Qty:1
  • List Price: $32.95
  • Save: $1.65 (5%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 9 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Want it Monday, April 21? Order within and choose Two-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Shared Knowledge is a not for profit public charity! Check us out on facebook. We provide funding for educational programs in Richmond, Virginia. PLEASE READ FULL DESCRIPTION -USED GOOD- This book has been read and may show wear to the cover and or pages. There may be some dog-eared pages. In some cases the internal pages may contain highlighting/margin notes/underlining or any combination of these markings. The binding will be secure in all cases. This is a good reading and studying copy and has been verified that all pages are legible and intact. If the book contained a CD it is not guaranteed to still be included. Your purchase directly supports our scholarship program as well as our partner charities. All items are packed and shipped from the Amazon warehouse. Thanks so much for your purchase!
Add to Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Why Are Some People Healthy and Others Not?: The Determinants of Health Populations (Social Institutions and Social Change) Paperback

ISBN-13: 978-0202304908 ISBN-10: 0202304906 Edition: 1st

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$126.33 $44.65
Paperback
"Please retry"
$31.30
$15.85 $1.68

Free%20Two-Day%20Shipping%20for%20College%20Students%20with%20Amazon%20Student



Frequently Bought Together

Why Are Some People Healthy and Others Not?: The Determinants of Health Populations (Social Institutions and Social Change) + Understanding Health Policy, Sixth Edition + The Healing of America: A Global Quest for Better, Cheaper, and Fairer Health Care
Price for all three: $79.33

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Big Spring Books
Editors' Picks in Spring Releases
Ready for some fresh reads? Browse our picks for Big Spring Books to please all kinds of readers.

Product Details

  • Series: Social Institutions and Social Change
  • Paperback: 378 pages
  • Publisher: Aldine Transaction; 1 edition (December 31, 1994)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0202304906
  • ISBN-13: 978-0202304908
  • Product Dimensions: 8.9 x 5.9 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #790,822 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

“The book is collectively written by several members of the Population Health Program of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research. After many years of interaction, these authors, representing various disciplines (e.g., biological, cultural, social, economic), formulated ideas about both the determinants and measurement of health and the proper role of the health care delivery system… [T]he book focuses on strategies for improving human health both through the development of better evaluation and data systems, and by formulating better health policies while promoting efficient and effective management of the health care delivery system. General; undergraduate through professional.”

—H. S. Pitkow, Choice

“This volume is as much a challenge for political theorists as it is a collection for policy analysts; and it would be a shame if it were only to circulate within the realm of public policy.”

—Katherine Fierlbeck, Canadian Journal of Political Science

“[T]he book synthesizes the literature from many disciplines but presents a paradigm of health that is almost universally accepted in both academic and health policy circles: namely, that health is determined through the interplay of a host of varied factors, with medicine merely one of many potentially useful ones… [T]he book successfully emphasizes the possible contributions to the health of populations of resource reallocations from medical to non-medical activities… [T]he book effectively highlights the trade-offs between medical expenditures and other activities that may enhance health.”

—Peter C. Coyte, The Canadian Journal of Economics

“At the heart of this book lies a fundamental critique of two cornerstones of contemporary health policy: the role of modern medical care in the production of health, and the role of individual “life style choices” in the production of disease… Overall this book is both an invaluable resource for recent developed-country social epidemiology and a stimulating critique of received theories and observations in the social science of health and illness.”

—Constance A. Nathanson, Contemporary Sociology

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful By hodgins@intrahus.med.unc.edu on May 16, 1998
Format: Paperback
In the tradition of Dubos, McKeown, and Geoffrey Rose - but goes further and draws on recent data. By multiple authors. The early chapters make for exhilarating reading. "Producing Health, Consuming Health Care" by Evans and Stoddard in particular will be heavily cited for years to come. Later chapters, on implications for policy, come as a bit of a let down. Ultimately, the book is at its strongest in its account of what produces health but isn't as satisfying in its discussions of repercussions for practice.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I suspect that more people are familiar with Richard Wilkerson's "Spirit Level". That is less work to grasp, but this is a well-written and longer and deeper group effort which also briefly looks at what people in different cultures consider healthy, and the enormous costs of medicalization of anything even slightly unpleasant. It is worth the read if you are interested in some of the dynamics in whether culture is heading over a fiscal cliff trying to pay for eliminating all unpleasantness from life.
Karl W Hess, MD
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Search
ARRAY(0xa43217f0)