Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harmony, perfect harmony.
Unabashedly radio-ready tunes like "December 1963 (Oh What A Night)" are said to be the cause of the demise of Western civilization. Don't you for one instant believe that. Something other than saving the world, a love relationship, paying the bills, or any other kinds of blues are good fodder for good tunes and this CD of the Paiva/Cuccione/Polci (I know,...
Published on August 30, 1999

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seasons Comeback
After Frankie Valli scored a number one hit in early 1975 with "My Eyes Adored You" and followed that up with a top ten hit "Swearin' To God", the Four Seasons regrouped later in the year. The album produced their biggest hit, the radio classic "December, 1963 (Oh What A Night)" that went to number one in early 1976. Also hitting the top ten, peaking at number three,...
Published on December 28, 2005 by P Magnum


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harmony, perfect harmony., August 30, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Who Loves You (Audio CD)
Unabashedly radio-ready tunes like "December 1963 (Oh What A Night)" are said to be the cause of the demise of Western civilization. Don't you for one instant believe that. Something other than saving the world, a love relationship, paying the bills, or any other kinds of blues are good fodder for good tunes and this CD of the Paiva/Cuccione/Polci (I know, they sound like opera singers, don't they?) Four Seasons has track to track good tunes. This is in other words, a good upper for a drab day. The production has more prominent Gaudio-styled background vocal falsettos and keyboards, and the Famed Frankie Valli sound was held at a minimum...I dunno. Maybe, Frankie was getting tired of the upper register soprano thing after he's done his adult bit with "Can't Take My Eyes..","Swearin' To God", and "Grease". In any case, the entire CD has just enough Valli to satisfy your appetite. The addition of Polci, et. al., served to overall strengthen the Four Seasons corporation. My personal faves on the CD are "Mystic Mr. Sam" and "Silver Star". Remember, good music is truly hard to come by...get it before it disappears!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love it, February 14, 2006
This review is from: Who Loves You (Audio CD)
With it's mix of ballads, dance tunes, do-wop, and a dash of rock, this was an album my sister used to own, and I snapped up the CD version when I saw it. The only problem is that the songs are not in the original order, but I won't cry over that. The harmonies, and music are still good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seasons Comeback, December 28, 2005
This review is from: Who Loves You (Audio CD)
After Frankie Valli scored a number one hit in early 1975 with "My Eyes Adored You" and followed that up with a top ten hit "Swearin' To God", the Four Seasons regrouped later in the year. The album produced their biggest hit, the radio classic "December, 1963 (Oh What A Night)" that went to number one in early 1976. Also hitting the top ten, peaking at number three, was the title track that while not as popular as the former, it is the best track on the album. Tight harmonies and trading of vocals from Mr. Valli & Bob Gaudio make for a great single. "Silver Star" was a minor hit and has a old west theme while "Harmony Perfect Harmony" is pretty song that harkens back to their salad days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing, February 25, 2008
This review is from: Who Loves You (Vinyl)
Side 1

1-Silver Star
2-Storybook Lover
3-Harmony Perfect Harmony
4-Who Loves You

Side 2

1-Mystic Mr. Sam
2-December 1963
3-Slip Away
4-Emily's (Salle de Danse)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mirror Ball & Silver Star, June 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Who Loves You (Audio CD)
OK. So this Four Seasons album is a departure from their earlier works but for it's genre it is no less a classic. As the Seasons embraced the age of disco their combined harmonies were eager to be exploited by the sounds of the burgeoning dance rhythms of the mid seventies!
It's difficult to find the track "Silver Star" on any current compilation of the band and I would recommend this album for this track alone. However, we are also blessed to get: Who Loves You, December 1963 (Oh What a Night) and Harmony Perfect Harmony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frankie Valli & 4 Seasons - who loves you, March 12, 2007
This review is from: Who Loves You (Audio CD)
A classic album from the 70's. I have an old cassette tape of this (snapped!)and have been scouring record shops for years for any vinyl/ CD versions. Amazon UK didn't have it listed, but I got it so easily from Amazon USA & it arrived within a week. Exactly the same tracks in the same original order. Pity about no album sleeve stuff, but that's CD's for you! The sound quality, especially on Ipod, is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unrecognized masterpiece, October 3, 2013
This review is from: Who Loves You (Audio CD)
Like most prog-rock fans, my main interest in pop are the Beach Boys and the Beatles, with other scatterings. but I have loved this album since it came out, still spinning the original vinyl regularly. They modernized/rocked the sound to match how the taste had changed. All the songs are good, but the material selected, how they're produced, and the running order make a great listen. There is perfect alternation between a bare combo sound and orchestration, which is tastefully restrained, to make contrast. This album was not just put out, but a lot of thought went into making it a coherent package. In my book, this is an unrecognized masterpiece of a pop album. My favs are Silver Star, Who Loves you, and Mystic Mr Sam, which features some pretty delicate synthe work; but all the tracks are good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She Loves You, October 10, 2010
This review is from: Who Loves You (Audio CD)
All of the tracks were composed by Bob Parker ( and his wife Judy ) While Frankie Valli was the front man for the Four Seasons, it was Bob Parker who was the musical master behind the groups music. This is a good album and I would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 1975 Sees The Four Seasons Recording First Disco Album., September 23, 2010
This review is from: Who Loves You (Audio CD)
From 1962 onwards The Four Seasons battled it out with The Beatles The Rolling Stones and The Beach Boys for the top band in the US, until The Byrds, The Doors and others joined in.
As a collection of their career from 1962 - 1978 The Very Best Of Frankie Valli And The Four Seasons Jersey's Best should be bought, it contains nearly all their best material.
In the mid 1970s the Bee Gees released Jive Talking and The Four Seasons decided disco was the way to go.
From this album Who Loves You and December 1963 (Oh What A Night) are included on the above Very Best Of and they are excellent disco numbers.
The remainder of this albums tracks cannot be easily found elsewhere and Silver Star is a standout for me, although it is very different from their earlier work.
Other tracks Harmony Perfect Harmony and Slip Away are slower numbers which work well.
All in all a disco type album many Four Seasons fans will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great memories, April 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Who Loves You (Audio CD)
All of my favorite hits on 1 CD. Saw the Jersey Boys concert in Reno last year and brought back great memories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Who Loves You
Who Loves You by The Four Seasons (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.