Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lightning strikes true!
This film defines Reynolds as a "good ol' boy" that he successfully repeated in "Gator" and "Smokey and the Bandit." If you like Eastwood in spaghetti westerns, where all of the characters (including the hero) have a sinister side, and everyone sweats alot, then "White Lightning" will become a favorite. It is equal to...
Published on July 11, 1999

versus
80 of 86 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This DVD is a censored version.
White Lightning is one of my favorite Burt films. Unfortunately, this DVD is a watered down version of the excessive original. Not that you need it, but most of the foul-language has been poorly dubbed over to words like, "shoot" and "dang". One of the main character's deaths at the end of the film is cut - you don't see the villain shot, you only see him after the...
Published on August 16, 2003 by S. Messerer


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, October 14, 2007
By 
Sonny Chiba (Santa Monica, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: White Lightning (DVD)
Saw this as a kid back in the 70's. You know how it is, so many times the movies you loved as a kid just don't stand the test of time. This one does. Ned Beatty makes is career turnning performance in this, forget Deliverance, this is the one which he gets to show charm, menace and is the kind of bad guy that's all about shades of grey. The 1:33 frame is the full frame, any widescreen version is just the same with a matte over it (comparing it to the laserdisc version). This film is what so many movies in the 70's aspired to be: tough, gritty, authentic, etc. Although "Gator", the sequel, is enjoyable on it's own, it lacks the simple, directness of this film. "Gator" is all about making a "Hollywood" style drive in classic, this here's a whole different kettle of fish.
Can't say enough good things about it. If you're idea of a guys DVD is "Die Hard 2", well, you'll be disappointed. But if films like "Rolling Thunder" and "White Line Fever" are what you like? Well then this is the film for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not really a "censored" version, September 15, 2003
By 
curtis martin (Redmond, WA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Lightning (DVD)
I don't belive this new release of White Lightning has been censored for dvd, even though it does show signs of obvious re-dubbing of rough dialog. The original release back in '73 was rated PG--I have the original movie poster, so I know this for sure. I believe the dubbing was done just before the film's original release, to tone it down from an R rating to a PG. Reynolds was just becoming a huge star and the studio probably decided that they could cash in more with a larger slice of the audience to draw from--in essence changing the movie from an adults only drive-in flick into one that could play the neighborhood theatres (and those new multiplexes springing up everywhere in the 'burbs) and which any teen or kid could see.
I saw this in it's original form, back in the day, in the theatres, and I am pretty sure it was just as we see it now on dvd (except it was matted). Definately a PG. With all the swearing put back in, I'm sure it would have had to be rated R back in the gentler days of the early seventies.
Still it would be cool to see a "director's cut" if such exists (or at least a widescreen instead of an open matte version). And if anyone out there knows the solution to the mystery of the missing swears firsthand, let us know! Joe Seargent--you still around?
CM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All of these reviews are great, But,,,,,, October 26, 2007
This review is from: White Lightning (DVD)
All of these reviews are great, But,,,,,None of them even mention the rare 4 speed manual trans Ford ltd that can automaticly switch to an automatic! Once I noticed this, it got funnier and funnier. Don't know how I missed this before, There is no attempt to hide it as they shift from one shot to the next. Now I have to watch the rest of his movies for this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wheres The Other Five, June 25, 2005
This review is from: White Lightning (DVD)
Click go the shears boys click click click

Wide is his blow as his hands move quick

My version goes for 96 mins leaves plenty of holes in the plot

why do studios continue to hack away at original releases

and bring out flawed pirated type copies??

4.5 Stars For Cool Hand Burt & 0 For the Shearers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very fun movie, June 29, 2007
By 
This review is from: White Lightning (DVD)
Ya know,I get so sick and tired of every smart aleck fast talking yankee thinking its their mission in life to trash anything and everything that I happen,and have a God given right to enjoy. If you dont like this film,fine,thats your right.But dont get your nose bent out of shape just because I do! The terms hillbilly and redneck are just as racist as all the other words that I dont use (but they are conviently overlooked).I like this movie,I think its great and if that bothers you..go back to toledo and stick your head in the snow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!, May 29, 2010
This review is from: White Lightning (DVD)
Awesome DVD... it was stable and the audio was good!!! Great story-line and a great movie for back in it's day! (1st Gator Movie) Must have "Gator" to complete your set.!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White Lightning, March 25, 2006
This review is from: White Lightning (DVD)
This is one of my three favorite Burt Reynolds movies of all time. If you like Burt you will love this movie.I highly recomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Redneck Masterpiece, January 29, 2005
By 
David Baldwin (Philadelphia,PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: White Lightning (DVD)
"White Lightning" is an interesting curio from the seventies. Call it good ol' boy chic. I can almost be certain that this film didn't get much critical play from more fashionable circles but I'm sure the denizens of the drive-in understood. This film has down home ambience that the Coen brothers would kill for. At times the film's languid pace was a little too slow for my Yankee sensibilities but the pace picks up as the film progresses. Burt Reynolds has an easy-to-take charm here that he seemed to have lost as he progressed (regressed?) into a box-office superstar. Ned Beatty is effective as the murderous boss of the backwater Arkansas county but he doesn't overplay it. Also good is R.G. Armstrong as an evil moonshiner. This ain't classic stuff but it's good Saturday night light viewing fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars White lightning, March 20, 2010
By 
brokenleg (ILLINOIS USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: White Lightning (DVD)
I watched this movie when it was on TV years ago....this was before cable...............then a few years ago I found the VHS tape of it..........then the VHS is getting obsolete...........so I start looking for the DVD version, and I find it on amazon.....which is good. I didnt notice much difference in the DVD over the tape, but DVD does permit you to freeze it............I love the part when Gator goes from 3rd down to second gear and gets on it.........in the beginning.........but actually the car is an automatic, not a 4 spd.........the engine is supposedly a 429.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars White Lightning, January 15, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: White Lightning [Region 2] (DVD)
Buyer Beware. I share the same opinion as Cisco/Dec 2011. This company did not advertise the DVD as being a Zone 2 which will not play anywhere in the USA. Sending the item back is not worth the freight charges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

White Lightning [VHS]
White Lightning [VHS] by Joseph Sargent (VHS Tape - 1996)
$11.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.