Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sticky Sweet
Yeah!! The rockin' melodies of this band make me want to throw up--throw up my hands in the air and boogie down!! Seriously, though; this is great 70s rock. What great rock and roll! I love the songs, "Stick Like Glue" and "Under Suspicion," (the latter song's got a great beat and some RIGHTEOUS screaming!). Of course, the first two songs are just...
Published on May 4, 2004 by Kirk McCoo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not all sickly-sweet
Angel's "White hot" from 1977 might be regarded as an embryo to the later pop-metal style played by bands like Bon Jovi. The music is rather polished and in a way harmless, but that doesn't mean it's worthless by any means. Even if Angel doesn't manage to go all the way, it's certainly very catchy from time to time, especially shown in the choruses to "Ain't gonna eat out...
Published on May 22, 2003 by L. B. Ivarsson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sticky Sweet, May 4, 2004
By 
This review is from: White Hot (Audio CD)
Yeah!! The rockin' melodies of this band make me want to throw up--throw up my hands in the air and boogie down!! Seriously, though; this is great 70s rock. What great rock and roll! I love the songs, "Stick Like Glue" and "Under Suspicion," (the latter song's got a great beat and some RIGHTEOUS screaming!). Of course, the first two songs are just about the greatest openers of any album I own. Those Giuffria chords starting off "Don't leave me lonely" are magnificent! Then the classic "Ain't gonna Eat Out my Heart Anymore" is just perfectly cool. Punky Meadows is one of the great underrated rock guitarists. One final note is that the album art rox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars innovative album that captures the 70's sound, August 23, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: White Hot (Audio CD)
If you need to understand what the seventies music was all about Angel is required listening. The music is a cross mix of electronic and heavy metal. Sort of a Journey/Kiss/Boston mix. This album is their best work. Bubble gum lyrics with heavy music. Listen to it and you quietly be hooked. Failed (over) marketing was the eventual downfall of this band. I saw them on this tour. Great performance, lots of glitter.....you really had to be 16 and stoned to appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Angel - 'White Hot' (MCA), March 4, 2006
This review is from: White Hot (Audio CD)
Originally released in 1978, this was Angel's fifth album. Overall, it's decent glam / glitter heavy rock. Always heard that with the -right- promotion, Angel could've easily been one of the '70's greats. Guess we'll never really know. Cuts that sort of made me sit up and take some notice were "Don't Leave Me Lonely", the Rascal's cover "Ain't Gonna Eat Out My Heart Anymore", their ballad "Flying With Broken Wings (Without You)" and "You Could Lose Me". Could appeal to open-minded fans of Cheap Trick, Status Quo, Kiss and possibly even Aerosmith or Van Halen. Can't go wrong with this title's price, that's for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Late 70's Cheese Rock at it's Best!, October 9, 2004
By 
Smelmo Puppyguts (Some place far away from "music" like this) - See all my reviews
This review is from: White Hot (Audio CD)
(...) Angel wasn't about exploding rock conventions by playing 3 chord rock songs badly. They pretty much held up rock conventions by playing well-crafted arena rock tunes with competance and flair. Gee, what a crime.
I really like this album. Songs like "Don't Leave Me Lonely" and "Over and Over" are prime examples of 70's pop meets "boot up your ass" rock with plaintive vocals. "Got Love if You Want It" shows that these guys can actually play, and rock out hard (drummer Barry Brandt kicks ass, by the way). Stuff like "Ain't Going to Eat Out My Heart Anymore" is a muscular re-invention of an obvious influence (The Rascals), and "Flying With Broken Wings" is a wonderfully melodic nod to the Fab Four. If you're a fan of synth-sweetened 70's arena rock, this album should be at the top of your list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN UNAPPRECIATED BAND, December 11, 2002
By 
This review is from: White Hot (Audio CD)
ANGEL IS A BAND WAY AHEAD OF THEIR TIME. WITH ANY LABEL SUPPORT THEY COULD HAVE BEEN AS BIG AS ANY BAND IN THE 70'S. NOT ONE BAD SONG ON THIS CD, A SMOOTH LISTEN FROM START TO FINISH. FROM THE KICK ... STYLE OF 'GOT LOVE IF YOU WANT IT' TO THE HEART WRENCHING BALLAD OF 'BROKEN WINGS' TO THE SPIRITUAL ENDING OF 'THE WINTER SONG' (LATER CHANGED LYRICALLY TO 'THE CHRISTMAS SONG' ON THE ANTHOLOGY CD) THIS CD HAS IT ALL. A MUST FOR ANY COLLECTION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars White Kiss, June 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: White Hot (Audio CD)
Unfortunately, this was the album where the record company billed them as the light (vs. dark)answer to Kiss. It was Casablanca, Kiss's label, so the songs are a mixture of awesome Angel originals and a few pale Kiss imitations. Despite that, it's still a pretty good outing by Angel. They were really more a prog rock outfit than a stadium metal band. I think they fell through the cracks between the two genres and never got the recognition they deserved. I agree with those who made Kansas, Styx and Queen comparisons, but there's even some ELO influence on a song or two (Flying with Broken Wings). A weird mixture of influences on White Hot, but definitely worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars White Hot and Cool, June 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: White Hot (Audio CD)
This was Angel's fifth album and their commercial high water mark, peaking at 55 on Billboard. It is just a bit slicker than On Earth As It Is In Heaven (my personal favorite Angel album), but shows that Angel wanted desperately to be a huge rock band on the likes of Kiss. They even dusted off a Rascals' cover as a Top 40 contender, "Ain't Gonna Eat My Heart Out Anymore." The strategy worked as far as sales were concerned, but it was Angel's last grab at the brass ring.

