Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twisted Plot!
This was an excellent made-for-TV movie! The plot just kept getting more twisted as the story unfolded. Two thumbs up!
Published on December 29, 2010 by DVD Fanatic

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A genre-defying erotic thirller
Most b-movies wouldn't have the courage to rip off David Mamet, but apparently writers Turi Meyer and Al Septien had a hankering to do so. The plot of this film is loosely lifted off The Spanish Prisoner among others and one concept is in its entirety comes from Mamet's film (think "extradition treaty"). Of course this film isn't entirely without originality...
Published on November 27, 2003 by needstobuyabike


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A genre-defying erotic thirller, November 27, 2003
By 
This review is from: Wicked Minds (DVD)
Most b-movies wouldn't have the courage to rip off David Mamet, but apparently writers Turi Meyer and Al Septien had a hankering to do so. The plot of this film is loosely lifted off The Spanish Prisoner among others and one concept is in its entirety comes from Mamet's film (think "extradition treaty"). Of course this film isn't entirely without originality for it is an EROTIC THRILLER Spanish Prisoner. The problem with this falling into the erotic thriller category though is that it is neither erotic nor thrilling. The plot is predictable and the dialogue leaves little room for acting to make up for the writing. Whether or not Angie Everhart is a solid enough actress to make up for an inferior script is left up to guesswork as improvement on this script is like multiplying by zero.
Basically the plot revolves around a murder-mystery/love triangle. Each and every concept here has been tried before. Is Angie Everhart a calculating woman bent of destroying her husband and seducing his stepson? Is Andrew Walker a cold spiteful son looking to speed up his inheritance? Will husband/father Winston Reckert kill both of them? Is the maid with the constantly changing accent in on it? Does any of this matter? In the end if you have seen Wild Things, Black Widow and pick a Cinemax film of your choosing (along with the aforementioned Spanish Prisoner), you've already seen this film. Of course, those films didn't have Angie Everhart. She is gorgeous and passes with a competent grade as an actress. David Walker as Holden Pryce (the son) shows little promise as an actor. Winston Reckert as the dad is ok, but little better than that. The entire film feels contrived but for one brief moment. There is a instance of genuine emotion while Everhart and Walker are at a bar. They are drinking and giggling like drunken folks are likely to do. When someone barges in on them the reverie is broken. It isn't ever repaired.
Of course though, many people will get this merely for the sub-title of it: Angie Everhart Naked. They won't be disappointed but they won't be awed either. She's not yet Shannon Tweed nor does the film come off as a guilty pleasure like Scorned did. This isn't the worst film to be released on Dvd this year and is better than a lot of cinema fare (Matrix: Revolutions would be a good example). That said, if people don't rush out and get this they wouldn't be missing much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wicked Is Right!, March 23, 2008
By 
B26354 (Antarctica) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wicked Minds (DVD)
I rented this movie because of Andrew Walker (I caught part of one of those Lifetime channel movies he did and was really impressed). This ambitious movie (it moves like a TV movie really) stumbles over some obvious plot issues and acting at times, (by no fault of the actors but rather the plot and pacing of the film) but overall is very well done and kept me in suspense and surprised at how it ended. Angie's story about her character's abusive father is especially well done, and the chemistry between Everhart and Walker's characters is striking and edgy (the entire empty bar scene is an unprecedented must-see and left me wanting more, more, more). The father's cruelty is also well played and the deer hunting sequence is also another secret gem in this film, reminiscent of a certain Hemingway short story. Amy Sloan is also very good and fun to watch in this quirky role, and Angie Everhart and Andrew Walker have never looked more gorgeous: At one point, Walker's face completely fills the frame in an extreme close-up during a pivotal sequence in the deer hunting scene, and possesses a certain quality only equaled by actors we loved from the Golden Age of Hollywood so very long ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Takes You To Unfamiliar Places, October 8, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wicked Minds (DVD)
The ending totally caught me by surprise. Andrew Walker's Holden Price was perfect as the innocent son set up for murdering his domineering father. The plot that takes us too that point , we have seen over and over again, but the ending is what shocks the viewer. Angie Everheart 's sexy tortured new bride is played to perfection. Blend the tortured stepmom with the returning young son frustrated with his father's expectations and plans for his life and you've got a plot played to perfection. You never get lost in the twists and turns. For a while you wonder who did it, until the very end. Is Holden(Walker)protecting his lover/stepmmother(Angie Everhart)Lana or vice versa? All eyes lead to Lana who has married a man twice her age.

We are lead down a road traveled a thousand times a rich old millionaire marries a young, veluptuous ,vixen who finds a stud to fool around with. The geezer is murdered. Who did it? We know why? You will not know the ending until the very end. A solid -3-. Good movie. Good acting. Walker has the face and body to play in superhero movies. If not he should be in similar movies as Wicked Minds. Everhart should be more in demand also. Until they do, I guess I will have to watch this one over and over. Big fan of both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twisted Plot!, December 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wicked Minds (DVD)
This was an excellent made-for-TV movie! The plot just kept getting more twisted as the story unfolded. Two thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE SEDUCTIVE STEPMOM, April 18, 2005
By 
This review is from: Wicked Minds (DVD)
WICKED MINDS is an average steamy thriller, and if you are patient with it's methodical pacing and some uninspired acting, you'll still be rewarded with a plot twist that I did not see coming. Maybe I was distracted? But anyway, we have the standard boy meets dad's sexy new stopmom; Dad is a heartless, power hungry and wealthy businessman; and before you know it, Son's making out with his new mama. The script twists and turns and one is led to believe that sexy mama is a temptress with murder in mind. Of course, Dad/Hubby gets offed and it looks like someone has set up the son to take the fall, and the obvious suspect of course is Mama.

Angie Everhart is a beautiful woman, and there are times she reminds me of a redheaded younger Catherine Deneuve. While not a great actress, she delivers the kind of siren one would expect from a movie like this. Andrew Walker as Holden, the son, conveys a boyish naievete in his role; Winston Rekert as the father is too monotonous and doesn't really have a lot of variations in his emotions; Amy Sloan as Nicole, the young lady whom is set up as a date for Holden is effective. The movie was made for the Movie Channel, and as tv movies go, it's average. Not a great movie, but it has some interesting twists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wicked Minds (DVD)
Saw this on lifetime and had to have it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, July 27, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wicked Minds (DVD)
This movie was shown on Lifetime television when I saw it for the first time and I had to have it. It arrived in like new condition and that is how it plays
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't really like it but the customer service always email me, they may worth to be considered, February 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wicked Minds [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I don't really like it but the customer service always email me, they may worth to be considered. So I bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST ANGIE EVERHART MOVIE EVER!, December 2, 2003
By 
This review is from: Wicked Minds (DVD)
I LOVE ANGIE I HAVE SEEN ALL HER MOVIES AND ALTHOUGH IT HAS NO NUDITY THIS MOVIE REALLY DOESN'T NEED IT.THIS MOVIE IS ALL AROUND GOOD,IT HAS A GREAT PLOT AND GOOD ACTORS.I WOULD TELL ANYBODY WHO LIKES A GOOD MOVIE TO BUY THIS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wicked Minds [VHS]
Wicked Minds [VHS] by Jason Hreno (VHS Tape - 2004)
Used & New from: $3.12
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.