Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much more than just a "BBQ Book"
My copy of Wicked Good Barbecue arrived earlier in the week. I've been looking forward to this book since I first hear about it on the BBQ Brethren forum last fall. I pre-ordered as soon as that option was available. Sometimes when you look forward to something for that long when it finally happens it can be anti-climactic. That is definitely not the case with Wicked...
Published on February 10, 2012 by Captain Ron

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Disappointed
This book disappointed as it only has 2 chapters dedicated to actual barbecue. After the first two chapters its a fine dining meets redneck recipe book. In the "barbecue" chapters there are some really good tips but some of the ingredients must be ordered online to get them. After chapter two I don't feel like I'm interested at all unless you want to try things like...
Published 24 months ago by Christoph A. Driver


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much more than just a "BBQ Book", February 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wicked Good Barbecue: Fearless Recipes from Two Damn Yankees Who Have Won the Biggest, Baddest BBQ Competition in the World (Paperback)
My copy of Wicked Good Barbecue arrived earlier in the week. I've been looking forward to this book since I first hear about it on the BBQ Brethren forum last fall. I pre-ordered as soon as that option was available. Sometimes when you look forward to something for that long when it finally happens it can be anti-climactic. That is definitely not the case with Wicked Good Barbecue! As soon as the book arrived I flipped through it and was thrilled with the amount and quality of information and recipes. Andy and Chris are well known on the competition BBQ circuit and are world champions, so I expected some good information on competition BBQ, but I didn't expect the depth and quality of the information. I've already picked up a couple of things that I will try out before our competition season starts. I also didn't expect the creativity in the recipes. Whether you're a BBQ novice or a veteran competition cook there is something in this book for you. Besides the more traditional BBQ recipes there is some very inventive fusion of BBQ and modern cooking techniques like the "Smoke-vide" Beef Ribs with Blues Hog Foam. I can't wait to try this recipe! The book also includes a very good selection of side dishes and desserts to accompany your BBQ.

In addition to all of the great information, the photography in this book is excellent!

Wicked Good Barbecue: Fearless Recipes from Two Damn Yankees Who Have Won the Biggest, Baddest BBQ Competition in the World
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked Good Barbecue!, February 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wicked Good Barbecue: Fearless Recipes from Two Damn Yankees Who Have Won the Biggest, Baddest BBQ Competition in the World (Paperback)
This is not your ordinary barbecue cookbook! Chris Hart and Andy Husbands share the secrets of their award winning chicken, ribs and brisket. The book is chockful of amazing, unique recipes for appetizers, mains, sides, desserts and even drinks. How can you resist recipes with titles like Wicked Pulled Pork, 7 Layer Dip of Disbelief, BBQ Scotch Eggs, Six Day Bacon of the Gods, and Pecan Pie Stuffed Cheesecake?? The layout is clean and crisp, and loaded with photos. The photography by Ken Goodman is some of the best food porn out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked good book, February 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wicked Good Barbecue: Fearless Recipes from Two Damn Yankees Who Have Won the Biggest, Baddest BBQ Competition in the World (Paperback)
Highly recommended. I am a competition cook myself, and my team competes against iQue on a regular basis. These guys know their stuff. The book is also very clear and accessible, covering complex recipes in depth. If you want to know how the pros cook, this is the book to get. You should be warned though: these are professional recipes for best-in-class food, not quick snacks you can toss on the grill. There is a chapter on over-the-top recipes, including one dish that will take a week to prepare. It will be worth your time and effort though, whether you want to compete or just amaze your friends.

A lot of ingredients used in competition cooking cannot be found at the supermarket, and it's great that the authors included a guide on where to find key ingredients and tools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WANT TO WIN in Competiton BBQ? Or even WIN with your friends? BUY THIS BOOK!!, February 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wicked Good Barbecue: Fearless Recipes from Two Damn Yankees Who Have Won the Biggest, Baddest BBQ Competition in the World (Paperback)
We have competed with numerous teams since 2003. We have never formed our OWN team, but hung out, and learned from the BEST in New England. Hey, NE teams have won the Jack Daniels World Championship 4 years in a row! Hummmm...DOES that say something? Anyway, we first heard about this book last year, and when we were told we could pre-buy the book, we did. It was due out in April, 2012. Much to our delight, it came out this past week!(Feb. 2012) OMGOSH, don't get no better than this, we said! Our copy arrived on Tuesday, Feb. 7, 2012. The wife got home after work, and she was upset that I wouldn't let her read it, see it, etc. I was engrosed, not only from the format, but the pictures, foward, and everything else I was thumbing through the pages for the past 4 hours. From the first read of the book, the forward, not to mention the chapters, I could NOT put this book down.

