Customer Reviews


537 Reviews
5 star:
 (324)
4 star:
 (113)
3 star:
 (47)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


466 of 503 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still haunted by Hemingway
"For Whom the Bell Tolls" was the first Hemingway I ever read. I was a high school kid in the early 1970s, working on my campus newspaper, newly graduated from Jack London but not yet ready for Jack Kerouac.
To my young eyes, it was a good action story: Robert Jordan, the passionate American teacher joins a band of armed gypsies in the Spanish Civil...
Published on June 2, 2000 by Ron Franscell, Author of 'The ...

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What War Is Really Like
With vivid, descriptive prose, Hemingway takes us into the mind of a soldier. Focused on duty and his mission, our main character encounters love among the carnage, but even that does not sway him from his duty. Though at times a bit long-winded, Hemingway brings the internal battle of war to the surface. The self-talk that goes on shows the conflict behind the rough...
Published on January 14, 2011 by GTO


‹ Previous | 134 35 3654 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The hero of the book, Robert Jordan, gives ..., August 1, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The hero of the book, Robert Jordan, gives every man insight into what matters when we come face to face with imminent death. Hemingway brings the reader into a land and time that deserves to be explored because of the universality of the struggles of freedom fighters portrayed in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Masterful on war, revolution, but not love, July 20, 1999
By A Customer
Hemingway brings the chaos and passions of twentieth century political war vividly to life in this epic. If only he'd stopped there without cooking up an absurd love story to go with it. Had EH edited out the Robert/Maria hooey he'd have created a novel of war to be compared with any.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My first Hemmingway book, September 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The old writing style using thou and thus etc. Took some getting to. Also Spanish interjection hard to follow at times. Story great. Contemplation of suicide by main character interesting given ultimate demise of author. A hard read but worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Literary master, August 15, 2000
By A Customer
Hemmingway is a literary master and displays it in this book. The haunting tale of war and love will speak to any reader. No writer can immerse the reader in a story the way Hemingway can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is Hemingway??, August 3, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was disappointed in this book. I usually don't have a problem with dialects, etc., but this got on my last nerve. I'm not sure I finished it. Expected much more judging by all the hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's an excellent piece of literature, September 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's an excellent piece of literature. It is a hard read at points and includes scenes that make you question why Hemingway put them in the book. However, its style is interesting,and its themes remain valid to this day. Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... grew up hearing about the dust bowl and the Great Depression from my mother and grandmother who lived in ..., September 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Hemingway brings a harsh narrative to the stories I grew up hearing about the dust bowl and the Great Depression from my mother and grandmother who lived in Arkansas during this period. Truly the great American novel, beautifully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You cannot beat this!, February 21, 2004
By 
Robert Wynkoop (Washington State) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having read two Hemmingway novels, I was not impressed. Frankly, I was surprised that I did not enjoy them. After growing up and hearing about the great Hemmingway, the man's man, I found his characters weak and whinny. Ready to give up, I gave him one more try and I am glad he did. This is a magnificent novel.
Set in the Spanish Civil War during the 1930s it tells the story of Robert Jordan, an American volunteer fighting against Franco and his fascist allies. This is first-rate story telling, it grabs the reader from the offset and pulls him into the story. Unlike other Hemmingway novels (i.e., The Son Also Rises), these are heroic characters that we deeply care about.
The imagery is magnificent. I can still see in my minds eye, the retreating Republicans, the panicked soldiers, the horses out of control and the cartridge casings spilled in the road way. If you are unfamiliar with Hemmingway, read this book first. All the others will pale in comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hemmingway has done it again., January 30, 2003
By 
Grant (Spokane, WA) - See all my reviews
Hemmingway opens his classic account of Robert Jordan and the anti-fascists guerillas he helps, with the surveying of a mill and bridge. Through Hemmingway's superb writing skills we find out why Jordan is on this particular mission and the basis of his mission in Spain.
Robert Jordan is sent to Spain to help an anti-fascists guerilla unit in the mountains of Spain. There, in the mists of war, he falls in love with the beautiful Maria. In his description of war and what the tolls of it are, Hemmingway forgets nothing. In his excellent account of El Sordos's last stand he leaves out nothing, and provides multiple viewpoints of the situation. All forty-three chapters are written without flaw and provide the reader with a true story about war and the devastation it causes. From page one to page 471 the reader's senses are bombarded with a colorful array of writing. This perhaps is Hemmingway's best work and was published at the height of his career. This book is guaranteed to give you your bang for your buck, and doesn't come close to A Farwell to Arms or The Sun Also Rises. Everyone should read this book and be exposed to one of the most influential American writers ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heminway is a GOD !, September 19, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Hemingway is the best American author ever. He says more in fewer words than anyone else. His descriptions are so vivid and concrete and his stories are moving. Simply unrivaled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 134 35 3654 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

For Whom the Bell Tolls (Scribner Classics)
For Whom the Bell Tolls (Scribner Classics) by Ernest Hemingway (Hardcover - June 10, 1996)
$30.00 $22.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.