Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gift from Jan Brett before Christmas Eve!
Jan Brett has again combined a charming story with delightful characters and her usual stunning artwork. Each page is a visual treat; casual readers will miss the subtle clues and detail skilfully blended into the borders. The story invites lingering on each and every page. Although the story is aimed at children aged 4 through 8...readers of all ages will love this...
Published on October 18, 2002 by Jeff Renner

versus
14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing illustrations, weak story.
The illustrations in this book are beautiful and amazing. Unfortunately, this book isn't merely a picture book. It is also a story book, and the story doesn't have a lot to it. Essentially, a boy with a polar bear comes to a girl's house in the snow, and his bear scares away the trolls that steal Christmas supper. No part of the story is very well developed, and it...
Published on October 15, 2003 by Just Another Opinion


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gift from Jan Brett before Christmas Eve!, October 18, 2002
By 
Jeff Renner (Sammamish, WA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Who's That Knocking on Christmas Eve? (Hardcover)
Jan Brett has again combined a charming story with delightful characters and her usual stunning artwork. Each page is a visual treat; casual readers will miss the subtle clues and detail skilfully blended into the borders. The story invites lingering on each and every page. Although the story is aimed at children aged 4 through 8...readers of all ages will love this treasure. It adds Brett's usual magic to story time...and for readers without children of that age-buy it...you'll enjoy it yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winter Bloom, May 23, 2004
By 
Rebecca Whiting (Beautiful Bell Gardens, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who's That Knocking on Christmas Eve? (Hardcover)
What a marvel of a book! Jan Brett has an incredibly detailed and colorful style a la Michael Hague. In this book, each illustration is presented as a triptych: the middle panel represents the text, and the side panels present what is happening meanwhile with the other characters. Very neat trick.

I like that there is not TOO much text on each page, and there is a lovely repetitive cadence to the storytelling.

Although this is a good book to use in initiating learning about Scandinavia, it evokes the Arctic in general. As someone who lived in Alaska for many years and had the good fortune to see the Northern Lights and breathe the crisp frigid air until my nose hairs froze, I endorse Brett's artistic expression of the Far North completely.

This is a good family read for mixed-age children if the older ones liked "The Golden Compass" or "Julie of the Wolves". Children who like this book may also enjoy the gigantic "Gnomes" books full of Scandinavian lore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, this is a real Norwegian folktale, January 16, 2007
By 
Maria Larson (Freehold, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who's That Knocking on Christmas Eve? (Hardcover)
I love this book, and so do all the children I know who have had it read to them. The point of the story is that trolls are incredibly stupid. Anybody looking for a deeper meaning will be disappointed. Some of the reviewers asked if it's a retelling of a real Norwegian folktale. Indeed it is. The original title is "The Cat on the Dovrefell" in Asbjornsen and Moe's "Norwegian Folktales" (1841).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fun book/ beautiful artwork, March 31, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Who's That Knocking on Christmas Eve? (Hardcover)
My grandchildren love this book. We love Jan Brett's artwork in all of her books. This one is especially beautiful. The story is a lot of fun. My grandchildren ask me to read it over and over again. I highly recommend getting this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter's favorite book, January 23, 2007
This review is from: Who's That Knocking on Christmas Eve? (Hardcover)
My daughter (3 yrs old) never gets tired of reading this book, and there is so much detail that there is always something new to discover so neither do I! The extremely dramatic story is exactly what resonates with children - A scared little girl left alone in the house afraid of trolls and who might knock, a brave Daddy that goes out on skis in the cold woods looking everywhere to find the trolls and scare them away, trolls who are knocking, trying to get in and finally burst in, a polar bear that gets poked in the nose, woken up, and roars around chasing them out, and trolls that are bad because they don't share and want to eat everything so poor Kyrie and Daddy don't have anything to eat for Xmas. Just scary enough with dramatic happy ending, my daughter acts it all out, and we both pick out new pictures all the time (Kyrie sillouette cooking in kitchen, animals in the northern lights, etc.) An absolute keeper, must buy you'll never tire of story or pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whose That Knocking on Christmas Eve?, January 6, 2009
By 
This review is from: Who's That Knocking on Christmas Eve? (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful story that fits into Social Studies curriculum. It shares a story from another culture and is beautifully illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars grandma, May 24, 2009
By 
M. Wolford (Lebanon, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who's That Knocking on Christmas Eve? (Hardcover)
You can't go wrong with a Jan Brett book. They are keepsakes. This story keeps the little one's interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing illustrations, weak story., October 15, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Who's That Knocking on Christmas Eve? (Hardcover)
The illustrations in this book are beautiful and amazing. Unfortunately, this book isn't merely a picture book. It is also a story book, and the story doesn't have a lot to it. Essentially, a boy with a polar bear comes to a girl's house in the snow, and his bear scares away the trolls that steal Christmas supper. No part of the story is very well developed, and it really is kind of boring. At least I think it is, as do the kids in my life. However, the illustrations are magical. So, what to do? Check it out at the library. Not worth a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first Jan Brett's book, February 4, 2004
This review is from: Who's That Knocking on Christmas Eve? (Hardcover)
I love this book. I was so thrilled when I bought it for my children's first Christmas. It is now part of our Christmas tradition ~~ reading this book and snacking on cookies. When I look for good books to buy and to incorporate in our holiday reading, I look for excellent illustrations with a fun story to tell. I also don't look for drawn-out stories or depressing stories. This book fits all of the criteria I had set out.
My boys love polar bears. This one is focused on a traveling boy with his polar bear who helps a young girl keeps the trolls away from her house and eating up all of her Christmas eve dinner. It's funny and hilarious and sweet ~~ all at the same time. It's easy to read and fun to read out loud as well. It's a great addition to our personal library!
2-4-04
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A magical journey, January 19, 2009
This review is from: Who's That Knocking on Christmas Eve? (Hardcover)
Jan Brett's beautifully illustrated book accompanies a simple story that young children would enjoy. Each Christmas the trolls come and eat Kyri's Christmas feast. This year a boy from Finnmark on his way to Oslo with his ice bear will help chase the trolls away! My grandchildren love this book! They love looking at the illustrations and talking about the various things in them and of course laughing at the piggy trolls!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Who's That Knocking on Christmas Eve?
Who's That Knocking on Christmas Eve? by Jan Brett (Hardcover - September 23, 2002)
$17.99 $12.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.