Customer Reviews


685 Reviews
5 star:
 (472)
4 star:
 (99)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (58)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


461 of 482 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Add-On for two handed games
In martial arts, nunchucks are a pair of short wood rods connected with a chain that ninjas whirl around their bodies :) With the Wii, the nunchuck is a single controller held in your off hand.

The nunchuck is not the main controller unit for the Wii. The Wii primarily uses the Wii Remote, shaped like a TV remote, for its functionality. The Nunchuck is for use...
Published on November 19, 2006 by Lisa Shea

versus
28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE !!! Make sure it's a genuine nunchuck
I bought this a couple of weeks ago and the nunchuck i receive was in a clear plastic packaging. I opened the nunchuck and immediately found several "Flaws".

1) There was cellophane tape on the unit itself. And after removing it, there is still some sticky residue and caused a lot of irritation.

2) The most significant issue, is that the joystick was...
Published on April 13, 2010 by G. Cheng


‹ Previous | 1 269 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

461 of 482 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Add-On for two handed games, November 19, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wii Nunchuk Controller - White (Video Game)
In martial arts, nunchucks are a pair of short wood rods connected with a chain that ninjas whirl around their bodies :) With the Wii, the nunchuck is a single controller held in your off hand.

The nunchuck is not the main controller unit for the Wii. The Wii primarily uses the Wii Remote, shaped like a TV remote, for its functionality. The Nunchuck is for use in the "other hand" (i.e. your left hand if you're right handed) just for a few games. It plus into the bottom end of the Wii Remote with a cable that's about 2 1/2 feet long. Most of the time, you leave it unplugged and sitting by the console.

For example, in the sports pack that comes with the Wii, only one of the five games uses the nunchuck. This is the boxing game. You use the nunchuck to hit with your off hand, just as you use the Wii remote to punch and jab with your primary hand.

The nunchuck has the same motion sensing technology as the Wii remote does, so that you can move your hand around and the game knows what you are doing. The buttons are much simpler - there is a Z big trigger button, a smaller C trigger button above it, and then a joystick up on top. For some games, no buttons are used at all.

The cable length is designed so you don't trip yourself with it :) It's long enough that if you held your hands apart, you could easily ride even a wide-handled bike. It's not long enough that you could put both arms straight out to the left and right, though. I've never had any problems with the cable length hindering me. None of the games require you to have your hands far apart. In boxing, for example, your hands are always near each other and there's plenty of cable length even when you're jabbing.

The nunchuck doesn't need its own power - it plugs into the Wii remote controller when it's in use. So there's no worry about charging up or batteries.

I would definitely have at least one functional nunchuck for my Wii, and if you're really into multiplayer two-handed games like boxing matches, then having two would be important. However, for most gamers, one will probably suffice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're going to buy an extra Wii Remote, this is an absolute must-have!, October 3, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wii Nunchuk Controller - White (Video Game)
In case you are unfamiliar with the Nunchuk, it is an accessory that simply plugs into the bottom of any Wii Remote. You may have seen Nintendo saying things like "with the Wii Remote, to hit a tennis ball, simply swing the Wii Remote". This is true for some games, for many others, it is not that simple.

How would one play a game like The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess without a Nunchuk? How would you control your character and swing your sword? Would you simply use the + control pad (on top of the Wii Remote) to move your character, and when you get some action, start swinging? How would you move around while in combat? Why am I asking so many questions?

This is where the the Nunchuk adds depth and variety to games like Zelda. The Nunchuk has two buttons (Z and C) and an Analog Stick. In Zelda, the Analog Stick is used for character movement, the Z button is for aiming, and the C button is used to look around. Some games use them (Zelda, Metroid Prime 3 etc.) and some don't (Boxing in Wii Sports... I think that's it). But the most innovative feature of the Nunchuk isn't ON the Nunchuck, but rather IN it.

It has a built-in accelerometer, which in human terms, means that it shares some of the motion-sensing abilities with the Wii Remote. What kind of motion-sensiing abilites you may ask? I'll give some examples.

When you shake the Nunchuk in Zelda, you do a spin-attack. When you "punch" with it in Boxing (included in Wii Sports), you punch the character you are fighting against. It may not have the pointing abilites of the Wii Remote, but it shares the core motion-sensing abilites, which it also shares with products like the iPhone and SIXAXIS PS3 controller.

