Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light, breezy, terrifying
You'll more than likely find this title in the Nature section of your bookstore, but it could realistically be shelved under Horror. This book is seriously scary. In a breezy, light tone and pace, it describes all sorts of frightening details about insects, especially in terms of what they will do to you if you run across them. Covering various continents, there's...
Published on May 4, 2011 by Amy Henry

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting light read, but Kindle version is formatted badly
I was enjoying this book as light before-bedtime nonfiction, but I began to notice numerous formatting oddities: stray repetitive sentences and phrases that sometimes seemed like out of place headers, other times like they were supposed to be picture or photo captions - but the photos themselves were missing. Eventually I looked at a physical copy of the book and realized...
Published 21 months ago by J. Gitzlaff


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light, breezy, terrifying, May 4, 2011
This review is from: Wicked Bugs: The Louse That Conquered Napoleon's Army & Other Diabolical Insects (Hardcover)
You'll more than likely find this title in the Nature section of your bookstore, but it could realistically be shelved under Horror. This book is seriously scary. In a breezy, light tone and pace, it describes all sorts of frightening details about insects, especially in terms of what they will do to you if you run across them. Covering various continents, there's really no place you are safe from these tiniest of creatures-sure, they may not hunt you down exactly, but the odds are with them that one of their kin will be dining with (or on) you.

Flies, caterpillars, spiders: the diseases they carry and their methods of transmission are all detailed, with anecdotal stories illustrating just how effective they can be. The book is a sequel to Wicked Plants by the same author (which I haven't yet read), and it's extremely well-researched. One section details early forms of biological warfare, when soldiers would hurl hornet's nests or scorpion-filled baskets over the city walls of their opposer, causing havoc and sickening many. Another section explains why you should be a cat-person, as the diseases that rats, mice, and vermin still carry (the plague in the past) are easily able to sicken you.

I made the mistake of reading this before bed. I don't recommend that, as you'll find yourself convinced something is crawling in your sheets. Despite the light-hearted presentation, the book does a serious service by showing just how interlinked species are, and how extinction of some animals or insects causes a disparity that often increases the danger of illness and infection. The balance of habitats is essential to keep most of these bugs manageable. Really, there is no such thing as a "small" bug in the living world as all factor in somehow.

A great gift title, but I would probably hold back from sharing with children. The chapters on bug reproduction are, um, disturbing and graphic. Clearly, a bug's life is not always fun, and (spoiler alert!)the males usually end up dismembered and dead. For the most part, females rule the insect world and males are their underlings and servants.

In terms of criticism? I find none except that I wish some areas were even more in depth, such as to know exactly why these insects behave the way they do. However, the information given is accessible and never loses your interest as it might if it became too much like a scholarly article or textbook. This is my favorite kind of nonfiction title, and it's already been devoured by two other members of my family.

Mention must be made of the incredible illustrations that accompany the text by Briony Morrow-Cribbs. They are hand-drawn and stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting light read, but Kindle version is formatted badly, November 6, 2012
By 
J. Gitzlaff (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was enjoying this book as light before-bedtime nonfiction, but I began to notice numerous formatting oddities: stray repetitive sentences and phrases that sometimes seemed like out of place headers, other times like they were supposed to be picture or photo captions - but the photos themselves were missing. Eventually I looked at a physical copy of the book and realized that it is just a heavily formatted book with illustrations, inset text, and so on, and most were converted poorly to the Kindle version. Such a shame - the Kindle seemingly has more than enough power to display different fonts, borders, inset text, etc, but instead it looks like it was crudely converted without human proofing, and - for me at least - this made it hard to read because the main text was forever being unpredictably interrupted by these quirks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Stinging Fun!, April 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wicked Bugs: The Louse That Conquered Napoleon's Army & Other Diabolical Insects (Hardcover)
I found out about another 'Wicked' book from Amy Stewart just a week and a half ago. I had greatly enjoyed her 'Wicked Plants' book and had even given a copy to my mom as a gift. So I decided to pick up this book on the strength of the previous one. As before, the quality of the book is excellent. It's got very nice artwork throughout from Briony Morrow-Cribs and is printed on what feels like good quality paper. Also, Amy Stewart's writing is both interesting and accessible as she talks about bugs and the ways we humans overlook them to our peril.