If you have a shelf full of 70's rock that leans heavy on the Styx, Queen or Kansas albums, "White Hot" will make you happy. The under-rated Punky Meadows lets fly with some great guitar and keyboardist Gregg Giuffria's great old school playing on "You Could Lose Me" or the opener, "Don't Leave Me Lonely." And before the term "Power Ballad" became a standard term for every MTV Hair Metal band, the great "Winter Song" and "Flying On Broken Wings" could have been hits had they shown up a decade later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not all sickly-sweet, May 22, 2003
This review is from: White Hot (Audio CD)
Angel's "White hot" from 1977 might be regarded as an embryo to the later pop-metal style played by bands like Bon Jovi. The music is rather polished and in a way harmless, but that doesn't mean it's worthless by any means. Even if Angel doesn't manage to go all the way, it's certainly very catchy from time to time, especially shown in the choruses to "Ain't gonna eat out my heart anymore" and "Hold me, squeeze me". "Don't leave me lonely" is quite alright, and a song like "Over and over" could be much less popish with a different production, while "Under suspicion" is in fact rather hard rocking. I would love to hear Rick Medlocke and Blackfoot doing a cover of "Got love if you want it" - I'm sure they would treat the song right. In "Stick like glue", the verse have obvious connection to 1950/1960's melodic rock approach while the chorus is very similar to the chorus in Kiss' "Ladies room". But there's also really cheesy moments and both "Flying with broken wings" and "The winter song" could be enough reason for critics to write this band off as nothing but a image driven sickly-sweet bunch of record company marionettes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HELLUVA BAND...HELLUVA RELEASE, July 11, 2000
By 
Kevin Dobbs "dragonboots" (Perth Western Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: White Hot (Audio CD)
I'll admit I'm biased, cause I would rate all Angel CDs with five stars (bar the newest attempt) cause all their releases contain at least one or two triumphs of musical genius that compensate for one or two musical disasters per disc...but this one truely deserves every star given. "White Hot" is a glorious amalgam of pomp and bubblegum. The songs here seem carefully chosen as the band threw its self a little obviously at times at the Kiss market. First off I have to mention "You Could Loose Me" for the sole reason of the vocal performance (awesome), and "Under Suspicion" again vocally exhilerating. Great pop tunes abound with "Don't Leave Lonely" and "Aint Gonna Eat My Heart" being great additions to the Angel arsenal. Listening to "Flyin With Broken Wings" it is no secret who influenced them with the Beatlesque chorus. With only one duff track being "Winter Song" expectations would have been high for this release to blow the US market open for these satin clad demi-gods, but it didn't quite happen that way. They regrouped and gave us "Sinful" which deserves more stars than I can fit on this page. Strange how the bands who deserve success often fail to achieve it, and those who don't do! The sad sad story of Angel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Guilty Pleasure, November 10, 1999
This review is from: White Hot (Audio CD)
Why should I feel guilty for liking this band, when millions of polyester clad morons shook their booties to disco? And even in the nineties - talk about asinine music that isn't even interesting.
Back in the 70's, no one knew that they were supposed to be embarrassed when laying down their 5 bucks for an Angel album. What can I say, this album is filled with catchy tunes and guitar work and terrible marketing. Can anyone say "Spinal Tap?"
Give me the 70's any day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

White Hot
White Hot by Angel (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.