To summarize, the Nunchuk attachment isn't only a cool add-on for the Wii Remote, but it is a neccessary add-on for the Wii Remote. It will set you back around $20, but it is better to buy it now than hear your kids endlessly nag you about it. They are very durable, very innovative, and very fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE !!! Make sure it's a genuine nunchuck, April 13, 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wii Nunchuk Controller - White (Video Game)
I bought this a couple of weeks ago and the nunchuck i receive was in a clear plastic packaging. I opened the nunchuck and immediately found several "Flaws".

1) There was cellophane tape on the unit itself. And after removing it, there is still some sticky residue and caused a lot of irritation.

2) The most significant issue, is that the joystick was sticky as well. It's hard to move it, and it's take about half a second to come back to the center position. The original nunchuck that comes with the system moves so smoothly. And the material for the joystick is different. more plastic feel compare with more rubbery feel of the original.

3) the whole nunchuck is poorly made. the connector seems to be really poorly made.

I did some googling and found out that this matches description of the fake nunchucks sold in ebay. that cost like 5 bucks. I paid [...] bucks for this.

This is from Amazon and i am extremely disappointed and shocked as Amazon actually sold fake stuff to me. Buyers please BEWARE!!!

needless to say i returned mine straight away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Seem to be not an original product, August 27, 2010
By 
Jorge Jaramillo (Lutz, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought three of them and they were sent without the original box, and they look like if they were used. The sticker with the instruction in one of them looks like if it were re-attached to it. And the quality of that stickers and the connectors are not as the originals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't purchase this!, March 21, 2010
By 
Dave (Rockville, MD USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wii Nunchuk Controller - White (Video Game)
I don't know how this happened or what, but this Nunchuk feels fake to me. The action of the joystick is rough, the plastic that it is made of has a rougher texture and seems to be cheaper. The cord length is about 3 inches shorter than the store bought legit Nunchuks. I don't know where this one came from. It affects gameplay a lot and I would strongly recommend going to the store and buying the real thing rather than this fake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but overpriced., November 21, 2006
By 
Christopher Marx (Oklahoma City, OK United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wii Nunchuk Controller - White (Video Game)
I love the nunchuck. It really adds much to the gaming experience. You can use it like a reel for fishing, especially in the new Twilight Princess. The analog stick is used to control movements. In Wii Boxing, you use it for your weak arm to throw punches. It has its own motions sensors. I love the nunchuck. The only problem is that it is overpriced. When you have to buy the Wiimote for $40, it its a little steep to buy a nunchuck for another $20, especially since most games will require it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not made by Nintendo!, July 24, 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wii Nunchuk Controller - White (Video Game)
Buyer Beware!! Very disappointed in these Wii Nunchuks. It stated in the product description that it was manufactured by Nintendo, we did not want to buy secondary market products. When the two nunchuks came in the mail, they appeared to be in Nintendo Boxes but the writing was in Japanese. The only English on the box was "for sale and use in Japan only". Needless to say, that was the beginning of our suspicions which were only confirmed when the nunchuks didn't even work. When we compared our purchase with the original nunchuk that came with our Wii system we noticed that the two new nunchuks were not stamped Nintendo. These nunchuks are obviously knock-offs that are being sold by this vendor under the Nintendo name. Our kids were really excited when the two new nunchuks came in the mail so they could play some of the Wii games that allow more than 1 player, only to be disappointed when they did not even work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Even Real?, February 10, 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wii Nunchuk Controller - White (Video Game)
My order was fulfilled by one of Amazon's third party sellers. The item came wrapped in bubble wrap with no original packaging. I was told no where along the line that this was sold as used. Then I can't even find any markings saying Nintendo made this.

Be very wary buying this here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete JUNK! 0 Star Rating, July 18, 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wii Nunchuk Controller - White (Video Game)
The nunchuck worked the first and second time but after that it quit working. The game would always stop and say that the nunchuck needed to be plugged back into the controller (it was plugged in correctly) or that the operations have stopped for whoever was using that nunchuck (didnt matter which controller it was plugged into, it NEVER worked). After a few times of this, it completely stopped working at all. I paid for a nunchuck to work 2 times. A total wase of money!!! Do NOT buy this product or you will be throwing money down the drain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must have for the Wii mote, August 19, 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wii Nunchuk Controller - White (Video Game)
You'll need a wii mote to use this and many games will require you to have it in order to play. It uses the batteries from your wii mote. It can detect motion like the wii mote but you can't point at the screen with it. I t has an analog stick and two buttons. The only cons are that it does not vibrate, you can't click the analog stick like the xbox 360 controller, seems overpriced, and it is not included with the wii mote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 269 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wii Nunchuk Controller - White
Wii Nunchuk Controller - White by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii)
$23.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.