Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful look at both parents and kids, February 15, 2006
By 
robert ruley (nantucket, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whose Game Is It, Anyway?: A Guide to Helping Your Child Get the Most from Sports, Organized by Age and Stage (Paperback)
This is a great book for all parents. It is both intelligent and compelling. Any parent who intends to be an active participant in their children's forays into sport owes it to themself as well as their children to read this fine book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb resource for any parent with children who play sports, April 6, 2006
By 
This review is from: Whose Game Is It, Anyway?: A Guide to Helping Your Child Get the Most from Sports, Organized by Age and Stage (Paperback)
As a clinical psychologist, sports fan and father of 3 young children, I found this book to be an extraordinary resource for any parent who wants their children to get the most out of sports, at any age. It is an extremely well written and organized book by a leading expert in the field of sports psychology and child development. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whose Game is it, Anyway?, February 16, 2006
By 
Michel (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Whose Game Is It, Anyway?: A Guide to Helping Your Child Get the Most from Sports, Organized by Age and Stage (Paperback)
Well done - finally a book that helps parents help their children get the most out of what should be fun and growing experiences on the playing field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Target, February 17, 2006
This review is from: Whose Game Is It, Anyway?: A Guide to Helping Your Child Get the Most from Sports, Organized by Age and Stage (Paperback)
As the coach of a 5th grade basketball team, I find the book to be immensely helpful. "Whose Game Is It Anyway" provides unique and practical insight into handling the complex challenges of coaching and parenting youngsters in today's intensely competitive society. Sports provide a wonderful opportunity for children to develop skills that can help them navigate life, yet too often, we as parents, coaches, and teachers, obstruct their development rather than facilitate it. If you're interested in helping children reach their potential as athletes, and most importantly, as healthy, happy, and productive members of society, you MUST read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and thought provoking, July 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whose Game Is It, Anyway?: A Guide to Helping Your Child Get the Most from Sports, Organized by Age and Stage (Paperback)
This book was very helpful in thinking through a variety of issues regarding our children's involvement in sports, particularly the material about the developmental considerations. It appealed to me as both a parent and a clinical social worker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, April 3, 2006
By 
This review is from: Whose Game Is It, Anyway?: A Guide to Helping Your Child Get the Most from Sports, Organized by Age and Stage (Paperback)
This book is helping me and my son to conquer the obstacles that are set in his way. This book is helping him to follow his dreams and have fun playing the sports that he loves. It is helping me with my role as a parent of an athletic child. I am so glad for the publication of this book. I could have used it 5 years ago. At times things can get very difficult; that is why we need this book to help us through our problems. The book should be mandatory for every person involved in the development of an athletic child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Advice, April 12, 2014
By 
Susan M Crockett (Tampa, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whose Game Is It, Anyway?: A Guide to Helping Your Child Get the Most from Sports, Organized by Age and Stage (Paperback)
I purchased this when my daughter was struggling with a decision to stop a sport after 6 years. At the level of competition she had reached, it just wasn't fun anymore - all work and pressure. The writers help clarify she was a classic case of burnout, identify some of my behaviors that were adding to her confusion, and provide healthy suggestions to support her throught the transition. Its been a year and she picked up another sport on her own and has found some enjoyment again. This book is a sports parenting guide for the full spectrum - from the child who struggles to perform, to a child with a gift and the passion, and all the stops in-between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for parents at all stages of the game., November 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whose Game Is It, Anyway?: A Guide to Helping Your Child Get the Most from Sports, Organized by Age and Stage (Paperback)
As an athletic director at a middle school, this book has been a great resource for parents at this stage in the game.
I also found the book helpful in my personal life as my son was a NCAA Division I athlete. His experiences were identical to those of the athletes highlighted in the book. It was reassuring to know others had experienced the same feelings and he ultimately decided that he was not interested in playing at that level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good material for any parent or coach, November 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The authors have done their research, observed the field in detail and as such they provided an insightful guide to parents and coaches in youth leagues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Calling all Sports Parents!, August 17, 2010
This review is from: Whose Game Is It, Anyway?: A Guide to Helping Your Child Get the Most from Sports, Organized by Age and Stage (Paperback)
"Whose game is it anyway, A guide to helping your child get the sports organized by age and stage" is true to it's name and an excellent, well written, practical book that deals with youth athletes of all abilities, from the reluctant, side-line athlete, to the high-performing college athlete. The book is infused with realistic scenarios - a compilation of experience from all three authors who are each a sports psychologist, parent and competitive athlete from high school and college, making the guide an exceptional resource for parents, coaches and athletic program directors.

The book is organized by descriptively titled chapters, allowing the reader to hone in on what's relevant, though the book is a worthwhile read in its entirety. Useful and applicable, the real-life vignettes give insight into how parents can deal with complex athlete/child situations and challenges. I found a scenario that fit each of my three children , giving me insight into the best way to help my kids, though I'd wish I'd read this book earlier rather than later. Sensitive topics are brought forward in some chapters, which may make it an uncomfortable read at times for parents, such as how some young athletes are afraid to tell their parents they want to try a different sport or quit altogether, or that a child may be suffering from burnout, which is difficult to comes to terms with both for parents and coach. All in all, an outstanding book that I would highly recommend for any parent with children involved in sports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Whose Game Is It, Anyway?: A Guide to Helping Your Child Get the Most from Sports, Organized by Age and Stage
$18.95 $13.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.