Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon David Bowie egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals Outdoor Deals on HTL

Format: MP3 MusicChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on November 18, 1999
A shock went through the guitar world when George Lynch "left" Dokken. Many people wondered if Lynch could make it without the support of a band with such amazing musical chemistry as Dokken. The answer was an emphatic YES. George came roaring back with "Wicked Sensation" which is an absolutely brilliant showcase of his truely unique playing style. For the guitar enthusiast, this is a MONSTER CD, providing enough guitar wizardry to keep you in awe for a LONG time. With no weak tracks on th entire CD, it's hard to single out hot spots. The most incredible guitar work comes on "Wicked Sensation" (the CD's sex driven title track), "For a Million Years" (an aural roller coaster), and "Street Fighting Man" (absolutely scary). George Lynch has always been a guitar icon for many people. With "Wicked Sensation", he has promoted himself up to Guitar God status.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on April 29, 2005
If you are 40 years old or over, like myself, and can appreciate the good ol' 80s and early 90s when chicks were cool and hard rock/metal was abundant, then I would recommend this to you. Absolutely fantastic Saturday night cruising music for way back when. Oni Logan rules so bad. Nobody makes them like this anymore. Like other reviewers have stated, take Dokken and add more denim, snakeskin boots, more jewelry, and take the music in a little bluesier direction and you have this. Maybe add a dose of Spread Eagle and XYZ in the mix as well. Enjoy!!
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on November 16, 2004
I love George Lynch's guitar style. I also like Dokken quite a bit, so when I picked this up what was I expecting? Not more of the same, but at least a lot of the more euro sounding melody with some heavier bluesy sounds thrown in. Unfortunately, its a lot like what bands were doing in the early 90's going bluesy and more raunchy like Badlands, etc. I was dissapointed that it wasn't as heavy as expected, after all, George always seemed so annoyed at Don's pop stylings and George also laughs at the period saying he himself looked like a "psychotic Mr T".

Well the Lynch Mob is not too far removed from Dokken's pop metal, but the complexity is taken up a notch as well as the bluesiness. Its overall an excellent album, but the mix sounds flat (compared to Back For The Attack) and also contains alot of filler (She's Evil But She's Mine- YUCK!)

I prefer Oni Logan over Robert Mason and even Don himself at times though, and there are some great moments of shred to be enjoyed within. The topics are the usual sex/drugs/rock and roll, and did I mention sex (?) that George's old band sung about, albeit done more in an "Earthy" way (like quoting old Willie Dixon instead of Don Dokken's melodrama). Its good, but not great. I'll take it over Smoke This any day though!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon July 5, 2007
George Lynch's sonic guitar work leads the charge of Lynch Mob's "Wicked Sensation" album. I got this disc way back when it first came out and it quickly became one of my favorite hard rock albums. The title track and "All I Want" are two of the most obvious sex-tinged rockers you'll run into from the early 90's. "Dance of the Dogs," "She's Evil But She's Mine" and "Hell Child" are all excellent rock tunes as well. "Rain," "Sweet Sister Mercy" and "Through These Eyes" are especially good and highlight Oni Logan's vocals.

The entire album is a wonderful treat from the era that Grunge killed. If you've never heard it before, I highly recommend you check it out. Fans of Dokken, Motley Crue, and Skid Row will definitely enjoy this one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on November 8, 2005
One of the most overlooked hard rock records around. This album blends the pop metal style of Dokken with a rough edge. Lynch's musicianship and soloing (check out "All I Want)bests any of his work with Dokken. It's tough to classify this as hair metal because the music is much better than that. If you're a fan of Dokken but want something a little heavier and a with a little more this record.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on January 23, 2002
I was a huge George Lynch fan when he was in Dokken, and still am now. This album was eagerly anticipated by Lynch fans when it was released as it was his first post - Dokken release. And what an album!!!
If you are a guitar fan and have still not heard this album, buy it now!!! The guitar work on 'Street Fighting Man' alone is worth the price of the CD. Other highlights include All I Want, For A Million Years and the title track. The singer Oni Logan is certainly no slouch and is more than a match for Lynch's brilliance. Even if you aren't a guitar fan, but enjoy melodic hard rock, this album is a must have.
An extremely even effort throughout, and still Lynch's best work to date. Check out a guitarist at the absolute top of his game!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on April 25, 2003
Most who followed Dokken in the 80's probably were dissapointed when they broke up. Dokken's last album was probably their best work (Back for the Attack). What was becoming evident from that album was Georged Lynch's influence taking hold and Dokken music getting a little meaner. When George left to start LynchMob, it was expected he would stay with the popular formula and stay in the Dokken style. What happened was what makes good albums great and good bands better. George hooked up with Oni Logan, a very strong voice and edgy writer, and created "Wicked Sensation". What you get with "Wicked Sensation" is a blues driven back drop with mysterious waves flowing in and out. "River of Love" drives you with blues and "She evil, but she's Mine" along with "For a Million Years" takes you on a mysterious middle eastern magic carpet ride. Unbelieveable match with Oni and George make's this album one of the best early 90's rock album that stays true to Rock. No "fluff" or "i hate my life and my parents" music that killed rock in the 90's. Put on a headset, close your eyes and you will be taken somewhere far away.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on June 22, 1999
Title track, River of Love, Hell Child, Rain, She's evil but she's mine... these songs kick ass. Hard to find disc now - it is well worth the search. If I were going to a deserted island tomorrow and could bring ten cd's, this would definitely be one of them. George & Co ROCK!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 2, 2004
Being a huge Lynch fan (like so many other guitarists), buying this one was a no-brainer. In my opinion, this is the best Lynch ever!
Its refreshingly different and more modern sounding than Dokken. George maintains all of the raw engergy of previous while taking the guitar to the next level with crisp new tones and incredible guitar work. It sounds a bit more wet, yet crystal clear and every song is at least very good, while the others are awesome. The lead on "All I Want" is paralyzingly incredible while the one on "Hell Child" is TOTAL DOOMSDAY!
Also, everone else's performance and the sound production are all excellent. The drums and bass are tight, precise and inspiring. The singer (a "Hell Child") is overflowing with raw engergy and will bring some listeners to tears on "Through these eyes".
This is one of my favorite heavy rock cd's of all time - if you are a Lynch fan, but it now and then CRANK IT!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on October 4, 2006
I've gotta say -- this is really a great CD if you like melodic "metal" with a bluesier feel. Lynch is legendary and excels on every track. That's nothing new. I think Oni Logan was a SPECTACULAR find as the lead vocalist. His voice is everything defined by this genre -- husky, raw, sexy, smoky & oddly sensual. More expressive & technically able than Robert Mason's on the self-titled release. No shortage of standout tracks -- the naughty "Wicked Sensation", sultry "Sweet Sister Mercy", rebellious "Hell Child" , pensive "Rain", wistful "Through These Eyes" & yearning "For A Million Years." As stated by a previous reviewer, I'd agree that fans of Badlands will dig it...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Sun Red Sun
Sun Red Sun by Lynch Mob

Lynch Mob
Lynch Mob by Lynch Mob


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.