Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


111 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Communicate with Power and Impact
I am among those who have praised Annette Simons' previously published The Story Factor and are thus delighted that she has written this book in which she develops in much greater depth many of the same core concepts of the earlier work, one in which she rigorously examines the basic components of effective storytelling when explaining what a story is and what it can do...
Published on May 23, 2007 by Robert Morris

versus
25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nuts & Bolts of StoryTelling...
We've all sat through far too many painful business meetings and presentations with reams of Powerpoint slides exhibiting little emotion, connection and engagement by the presenter and the audience - and we've all watched the clock drag along wandering when we can get on with the rest of our lives. Annette Simmons explains why a story wins and captivates all audiences...
Published on January 20, 2008 by D. Kanigan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

111 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Communicate with Power and Impact, May 23, 2007
This review is from: Whoever Tells the Best Story Wins: How to Use Your Own Stories to Communicate with Power and Impact (Hardcover)
I am among those who have praised Annette Simons' previously published The Story Factor and are thus delighted that she has written this book in which she develops in much greater depth many of the same core concepts of the earlier work, one in which she rigorously examines the basic components of effective storytelling when explaining what a story is and what it can do that facts alone cannot. She suggests how to tell "a good story," in process explaining the psychology of an effective story's influence. She offers excellent advice on how to influence the unwilling, the unconcerned, and the unmotivated. Simmons also devotes an entire chapter to "Storylistening as a Tool of Influence," then in the next chapter identifies a number of storyteller Dos and Don'ts. Simmons concludes her book with insights that have their greatest value only if considered within the context created for each in previous chapters.

In this volume, she explains "how to use your own stories to communicate with power impact" and I commend her on the informal, almost conversational tone she establishes and then sustains throughout her narrative. Her focus is on what each of her readers can contribute to all manner of communications with others. Hence the effectiveness of her direct, one-on-one rapport with those for whom she wrote this lively and entertaining as well as informative book.

Appropriately, she shares a number of "stories" from her own life and career when illustrating various key points. For example, in Chapter10, she recalls a situation in which she was meeting with a group of international women in Europe only 10% of whom were from the U.S. When explaining how to be a more effective leader, she used a "I know what you are thinking story" to illustrate her key points. She recalled her need to "feel special" (i.e. to be admired, respected, and especially to be accepted) in school, college, and then as she began her career. Only later when she studied group process did she realize that "groups have patterns, and if you can predict the patterns of the group you can be in the right place at the right time. That sort of knowledge is power. I also learned about how ruthless groups can be to members who are innovative (deviant) or perceived as weak." This is but one of several examples - drawn from Simmons' own life and career - that illustrate how a personal story well-told can establish and then sustain a rapport, especially with those in an audience who may otherwise consider your point of view as dangerous, foolish, or simply not worth it. "Demonstrate how deeply you understand their objections by telling a story that validates them."

In Part Two, Simmons explains how to find and then formulate stories. She includes a series of exercises for her reader to complete...and do so within the spaces provided in the book. She introduces each exercise with brief comments and suggestions before the reader records her or his own thoughts, feelings, and experience when formulating various kinds of stories such as those that explain "Who-I-Am"(Chapter 5) and "Why-I-Am-Here" (Chapter 6). In Chapters 7-10, she then helps her readers to organize material for "Teaching Stories," "Vision Stories," "Value-in-Action Stories," and the aforementioned "I-Know-What-You-Are-Thinking Stories." Although Simmons' approach is systematic and comprehensive, I want to emphasize again the effectiveness of the personal tone of her narrative. Many readers will feel as if they are engaged in an extended conversation with her and, as they complete various exercises, interact with her as well as with the specific suggestions she offers.

In the "Call to Action" that concludes her book, she asserts that "every problem in the world can be addressed - solved, made bearable, even eliminated - with better storytelling. At first, initially this statement seemed somewhat hyperbolic to me and then I realized that some of the most influential leaders throughout human history (e.g. Jesus, Abraham Lincoln, Winston Churchill, Mohandas Gandhi, and Martin Luther King, Jr.) were master storytellers who anchored their most important ideas within a human context "to communicate with power and impact."

