Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Heart of a Man
Author Rique Johnson has done it again! I thoroughly enjoyed his debut novel "Love and Justice," and thought that the story could not get any better, but boy was I wrong. I decided to take a peek into Whispers From a Troubled Heart before going to bed and I was up into the wee hours of the morning, carefully turning the pages trying to savor this intense story...
Published on May 20, 2005 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars If you liked the first one, you'll love this one
After the explosive ending on the first book, I was hesitant to read the second one (just in case you haven't read the first one, I won't give it away--but just be warned that in the last three pages, there is a shocking ending. However, the second one has a happier ending and less of the graphic violence than the first one. The dialogue is cheesy, but that lends to the...
Published on November 13, 2006 by Mystery Lover in Richmond


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Heart of a Man, May 20, 2005
This review is from: Whispers From a Troubled Heart (Paperback)
Author Rique Johnson has done it again! I thoroughly enjoyed his debut novel "Love and Justice," and thought that the story could not get any better, but boy was I wrong. I decided to take a peek into Whispers From a Troubled Heart before going to bed and I was up into the wee hours of the morning, carefully turning the pages trying to savor this intense story.

Whispers From a Troubled Heart picks up the action right where Love and Justice left off. Reading that book is a definitely a prerequisite. Detective Jason Jerrard is still grieving over the loss of his love, Sasha, but he soon has his hands full. Not only does he have two women who are both head over heels in love with him, but he also has a new case that hits very close to home. Jason must give his all to handle this case, but will giving his all cause him to everything?

Whispers From a Troubled Heart is an intriguing novel that has something for everyone. It seeps with drama and suspense, but also has elements of a tender and endearing romance. I am enthralled with the character of Jason Jerrard and the plot flows well with many twists that will have readers glued to the pages. Rique Johnson has definitely earned a spot on my list of must read authors.

Reviewed by Latoya Carter-Qawiyy

APOOO BookClub
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heather Covington's 5 Star Pick of the Day: Whispers From a Troubled Heart, August 20, 2005
By 
A YOUnity Guild Book Club (CEO of Disilgold.com /#1 Literary Network) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Whispers From a Troubled Heart (Paperback)
Whispers From a Troubled Heart by Rique Johnson is an explosive serial murder mystery set in the town of Virginia City, a place the author knows well as a Virginian. The main character, Detective Jason Jerrard, has just come face- to- face with a past flame named Julie who unexpectedly reappears to claim Jason as her lover at all costs and even if it means turning a gun on his new love, Sasha, and perhaps himself.

What happens next is devastating enough to turn Jason's life upside down, but he hasn't time to breathe or morn the circumstances of an ill-fated love affair gone deadly haywire. Virginia City men are now showing up dead one- by-one all around town.

The murders catch the attention of Mayor Blake who insists on hiring Jason as a private investigator to solve one of the most bizarre series of incidences to face men in the town. The men are brutally beaten, and authorities are bewildered by a chain of events that will entrance readers from chapter to chapter. The rich dialogue, scenic imagery, twisted plot, and masterful story line make Mr. Johnson a veteran in the genre of mystery.

Suddenly, two woman by the name of Crystin and Monique come into Jason's life. One reminds him of his murderous and deceased ex-flame and the other a possible replacement of a woman in his life who was relentlessly killed. Between these two women and heated moments of intense romance, he needs to find out who is beating up and killing the Virginia City men.

Can a woman perform these murders? There is an element of revenge scathing and hinting at an anticipated ending. Mr. Johnson delivers without disappointment. Readers will become engaged in this modern day thriller mystery that questions if Detective Jason Jerrad is sleeping with the enemy, and will he find out before it's too late? Explosive, vivid, concise and well written are just a few words to immaculately describe, Johnson's summer literary blockbuster, Whispers From a Troubled Heart. "A new page-turning mystery writer with an intelligent writing style is born."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Excellent Read from Rique..., July 23, 2004
By 
This review is from: Whispers From a Troubled Heart (Paperback)
The "Boy Wonder" detective, Jason Jerrard, is back. And, "Love and Justice" is a must read before this thrill-of-a-ride sequel. While coping with the loss of his love, Sasha, Jason encounters two women, the wife of a political figure and a woman from his past, who unbeknownst to each other vie for his love and affection. Meanwhile, the Precinct is trying to solve the mysterious cases of three lonely men who have fallen prey to brutal beatings and are left for dead. With Jason's friend, Alfredo, being the only surviving victim, Virginia City's finest sets out to avenge his friend's attack. Rique has done it again with this heart-stopping sequel. He pulled me into the storylines, as I could relate with the characters. "Whispers From a Troubled Heart" contains the elements (action, mystery and romance) that I need to keep me glued to the pages. I'm looking forward to another Jason adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPLENDID WORK!, July 17, 2005
This review is from: Whispers From a Troubled Heart (Paperback)
****5 Stars! The DLNA! A YOUnity Reviewers Book Club

