Customer Reviews


523 Reviews
5 star:
 (317)
4 star:
 (111)
3 star:
 (44)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


463 of 500 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still haunted by Hemingway
"For Whom the Bell Tolls" was the first Hemingway I ever read. I was a high school kid in the early 1970s, working on my campus newspaper, newly graduated from Jack London but not yet ready for Jack Kerouac.
To my young eyes, it was a good action story: Robert Jordan, the passionate American teacher joins a band of armed gypsies in the Spanish Civil...
Published on June 2, 2000 by Ron Franscell, Author of 'The ...

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What War Is Really Like
With vivid, descriptive prose, Hemingway takes us into the mind of a soldier. Focused on duty and his mission, our main character encounters love among the carnage, but even that does not sway him from his duty. Though at times a bit long-winded, Hemingway brings the internal battle of war to the surface. The self-talk that goes on shows the conflict behind the rough...
Published on January 14, 2011 by GTO


‹ Previous | 134 35 3653 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Heminway is a GOD !, September 19, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Hemingway is the best American author ever. He says more in fewer words than anyone else. His descriptions are so vivid and concrete and his stories are moving. Simply unrivaled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For Whom the Bell Tolls, September 13, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: For Whom the Bell Tolls (Scribner Classics) (Hardcover)
This book should be a "must read" for everyone. It is one of the top twenty-five books of modern times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great adventure story, November 17, 2007
By 
Thomas Hofer (Jefferson, LA, USA) - See all my reviews
Ernest Hemingway wrote another great adventure story with FOR WHOM THE BELL TOLLS. His style is very vivid, and reading the book is like being on the scene of the Spanish Civil War itself. Prior to reading FOR WHOM THE BELL TOLLS, I had read all his short stories while taking a short story course in college, then THE OLD MAN AND THE SEA. The short stories vary in style, except that they are also written in short sentences, just as Hemingway preferred. THE OLD MAN AND THE SEA tends to be boring, but FOR WHOM THE BELL TOLLS is fascinating throughout. I just wish I had the time to read more of Hemingway's novels, just to see what they are like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good novel, April 28, 1998
By 
I happen to think Hemingway is one of the most overrated novelists of the 20th century, but this particular book is "a good read." Hemingway does deal with many subjects such as duty, brutalization, love, or loyalty, all the while telling a good, moving story. Not my vote for "the great American novel", but worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling, December 23, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: For Whom the Bell Tolls (Scribner Classics) (Hardcover)
This was the first book by Hemmingway that I ever read. I was enthralled at his style of writing and development of character. He has a very plain, honest manner of stating the reality that is overlooked either intentionally or unintentionally. For Whom The Bell Tolls is a book to be read and remembered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very vivid, September 15, 2003
By 
Raul (Silver Spring, MD United States) - See all my reviews
I can't say enough how much I like Hemingway and his writing. The complexities of relationships and the struggle to understand people's loyalities are shown in this book. Also a refreshing and informitive look at the Spanish Civil War. Which in my belief is not widely known here in the States.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IMHO Hemingway's masterpiece..., October 14, 2005
For Whom The Bell Tolls is a tour de force in more ways then one and ends being Hemingway's best work because of how accesible it is to a general audience.

The first time I read this book I was 17 and I couldn't put it down which is a stark contrast to some of Hemingway's other works. Works like The Sun Also Rises, and Farewell To Arms I think require a bit more maturity to appreciate but FWTBT is a good pick for a more advanced high school student. The novel is more plot driven than Hemingway's other works and thus a bit more exciting and readable for the general public. Hemingway's story of an American demolition expert caught up in a mission amidst the backdrop of the Spanish Civil War is both compelling, suspensefull, thoughtfull, brutal and heartwarming all at once.

Like many "classic" this book excels in most elements that are required for an amazing piece of literature. The charactization is superb. Robert Jordan and the supporting cast are fully fleshed out three dimensional characters. Of course the book is written in the classic Hemingway style. His own style of prose will put you into story as you live this three day adventure with the main characters. Finally there are many layers and themes to this book as it has something to say about war, man, personal honor and the usual Hemingway themes.

This was Hemingway's second to last novel and the last of his more well known works. Having read most of his books, I think Hemingway really hit his peak here and fine tuned his craft. A truly amazing piece of work, FWTBT should really be read by everyone. If you only read one Hemingway book in your life this should be it. You don't need to be "well read" to appreciate this.

Bottom Line: There is a reason why certain books are deemed "classics". FWTBT is the perfect example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The hero of the book, Robert Jordan, gives ..., August 1, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The hero of the book, Robert Jordan, gives every man insight into what matters when we come face to face with imminent death. Hemingway brings the reader into a land and time that deserves to be explored because of the universality of the struggles of freedom fighters portrayed in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Masterful on war, revolution, but not love, July 20, 1999
By A Customer
Hemingway brings the chaos and passions of twentieth century political war vividly to life in this epic. If only he'd stopped there without cooking up an absurd love story to go with it. Had EH edited out the Robert/Maria hooey he'd have created a novel of war to be compared with any.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Literary master, August 15, 2000
By A Customer
Hemmingway is a literary master and displays it in this book. The haunting tale of war and love will speak to any reader. No writer can immerse the reader in a story the way Hemingway can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 134 35 3653 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

For Whom the Bell Tolls (Scribner Classics)
For Whom the Bell Tolls (Scribner Classics) by Ernest Hemingway (Hardcover - June 10, 1996)
$30.00 $21.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.