Why I am Choosing the 4Shot over the XO7...

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 47 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Sep 4, 2013 8:54:30 AM PDT
I am no technical expert. I play video games, primarily BF3 and COD tpye FPS. But I do currently use a lower grade set of Turtle Beaches, and they work good. I also am well aware of how good POLK audio accessories are.

After long thought, I am swtiching my preorder from the XO7s to the POLK 4shot. A lot of these came after emailing POLK technical support direct. They responded to my question within a half hour. My question was regarding surround sound capability. Ken, the guy at POLK, schooled me. The headphones are not 5.1 or 7.1, but "game immersion" with the 4 Shot using DSP to "surround" the gamer with sound. He stated that no headsets are true 5.1. That would probably mean even Turtle Beach which claims the XO7s are. He also stated he has heard the 4Shot and said "i'm in for a treat when I get them." Yes, he could be blowing smoke at me, but I believe him. And based on this prompt and polite service I am swtiching to POLK.

In addition, Microsoft sought them out and partnered with them, working hand in hand. That is big. Also, the headphones can be used with iphone, etc, and are made to look stylish when no gaming.

Sold. Hope this helps anyone on the fence like I was.

Posted on Sep 28, 2013 2:34:47 AM PDT
Ushae says:
Thanks for this, was a bit confused which one of these headsets would be better. You've helped me make my mind up :)

I knew that there was no 'true' surround sound in headphones but they have advanced techniques to replicate the trick. Polk seem to have done a direct collaboration with MS to design these headphones and they look a lot more comfortable in design.

Posted on Oct 8, 2013 3:22:55 AM PDT