write the book by getting to the truth and exposing the murderer of Harley Taggert.

In a modern day Romeo and Juliet-like plot, Kane and Claire may come from opposite sides of the bank, but their attraction is raw, appealing and undeniable. In fact, all the characters are developed expertly, the pacing is taut and the revelations make sense. That is what makes a great suspense novel. If you're looking for a solid read with crisp characters and dialogue, check out `Whispers'. You won't be disappointed. Kudos, Lisa!

~ Cheryl Kaye Tardif
Author of Divine Intervention
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex Tale of Sex, Greed and Murder in a Small Town..., August 12, 2003
This review is from: Whispers (Mass Market Paperback)
Very different from what I've read. This is truly a complex tale filled with heart-pounding suspense and a serious whodunnit atmosphere that will keep you guessing.
There is some graphic violence and gritty sex scenes, but the story would not be the same without it.
A tightly woven tale about three very different sisters summoned to their childhood home in a tiny town in Oregon by the lake to their father who is about to run for governor but needs to ask them about a deep secret the sisters have been keeping between them for the past 16 years.
The eldest sister Miranda is an attorney and controls the three sisters and is the main keeper of the 'secret'.
Claire is the middle child who is recently divorced and has two children. She dreads coming back here to where that one summer so long ago changed her life.
Tessa is the youngest and the 'wild child'. Not really doing anything with her life except drinking and sleeping around, she is downright belligerant.
But that summer back in 1980 keeps them bonded and silent and afraid.
Throw in the badboy across the lake Kane and a prominant family who battled with the them all and a mysterious set of murders that one summer and you have a twisted and complex tale that will keep you flipping the pages earnestly and still stunned each time something comes to light.
Ms. Jackson begins with the present(1996), then backtracks to that fateful summer of 1980 where it all began and then back again, giving us a very detailed and frightening look into this small town's secrets. I was done with this book in a matter of hours. It is that good. A keeper!
Tracy Talley~@
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Okay book, September 11, 2004
By 
This review is from: Whispers (Mass Market Paperback)
This was a pretty good book but I can't stand finding grammatical erros and repitition. It was pretty engrossing at the beginning and then I found myself just trying to get to the end to find out who had killed Jack, Harley and Hunter. Weston was a true sleazeball and I had difficulty believing that any of the Holland girls fell into his grips at times. I haven't decided if this book was good enough to move on to more Lisa Jackson books. May give something else a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You can tell it's one of her first, March 3, 2012
By 
Raine (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whispers (Kindle Edition)
I am so glad I started with her later books, because Lisa is a fantastic suspense author. This one is nowhere near her quality, even though she went back and tried to edit it. It took so long to set up the background that I almost forgot why I was reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, June 12, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Whispers (Mass Market Paperback)
This book has it all: mystery, suspense, romance.... I enjoyed reading it. I'd also reccommend Lisa Jackson's book Treasures. I haven't read any of her other books yet, but I am planning to. If you like the romance/suspense stories penned by Nora Roberts, you'll like Lisa Jackson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent storytelling, September 3, 2003
This review is from: Whispers (Mass Market Paperback)
In Oregon, sixteen years ago someone killed Harley Taggert. Influential business mogul Dutch Holland bribed law enforcement officials to close the case because he feared one of his three daughters is the murderer event though he no idea which one committed the act.
Dutch plans to run for governor and wants all family secrets out in the open. He calls his three adult children to his home and asks who killed Harley. DA lawyer Miranda denies any involvement. Mother of two children Claire, recovering from a divorce from a pervert-rapist spouse, also says she had nothing to do with the homicide. The youngest Tessa the rebel tells her dad to stick it. Expecting no more, Dutch hires private detective Frank Petrillo to investigate at the same time that local bad boy turned international journalist Kane Moran has come home to write a book about the murder.
This is an improved rewrite of a solid romantic suspense tale released in the nineties that shows sometimes if it isn't broke, it still may be worth bettering it. Lisa Jackson shows how confident and clever she has become as an author as motives are stronger and easier to understand leading to a more powerful and deeper cast as well as a different climax. Fans of the author and those who enjoy a taut romantic suspense thriller will shout aloud how good this one is, but as a bonus get a copy of the very well written mid 1990s version (don't say a word about storage) to see the maturity of a rising star.
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Whispers
Whispers by Lisa Jackson
$5.23
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.