Customer Reviews


587 Reviews
5 star:
 (199)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (43)
1 star:
 (247)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pertinent!!!!
The author presents his thesis with 3 star things his detractors "fail" to use. Logic, reason, and historical facts. This book represents the 70% of Americans that are in the moderate center, while poking huge holes in the left and right extremes. Chapter 9 was poignant. He describes the 3 foundations for his own success: discipline, education, and persistence. Candidly...
Published on January 19, 2006 by SUPPORT THE ASPCA.

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, not inspiring either
Bill O'Reilly

Who's Looking Out for You?

This book is Bill O'Reilly's self help guide for American citizens. Its not particularly insightful, but it is interesting. If you like his show it will give you some good biographical information and some insights into who he is and why. His main argument on the need to be cautious before crediting someone...
Published on February 4, 2005 by Jeffrey Demers


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, not inspiring either, February 4, 2005
This review is from: Who's Looking Out for You? (Hardcover)
Bill O'Reilly

Who's Looking Out for You?

This book is Bill O'Reilly's self help guide for American citizens. Its not particularly insightful, but it is interesting. If you like his show it will give you some good biographical information and some insights into who he is and why. His main argument on the need to be cautious before crediting someone with looking out for you is well written and quite persuasive. People in power are not looking out for you; they are looking out for themselves, their image, their wallet, their friends and then maybe you (in descending order).

The book does have its moments. O'Reilly uses a great quote to open his assault on the decadence of government from Scottish historian Alexander Tyler: "A democracy cannot exist as a permanent form of government. It can only exist until the voters discover that they can vote themselves largess from the public treasury. From that moment on, the majority always votes for the candidate promising the most benefits from the public treasury with the result that a democracy always collapses over a loose fiscal policy." (p. 68)

