Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon The Suffers Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Format: DVDChange
Price:$8.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 1, 2008
Although the producer is in favor of electric cars, the video is fairly balanced. People on both sides of the issue are interviewed. The big issue to me is this. If car companies had decent electric cars in 1997, what could we be driving today if the electric car had been continued?
0Comment2 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2007
Everyone should see this movie. It really points out many things that are wrong and should not be tolerated by consumers in this country.
0Comment4 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2007
Emile Zola said, "You're only truly alive when you're hungry." He wasn't talking about modern Americans, but he could have been. We, the people of the United States are well fed and complacent and oblivious to political and financial shenanigans going on all around us. Who Killed The Electric Car? tells the story of one serious shenanigan of GM and BO (Big Oil): recalling and destroying - literally crushing - the thousands of plug-in electric cars on the highway in the mid-1990's.
While telling the story of the frustrated car owners/leasers, the documentary explains the obfuscation (a.k.a. blowing smoke used by monied interests to keep plug-in electric car technology off the market. The film makers believe plug-in electric cars and cleaner, greener sources of electricity will go a long way to alleviate global warming. Watching this documentary will make you hungry for a lot of things, like freedom from the tyranny of entrenched big businesses, like a more hopeful future, like clean energy and your own electric car.Home from Nowhere: Remaking Our Everyday World for the 21st Century )Sicko)
Stupid White Men)
0Comment3 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2009
It showed me how the system worked - money - the more you have the more you can control - in this movie you will see cover ups, greed, fraud, and more from gm to the White House. Till this day we have and never will buy GM products any more. Gm shredded its electric cars after the California mandate was forced to be drooped by the oil tycoons in the white house. Toyota was the only company to continue its line and look where they are today. It is no surprise that a HYBRID is so named - GM purchased the controlling interest in the nimh technology from Stan Ovinski - then - placed a patent on it and said that if anyone would like to use the NiMh batteries in their cars - they would have to be 50% gas and 50% electric - that is forced by GM. They have a battery that a car ran over 300 miles - check out the T-ZERO - they have a newer model out now but the car company's are in bed with the oil company's so they wont put their batteries in the cars - except TOYOTA. I I will never buy a USA auto again.
0Comment3 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2007
Impressive documentary, although my own personal prejudices and thick-skinned cynicism lead me to worry a little about all that is presented here as fact. No matter what, however, the film stimulates a vital and timely debate.
0Comment2 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2008
Paranoid about the role of big oil in keeping us dependent on oil and foreign oil in particular (Big Oil has offshore bank accounts loaded with cash) Their power in your daily life is immense Watch the story of the EV1
0Comment2 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2015
Great movie
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2007
Although interesting, this movie is marred by some

historical inaccuracies (though this is rather a

small point), being a bit fast and loose with some

of the technical issues related to electric cars,

but most seriously, flawed in its simplistic

analysis of the corporate and governmental politics

surrounding the electric car. Also, much of the movies

focuses on the GM abandonment of the electric car market

and goes pretty lightly on the other companies that also

gave up.

However, I think anyone who is interested in automobiles,

or the auto industry should see this movie. Viewed with

an open mind, you might see some issues raised that make

you wonder how the automotive press seems to so glibly

dismiss this movie. As an auto enthusiast, I have no desire

for an electric car, as the cars presented here do not meet

any of my needs. Nevertheless, GM's engineers came up with

a real world car that made its owners - at least the ones we

meet - pretty happy. And they deserve credit for that.

But this film does raise some questions about what would happen

to the whole automotive parts/repair pipeline if electrics

seriously came on line.

This is what I see as the most serious flaw in the movie's

analysis of who (what) killed the electric car: The CA

zero emmission vehicle (ZEV) law said that automakers had to sell

a certain percentage of ZEVs. The percentage rose over time.

So let's say that in year 1, 2 percent of all cars had to be ZEVs.

That would put a cap on the TOTAL number of new cars that could

be sold in CA, along with locking out several high zoot brands

that the real movers and shakers like to buy. Now, if in year 2,

the percentage of ZEVs required to be sold rose to 4%, automakers

would have had to sell twice as many electrics just to sell the

same number of cars. Ultimately, what would happen is that the

prices of new and good used cars would skyrocket and the people

would vote the whole bunch of elected officials out. Realizing

this, it was business (politics) as usual that really wins out.

If this seems far fetched, check out "ENRON: The Smartest Guys

in the Room" and see what happens to Gray Davis as artifical

electric shortages cause brownouts and skyrocketing costs.
0Comment6 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2007
I didn't know the sad fact about the electric car. This problem may be one of many problems we have. Greed and money control what items are promoted and how we live our lives. Power of such a control can be massive, yet the record of the resistance to such a control is valuable as we tend to forget that what's available to us are not necessarily the best thing for us and our environment.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2013
Meh - informative so far as the data goes, but blandly presented. It could have been shorter. It's central point is that many of the lessors of GM's electric car loved them, but big bad GM forced everybody to return them at the ends of their leases, and discontinued the model. The subtext is that GM was bowing to the oil industry, but no hard evidences is presented to support this assertion.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.