Whispers From a Troubled Heart by Rique Johnson is an explosive serial murder mystery set in the town of Virginia City, a place the author knows well as a Virginian. The main character, Detective Jason Jerrard, has just come face- to- face with a past flame named Julie who unexpectedly reappears to claim Jason as her lover at all costs and even if it means turning a gun on his new love, Sasha, and perhaps himself.

What happens next is devastating enough to turn Jason's life upside down, but he hasn't time to breathe or morn the circumstances of an ill-fated love affair gone deadly haywire. Virginia City men are now showing up dead one- by-one all around town. The murders catch the attention of Mayor Blake who insists on hiring Jason as a private investigator to solve one of the most bizarre series of incidences to face men in the town. The men are brutally beaten, and authorities are bewildered by a chain of events that will entrance readers from chapter to chapter. The rich dialogue, scenic imagery, twisted plot, and masterful story line make Mr. Johnson a veteran in the genre of mystery.

Suddenly, two woman by the name of Crystin and Monique come into Jason's life. One reminds him of his murderous and deceased ex-flame and the other a possible replacement of a woman in his life who was relentlessly killed. Between these two women and heated moments of intense romance, he needs to find out who is beating up and killing the Virginia City men.

Can a woman perform these murders? There is an element of revenge scathing and hinting at an anticipated ending. Mr. Johnson delivers without disappointment. Readers will become engaged in this modern day thriller mystery that questions if Detective Jason Jerrad is sleeping with the enemy, and will he find out before it's too late? Explosive, vivid, concise and well written are just a few words to immaculately describe, Johnson's summer literary blockbuster, Whispers From a Troubled Heart. "A new page-turning mystery writer with an intelligent writing style is born."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RIQUE JOHNSON HAS DONE IT AGAIN!!, January 24, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whispers From a Troubled Heart (Paperback)
After everything that Detective Jerrard went through in Love and Justice. By the way if you haven't read it you need to read it before you read this one here. By him losing not just one person that he loved but two women he loved at the same time. You would think that he would gaven up on love and never love again. I really like the part when the detective and Crystin the major wife had an affair that was something else. Crystin was crazy from the beginning to the end. I'm not going to give away the whole book, but this is a "Must read!!"

Keep up the good work!

Author

Claudia Brown-Mosley(ONE TIME TOO MANY)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The heart of a troubled man, October 10, 2004
By 
The RAWSISTAZ Reviewers (RAWSISTAZ.com and BlackBookReviews.net) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Whispers From a Troubled Heart (Paperback)
When you pick up this book, fasten your seat belts because you will embark on another fantastic journey by Rique Johnson in WHISPERS FROM A TROUBLED HEART. Officer Jason Jerrard is down but not quite out, as he battles his way back from despair, heartache, loss and a battle weary spirit. After the burial of his beloved Sasha, he vows never to love again. But, remember the saying, "never say never."

In his favorite restaurant, Jason meets a beautiful mysterious woman, where an instant and mutual attraction develops. He later finds out that this mysterious woman is none other than the wife of Virginia City's Mayor, who is running for re-election. Also, a woman from his past reappears in the form of Monique, who happens to be his first love. Both women believe they are truly in love with Jason and want his love in return.

As these two women vie for his affection, Jason finds himself assigned to a case where men are being beaten to death. When his friend Alfredo is beaten and left for dead, he makes it his business to find the culprit, with a warning from the Captain to do it by the book. The Captain's warning comes a little late as Jason faces off with the suspect and meets a challenge worse than he had anticipated. When this is over, will Jason's job remain in tact? Will he lose a chance at love again?

