Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shatner being Shatner, which is what he does best!!
I have read some other reviews of this film. It's a shame that people are so critical of William Shatner, yet will go out of their way to watch his movies. I feel that we all know who Bill Shatner is, and the acting we can expect. Especially from his earlier works. This was an earlier work. Honestly, I found the film to be a true classic. Shatner at his best. The movie is...
Published on January 2, 2010 by Ralph J. Fitcher

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has what it takes to be Camp Classic
MST 3000 and Ed Wood revivals prove there is a market for astoundingly bad movies, and that is where this one should be categorized. Totally out of the league of Shatner's "pro" work, or real westerns for that matter. It apparently was a throw-away, purely for the foreign market (note the excessive violence). What does it offer the howler devotee? Let's try to list...
Published on December 25, 2008 by A piano teacher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shatner being Shatner, which is what he does best!!, January 2, 2010
I have read some other reviews of this film. It's a shame that people are so critical of William Shatner, yet will go out of their way to watch his movies. I feel that we all know who Bill Shatner is, and the acting we can expect. Especially from his earlier works. This was an earlier work. Honestly, I found the film to be a true classic. Shatner at his best. The movie is about two brothers, who share different parents, making each a half breed. Belonging to neither the white nor the Comanche society. It's a story of two men who cannot coexist in the same open west together. In many ways, it's a story of any family with two brothers. So, I liked the movie, and I give it five stars.

Rod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has what it takes to be Camp Classic, December 25, 2008
By 
MST 3000 and Ed Wood revivals prove there is a market for astoundingly bad movies, and that is where this one should be categorized. Totally out of the league of Shatner's "pro" work, or real westerns for that matter. It apparently was a throw-away, purely for the foreign market (note the excessive violence). What does it offer the howler devotee? Let's try to list it: 1) Awesome script. (The sheriff had better not interfere while I fight with myself.) 2) Leering, clownish supporting cast. 3) Horseback riding to mood music from a Vegas floor-show band. 4) A couple of pompous Omega-Glory style speeches delivered by Shatner standing on a mountain, with Sun records tape echo. 5) Outdoors dialog all dubbed in from sessions taped in a small, hard-paneled room. Some Spanish actors apparently redubbed from American stand-ins. 6) Shatner's Texas accent vacillates between Sacramento and Belfast Ireland. 7) Bar-fight destroys all the furniture, then the lawman orders the surviver, "sit down!" 8) Horses continually skittish, veering to one side while trying to walk forward, you would swear they are embarrassed to be filmed. 9) Horse rides into the middle of the frame and disappears, turns out he walked behind a large mirror sitting in front of the old hotel, attempt at Hitchcock cinematography? 10) Shatner, all posing and dramatic pauses, on screen for the whole blasted thing - Friends, our family hasn't laughed so hard since we saw Airplane for the first time. Get out your credit card right now; you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars William Shatner as a Comanche?, January 14, 2005
By 
T O'Brien (Chicago, Il United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Have you ever wanted to see Star Trek star William Shatner as an Indian? If so, this is the movie for you. Shatner plays Johnny and Notah Moon, two half-breed twin brothers; their father was white, their mother a Comanche. Johnny is your average two-bit gunman while Notah is the leader of a group of renegade Comanches who have left their reservation. After years of fighting, the brothers decide to meet in Rio Hondo, a small Texas town ravaged by two rich landowners. They know that when they do meet, one of them will die. This movie was made on a small budget, which is quite obvious, and made during the peak of Star Trek's popularity. If you're a fan of the show or Shatner I recommend this movie, but at certain points, it is unintentionally bad.

