Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT album, must have for Gillan and/or Iommi fans!
Even though some of this is previously released material, it is still worth it for the never released on CD B-sides and, especially, the 2 EXCELLENT new tracks; Holy Water and Out of My Mind. Heck, to me it's worth it for those 2 ALONE. They are proof positive that Gillan and Iommi NEED to work again, ASAP!!! (But I always was a big fan of Born Again anyway so it figures...
Published on August 2, 2012 by JP

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I Care, I Guess
This wasn't the Deep Purplish album I was expecting. It felt like the songs were written and played by someone else. There's a weird version of Highway Star on it.
Published 9 months ago by Daniel J. Clamage


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT album, must have for Gillan and/or Iommi fans!, August 2, 2012
This review is from: Who Cares (Audio CD)
Even though some of this is previously released material, it is still worth it for the never released on CD B-sides and, especially, the 2 EXCELLENT new tracks; Holy Water and Out of My Mind. Heck, to me it's worth it for those 2 ALONE. They are proof positive that Gillan and Iommi NEED to work again, ASAP!!! (But I always was a big fan of Born Again anyway so it figures I'd like them!)

In fact I'd go as far as saying these 2 songs are among the best things I have heard Gillan do in years. I know I'll get some serious disagreement with that statement, but I honestly like them THAT much!

I recommend this double CD to anyone who is a fan of either Gillan or Iommi so it goes without saying that it is a MUST HAVE for those who, like me, are fans of both.

And, as Amazon's editorial says, it's for a good cause as well so....what are you waiting for?!?!?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything Good From Oblivion!, August 23, 2012
This review is from: Who Cares (Audio CD)
I must admit I was skeptical about all this. Im a huge fan of both Gillan and Iommi. I have been dissapointed over the years with quite a few of their projects and Products. They definatly sifted through allot of rubbish and picked out allot of quality tunes that might have been passed over through the years. As the previous reviews state, allot of different colers and styles here yet it flows well. A great listen all the way through. I have always loved Born Again, Zero The Hero finally gets the mix it always deserved. One of the most poorly mixed Albums in Metal History should get the full Makeover with todays Technology. Having said that, dive into this collection. It is so worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Collaboration of "The Gods", August 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Who Cares (Audio CD)
When Certain People get together, you KNOW it will Always be Good. What Started out as a 2 song benefit raiser for the Funding of a Music School in Armenia, blossomed into a Wonderful Excuse to put together a Compilation of RARE, INTERESTING, UNRELEASED, B-SIDES & LIVE Gems.. First off, the 2 "NEW SONGS": "Out of my mind" & "Holy water".. BRILLIANT! To hear Tony Riffing with Jason Newsted on Bass, is MONSTEROUS! And then there's Nicko McBrain doing his best "Vinnie Appice" impression! Also, a couple of Lovely choices of Beautiful tracks from "The Past" that are very much Deserving of another airing into the Ether, in the Form of "ANNO MUNDI" from the Always-Overlooked 'SABBATH Period with Tony Martin on Vocals. "ZERO THE HERO" from the Born Again album. "Don't hold me back" (1 of My all time FAV Gillan songs) from "Toolbox" is Tastefully included. A couple of UN-issued tracks with GLENN HUGHES, Glenn & Tony are ALWAYS Magic! PLUS..a few rather Interestng pieces are also hear, from some GILLAN side-projects with weird & wonderful Names, that have Many different flavours to offer. There's 1 track that would even sit comfortably along side STING's "Desert rose"! All up, this is a FANTASIC Collage that gells nicely together, even IF most of the songs have different Productions on them. THIS Album, i'm sure will end up a "Collectors treasure". One last piece of Beauty to mention, is the SMILE that will creep across your Face, when you hear the LATE-GREAT Ronnie James Dio singing SMOKE ON THE WATER with 'PURPLE & an Orchestra. Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blown Away!, August 15, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Who Cares (Audio CD)
Great C.D.! Just Finished Listening To It 2X! Great Music From All Involved! Mix of Sounds, Is Excellent! Not A Bad Track On This Double C.D.! Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHO CARES Gillan & IOMMI 2012, December 26, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Who Cares (Audio CD)
this is an amazing item and all procedes go to help the earthquake victims of Armenia with a charity tune called out of my mind, with a host of other musicians like Nicko Mcbrain drummer from Iron Maiden, Ex metallica bassist Jason Newstead, and The late great John Lord, also HIM guitarist who happens to be dating Tony Iommi's daughter, this 2 disc contains some previously unreleased tracks and some others that featured both Gillan & Iommi, from the Black Sabbath thrashed album, also Iommi and Glen Hughes, as well as Gillan band and a unrealesed Deep Purple track! a real treat for charity, and fans alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Rock Stars shine bright, October 16, 2012
By 
Jonathan Hill (Scottsburg, IN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Who Cares (Audio CD)
Ian Gillan and Tony Iommi collaborate on old and new music for charity. A great view of two great musicians through their careers as they perform within the genre of hard rock/heavy metal. They also bring a variety of other types of music to show the well rounded talents of two rock giants. Enjoy the expected and unexpected of rock royalty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gillan and Iommi Cares, September 24, 2012
By 
Boomerocity (East Tennessee) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who Cares (Audio CD)
Ian Gillan and Tony Iommi have collaborated for the first time since their last collaboration on Black Sabbath's Born Again album back in 1983. The new project is called WhoCares and features a treasure chest of tunes from the pasts of both of the heavy metal monsters.

The collection includes their 2011 singles for charity, Out of Mind and Holy Water. These two songs included help from Metallica's Jason Newsted, the late Jon Lord from Deep Purple, Iron Maiden's Nicko McBrain and Linde Lindstrom. Together, they formed the super group, WhoCares.

Other tracks on this 2-CD, 18 song collection is two previously unreleased Iommi tunes that feature Glenn Hughes and Zero The Hero from the Born Again album.

Gillan said of the effort, "As I said once in the song, Razzle Dazzle, it's a real fine line between an orgy of destruction and a wonderful time. The destruction of conformity in this case: some of the pieces never really fitted into their contemporary program and got sidelined or forgotten, and some of the album tracks never had much exposure. As the track listing for this album came together, I noticed many of the titles had character similarities: a combination of freshness as they finally felt the sun on their backs and rebellion in a `yeah told you so' kind of way. And that adds up to a wonderful time and more money for the music school we are building in Armenia".

Gillan added, "The ad-hoc benefit WhoCares band was just a band put together by Tony Iommi and myself on a flight home from Yerevan where we'd been deeply humbled by the honor and expectation bestowed upon us. Well, that's it, really, in a nutshell, so to speak. What more can I say? It's all there in the music."

Whether you're a Deep Purple fan, a Black Sabbath fan or just love heavy metal in general, WhoCares is a must-have collection for your listening library.

Boomerocity.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 13, 2014
This review is from: Who Cares (Audio CD)
Pretty damn good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OK, July 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Who Cares (Audio CD)
Some good, some great and then there's the rest. Would buy again but maybe not the second CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I Care, I Guess, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Who Cares (Audio CD)
This wasn't the Deep Purplish album I was expecting. It felt like the songs were written and played by someone else. There's a weird version of Highway Star on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Who Cares
Who Cares by Tony Iommi (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.