Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 22, 2010
Who Am I? - The Teachings of Bhagavan Sri Ramana Maharshi. Tiruvannamalai: T. N. Venkataraman, 1994. Paperback, 16 pages. No ISBN.

"Self-enquiry leads directly to Self-realization by removing the obstacles which make you think that the Self is not already realized." - Sri Ramana Maharshi.

This short pamphlet of just 16 pages which can be read in thirty minutes or so tells us all that we really need to know in order to set about finally understanding who we are. It begins by explaining that we aren't at all what we think we are - body, mind, and so on. It then goes on to describe a simple (though arduous) technique by means of which we can come to know who we really are.

My own edition contains a brief though very informative and well-written Introduction by T.M.P. Mahadevan. He explains that the book consists of a series of 28 questions asked by a young man who was undergoing a spiritual crisis and who visited the Maharshi seeking help; each question is then followed by the answer he was given.

The very first question he asked was "Who am I?" The rest of the book provides the answer, an answer that the Maharshi assures us will lead those tough enough to stay the course to liberation.
0Comment| 74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2010
There are many, many books on nonduality out there, many of them quite extensive in breadth and depth. But the central tenet behind all of those words can be found in this tiny book: that the secret to life is to know oneself and to do that one must inquire of the self, again and again, "Who am I?" That's it, plain and simple. Beautiful in its simplicity, which of course is maddening to the mind, which always craves more.
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2012
You cannot give this man's words anything below 5 stars, even if they only encompass 16 pages.

However, it must be pointed out that this information is included almost entirely in Be As You are, edited by David Godman. Be As You Are is a much more extensive compendium of Sri Ramana's teachings, and I would recommend buying that book over this one.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2009
The spiritual book. This one book is just sufficient. No need to look for anyother information.

Concise, precise, sharp, etc.,
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2013
Self enquiry shows that Self is not something. Self cannot be objectified and is therefore limitless. That which can seek is what seeks Self, and enquiry shows that Self cannot be found. You're looking for yourself? But you are yourself. Why do you look? Indeed where shall you look? It's a kind of a joke. There is no Self, only what cannot be described.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2011
This small book delivers a clear,concise message; and offers what amounts to a simple map to the awareness of one's conciousness. It will either provide a glimpse of potential enlightenment; or a validation of the journey one travels through meditation, towards peace of mind. Reading WHO AM I? could lead one to search for the "I" who is reading this reveiw.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2011
this very simple book can change anyone's life if you can apply the small bit of information it suggests, only the highly motavated will follow though!!!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2012
Brief, but fully adequate, overview of words from Ramana sharing the direct approach to Self-Realization. Can be read easily in one sitting, but provides a pointed, direct treatment that one can easily apply, even without any prior familiarization with the theory behind the Inquiry practice.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2015
I read some of the reviews where people were disappointed in the length of the book, since this book has only 16 pages and have to say that Sri Ramana Maharshi is truly a master. This book is however not written for the one that wants to entertain the mind, but wants to free their true Self from mind. You can't value a book that has the ability to change your life, by it's length but only by it's content. This book does not include unnecessary fluff and gets straight to the point. I value my time and appreciate the writers that value my time and don't fill books with things that question my intelligence. This book contains profound information to the one who is truly seeking and ready to embark on a Journey within.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Imagine when on the day the Buddha attained enlightenment, a man walked up to him and asked the Buddha, "What do you see"? Well this is what this little book is about. Out of all the candidates over the last 100 or so years, Ramana Maharshi is the one who is compared to Jesus and the Buddha. When Ramana Maharshi attained enlightenment, a local man walked up to the silent sage, covered in ecstasy, and asked him a few questions and this book is the answers he gave.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$26.06
$11.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.