Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you care about Marriage, read this book!
After reading WHY MARRIAGE MATTERS, AMERICA, EQUALITY AND GAY PEOPLE'S RIGHT TO MARRY, by Evan Wolfson, I felt proud to be an American again! I have struggled with the direction that this country has been going in and wanted to believe that we're truly are a country of the people, by the people and for the people. The underlying patriotism and sense of hope that is the...
Published on August 7, 2004 by G. L SPINO

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars expected more
I just finished Evan Wolfson's Why Marriage Matters, and although I am salivating at the thought of spending the rest of my night immersed in a tirade that focuses on what this book lacks, I will limit myself to describing one and only one glaring deficiency. Here it is. Come election time much of the hoopla surrounding gay marriage rights stems directly from those...
Published on April 21, 2006 by B. L. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you care about Marriage, read this book!, August 7, 2004
After reading WHY MARRIAGE MATTERS, AMERICA, EQUALITY AND GAY PEOPLE'S RIGHT TO MARRY, by Evan Wolfson, I felt proud to be an American again! I have struggled with the direction that this country has been going in and wanted to believe that we're truly are a country of the people, by the people and for the people. The underlying patriotism and sense of hope that is the basis of this book struck a chord in my heart.

America is struggling with the issue of marriage and who should be allowed to marry. WHY MARRIAGE MATTERS addresses the concerns of the everyday American with respect and accuracy. Wolfson touches on issues from the religious response to the historical argument, from racial equality to what the opponents of marriage equality DON'T want you to know. He does this with and consistent reverence to the founding principles of our great country and reminds the reader of those principles with inspiring quotes from American leaders through the ages. It is the duty of every American to read this book so that they will be able to discuss the issue of marriage with their friends and families.

The final message of this book is one of unity and hope. We all need this. I strongly recommend that every person who cares about marriage buy 2 copies of this book, one to read and one to share with those they love. There is nothing greater about this country than the importance we all place on communication and communion of truth. If everyone approached the issue of marriage from Wolfson's point of view, there would be far less misunderstanding surrounding this very important American institution. Please do yourself, and your family, a favor and read WHY MARRIAGE MATTERS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Argument for Equal Marriage Rights, September 21, 2004
This book achieves the rare feat of making a non-fiction book into a page- turner. The arguments of course are compelling, reflecting the most persuasive points in a pithy fashion. It is the examples of how marriage impacts individual lives that keeps you reading it. Quite simply, the combination of effective argument and people's lives will convince the most skeptical. Even those who disagree with equal marriage rights should read this to see what arguments they need to defeat. A great book for anyone - you won't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks, Mr. Wolfson, for your book and your struggles!, August 24, 2004
By 
As the debate for marriage equality for same-sex couples moves to the ballot box in a dozen states this Fall, Evan Wolfson's thought-provoking and well-laid-out book, Why Marriage Matters, could not have appeared at a better time.

Addressed to a gay, as well as non-gay, audience, Mr. Wolfson builds up a steady and powerful case for marriage equality in our country's legal system. He addresses this subject in layman's terms but without being too simple. He doesn't preach, but answers the questions (and explains his answers) that are most often on the minds of those on both sides of the fence.

One of the most interesting and significant concepts Mr. Wolfson lays out and clarifies is that of marriage equality as a civil right. He explains how marriage equality parallels other civil rights issues, dissecting arguments made against marriage equality. He shows how the same arguments that have been used at various points over the past two hundred years to deny other citizens their constitutionally guaranteed civil rights continue to be used to this day to deny marriage equality.

The book reads as much like a thoughtful and provocative essay for the general public as it does a primer for concerned gay and lesbian citizens interested in how marriage equality could affect their personal and legal lives. Addressing the anti-same-sex marriage constitutional amendments being voted on in several states this Fall, Mr. Wolfson shows why, after these battles are over, there will still be much to struggle for in the days beyond. Mr. Wolfson not only forecasts trends, but he prepares his audience for their realization through a series of recommendations and ideas for educating Americans and dealing with fairness issues.

Having worked with various human/gay/civil rights organizations and seen how real this struggle is for the gay and lesbian community, I was impressed with the succinctness of Mr. Wolfson's arguments. He clearly outlines and explains the fairness of bringing about marriage equality in America while showing how this issue is ultimately everyone's struggle.

I would suggest that you read this book if you are concerned for personal reasons about marriage equality. Or read it if you have friends, relatives or co-workers who are affected by its message. But most of all, read Why Marriage Matters if you are concerned about the fairness and equity of all of our laws to all of our people. Because it really truly boils down to the words of the Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr., who wrote in his letter from Birmingham Jail: "Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you read one book on this topic, this is it, August 3, 2004
Having known Evan Wolfson and his work for years, I expected the book to be brilliant. What astounded me was that Wolfson has found a way both to cover all the issues and to provide a great read. After I began the book, I couldn't put it down. Integrating personal stories and analysis,the book is compelling from cover to cover. He is truly the Martin Luther King, Jr. of this movement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Marriage Matters, September 7, 2004
In penning "Why Marriage Matters" Evan Wolfson has captured, in a calm and persuasive manner, the reasons why gays and lesbians should be granted the right to marry. If one views the family as the "basic unit" of society, it is not, as the opponents of equal access to marriage claim, restricted to one man and one woman united for procreation. As Wolfson notes, not all couples have children, not all children have two parents, and the only common theme for those wanting to get married is love and commitment.