You have to know, that we have met Chris, Andy and ALL the iQue team since we went to our first BBQ competiton experience back in 2003 in Lowell, MA. We have BBQ'd with many team's helping out, and couldn't wait to see this book, PERIOD! So, in brief, here is what you will find and love...and I MEAN LOVE!!

1. USER FRIENDLY: Whether you are a seasoned veteran in the BBQ competition world, or a newby, or just someone who wants WONDERFUL recipes, you will find incredible thing's to make! This book has recipe's that anyone can make, to ultra incredible delights that will tickle your taste buds beyond control, yet cost a bit more, or take a smoker or two to make. However, each recipe gives exact measurements, and controlled cooking times, and especially important TIPS. This includes how to make each recipe and any other extra things you might need. These boy's have provided the proper tools, smokers, wood, charcoal, and just everything to do what YOU want to make in WORLD CLASS BBQ, that these Master's have accomplished over the years,(and proudly so), or other recipes you can WOW your friends with! It doesn't matter if you want to make good competion BBQ , or other recipes in the book, you will prevail in good food and eat's for all! PERIOD!

2. WHO IS THIS FOR? Novice to pro, and EVERYONE inbetween! iQue has given BBQ secrets that WE wondered about for year's. Especially wood chunks!! We ALWAY'S soak our's at home, they say NO! We will follow and test and maybe enjoy more good eat's!! Just all the little thing's this team has provided for good 'Q '!! NICE!! Yet, they provide delish' recipes for anyone who wants to provide tasty dishes to a broad range of people who enjoy just 'plain good food'~ From main dishes, to side dishes, dessert & DRINKS, this book provides any lunch or dinner party food your guests will be AMAZED at!! They will be talking forever about these dishes for sure!

3. WHAT WILL YOU FIND? You will find so many wonderful recipes and stories!! These boy's not only gave us their secret's to KCBS BBQ, but also secret's when a competition includes 'anything but', or grilling competition's. As these guy's are professional's, they guard their secret's even when we come to say 'hi' at their 'pop up tent's' in our local competition site's, in New England or anywhere in the USA! Yet, last nite, we tried one of their recipes, Collosal stuffed crab cake stuffed shrimp, and know why they win. Yummy. You will also FIND great link's listed in the end of the product's they have used and use from sauce's to spices and sponsor's that they have gained doing their incredible BBQ. Great link's!

4. THE STORY... We LOVE BBQ book's written by real BBQ competitor's that write storie's, real life stuff. And the iQue team did this, and more~~ From their win's all over the nation including the Jack Daniels World Championship win in 2009, to all the State's in NE, including State's of NY, NH, VT, etc. to brisket #1 at the Royal, they start each recipe with a story. That mean's alot, to the background of the recipe, how it started, when they got it (from their Mom, etc.) just awesome!

5. AND LAST...THE PHOTOGRAPHY OF THIS BOOK, FOOD SHOT'S!! OMGosh. I first met Ken Goodman years ago, but most important when he starting shooting the book pic's in Lake Placid, NY. His pic's were amazing as he showed me then, and throughout the year's since, even more amazing! My wife had a 'native american vision' that Ken would fly in his 'new venture' of photography. Boy was she right!! Ken has flown, since that day in Lake Placid, NY and has continued to be sure. His incredible picture's are beyond anything that can come close. He is now photographing Mario Batalli, Anthony Bourdain, and numerous other celebrities. He is FLYING with his photo's and status. PLEASE, check out this wonderful man's website, listed here in the book description. An amazing man, we have come to know, learn from and quite frankly adore!! Each picture of the iQue team he has shot, we have almost been there, throughout. Yet each picture in the book, looks just the same during 'turn-in's' as they do when making them in your home! (Remember, we just made the Collosal stuffed shrimp dish~~photo's to follow, yet we are NOT Ken, don't have that camera...only a Cannon!! ;))

