Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More insightful than ever - oh, and still funny.
Stuff White People Like is, to be blunt, something that very few people seem to get. It's not just an attack on hipsters, and it's certainly not racist, but rather, it's an attack on privilege. The 20 and 30-something upper-middle class kids Lander mocks benefit tremendously from their positions as children of the elite, and have created their own "culture" that reflects...
Published on December 12, 2010 by Matthew Miller

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Poor Sequel to a Great Book
The hilariously satirical "Stuff White People Like" enlightened me to as how the world really worked, and opened a new alien universe to me. Since that initial voyage, I have become fonder and wiser of the ways of white people, even accepting that a part of me -- with my Canadian childhood and expensive private liberal arts education -- is even white. It even helped me...
Published on December 20, 2010 by Jiang Xueqin


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More insightful than ever - oh, and still funny., December 12, 2010
This review is from: Whiter Shades of Pale: The Stuff White People Like, Coast to Coast, from Seattle's Sweaters to Maine's Microbrews (Paperback)
Stuff White People Like is, to be blunt, something that very few people seem to get. It's not just an attack on hipsters, and it's certainly not racist, but rather, it's an attack on privilege. The 20 and 30-something upper-middle class kids Lander mocks benefit tremendously from their positions as children of the elite, and have created their own "culture" that reflects their pretensions by affirming their own uniqueness and artistic merit without requiring any real effort. It's also an attack on class (which Lander shows is bound up with race in this country - see the San Francisco white person), and repeatedly points out that in order to advance in a society controlled by the "right kind of white people," you have to parrot their views and affirm their (well-meaning, but sill patronizing) stereotypes, which is ironic considering how tolerant and open-minded they claim to be. This might sound bitter or partisan, but Lander is a young liberal who worked as a PhD student in Lit Crit, so he's as much a part of this group as anyone, and consequently is less hostile than you might imagine. As a member of the group satirized, I can say that while Lander is occasionally harsh, he never comes across as mean spirited, but mostly just disappointed, and even when he is slightly bitter he remains highly insightful.

Of course, all this belies the concern most people (rightly) have: Is this book funny, and is it worth purchasing when his website is free? To the first, I can say that he is indeed quite funny, and to the second, most of the best material was written for the book, so there's plenty of reason to check it out. The individual new entries are quite good (Duke Basketball, Losing Weight, Taxes, Punctuality, etc), but the best part is the addition of white people by city. The residents of a stereotypically "(right kind of) white" city (Portland, Austin, Asheville) are presented with an illustrated diagram, followed by a series of statements that analyze their strengths and weaknesses (Atlanta white person - might know a black guy, but takes jokes about the South personally, and has a Republican family).

Overall, most of the book is new material, and that new material is consistently funny (especially if you know people like this) while not lacking in valid criticisms of the people mocked. The only area in which this book is lacking is that it has no suggestions for how members of this demographic can better themselves and stop being so self-absorbed. Still, for anyone looking for a humorous (but not superficial) lampoon of race and class in North America, this book is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as Stuff White People Like, if not better (look for the line drawings!), November 24, 2010
This review is from: Whiter Shades of Pale: The Stuff White People Like, Coast to Coast, from Seattle's Sweaters to Maine's Microbrews (Paperback)
As a follow-up to Stuff White People Like, Whiter Shades of Pale is absolutely no less hilarious. This time Lander's focus is more on the geography of whiteness, mainly with 24 dead-on, absolutely brilliant line drawings that depict the prototypical white person from each city/region with callouts of the accessories and icons that make them so...Caucasian. (Seattle guy drinking coffee: "NOT Starbucks. This is some next generation coffee that you can't even begin to understand right now.") The entries, most of which have never been published on the blog before, are equal parts deadpan humor and freakish accuracy. Anthony Bourdain, British slang, products made by people named Tom, promising to learn a new language, not vaccinating children, Christopher Guest movies, and of course, ugly sweater parties. Just to name a few.

