Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the original.
One of the best albums ever. This is the original does not get any better. Raw and not remixed the way it should be.
Published 1 month ago by M. Unger

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lightning Strikes Hard
It is a great compilation of Diamond Head songs, but as far as the music quality goes, it was a little disappointing. Am I Evil? is probably the best song of the bunch.
Published on April 19, 2009 by K. Reeves


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the original., March 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: White Album (Audio CD)
One of the best albums ever. This is the original does not get any better. Raw and not remixed the way it should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best edition for the best NWOBHM album of all time., February 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: White Album (Audio CD)
The mighty Diamond Head needs no introduction. This White Album/Lightning To The Nations is the best edition i've seen in a long time, even better than the not so great "Deluxe" version. This is a must have for any heavy metal collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential must have for any metal collection, February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: White Album (Audio CD)
It was great old school hard rocking NWOBHM. Metallica may have covered them but they have nothing on the original version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OLD SCHOOL METAL FOR THE MASSES, May 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: White Album (Audio CD)
I'VE HEARD SO MUCH ABOUT THIS ALBUM SINCE COLLECTING METAL THAT I HAD TO FINALLY BUY IT. I LOVED IT!
VERY COOL RIFFS AND THE SONGS EVERYBODY WHO LIKES METALLICA SHOULD LOVE! I SHOULDN 'T HAVE WAITED THAT LONG TO GET THIS , BUT I 'M GLAD I FINALLY GOT IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foundation of Classic Speed Metal, July 25, 2001
By 
"heavymetalgod" (Straight from Hell) - See all my reviews
This review is from: White Album (Audio CD)
Before we had the gods of Metal Metallica, we were treated with a hardcore debut album from Diamond Head. This album, released for the first time back in 1981, and was the first of many speed metal albums i have added to my collection over the years. These guys have more riffs in one song than Black sabbath have on an entire album. The riffs are the most stand out part of this album, being fast and heavy, and extremely hard to play. A few track favourites are all of them. This is the kind of album you can put on and listen from start to finish, without once even thinking of skipping a track. If you are new to the genre, or have been a long time fan, then I suggest you stop anything your doing and order this album from Amazon.com, you won't regret it, that's a personal guarantee. I would have given it more than five stars out of five, but they don't have that option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely essential heavy metal album, September 25, 2009
By 
This review is from: White Album (Audio CD)
Wow, where do I start with an album like this? Lightning to the Nations (a.k.a. the White Album) is Diamond Head's 1981 debut album. It's also a quintessential New Wave of British Heavy Metal (NWOBHM) album and a hugely influential one at that. It definitely made an impression on Metallica back in the day, as they've since covered multiple songs off of this album. I'd put it up there with Iron Maiden, Wheels of Steel, Angel Witch and maybe Loose 'n' Lethal.

Diamond Head essentially built on a foundation of Deep Purple and Black Sabbath and added their own crazy sense of speed, energy and drama. If you subtracted all of the blues elements from Led Zeppelin's sound and crystallized the metal elements left over, you'd probably come close to Diamond Head's unique sound. Listen to Sean Harris' soaring, dramatic vocals over Brian Tatler's wild riffing and you can totally understand how Diamond Head and the rest of the early 80's British metal acts completely re-wrote the heavy metal playbook. "Lightning to the Nations", "Am I Evil?", "It's Electric", "Helpless" - nearly every song on this album is a classic.

Naturally it was Castle - who has totally set the standard for high quality NWOBHM reissues - that issued the definitive version of Lightning to the Nations. Housed in an all white embossed slipcase, the reissued album features brilliant digitally remastered sound and a host of bonus tracks. The seven bonus tracks - some classics in their own right - are mostly b-sides from the album's various singles. The inlay is actually a big foldout with the lyrics on one side and a band history/biography/critical analysis by Classic Rock Magazine's Dave Ling on the other. It also includes some rare photos and early press clippings.

If you're a fan of the NWOBHM scene in particular, British metal in general, or just a student of metal history, you really need to have Lighting to the Nations in your collection, and this deluxe reissue is the best way to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, September 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: White Album (Audio CD)
This came the original tracks plus other songs some of them are good. This is something I would recommand to any body looking to purchase Diamond Head's debut album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars !!!!!!!!!!!!!!, March 24, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: White Album (Audio CD)
thrash pioneers... how did I miss this in highschool ('80's) ...Harris from "Iron maiden" fame_7 tracks + 7 bonus tracks on my cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, September 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: White Album (Audio CD)
Really good album, it's very easy to listen to. I bought more of their albums after i got this one very good quality. I acually got it for my Dad's birthday and fell in love with it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All Hail the Mighty Diamond Head!, February 25, 2011
By 
Vince Hamer (Bedford Hts.,, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: White Album (Audio CD)
This band was one of the handful at the time that had the DIY aesthetic punk rockers had. Don't wait for labels to come running with cash in the fist promising tours, etc. Put it out yourself! And that's what they did. What they didn't count on was becoming one of the biggest to break out of the NWOBHM movement. These guys were more known than Maiden at the time and influenced Metallica in many ways. All i can say is buy it, you wont be disapointed! Tracks I like are "It's Elecric","Helpless" "Am I Evil?", "Sucking My Love", and "The Prince". Brian Tatler is THE MAN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa1cc0dec)

This product

White Album
White Album by Diamond Head (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.