William Shatner's performance as Johnny is pretty decent, but his role as the peyote-smoking, murderous Notah is laughable. To look and sound like an Indian, Shatner speaks in a slow gruff voice and wears a headband and war paint. Joseph Cotten plays Logan, the sheriff of Rio Hondo who tries to keep his town as peaceful as possible. White Comanche also stars Rosanna Yanni as Kelly, the saloon girl, Perla Cristal as White Fawn, Notah's squaw, Vida Molina and Luis Prendes as Garcia and Grimes, the two warring landowners. The copy of the movie I saw was pretty brutal, washed out colors, horrible tracking, so beware when buying this movie. For a western with dual roles by William Shatner, check out White Comanche!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has what it takes to be Camp Classic, December 25, 2008
By 
This review is from: White Comanche (1968) (DVD)
MST 3000 and Ed Wood revivals prove there is a market for astoundingly bad movies, and that is where this one should be categorized. Out of the league of Shatner's "pro" work, or of real westerns for that matter. It apparently was a throw-away, purely for the foreign market (note the excessive violence). What does it offer the howler devotee? Let's try to list it: 1) Awesome script. (The sheriff had better not interfere while I fight with myself.) 2) Leering, clownish supporting cast. 3) Horseback riding to mood music from a Vegas floor-show band. 4) A couple of pompous Omega-Glory style speeches delivered by Shatner standing on a mountain, with Sun records tape echo. 5) Outdoors dialog all dubbed in from sessions taped in a small, hard-paneled room. Some Spanish actors apparently redubbed from American stand-ins. 6) Shatner's Texas accent vacillates between Sacramento and Belfast Ireland. 7) Bar-fight destroys all the furniture, then the lawman orders the surviver, "sit down!" 8) Horses continually skittish, veering to one side while trying to walk forward, you would swear they are embarrassed to be filmed. 9) Horse rides into the middle of the frame and disappears, turns out he walked behind a large mirror sitting in front of the old hotel, attempt at Hitchcock cinematography? 10) Shatner, all posing and dramatic pauses, on screen for the whole blasted thing - Friends, our family hasn't laughed so hard since we saw Airplane for the first time. Get out your credit card right now; you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars white comanche, March 18, 2010
By 
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie even though others did not. I found it to be a throwback type of Gunsmoke, and a good comedy. (Note Notah Moon's oversize teeth).Compared to some of today's movies I found it to be refreshing and gave me a good laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has what it takes to be Camp Classic, December 25, 2008
By 
MST 3000 and Ed Wood revivals prove there is a market for astoundingly bad movies, and that is where this one should be categorized. Comparing it with Shatner's "pro" work, or with real westerns, misses the point. It apparently was a throw-away, purely for the foreign market (note the excessive violence). What does it offer the howler devotee? Let's try to list it: 1) Awesome script. (The sheriff had better not interfere while I fight with myself.) 2) Leering, clownish supporting cast. 3) Horseback riding to mood music from a Vegas floor-show band. 4) A couple of pompous Omega-Glory style speeches delievered by Shatner standing on a mountain, with Sun records tape echo. 5) Outdoors dialog all dubbed in from sessions taped in a small, hard-paneled room. Some Spanish actors apparently redubbed from American stand-ins. 6) Shatner's Texas accent vacillates between Sacramento and Belfast Ireland. 7) Bar-fight destroys all the furniture, then the lawman orders the surviver, "sit down!" 8) Horses continually skittish, veering to one side while trying to walk forward, you would swear they are embarrassed to be filmed. 9) Horse rides into the middle of the frame and disappears, turns out he walked behind a large mirror sitting in front of the old hotel, attempt at Hitchcock cinematography? 10) Shatner, all posing and dramatic pauses, on screen for the whole blasted thing - Friends, our family hasn't laughed so hard since we saw Airplane for the first time. Get out your credit card right now; you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than you might think, but not a lot better., January 31, 2011
Disclaimer: The version of 'White Comanche' that I watched is included in the Gunslinger Western Collection - as such I cannot comment on the quality of the DVD offered on this product page. Instead, this review is concerned with the entertainment value of the film only.

Of the ten films included in the Western Gunslinger Collection, I had saved 'White Comanche' for last because I assumed it would stink. I thought this because the blurbs associated with the movie sounded worn-out and cliched, and because William Shatner was in it. I could not honestly imagine myself watching this film without every few seconds saying to myself, 'Hey, there's Bill Shatner'.

