Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Whitney Houston: The Voice, the Music, the Inspiration
Safety Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars21
5 star
81%
4 star
19%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$20.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 18, 2012
Narada Michael Walden (with Richard Buskin) has written a truly unique, engaging and first hand look into the crucial early career of one of the greatest superstars ever- Whitney Houston. After the mind boggling avalanche of scrutiny Ms. Houston received regarding her sad and personal demons, it is refreshing and inspiring to read about all the blood, sweat, tears, laughter, joy and unbridled energy that Whitney possessed through her miraculous voice. That miracle has been captured for prosperity by the musical genius of Narada Walden and his brilliant music team. Thanks to the foresight of Whitney's mom, Gerry Griffith and the genius of Clive Davis,Whitney's gift to the world will never be forgotten. I for one want to keep these inspiring stories that Narada has written in my thoughts whenever I am fortunate enough to hear the voice of Whitney Houston.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2012
After Whitney has gone, everybody started writing books about her, trying to make money on her passing.
But this book is very different.
Narada Michael Walden had been working with Whitney on lots of her major hits. He had not been a producer only. He had been a friend.
This book is about Whitney, her voice, her attitude, her hard work and her relationships whith music. You will not find any dirty laundry here, so if you want to know something about her private life, don't even bother to buy it.
But if you want to learn something from Whitney -- the greatest singer, or Narada Michael Walden -- one of the greatest producers, this book is a definite must-have.
Narada not only praises Whitney as the greatest voice of our time. He also shares some tips and tricks of the work in the studio, he opens some secrets of the hit making, and yes, some inside looks at the showbusiness.
Actually I am sure that Whitney would have been mad at him for writing some particular pages of the book. But I have to admit that these pages make reading even more fascinating.
Also this book contains several photos of Whitney you might have never seen before.
I strongly recommend the book "Whitney Houston: The Voice, the Music, the Inspiration" not only to every Whitney's fan, but also to everyone who is related to music in any way. If you sing, if you write or produce music, this book might become your great inspiration.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2012
There's something very special about this book. And that is that Mr. Walden, in simply telling us of his experiences of Whitney, gives you (or at least me) great insight into the character and temperment of a woman who can often seem to be full of extreme contradictions. Mr. Walden does not analyze, he does not judge, he doesn't speculate, and he doesn't tease (as in "I know a lot more but I' m not going to tell you"). He merely tells us what he experienced of Whitney in a very direct way. How refreshing!

It was also good to learn more in the book about the record-making process, how complicated and difficult it is but also how much fun it can be.

In my view this book was honest sharing on Mr. Walden's part and I'm very appreciative of that. I highly recommend this excellent read .
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2012
I think this is a wonderful tribute to Whitney from Narada. I was so happy to read something positive! In the era where there is so much criticism and negativity I really enjoyed this book. It was fun and energetic. It was nice to read the behind the scenes work ethic of two talented people. Didn't like the fact that Aretha F is an ass to this girl who looked up her. She started off so shy and innocent and was eaten up and used by so many. She lost her love for performing I think because she lost confidence in her abilities which were still there. Her family : worthless. They can't even give her the respect she deserves after all the years of providing for them. She has to depend on people like her producers to acknowledge her life and career with respect. I thank you for this and hope you will share more positive things in the near future. God takes people out of situations to give them peace and from what we've seen in the months after her death regarding her family and ex family members. LORD LET HER REST IN PEACE. Tha nks again Narada you were a breath of fresh air.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2012
This is a great book written by someone who clearly loved and adored Whitney. The only thing is I wish it had been longer. He goes into detail about working in the studio and her glorious voice. I enjoyed the stories he told but I was left wanting more. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2013
Narada writes a magical story starting with Whitney's first visit to his studios and the creating of fist song and the making of a legend with a very short time. Narada demystifies the creative process and gives us a unique
window of opportunity to observe and learn how chart-topping, blockbusting music is created bit-by-bit in studio. How Narada created a method in this madness of making a wonderful crazy world of music where in the morning they
have nothing but their inspiration, dreams and ofcourse, Whitney - and her voice. After a day or days of hard work, brain storming, musical equivalent of blind alleyways, genius moments and finally Whitney's angelic voice improvising,
sining from the heart and soul and then late night work of technical wizardry - culminating in a chart topping that will last forever in people's heart .

Narada shows us the up-close and personal account of rise and rise of Whitney in beginning and magical years of her career where one hit album followed another -- as if they could do no wrong. Narada concentrates on Whitney music, her voice,
her magical quality... he says "She could sing Phone book if she wanted to..." There are insights which are rare to find - as very few books like these are written by the people who were in the cockpit -- Narada was there and he shows us the views -
without any spin or literal flowery language. Factual. From the heart. A must read.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
Loved Narada Michael Walden's book. A must-have for Whitney fans, in my opinion. A great look at the creative process behind many of Whitney's greatest songs. Narada does a great job of giving you some deep insights into the issues Whitney may have dealt with, and he does so in a respectful, delicate way without directly addressing the tabloid stories and gossip. His love for Whitney comes shining through in the book. Absolutely loved it.
Only gave it 4 stars because the book is somewhat limited in scope (this is intended - it does NOT reflect poorly on the author's execution).
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2012
This book gives a little more information about Whitney's life in the music business. She brought something to the table that no one else could or has since. Her life was clearly in the music at the beginning. Narada did a good job on speaking about his life experience with his friend Nippy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2015
Thank you Narada for writing about Whitney's talent, hard work in and for the music "industry". the author gives a clear understanding of what goes on in a recording studio, how much WORK, energy,patience,creativity to record a song. WE have NO CLUE about the behind the scenes of recording. This book is quite enligthening....The story takes you from the young, naive, wants to do good Whitney to the one that is sick and tired to bend back and forth to please "the music industry" and Davis and Co. You won't have gossip about Bobby and drug overuse, which can be a refreshing read . To the Essence of Whitney's talent, delivering her performances in a recording studio. Pictures unseen before in the gossip world. You will see a happy, energetic, healthy woman. I admire Whitney more after reading this book: She has been highly misunderstood. Be aware of the mob, once said queen Elisabeth. One day the adore you, the very next day they trash you as vermine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
I could not put this book down. I actually read it from cover to cover in a little under two hours (I had a few distractions). WOW is all that I can say.

Throughout her career, I have always wondered what it would be like to experience Whitney's captivating vocals in the studio. Well, rest assured, Narada paints a beautiful canvas of what it was like to work with such an immense talent. In his narrative, he gives you an intimate look into the processes he used to get the BEST out of her vocals. Apparently, Whitney was a one take wonder on many of her songs.

While reading this book, I often felt like I was a fly on the wall, spying in on the marvels of her voice and his exquisite production. This book is a wonderful departure from the negativity that was exposed shortly after her untimely demise. It has a few surprises that only someone being that close to her could reveal. If you want a great feel good book on Whitney, this is it. I have also read the book authored by her Mom, and I really enjoyed that one as well.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.