Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Blake Shelton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation Learn more

Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 10, 2012
This is another hit from the author that brought us the delicious `Red Heat' and the "If Looks Could..." series. This time, it's "Die Hard" on an ocean freighter, with a lady captain as the heroine (aka Bruce Willis), with an undercover U.S. Navy Seal.

QUOTE:
(Heroine tries to hand hero a knife)....
"You are not going over there unarmed."
He still didn't take the knife. "No, I-"
"That's an order, LC." She let go and stuck her hands under her armpits so he had no choice but to catch it.
"They've got guns, Clint. And I'm not Crocodile Dundee."

SYNOPSIS:
Undercover Navy hero is on the run from a ruthless gang of Chinese black ops. They are a death squad, and will do anything to recover his stolen military plans. The hero manages to stow away on a tramp freighter, captained by "Sam". Miles out at sea, the hero and heroine indulge in the physical chemistry between them. When they emerge from their hideaway, they discover the ship has been hijacked, and the 2nd Mate claiming himself to be "Captain Sam".

This is where the novel resembles the movie "Die Hard". It has lots of action where the heroine doesn't sit around waiting for rescue, but takes charge of her vessel, and the situation.

PROS:
It has a WONDERFUL ending! I loved it and the ending alone, put this on my shelf as a keeper.

It made me want to grab and re-read the precursor book, "Red Heat". You don't have to read them in order, but this book was such fun, I thumbed my `keeper' shelf and retrieved "Red Heat" to brush up on all things... Clint.

The characters. I really liked the Captain, and thought her problems with trusting men were if anything understated.

CONS:
Don't get me wrong, I loved the book, but there were some serious problems with the storyline.
1) Undercover US Navy Agents, behind enemy lines, on a black ops mission do NOT carry their full legitimate identification on them.
2) It's INSANE to use `Navy Budget Constraints' as the reason that the Navy left their agent to his own devices in his bid to return home, once he was safely out of the enemy land.
3) Making it in a hammock?! Seriously? Loud scoffing chuckles!
4) The SOS device on a ship automatically activates when it gets submerged. When the bad guys threw it overboard, it would have alerted the authorities.
5) How would the hero get into a board meeting of a private company without anyone knowing who he was and why he was there?
6) There is bovine-excrement (b.s.) law stated as fact. The author says that if you kill a pirate on your ship, even saving someone's life, you are guilty of murder under international law. Un-huh. Ain't so. You get boarded by pirates, plink away, shoot `em all. You'll get a medal, not a murder indictment.
7) The author mentions global warming. I guess she missed the news about it all being made up by British scientists intent on garnering environmental grant money.
8) If the Navy Seal had a chance to shoot the three bad guys, and only lose one hostage, he would have taken it. I can't see the hero surrendering to the baddies, just `cause he'd lose one man. They were going to kill all the hostages anyway, and he knew it.

Nina Bruhns is a fun suspense romance author. Her characters are fun, and heroic, and you'll find yourself tossing her well-read paperback onto your very own `re-read/keeper' shelf.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2012
Wow bring your oxygen when reading this book. From beginning to end its non stop action and suspense. I couldn't put the book down till I finished it.

This book literally picks up 10 days after Red Heat where we saw U.S. Navy Lieutenant Commander Clint Walker jump into the sea and swim away with stolen plan's from the Chinese. Clint has to make it back to the US with the chip and isn't having much luck. He finally decides to stow away on a cargo ship that headed out into the Alaskan Bering Sea. When he knocks on the captain's door late that night hoping to get the captain's cooperation he is shocked to find that the captain is a woman.

Captain Samantha Richardson doesn't trust men as far as she can throw them. Between her ex husband betraying her and having to constantly fight her father on having the career she wants she is out to prove herself with delivering the cargo with no issues. Having a man force his way into her room with a gun pointed at her isn't the way she saw things going.

Neither Clint nor Sam expect the flash of heat that suddenly sparks between them. But once Clint explains he needs a ride and its of national security that he gets to the US she reluctantly agrees that he can stay on as one of her crew.

When Sam and Clint finally give in to there attraction and are busy making interesting use of a hammock the ship is hijacked and from there its non stop action till almost the last page. The way the author writes I felt like I was right there with them hiding out and doing all the dangerous things it took to get her crew back.

I cannot wait for the next exciting adventure in this series.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2012
White Hot by Nina Bruhns
Romantic Suspense- Aug. 7th 2012
4 ½ stars

U.S. Navy Lieut. Commander Clint Walker is on the run from ruthless Chinese Black-Ops who desperately want the information he has stolen and will do anything to get it back! When Clint manages to stow away on a commercial ship commanded by Capt. Samantha Richardson he gets more than he bargains for!

Samantha is tough as well as beautiful and suspicious of her newest crew member. But that doesn't prevent her from using him since she is one man short and desperate because she needs helps after a storm damages her ship. Samantha needs to deliver her cargo to its destination and prove to her powerful father that she can make it a male dominated shipping world. The attraction between Clint and Samantha complicates matters. But all hell breaks lose when the Chinese agents find her ship and suspect that Clint is aboard. When the Chinese take control of her ship and all but Samantha and Clint hostage they have to work together. But will Clint and Sam be able to save the crew and themselves before it is too late?

From the very first page I was caught up in the excitement as Clint tries to evade the enemy. This book was very tense, as Clint tries to escape the Chinese I kept expecting he could be caught at any time. I especially loved how this added to the already intense sexual attraction between the two main characters. Sam and Clint make a strong team as they try to evade and outwit the deadly Chinese operatives. I loved how they can't seem to keep their hands off each other even when they are in a dangerous situation. The passionate scenes between them are red hot! I liked that both characters have integrity and are highly intelligent. When I was reading I sometimes felt like I was watching a break-neck action/spy thriller because my heart kept racing -I was so caught up in the story!