If you were a fan of Wicked Plants, you can rest assured that this book is just as good. If you never read that but have an interest in entomology or know someone who does, this will be a fun read and a good addition to the bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously wicked - dry humor and great presentation make for a great gift book, May 17, 2011
This review is from: Wicked Bugs: The Louse That Conquered Napoleon's Army & Other Diabolical Insects (Hardcover)
Length:: 3:40 Mins

I adored this latest from Wicked Plants author Amy Stewart. She's back with more deliciously morbid musings, this time about the insects, spiders, and squirmy things that have us so outnumbered that for each one of us, there are two hundred million of them. Eeep!

While Amy's a huge fan of bugs, she didn't focus on their virtues in this book. Instead we're treated to the gory sexual lives, dietary quirks, and reproductive evils they take part in every day just to survive. Amy's dry humor is the perfect balance to these horrible happenings, and the tales of zombie cockroaches and filth flies had me alternately laughing and cringing with glee. I did, however, find that my desire to read portions of the book out loud did not go over well at mealtimes.

I'm lucky enough to live locally to the author, and she graciously invited me over to talk with her about the book, hence the video.

If you love science, zombies, and tales of wickedness, you'll definitely dig this book. I'd especially recommend it for gift-giving because the dry wit and short chapters make it easy for people to read bits out loud in a group setting. Plus, it's one of those gorgeous hardcovers with a ribbon for a bookmark, and has gorgeous etchings by Briony Morrow-Cribbs (who did the etchings for Wicked Plants).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too cursory, and in need of better copyediting, July 19, 2011
This review is from: Wicked Bugs: The Louse That Conquered Napoleon's Army & Other Diabolical Insects (Hardcover)
I found this book to be too shallowly written. Though the writer is admittedly not a scientist, her writing is still to cursory for my tastes. Additionally there are some glaring errors: Despite the fact that she includes some clarification of the differences between insects, arachnids, etc., later she refers to a spider as an insect. At another point she talks about "scorpion bites" (they sting, not bite. It sounds like nit-picking on my part but don't you think it's important to know which end of a critter is the dangerous bit?).

Furthermore I found enough typographic errors; this book could have used better editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Formatting problems with Kindle edition, August 20, 2011
By 
Piankatank (Hartfield, VA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Be forewarned that there are many formatting problems in the Kindle edition of this book. If I had read this book in a traditional paper format I would have given the writing three stars. Overall the Kindle edition of this book was very difficult to read and took away all the pleasure of the book. There are drawn illustrations that become random in relation to the text. There are spacing issues that I assume are related to the misplaced illustrations. Until the kinks are worked out of the Kindle formatting I would advice that not to buy any Kindle editions with photos or illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for teens, novices, February 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wicked Bugs: The Louse That Conquered Napoleon's Army & Other Diabolical Insects (Hardcover)
Book is probably OK for those who know little about insects or as a brief introduction to the field for teens. However, it is really once over briefly and the depth of its information is extremely limited. Probably most interesting are the facts about the historical impact of insects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The fascinating and deleterious habits of some bugs, December 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This Book outlines some of the behaviors of some very interesting insects and spiders, with an occasional comment about their significance to the society of man, and peoples reactions to them. The relative toxicity is mentioned in cases where applicable; The e-book version is badly edited, with at least one passage repeated in each chapter;
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The anecdotes carry the book, October 11, 2011
This review is from: Wicked Bugs: The Louse That Conquered Napoleon's Army & Other Diabolical Insects (Hardcover)
From the subtitle of this book, I thought it would have plenty of interesting anecdotes about the clash of bugs and humans down through history. And, yes, there are a few good stories about Napoleon, Civil War soldiers, the Marquis de Sade, Stanley and Livingston and Christopher Columbus.

But for the most part, the book is a compendium of facts about bugs and what they get up to with each other, which, believe me, doesn't interest me in the least. I skipped through to read the historical stories and left the rest to those with more curiosity about the natural world than I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YIKES, they really are creepy!, January 30, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wicked Bugs: The Louse That Conquered Napoleon's Army & Other Diabolical Insects (Hardcover)
Amy Stewart's Wicked Bugs, offers well written,informative snippets about bugs and their impact on history.This book supplies consice stories confirming all your fears, phobias, and apprehensions about insects. Entertain,shock,and horrrify with tales of bugs bad behavior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wicked Bugs: The Louse That Conquered Napoleon's Army & Other Diabolical Insects
$18.95 $14.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.