Qty:1
  • List Price: $35.95
  • Save: $1.80 (5%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 14 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Why Are Some People Healt... has been added to your Cart
Used: Acceptable | Details
Sold by saffstuff
Condition: :
Comment: Contains underlining and margin notes. Cover has light edge/corner. Spine has one crease from reading. Still a solid copy.
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Why Are Some People Healthy and Others Not?: The Determinants of Health Populations (Social Institutions and Social Change) Paperback – December 31, 1994

ISBN-13: 978-0202304908 ISBN-10: 0202304906 Edition: 1st

Buy New
Price: $34.15
24 New from $15.06 29 Used from $0.01
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$34.15
$15.06 $0.01
Free%20Two-Day%20Shipping%20for%20College%20Students%20with%20Amazon%20Student


The 20/20 Diet: Turn Your Weight Loss Vision Into Reality
Dr. Phil and his team have created a plan that you can start following right now and continue working for the rest of your life.
$34.15 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 14 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Why Are Some People Healthy and Others Not?: The Determinants of Health Populations (Social Institutions and Social Change) + Understanding Health Policy, Sixth Edition
Price for both: $75.18

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Series: Social Institutions and Social Change
  • Paperback: 378 pages
  • Publisher: Aldine Transaction; 1 edition (December 31, 1994)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0202304906
  • ISBN-13: 978-0202304908
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 0.8 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,276,963 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

“The book is collectively written by several members of the Population Health Program of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research. After many years of interaction, these authors, representing various disciplines (e.g., biological, cultural, social, economic), formulated ideas about both the determinants and measurement of health and the proper role of the health care delivery system… [T]he book focuses on strategies for improving human health both through the development of better evaluation and data systems, and by formulating better health policies while promoting efficient and effective management of the health care delivery system. General; undergraduate through professional.”

—H. S. Pitkow, Choice

“This volume is as much a challenge for political theorists as it is a collection for policy analysts; and it would be a shame if it were only to circulate within the realm of public policy.”

—Katherine Fierlbeck, Canadian Journal of Political Science

“[T]he book synthesizes the literature from many disciplines but presents a paradigm of health that is almost universally accepted in both academic and health policy circles: namely, that health is determined through the interplay of a host of varied factors, with medicine merely one of many potentially useful ones… [T]he book successfully emphasizes the possible contributions to the health of populations of resource reallocations from medical to non-medical activities… [T]he book effectively highlights the trade-offs between medical expenditures and other activities that may enhance health.”

—Peter C. Coyte, The Canadian Journal of Economics

“At the heart of this book lies a fundamental critique of two cornerstones of contemporary health policy: the role of modern medical care in the production of health, and the role of individual “life style choices” in the production of disease… Overall this book is both an invaluable resource for recent developed-country social epidemiology and a stimulating critique of received theories and observations in the social science of health and illness.”

—Constance A. Nathanson, Contemporary Sociology

About the Author

Theodore R. Marmor is professor of public policy and management and professor of political science at Yale School of Management. He currently sits on the editorial board of both the Journal of Comparative Policy Analysis: Research and Practice and Journal of Health, Politics, Policy, and Law as well as on the international advisory board of the London School of Economics (Health and Social Care). He is an author or co-author of numerous books and author of over a hundred scholarly articles.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful By hodgins@intrahus.med.unc.edu on May 16, 1998
Format: Paperback
In the tradition of Dubos, McKeown, and Geoffrey Rose - but goes further and draws on recent data. By multiple authors. The early chapters make for exhilarating reading. "Producing Health, Consuming Health Care" by Evans and Stoddard in particular will be heavily cited for years to come. Later chapters, on implications for policy, come as a bit of a let down. Ultimately, the book is at its strongest in its account of what produces health but isn't as satisfying in its discussions of repercussions for practice.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Karl Hess on April 10, 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I suspect that more people are familiar with Richard Wilkerson's "Spirit Level". That is less work to grasp, but this is a well-written and longer and deeper group effort which also briefly looks at what people in different cultures consider healthy, and the enormous costs of medicalization of anything even slightly unpleasant. It is worth the read if you are interested in some of the dynamics in whether culture is heading over a fiscal cliff trying to pay for eliminating all unpleasantness from life.
Karl W Hess, MD
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Why Are Some People Healthy and Others Not?: The Determinants of Health Populations (Social Institutions and Social Change)
This item: Why Are Some People Healthy and Others Not?: The Determinants of Health Populations (Social Institutions and Social Change)
Price: $35.95 $34.15
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com