Mr. Shatner reminds me of Vincent Price at the end of that actor's career - every time we see or hear him, we are really seeing the enormous cultural baggage that he tows behind him. Thus his every appearance is not merely an acting job but rather a presence that might indicate (depending on the circumstances) commentary, irony, parody, inside jokes, satire; and all of it mashed together with a large dollop of inescapable nostalgia. It's unavoidable that I look at his past projects in the same light; so an honest effort here - as Mr. Shatner tried to squeeze in work between Star Trek seasons - is evaluated with the same hairy eyeball with which I might look at his contemporary advertising work. In some people's eyes, that is going to increase the appreciation for this film, and make others want to run the other way.

But, if it were possible to extract all the extras that Mr. Shatner carries with him, and to evaluate this film solely based on itself, I think the positives and negatives tend to balance out, and we're left with an average film that still has some entertainment value for the ardent western fan.

Two brothers, twins, are born to a white man and a Comanche mother. Inseperable at first, one (Notah) eventually turns to the Comanche way of life and becomes a renegade leader, promising his warriors that he will build a new Comanche nation. The other is a loner, a drifter in the tradition of Eastwood's man with no name - yet everywhere he goes, Johnny Moon is mistaken for his brother the killer. Finally, Johnny has had enough, and sees that the only way left for him is to either kill or be killed by his brother. They agree to meet in the town of Rio Hondo (thus the origin of the film's other title) in four days. Johnny goes to the town to wait, but finds himself in the middle of the opening salvos of a range war, and the sheriff (Joseph Cotton) in desperate need of another hand. With armed ranchers battling it out on the streets and Notah leading his band of renegades toward the town, Johnny must find a way to stay alive if he ever wants to settle his private score.

There are other subplots in the film, but none really necessary to go into here - I don't recommend the film, although I wouldn't discourage anyone from it either. As the stoic loner gunman, Shatner is actually pretty good - good enough to probably have had a career in Euro-westerns if he hadn't had his other projects to fall back on. As the Comanche leader, he looks absolutely ridiculous though. Joseph Cotton as the weary, seen-it-all sheriff is also good, and Rosanna Yanni as first Notah's victim and then as Johnny's love interest is easy on the eyes and competent enough to play her part - but the script calls for her to go from being sexually attacked by Notah to falling in love with his twin in the space of two days and I don't buy it. I'll give the writers credit for inserting details like the range war into the film instead of relying only on the story of the twins' blood feud, but even still, it's pretty run-of-the-mill. There are too few of the quirky moments that fill many Euro-western (this one filmed in Spain), but still probably a little too odd for the western traditionalist more familiar with American films of the same time. I may be a bit generous giving the full three stars, but since my expectations were so low, I have to admit I enjoyed the film more than I thought I would, as well as the weird jazz soundtrack that somehow works despite the action taking place in the 1800's. Plus, William Shatner's in it.

This film seems to be the one picked to fill out cheap collections of western films - I have it on three different collections (the Gunslinger Western Collection from Pop Flix, 20 Great Westerns: Heroes & Bandits by TGG Direct, and Spaghetti Westerns 20 Movie Pack by Mill Creek. There is some slight variation between them, in time and quality, but altogether, none of the transfers are very good, with a lot of artifacts in the film and compression issues on the discs that carry more than three movies per side, though from what I can tell, the Pop Flix may be the best looking one on a big screen. Perhaps the individually packaged film is better, but I would bet that it comes from the same source. Fans of William Shatner may find this low-priced disc worth it for the novelty factor, but for only a few pennies more, western films fans can find this and several other films in many inexpensive box sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have Closed Caption or Subtitle?, June 26, 2011
I saw the movie in television long time ago. I am plan buy but there no saying closed caption or subtitle?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Shat is cheesy in this too, October 14, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The only reason to buy this film is to see William Shatner's pompous acting and laugh at his erroneous self-confidence. It is decently entertaining but I wasn't feeling any real "part Comanche" in his acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

White Comanche (1968)
White Comanche (1968) by Jose Briz Mendez (DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: $7.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.