This novel is a sequel to Love and Justice and it doesn't disappoint. In fact, the action seems to keep rolling right along without a lull between novels. The masterfully done twists and turns as well as the steamy sex scenes will have you glued to the pages until finished. As his beloved Sasha speaks to his heart to guide him through his misery and pain, past rage and resentment, I saw emerge a stronger but very lovable hero in Officer Jerrard. This very troubled man battled from the depths of despair to not only love again, but also continue to fight crime in his city. He showed that even in heartache there is a blessing.

Reviewed by Brenda M. Lisbon

of The RAWSISTAZ Reviewers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rollcoaster ride of suspense, July 27, 2006
By 
Belle Lou Bonnet "Nay" (San Antonio, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Whispers From a Troubled Heart (Paperback)
Whispers from a Troubled Heart from start to finish is full of suspense and twist. Each breath that you take while reading it prepares you for the dips and turns it takes on a non-stop rollcoaster ride of suspense. The romance and love found and renewed by Det Jerrard is deep and truly comes to life and embraced my heart. I fell in love with Det. Jarred in Love & Justice, but in Whispers from a Troubled Heart, Monique was my girl!

Every word on each page of this book came to life for me, the characters and their roles were very real and intense. Rique's writing style is so strong and captiving, I hated to have to read the last page of this book, as I can only wait and imagine what he has in store for us next in the Det. Jerrard series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars If you liked the first one, you'll love this one, November 13, 2006
This review is from: Whispers From a Troubled Heart (Paperback)
After the explosive ending on the first book, I was hesitant to read the second one (just in case you haven't read the first one, I won't give it away--but just be warned that in the last three pages, there is a shocking ending. However, the second one has a happier ending and less of the graphic violence than the first one. The dialogue is cheesy, but that lends to the development of the main character--you get a good mental image of what he's like. One thing that I really liked about the book is that the author has a way of portraying his characters that is based on personality--he never mentions a character's nationality but allows you to visualize the person based on their characteristics and dialogue, not race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read for all!!!, August 3, 2004
By 
R. A Rippy "rarippy" (Shelbyville, Tennessee United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whispers From a Troubled Heart (Paperback)
I agree with everything from the previous review written by fiveofsix about the new installment to the Jason series. After the shocking ending to the first novel 'Love & Justice' you can't wait to see what type of drama will happen next with Jason. Rique doesn't disappoint you with 'Whispers'! Just when you think you know what is about to happen, Rique takes the story in a different direction that blows you away. I can hardly wait for the third installment of the Jason saga!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Tangled Web, November 6, 2006
By 
T. Rhythm Knight (Coral Springs, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Whispers From a Troubled Heart (Paperback)
In Whispers From a Troubled Heart by Rique Johnson, Detective Jason Jerrard wakes up from a coma, after being shot, with the realization that he was not the only target of his ex-wife. As memories come flooding back, he discovers his ex-wife not only killed herself, but Sasha, his beloved girlfriend as well. Heartbroken, Jason dives back into work before the doctors clear him for duty. It does not take long for Jason to find himself in another love-triangle with Monique, an old flame from his past, and a mystery woman he meets in a restaurant. Jason's love-life along with a killer who is watching his ever y move and you have an exciting mix of drama and suspense.

Although I found the plot interesting, I did not find Jason's actions plausible. For instance, as the story opens, Jason is heartbroken because the love of his life has been killed. He is painted as being so distraught that the reader can not help but to wonder how he will go on without the woman he loved with all of his heart. Within days, Jason carries on an affair with a married woman and soon begins a romance with his old flame, Monique. Even though he says he needs time to get over the death of Sasha, he moves Monique into his home knowing that she is in love with him and wants a future. Despite an unrealistic portrayal of someone presented as being knee-deep in grief, Johnson moved the story and kept me interested as I flipped pages to see where Jason's fate would end.

If you like suspense and drama, Whispers in the Dark will prove an interesting read.

T. RHYTHM KNIGHT

APOOO BookClub
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Whispers From a Troubled Heart
Whispers From a Troubled Heart by Rique Johnson (Paperback - August 3, 2004)
$19.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.