Wolfson confronts and dismantles each emotional, religious, and social reason put forth in this raging cultural war. And as he observes, the arguments are not new, unique, nor confined to homosexuals. The same arguments have been repeatedly used to deny other minority groups their civil rights. Wolfson demonstrates that marriage is a legal right, not a religious one and the government has no compelling reason to discriminate against homosexuals in this most basic of all civil rights - the right to chose your spouse.

Although Wolfson's book is unlikely to change the mind of his staunchest opponents in the "rites and rights" battle, it will convince many who come with an open mind that there is no good or just reason to deny homosexuals the right to legally marry. "Why Marriage Matters" is a compelling book written by a man at the heart of a struggle. It is must read for anyone interested in this important issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Wish I Had Said That, November 30, 2004
By 
Evan Wolfson has been called the Martin Luther King, Jr. of the gay rights movement. Since 1983, when he wrote his Harvard Law School thesis on the subject of marriage equality, Wolfson has focused his keen intellect on the subject. Now, he has done all of us a great service by writing Why Marriage Matters: America, Equality and Gay People's Right to Marry.

Why Marriage Matters addresses the concerns of everyday Americans as they struggle with the issue of marriage equality. He touches on all of the issues-from the religious response to the historical argument, from racial equality to what the opponents of marriage equality don't want you to know-in an easy to read, easy to follow way. In fact, the book becomes downright compulsive as Wolfson draws the reader into the compelling stories of real people whose lives are affected by society's injustice.

Never didactic or preachy, Wolfson explains carefully and respectfully exactly why marriage matters to the millions of us who can't have it. And he does it in the way that we could (if only we were so articulate). In fact, the next time you're discussing marriage equality with family or friends and you find you don't have the words, give them Why Marriage Matters instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Equal Rights, Right On!, August 1, 2005
Jonathan Rauch and Andrew Sullivan have written pro-gay marriage books, but unlike Wolfson's book, they approach the issue from ancillary perspectives (for example, how it will tame the flames of promiscuity among gay men). Whether these ancillary arguments are persuasive or not really does not matter, because they are not the core of the matter.

Wolfson alone accurately makes equal access to marriage for ALL people a civil rights issue, and that is exactly where it belongs. Whether or not it curbs the promiscuity impulses among gays or not is largely irrelevant. If that happens, fine, but if not, so what?

The Fourteenth Amendment and the Declaration of Independence are not heterosexually-specific, but universally-specific. All of us are entitled to the "pursuit of happiness," no matter our color, religion, nationality, or sexual orientation.

Mutatis mutandis, the same is true for equal protection under the law. People may continue to discriminate against minorities, but at least they cannot do so under the color of law. Denying a minority its right to marriage also discriminates, but when it does so, it does so with the color of law. That's wrong.

All people are entitled to the same rights or they aren't. Denying any segment of the population this right because of their difference from the majority is simply unconstitutional and UnAmerican. Canada, Spain, Belgium, and Holland have righted the wrong. It's time the U.S.A. did likewise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most important benefit of marriage is marriage, November 17, 2004
"The most important benefit of marriage is marriage." This simple statement has haunted me for more than a week after reading this rather enjoyable book. Evan Wolfson dissects the arguments for and against state recognition of marriage between people of the same-sex and why nothing can compare with marriage itself. Civil unions, domestic partners and the rest can never compare with the basic recognition, portability, and personal fulfillment that one gains through marriage.

Wolfson is one of the smartest and influential human rights leaders today. He brings a wealth of historic, legal, and personal perspectives and stories together in a surprisingly quick read aimed at the general public but a great resource for anyone interested in the institution of marriage, its history, and its future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good primer on the next major civil rights issue, February 6, 2006
By 
Newton Ooi (Phoenix, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Do gays have the right to marry? This is emerging as the next civil rights issue to cross the American political scene. Attorney Evan Wolfson answers this question with a resounding yes, and uses this book to back up his answer. His central point is that marriage is a relationship, and being in it can and does bring joy to gay couples just as much as it does to heterosexual couples. And since the Declaration of Independence states that all humans have the right to the pursuit of happiness, government should not prevent two individuals from getting married. The author also examines other issues regarding gay marriage, such as child adoption, insurance benefits, gay divorces, inheritance rights, etc... The author also takes on arguments against gay marriage, and refutes them using historical and legal arguments. All in all, a good book to help understand the current, and growing issue of gay marriage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book there is on why marriage is for ALL Americans, August 9, 2005
By 
M. Kessler (Washington, DC, USA) - See all my reviews
Evan Wolfson's book turned me into a believer. Even after seven years of sharing my life with the man I want to spend the rest of my life with, I still didn't think it mattered whether we were married or not. "Why Marriage Matters" changed that -- we had to fly to Canada to get married, but we did what we had to do, and now I've found that marriage has made every facet of our relationship stronger and better. Read this book and you'll begin to see that marriage does matter, and that, frankly, it is un-American to deny any segment of the population basic human rights and priveleges that the United States was created to protect for all its citizens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Why Marriage Matters: America, Equality, and Gay People's Right to Marry
$16.99 $15.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.