Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative
People think they know everything about their horse... Lemme tell ya there is always something else to learn. It will help you have a better relationship with your horse if you understand certain things about them. This book offers insight that helps a lot.
Published on March 5, 2012 by Lark

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a book, just an infomercial
I got this since it was cheap. As I started to read, I realized I had already read this and in fact, at the end of the meat of the whole "book", they mentioned that this was an excerp from another book. Bascially this short publication is an infomercial on Monty Roberts and his join up technique. The first 53% of it keeps pushing this, with a little story of what the...
Published 22 months ago by Horselady


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a book, just an infomercial, December 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Why Relationship First Works: Why and How It Changes Everything (Paperback)
I got this since it was cheap. As I started to read, I realized I had already read this and in fact, at the end of the meat of the whole "book", they mentioned that this was an excerp from another book. Bascially this short publication is an infomercial on Monty Roberts and his join up technique. The first 53% of it keeps pushing this, with a little story of what the author experienced with his horses. Okay, all of us horse owners can relate--we've seen and shared special moments with our horses. The rest of the book was just references to other sources, which is helpful if you are new into horses and looking for ways to learn.

*Side note--I have to comment on the whole "join up" thing. I've seen Monty Roberts and have done join up many times with horses. Pretty much all natural horseman do this in one form or another. You don't need to chase a horse around a round pen to join up. I've seen Monty and John Lyons chase horses to the point the horses are exhausted and they just give up. THIS is not relationship-building. I've done a join up in an open arena, in a pasture, even standing outside a stall of an abused horse that was so terrified of humans he wouldn't let them get close.(getting him in the stall was a major deal) The horse "joined up" with me standing outside his stall and I went in the stall with him after that. So if you are wanting to build a relationship with a horse, don't think a round pen is essential. I personally recommend Pat Parelli, have used his philosophy and techniques for years.

To conclude, about this "book", you can read it in about 15 minutes and it's really not a book, just so you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, March 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
People think they know everything about their horse... Lemme tell ya there is always something else to learn. It will help you have a better relationship with your horse if you understand certain things about them. This book offers insight that helps a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK, October 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Why Relationship First Works: Why and How It Changes Everything (Paperback)
For anyone that rides or has a horse that they love..... this book is a must. It teaches you how important it is to have a relationship with your horse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fragmented, February 12, 2013
This publication was just fragments of certain books by this author and just barely scraped the surface of the subject. Really just a very long overview and not overly informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Go directly to the Soul of a Horse, July 17, 2013
By 
Carl J Thys (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an exert from the book The Soul of a Horse, go directly to The Soul because once you read this you'll want to read the whole book. Joe Camp really loves his horses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horse info, February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Clear, concise, clever with heart & humor. I 'm offended that you want 13 more words for this review. Why?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, wonderful., June 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This should be required reading for all of those "You'll do it because I SAID SO" horse people. If you read a horse book and the famous author starts out by saying that horses just want you to feed them, do what they want, then leave them alone, come back to this gentleman's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Why Relationship First Works: Why and How It Changes Everything (Paperback)
Joe really understands horses and makes it easy for readers to learn the horse way. It is a reread for sure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great advise for any relationship! Horse and people or even people and people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best read for a novice!, June 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you love horses, you need this book. You can apply everything Joe writes to everyday interactions. He shows what starting from scratch really means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Why Relationship First Works: Why and How It Changes Everything
Why Relationship First Works: Why and How It Changes Everything by Joe Camp (Paperback - February 16, 2012)
$6.99 $6.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.