Well enough said for now. In closing, this is a book about a New England BBQ team who fought the odd's, over the year's and not only made it in a BBQ Nation of over 4,000 team's to #1, but did it with good 'Q', and PRIDE that we are all proud of, especially here in NEW ENGLAND! From Chris Hart being on "FOOD NETWORK'S INAUGURAL SEASON OF 'BEST in SMOKE', to Andy 'OC' Husband's excellent cookbook "THE FEARLESS CHEF", as well as being on 'HELL'S KITCHEN' with Gordon Ramsey, to his wonderful CHEF/OWNER restaurant TREMONT 647, located in Boston, MA, & Andrea Pyenson's writing...and finally, KEN GOODMAN'S AMAZING PHOTO'S of the INCREDIBLE FOOD the iQue team produced...WOW...WOW, AND DOUBLE WOW!! ENJOY, learn, and love the read....we did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing quite like this!, February 10, 2012
By 
Zelda (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wicked Good Barbecue: Fearless Recipes from Two Damn Yankees Who Have Won the Biggest, Baddest BBQ Competition in the World (Paperback)
I just got my copy and am so excited! The book is laid out beautifully, with mouth-watering photography, and it is chock-full of expert tips and ideas. I have no idea if I will ever attempt a $100 Meatloaf or a Whole Hog Porchetta Style, but I sure do love reading the recipes. And I can't believe they are sharing their championship-winning recipes. This book will give me plenty to look at -- and cook! -- for a long time. A must for any griller who wants to impress -- and other cooks will love the unusual recipes and solid expertise as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You've never had barbecue!, February 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wicked Good Barbecue: Fearless Recipes from Two Damn Yankees Who Have Won the Biggest, Baddest BBQ Competition in the World (Paperback)
If you haven't tried the type of competition barbecue that's in this book, you haven't tried barbecue! This is not the hamburger or hot dog you throw on the grill after work. Plan your meal, buy the ingredients, relax and enjoy the process. It's almost as much fun to create as to eat. There is no one who could resist the Fried Mac'n Cheese Pops, and that's just one tiny example. Even the desserts are amazing. If you enjoy barbecue and are ready to try the real thing, buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take Your Barbecue to Another Level, February 14, 2012
By 
Chris Sargent (East Randolph, VT United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wicked Good Barbecue: Fearless Recipes from Two Damn Yankees Who Have Won the Biggest, Baddest BBQ Competition in the World (Paperback)
I haven't been so excited about a barbecue cookbook since getting my first copy of Chris Schlesinger & John Willoughby's "The Thrill of the Grill" twenty years ago. Not surprisingly, Chris Hart and Andy Husbands site Schlesinger as a strong influence on their style of barbecue - and it shows. Wicked Good Barbecue is a mind-blowing look into the brilliance that has helped IQue win contest after contest, including the king of competitions, the "Jack Daniels Invitational".

Husbands and Hart give up some of their coveted competition recipes and even more they give the reader a multitude of creative interpretations of traditional barbecue and grilling. Take their "Seven Layer Dip of Disbelief", which has 6 layers that include ingredients like shredded beef short ribs and a crab remoulade. The whole book is packed with a level of creativity that leaves me, as someone who sometimes competes against Chris and his team, stunned. There is no question as to why IQue is one of New England's winning-est teams.

I have had the pleasure of taking a class put on by Chris and his team and this book carries forward his skill as a teacher, and his team's massive culinary talent. Buy this book. You won't regret it! And who knows...you might even win a barbecue Championship!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Disappointed, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wicked Good Barbecue: Fearless Recipes from Two Damn Yankees Who Have Won the Biggest, Baddest BBQ Competition in the World (Paperback)
This book disappointed as it only has 2 chapters dedicated to actual barbecue. After the first two chapters its a fine dining meets redneck recipe book. In the "barbecue" chapters there are some really good tips but some of the ingredients must be ordered online to get them. After chapter two I don't feel like I'm interested at all unless you want to try things like Atomic Buffalo Quail, Celery Root Puree, or $100 Meat Loaf. That's just a small sample. Know what you're buying, this isn't a book dedicated to barbecue like the others. I give them credit for sharing rub and sauce recipes that are pretty good. I don't know if anyone outside the competition circuit will go to all the trouble they do with their barbecue. They certainly know how to micromanage a piece of meat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry...Impractical book for the Home BBQer, January 7, 2014
By 
Dana Reed (Bothell, Wa USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wicked Good Barbecue: Fearless Recipes from Two Damn Yankees Who Have Won the Biggest, Baddest BBQ Competition in the World (Paperback)
I really really wanted to like this new cookbook, as I was impressed with Andy's style on BBQ Pitmasters. I am an enthusiastic backyard BBQer and enjoy learning ways to improve my smoking skills. But I found this book to be very impractical for the home barbecue person. Many of the recipes seem to be designed for huge groups rather than families. The chicken recipe is set to cook 3 whole chickens and the brine has 25 ingredients. Cajun chicken recipe set for 8 whole chickens. $100 truffle meatloaf? Meat glue? I will try some of the recipes, but I am disappointed that there are so few usable smoked meat recipes that I can use. I suggest Chris Lilly's book over this one for home BBQers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wicked good book!, February 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wicked Good Barbecue: Fearless Recipes from Two Damn Yankees Who Have Won the Biggest, Baddest BBQ Competition in the World (Paperback)
Lots of great recipes. A story behind each chapter, fun to read. Not just BBQ. From popcorn ice cream to BBQ kimchi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.