There have always been plenty of detractors out there who take Lander's satire too seriously and miss the entire point. Yes, you could call this cultural criticism--but it's way more fun than that. The enjoyment of his books comes from reading his entries on messenger bags or heirloom tomatoes or punctuality and thinking to yourself (with a smirk on your face) that you've been nailed. You're guilty as charged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Just Gets Better, November 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whiter Shades of Pale: The Stuff White People Like, Coast to Coast, from Seattle's Sweaters to Maine's Microbrews (Paperback)
I wasn't sure that there really would be enough material for a sequal to Mr. Lander's first book, but he does not disappoint. I was smiling from the first entry to the last and think this outing is better than the first. I ended up ordering a dozen for the holidays - for all my friends he so aptly pokes fun at. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lander is back with an alabaster vengeance, January 31, 2011
This review is from: Whiter Shades of Pale: The Stuff White People Like, Coast to Coast, from Seattle's Sweaters to Maine's Microbrews (Paperback)
Lander's website and first book hinted at what was to come. While his swipes at coffee, bilingual children, and Whole Foods were spot on, you could tell that the true saga of White People still remained to be told. Whiter Shades of Pale is the "A la recherche du temps perdu" of caucasian socioanthropology, a witheringly funny critique of one of the less introspective sub-species in nature. Where Lander took playful swipes before, he goes straight for the jugular, with deeper insights and much more sophisticated writing. The only flaw in the book is the failure to cover Burlington, Vermont as its own special habitat for comparative literature grad students sporting blond dreadlocks, decrying the capitalist system while driving $70,000 SUVs paid for by their Manhattan parents. But this is forgivable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a devastating critique of IKEA-loving, hummus-eating, Huffington Post-reading morons, January 1, 2011
By 
William Irwin (Kingston, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whiter Shades of Pale: The Stuff White People Like, Coast to Coast, from Seattle's Sweaters to Maine's Microbrews (Paperback)
Like Lander's previous book, this is a brilliant work of sociology as well as a devastating critique of IKEA-loving, hummus-eating, Huffington Post-reading morons who can't think for themselves.I wish I had written it myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as funny as the first book, November 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whiter Shades of Pale: The Stuff White People Like, Coast to Coast, from Seattle's Sweaters to Maine's Microbrews (Paperback)
Its official...I am a white person. I almost fell of my couch laughing when I read about white women not liking Monty Python because their boyfriends always do anoying impressions. I can relate. This is such a hilarious book. I LOVE the line drawings. They are super accurate. My only complaint is that there are many entries in the book that are already on the blog (girls with bangs, the onion). If you liked the first book, you will like the sequel as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Poor Sequel to a Great Book, December 20, 2010
By 
Jiang Xueqin (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Whiter Shades of Pale: The Stuff White People Like, Coast to Coast, from Seattle's Sweaters to Maine's Microbrews (Paperback)
The hilariously satirical "Stuff White People Like" enlightened me to as how the world really worked, and opened a new alien universe to me. Since that initial voyage, I have become fonder and wiser of the ways of white people, even accepting that a part of me -- with my Canadian childhood and expensive private liberal arts education -- is even white. It even helped me appreciate things that I have not heard of before and still have no intention of buying -- such as New Balance, Netflix, and friend diversity. All in all I thought that "Stuff White People Like" was one of the most important books to be published since...well, the Bible. So I was so looking forward to the sequel that I could completely forgot that sequels sucked, and white people (at least the right kind of white people) do not like sequels.

Yes, there are some lines of pithy white wit in the book ("Since neither [artists and graduate students] is likely to ever make an annual income that requires them to pay taxes, they remain steadfast in their support of increasing taxes for the wealthy, though their very existence is in a way a type of tax upon a very specific group of rich white people called their parents") but "Whiter Shades of Pale" is truly nothing more than a pale shade of the first work. It justifies its independent existence (instead of just being an unwanted appendix to the first book) by exploring the different white communities, even going as far as calling Australians white and giving more than one paragraph to explore that obscure and inconsequential group of proto-white people called "Canadians". I became very frustrated about after one-third through the book, as I couldn't get the obscure cultural references and jokes and deciding that I'll never understand white people, and that's a very good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first one, February 22, 2011
By 
P. M. (littleton, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Whiter Shades of Pale: The Stuff White People Like, Coast to Coast, from Seattle's Sweaters to Maine's Microbrews (Paperback)
This is one of the rare cases where the follow up book is better than the first one! It is impossible to visit any of the cities described in this book and not laugh at the people there! I have Boulder CO nearby to remind me just how crazy people who have much time on their hands can be. If you are white (I am) and can not laugh at parts of this book, I feel sorry for you! I don't know anyone, myself included who is not described to some degree in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love his humor., August 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whiter Shades of Pale: The Stuff White People Like, Coast to Coast, from Seattle's Sweaters to Maine's Microbrews (Paperback)
If you enjoy reading his descriptions of white people (I am white) on his website, then you'll definitely enjoy having this on your coffee table.

Just when I thought I was unique, he kindly reminded me that I am actually quite typical. I love camping and pretty much, anything outdoorsy. He describes people like me as loving places like REI and nature. Of course, a trip wouldn't be complete without a Subaru or an SUV with a Thule rack, right? Don't forget to stop at Trader Joe's to get some good food to eat for the trip!

His reviews of white people are so accurate (in my opinion) that he should receive some sort of degree for conducting and completing the most relevant research on white people in American society. Go Christian Lander.

If you simply want a good laugh, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm the "wrong kind of white people", November 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whiter Shades of Pale: The Stuff White People Like, Coast to Coast, from Seattle's Sweaters to Maine's Microbrews (Paperback)
A very funny commentary on liberal white people, mostly those who live in the northeast, northwest or other liberal enclaves. I'm white but don't relate to 95 percent of the stereotypes....HOWEVER, I know many white people who are exactly like he describes which makes the book pretty funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Whiter Shades of Pale: The Stuff White People Like, Coast to Coast, from Seattle's Sweaters to Maine's Microbrews
$15.00 $11.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.