Few (if any) of us are worthy of being included among them but we can at least improve the skills we need to be much more effective when clarifying and then sharing with others our own thoughts, feelings, and experiences. That is why Annette Simmons wrote this book...and that is why I think so highly of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why Read a Second Book by Annette Simmons?, January 16, 2014
This review is from: Whoever Tells the Best Story Wins: How to Use Your Own Stories to Communicate with Power and Impact (Hardcover)
I just reviewed The Story Factor, and now I will share with you why Whoever Tells the Best Story Wins is another fabulous guide to building strong leadership through stories. The Story Factor told us the "what" and "why." This book covers that briefly in Part One and goes on in Part Two to tell us "how" and "where." It's a real challenge to find the stories worth sharing and tell them at the right time. Simmons shares from experience the six types of stories and provides a series of interactive exercises to help you! find and develop these stories.

As a fairly right-brain thinker already, I find her book affirming that my instincts in presenting ideas to others are on track. I do think this book will open a whole new world of ideas of people who are more linear and fact-based. I believe that stories are amazing conduits of information that channel deeply into the listener - when they are true at heart. It's a common message when you read through motivational books that you have to have faith in yourself, in your message, and in the moment. A book that really drove that home to me was "Success Secrets of the Motivational Superstars: America's Greatest Speakers Reveal Their Secrets."

So, why should you read a second book by Annette Simmons? Because she is telling the story of stories and making a serious impact on how people communicate today. Read about it today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thinking in Story, September 9, 2007
By 
A Rock In My Shoe (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Whoever Tells the Best Story Wins: How to Use Your Own Stories to Communicate with Power and Impact (Hardcover)
This is a book that anyone who has suffered through one too many mind-numbing business presentations will most certainly appreciate. Storytelling is the antidote to death by Powerpoint. Let's face it, no one ever remembers all the data and information served up in those presentations--or cares, even. What people really want to know is, "What does all this mean? How does this affect ME?" In other words, what's the story behind the data?

As Annette Simmons says in Whoever Tells the Best Story Wins, experience is the best teacher--but story is the second best teacher. A story is a re-lived experience. And because people remember what they experience, they remember stories.

Business presentations are not the only place stories can be used to communicate clearly. There's the performance review, the job interview, the sales pitch, the consultation, the water cooler gossip and, of course, the ubiquitous meetings. And a story doesn't have to be a long-winded tale or narrative. It can be as simple as a ten-second analogy or example. But there is an art to picking the right story for the right moment, and the trick is to learn how to "think in story." This is what Ms. Simmons shows us how to do in her wonderful book.

The previous reviewer provides excellent details about the contents of the book, so I won't go into that here--the six types of stories and the places you go to find those stories. What I would like to add is that--much like How To Win Friends and Influence People or The Power of Positive Thinking--those who read this book and consciously apply it's principles will find their lives changed. I know it has changed mine. I'm thinking in story now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Corporate Videos Benefit from Stories, November 11, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whoever Tells the Best Story Wins: How to Use Your Own Stories to Communicate with Power and Impact (Hardcover)
"This book is actually designed to help you pay more attention to the stories you tell."

Well said, Annette! (from page 22.)

So...

Are you paying attention to what stories are you telling?

Are you paying attention to what stories your company is telling?

As a filmmaker, I am passionate about telling stories from remarkable organizations. Personal stories is the DNA for corporate videos; it's the lifeblood.

We've all seen boring videos from organizations. Have you ever considered why they are boring?

Corporate videos are often boring because they lack a personal story with any emotion.

If you are looking to put emotion back into your life, your work or your presentations, Annette Simmons's new book is a fresh look on an ancient tool.

This new book on storytelling is remarkable for three reasons:

1. It's simple but extremely effective.
Annette's style and approach creates opportunities for anyone to begin re-framing their lives, their work and their future with new stories to tell.

2. It's thought-provoking.
If you haven't given too much thought as to who you are and why you are here, Annette will guide you step-by-step to discovering your personal story.

3. It works. Period.
Our brains are hard-wired for stories so why not consciously learn how to discover, tell and share stories that matter? Annette breaks the code for storytelling so you can implement the results right away.

I have shared "Whoever Tells the Best Story Wins" in meetings and the energy of the conversation instantly changes...everyone wants to chime in and share a story! Now, everyone has a new "frame" in which to proceed.

It's no wonder, then, it has become one of my favorite storytelling references.

Thanks, Annette, for a truly inspiring piece of work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take your presentation, and your audience, to the next level, July 2, 2008
By 
JG Hagerty (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whoever Tells the Best Story Wins: How to Use Your Own Stories to Communicate with Power and Impact (Hardcover)
I had been presenting a new employee program for about a year with good results, but never feeling like the audience was fully getting the passion and the spirit for the material that I had, and thought it deserved.