Obviously, democracy can not survive a massive redistribution of wealth. Essentially, most in government (particularly liberals O'Reilly mentions) are not looking out for you! That being said individuals need to take personal responsibility for all of their actions and live their life accordingly. They need to look out for themselves! In this regard the book fulfills its main objective: it is truly fools gold to think that anyone (especially the government) but good friends and family will ever look out for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The book doesn't have many redeeming qualities, January 16, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Who's Looking Out for You? (Hardcover)
There is a part of me that likes Bill O'Reilly. I respect his irreverence--his go against the grain nature. His penchant for calling out the truth in a fact-based way, combined with his self-deprecating nature, are refreshing as well. Despite the angry claims of a lot of O'Reilly critics, he does at times admit mistakes, as well as state opinions that go against Republicans and the Republican party. Sure, some of his emotional points of view, like denigrating ALL rap artists, are a bit over the top, but one can't expect to agree with everything someone says. In addition, his woe is me--they all hate me and they're all biased hooplah, which feeds into his own endless tirade of self-promotion, is tiring.
All of that said, there is little to recommend in this book. Yes, his views on people and institutions from various walks of life who aren't looking out for you are at times illuminating. But after awhile, one can't help but feel increasingly anxious reading this book. Are things really this bleak? Is there really such a stark "good versus evil" component in all walks of life? I'd like to think there is a bit more color and hope in the world. Bill's suggestions on how to operate in a world where so many folks aren't looking out for you, are pitifully inadequate. He freely admits his own mistakes in his career, but one should be careful before drawing any analogies between the world of broadcasting and almost any other field. As is the case in the world of acting, there are very few broadcasting slots at the top, the barriers to entry are actually pitifully low, and sexism and bad behavior are rampant. Lacking in Bill's suggestions are recommendations toward cultivating any form of "emotional intelligence," and chief among qualities of emotional intelligence is empathy. While developmentally, Bill has come a long way according to his own claims, it appears he could still benefit from some basic emotional intelligence.
The book is essentially 212 pages of very large type, with very little content. I was disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disrespectful to veterans, March 18, 2004
This review is from: Who's Looking Out for You? (Hardcover)
A veteran myself, I did not appreciate Mr. O'Reilly's jab in one of the sections on defense that, quote, "anyone who has been in the military and fought in a war is a Republican. A veteran who proclaims to be a Democrat should not have come back alive."
Very arrogant and insensitive from someone who purports to support the military.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who's Looking Out For You, December 4, 2003
By 
L. Hobson (Palmdale California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who's Looking Out for You? (Hardcover)
Who's Looking Out For You
Well I hate to say it, but what Bill O'Reilly writes about in his book is what every one of us already knew or should have known. Nothing new in what he is writing about, if you didn't know the best person to watch out for you is yourself then maybe you do need to read Mr. O'Reilly's book. You should also know the people that you can trust to help out should be the people that are the closest to you, but then again sometimes even close people will turn their back on you if you your not watching out for number one. Like Mr. O'Reilly's TV show Mr. O'Reilly has set himself up as a know it all, on just about everything. I do agree with Mr. O'Reilly on most of what he says and writes about but do like to hear both sides and not just Bill O'Reilly one sided way of doing his business. I think for most people the book is a good read and the rest should already know who's looking out for you with out reading. Larry Hobson- Author "The Day Of The Rose"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pertinent!!!!, January 19, 2006
The author presents his thesis with 3 star things his detractors "fail" to use. Logic, reason, and historical facts. This book represents the 70% of Americans that are in the moderate center, while poking huge holes in the left and right extremes. Chapter 9 was poignant. He describes the 3 foundations for his own success: discipline, education, and persistence. Candidly going through a list of mistakes he made in his career. Contrary to a couple of mistaken reviewers, Mr. O'Reilly showed great humility. Some people resent a moral person writing from a non-relativist point of view, I found it refreshing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Big fan of Bill but..., October 22, 2004
This review is from: Who's Looking Out for You? (Hardcover)
I couldn't finish this book. I wasn't impressed with the first two and I'm just downright insulted by this one. I'm obviously not his intended audience. Too preachy for me. I don't need Bill to tell me right from wrong or how to live my life. I'd be more interested in his insights into current issues based on the kind of access to public figures and information Bill has that most of the rest of us don't. Just can't get into Bill telling me how to live a successful life. I've already figured that out...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as interesting as his tv show, September 26, 2003
By 
Johnny D. Goode (Athens, Georgia, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who's Looking Out for You? (Hardcover)
It frustrates me that so many of the reviews on here are either 1 star or 5 stars - there is a middle ground, you know! While I don't agree with many of O'Reilly's views, I do believe his television show is usually worth watching: he makes expert use of television as a medium, and is pushing 'news talk shows' in a new direction. Whether those who follow his model will do with such energy and passion is doubtful, but still...
I've not read any previous books by O'Reilly, but thought I'd give this one a try. While his voice comes through strongly at times, the book doesn't have the same visceral kick as the tv show - at times, the book is a little pedestrian and lame. Does anyone else have anything to say about O'Reilly's effectiveness as a writer? I just don't think he's very good at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THIS is a best seller? Thin in size -- and intellect., January 12, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Who's Looking Out for You? (Hardcover)
I have no problem whatsoever with Bill O'Reilly's politics. In fact, he's to the LEFT of me on many issues. I like Fox News, also, and the few times I've watched the O'Reilly Factor, I had no problem whatsoever in his delivery or style.
I guess my main issue with this book -- the first and only O'Reilly book I will probably ever read -- is that there's not much "there" there.
It's just a collection of not-very-earth-shattering bits of personal annecdotes, sprinkled with some good personal advice. But -- is this enough to warrant a number one best seller and millions and millions of dollars in profit?
While I admire anyone who can sit down and write a book, I don't see a whole lot of hard work or research in this thin (212 pages with VERY large type and lots of space between the lines) book.
It must be nice to have a national forum (TV and radio) and lots of fans in order to plug a book and produce a best-seller.
He has an easy-going writing style, but this is one forgettable book, and I have read quite a few in the past year.
As for me, I'm getting a little tired of this whole "Left-Wing" vs. "Right-Wing" best seller con game that is going on right now in this country.
Michael Moore, Al Franken, Hillary Clinton, et. al., on the left regularly come out with their lightweight best sellers; Bill O'Reilly, Michael Savage, Sean Hannity, et. al., come out with their lightweight best sellers.
We -- the public -- buy them either to support our political heros, or to see what the other side is thinking.
Meanwhile -- the pseudo-intellectuals who crank out this pap, and the publishers that print it -- get rich.
When a man can make millions putting out a lightweight book like this, something's wrong with this picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT BILL!, October 8, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Who's Looking Out for You? (Hardcover)
Nothing new just the same old junk. If you really want to read this book wait until you find it in the bargain bin,under 5 bucks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars gave it a chance..., September 28, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Who's Looking Out for You? (Hardcover)
I used to understand O'Reilly's point of view but in the end his demagoguery just overwhelmed me. I'm pretty convinced that, at this point, it is distorting his perperspective not to mention his writing. He's now officially too defensive and bullying to be useful or taken seriously. Sorry...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Who's Looking Out for You?
Who's Looking Out for You? by Bill O'Reilly (Hardcover - September 23, 2003)
$24.95 $19.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.