This series is one readers of thrilling suspense and romance will not want to miss, I loved it!

Reviewed by Steph from the Bookaholics Romance Book Club
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2015
Publishers ask that authors present a "strong woman" overcoming issues and achieving goals. But too often this is interpreted as "no man can tell me what to do", which is the response of a two year old. Here a female captain refuses to listen to a trained seal's plan for dealing with piracy. In what world is that woman "smart" or "strong"? She "has" to do something because she is "captain", regardless of the fact that she is untrained and unlikely to be successful, and that her lack of success would likely get a crew member killed. Furthermore, there was a lack of focus on survival from both the hero and heroine. They were busy being attracted to each other. The gender bias was further illustrated by the heroine's response to the female "negotiator", an inept individual who should have been ignored upon determination that she was negotiating with the Chinese. Strong women understand their own strengths and weaknesses. They accept help from others with the training and ability to help without regard to gender. And they DO NOT DITHER. (One man has hurt me, therefore all men are bad is one of the silliest conclusions I have ever heard.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2012
A sit-on-the-edge -of -your -seat romantic thriller ! Nina Bruhn's latest has it all: an exciting plot ripped from the world of today's battles against terrorism, a smart, hot, and sensitive hero, a strong yet feminine female protagonist, and a 'chilling' location....plus a truly evil villain.

Suspense and romance are deftly balanced in this oh so contemporary tale of a naval spy's stowaway on Captain Samantha's cargo vessel near the Bearing Straights. The Lt. Commander, Clint Wolf Walker,has stolen an important chip from the Chinese, which is vital to the defense of the United State,and Chinese Black Ops are after it, AND our handsome hero. Clint and Samantha must save the day and her kidnapped crew.

Filled with non- stop action, tense and intense moments, along with a sweet and sexy romance, White Hot will keep you up all night hugging your Kindle.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2012
This book continues from the first one RED HEAT which this character was in. It is a romantic thriller and full of suspense and danger. Clint Walker and Samantha sizzle and the action is non-stop. I couldn't put it down and sat up half the night to finish it. Be sure to read RED HEAT first. Nina Bruhn again wrote another great book
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2013
WHITE HOT is the second book in Nina Bruhns Men in Uniform series. The hero of this book is U.S. Navy Lieutenant Commander Clint Walker and the heroine is Captain Samantha Richardson. Clint first appears in RED HEAT, the first book in the series. In WHITE HOT Clint attempts to stow away on Samantha's cargo vessel while fleeing from a group of Chinese black ops assassins. The chemistry between these two is instantaneous and the action and suspense keeps you on the edge of your seat. I had a very difficult time putting the book down.

My only critiques are that it was unreasonable to have us believe that Samantha would be so willing to put her believe in any man, much less a total stranger so quickly. Especially after what we were led to understand her feelings were toward men in general. I also had a little trouble believing she was willing to fall in bed with the guy so quickly. Other then those two things I felt it was a very entertaining story which I enjoyed very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2012
Fleeing across the icy Bering Sea with Chinese Black Ops led by Command Xing Guan in hot pursuit, U.S. Navy SEAL Lieutenant Commander Clint Walker knows he must get the stolen military plans back to DC immediately. In the Aleutians Dutch Harbor he seeks the airport, but the enemy found him. Desperate, he stows away on a cargo ship.

Ike de Coeur ship's Captain Sam Richardson knows those in the Richardson Shipping Company like her father, her ex-husband and her fired chief mate overtly detest a woman running a crew. She plans to prove them all wrong with this shipment of biscuits. At sea Sam finds she has a new crew member while Clint finds his captain beautiful especially when she is steadfast on accomplishing the mission.

The second Men in Uniform romantic suspense (see Red Heat) is an action-packed military espionage thriller with a superb White Heat romance enhancing the at sea adventures. Starring two strong protagonists and fast-paced from the moment Clint flees his deadly assailants on to Sam's vessel, the storyline hooks readers so much that it is impossible to put down.

Harriet Klausner
44 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2013
If you're looking for "white hot" action, then this is the book for you. A gorgeous female ship's captain with "father" and "ex-husband betrayal" issues - most heroines have these angsts - and the red hot Navy SEAL on the run from the Chinese bad blokes. Couldn't get any better than that!

There were a lot of things which didn't "gel" in this novel and one reviewer has outlined most of them, but you couldn't fault the fast-paced action/adventure aspect. I liked the hero and didn't want to slap the heroine for her stubborness more than half the time. I found one of the scenes where they "got it together" totally unbelievable under the circumstances - but hey, this is a romantic thriller, right?

Nina Bruhns always delivers an exciting book regardless of cons, and I am always happy to read her work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2012
This is the 2nd installment of this series, and its a very nice storyline, but to be honest, only 2 things stand in the way of me giving it a full 5 stars.
#1. The H/H got together almost immediately, being on a ship, they found a private room that NOBODY knew about. Given this woman is the CAPTAIN of the ship I find it hard to believe she can just disappear like that for hours on end, especially since part of her story is that she has to prove herself to her boss/father and he is just itching to fire her.
#2. The technological aspects of this story are very detailed..very very very detailed. Too detailed. At some points I found myself thinking.."did I drift into a book on nautical engineering?" I found myself skipping pages just to get back to the story.
Having said that, its really a very good plot line and the 3rd installment should hopefully wrap it up nicely. The characters are likeable and I got ( for the most part) where they were coming from mentally and emotionally.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.