After reading "Whoever Tells the Best Story Wins" (which contains several flat-out hilarious stories as well),I added several short personal anecdotes to my presentation, and a full-fledged 3 minute story as a closing to illustrate my point.

The difference was immediate and amazing. There were more tears and laughter in that auditorium than in Oprah's audience. I was the most amazed of all. What a change! Afterwards, many participants felt at liberty to tell me their similar and highly personal stories.

That's when it dawned on me. Everybody DOES have the potential to be a story teller. Every single person there had their own story. The difference was that I knew how to find mine, develop them, and tell them, all because of this book.

Buy it, follow the steps, you won't be sorry. This is the best money I've spent on professional development in a decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, well communicated, September 9, 2007
This review is from: Whoever Tells the Best Story Wins: How to Use Your Own Stories to Communicate with Power and Impact (Hardcover)
A story will always bring an idea to life, and help the message stick with the audience. That's what Annette Simmons conveys very convincingly in her new book. It's a joy to read, and packed with stories that demonstrate the strength of her thesis. Definitely recommended for anyone who has to communicate anything as part of their job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I was looking for!, January 14, 2011
By 
Jayne L. Ludwikoski (Corpus Christi, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whoever Tells the Best Story Wins: How to Use Your Own Stories to Communicate with Power and Impact (Hardcover)
Just started it and am already changing how I communicate. I am starting to think in stories and relate to others by stories. I am getting great results and others are listening and understanding me better. Exercises are easy and very necessary to succeed. Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthwhile read when you want to have impact, September 9, 2007
This review is from: Whoever Tells the Best Story Wins: How to Use Your Own Stories to Communicate with Power and Impact (Hardcover)
Annette Simmons truly practices what she preaches. She doesn't just tell you how to use storytelling, she shares story after story throughout the book to make her points clearly and convincingly.

What struck me the most was how effectively she conveys how to use story in the business world to be persuasive, show leadership and get colleagues and decision makers to jump on board--or at least stand up and take notice. As an executive coach I frequently work with brilliant scientists, technical geniuses and gifted thinkers who are frustrated when others don't "get it". Their motto is "let the facts speak for themselves" but frequently they are disappointed when no one listens. This is the book that doesn't waste any time trying to convince them to develop their soft side, but makes it very obvious how they can get more mileage out of one good story than another ten facts presented in a pie chart.

And for those who think that telling a story would be uncomfortable, out of character or too difficult, Simmons walks you through such a down-to-earth, non-intimidating simple process, she pulls the stories right from you before you even realize it!

Although this book is loaded with specific strategic information for more powerful communication, Simmons' very conversational tone and her great stories make it an easy read that will have you laughing and smiling inside as you identify with the situations and stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars here's how to find stories--and tell them!, July 3, 2008
This review is from: Whoever Tells the Best Story Wins: How to Use Your Own Stories to Communicate with Power and Impact (Hardcover)
Simmons has once again shown us the pathway to stories. This book is a great follow up to The Story Factor.
The Story Factor told us what and why. This book moves us down the path of how and where.
One of the hardest things is finding stories and telling them at the right time. Simmons walks the reader through this process. You come away with ideas, inspiration and stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nuts & Bolts of StoryTelling..., January 20, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whoever Tells the Best Story Wins: How to Use Your Own Stories to Communicate with Power and Impact (Hardcover)
We've all sat through far too many painful business meetings and presentations with reams of Powerpoint slides exhibiting little emotion, connection and engagement by the presenter and the audience - and we've all watched the clock drag along wandering when we can get on with the rest of our lives. Annette Simmons explains why a story wins and captivates all audiences and why it is so remembered (a re-lived experience) when other forms of presentations simply vanish from our consciousness.

This is a good "nuts-and-bolts" how-to book on storytelling. The author uses an informal conversational tone that makes the book very readable. Yet I found the book to be listless - the stories and anecdotes to lack energy and punch - a significant "lead-by-example" opportunity left behind on the table.

1) Story Thinking - What does that even mean?
2) What is Story?
3) Training Your Brain
4) Telling Stories that Win
5) Who-I-am-Stories
6) Why-am-I-Here Stories
7) Teaching Stories
8) Vision Stories
9) Value-in-Action Stories
10) I-Know-What-You-Are-Thinking Stories
11) Experience is sensory
12) The Gift of Brevity
13) Brand, Organizational & Political Stories
14) Point of View
15) Story Listening
16) Call to Action
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Whoever Tells the Best Story Wins: How to Use Your Own Stories to Communicate with Power and Impact
$22.00 $14.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.