Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wii Party On
Wii Party U is an HD version of Wii party as another reviewer said but more than that its a fun game that makes excellent use of the gamepad. The games in this party game collection and fun for everyone and the controls are very intuitive.

This game is best for at least 3 players but 4 gets you the best effect. Its deceptively fun. I didn't really like Wii...
Published 10 months ago by Jonathan Balofsky

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Spent more time WATCHING than playing.
The ideas are solid. The game could have been solid. But, unfortunately, it ended up a wreck. I usually play this with two other people - and given an hour of playing, I'm guessing that at least half of that overall time is spent watching the game do animations and transitions and cutesy other stuff that simply isn't fun: I want to play games!

Then, to top...
Published 1 month ago by Kelly Sottelbaum


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wii Party On, November 1, 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wii Party U (Video Game)
Wii Party U is an HD version of Wii party as another reviewer said but more than that its a fun game that makes excellent use of the gamepad. The games in this party game collection and fun for everyone and the controls are very intuitive.

This game is best for at least 3 players but 4 gets you the best effect. Its deceptively fun. I didn't really like Wii Party but this game takes the good from that one and cuts out what didn't work. What we are left with is a fun game.

I will admit I would have liked to see some other things but what is here is fun and addictive. While most games are aimed at the so called "Hardcore market", this is a game that appeals to everyone. No matter who you are, you will find something to love about this game.

The gamepad is integrated into the game in unique ways, be it sharing the gamepad for turns or using it to simulate scooping water.

The games may seem childish and silly at first, but once you start playing it becomes extremely competitive.

This comes with a Wii remote Plus so just by buying this you already have another controller for more players.

Nintendo hit the nail with this and its a great minigame collection. If you have a Wii U this is a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best for 3 or more players, October 29, 2013
By 
J. Reed (Washington DC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wii Party U (Video Game)
Played enough with my GF to give a brief analysis from a 2-player experience.

This game was built from the ground-up to be a 3-4 player game experience, although some accomodations were made for 2-player guests. The House Party Mode, for example, where you'll find many of the popular games including 'Name the Face' is practically inaccessible to 2 players, as most of the games there are for 3 or more players. In the other modes, including Gamepad Island and TV party, CPU opponents can be added for those mini-games requiring more than 2 players. The CPU replacements are challenging at first for the uninitiated and gaming neophytes in general, but after playing the same mini-game 2-3 times and getting a better grasp of the controls/rules, the CPU opponents, even in the hard settings, pose no challenge.

From personal preference, Gamepad Island is a step-down from its predecessor, IMO. My GF and I found passing the Gamepad back-and-forth to be bothersome after a while. In the original Wii Party, all you needed was a Wii Mote in your hand, and the simplicity of that cannot be understated, especially for casual gamers. Going from Wii Mote to Gamepad and then back to the Wii Motes again broke the seamless trance, which is important because when you're playing a mini-game collection, you want to go from one mini to another quickly to keep players interested and engaged.

'Highway Roller' is a favorite of ours, as is 'Catch the Sneak' and the one mini-game mode where the first player to the top platform is declared champion. In these modes, you win simply by beating the other player in a series of mini-games presented to you both seamlessly and simplistically. Use of the Gamepad depends on the mini-game in question, but it's not the focal point of these modes which is a big plus for my GF.

Overall, I think Wii Party U is very much worth it, especially since it comes bundled with a Wii Mote, making it our third one and you need 3 Wii motes (and 3 players holding them) to take full advantage of Wii Party U. I know I was down on Gamepad Island and the Gamepad use in general, but that's a personal preference - switching from one controller to the next or constantly switching focus from the TV to the Gamepad isn't my idea of a fast and fluidic multiplayer experience, especially when we're going to have friends around who'll probably be holding their phones/beer/whatever in the other hand, then we're going to tell them to put those things down, pick up the controller, no the other controller with the screen on it, etc. etc. etc.

From a 2-player experience, I give Wii Party U 4 stars. I might change that score once we have guests and explore the 3+ player games.

Hopefully we get some DLC for this title. This is a great warmup for the upcoming Wii Fit U game which I know for a fact will be awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An HD update to WiiParty, October 25, 2013
By 
CAPS ON! (Eastern Seaboard) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wii Party U (Video Game)
Basically it's WiiParty with different mini games.

Some are great, some are pure luck (pick a bush and hope the ostrich doesn't find you).

It has a great horse racing game where you ride different exotic animals, each with it's own strength and weakness.

The GamePad only games are very nostalgic looking. They give you the feel that you are manipulating tiny toys or old fashioned skill games.

For those of use that liked the Island board game, they now have a few different variations (we always enjoyed the island one in WiiParty).

The graphics are bright and beautiful.

Considering the current price of $49.96, you are getting a controller and a game that costs you $10.00
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun! more "Party" style board games for the Wii U, December 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wii Party U (Video Game)
My family (my husband, my eight year old daughter, and I) are BIG fans of the original Wii Party and played that far more than any other game we got for the Wii.

When we got the Wii U, Wii Party U was the first game we looked for, and then we waited anxiously for it to be released.

And just like the originall Wii Party, we play it constantly. It's kind of our go-to game on the Wii- we are familiar with the controls, with most of the mini-games, and the rules of play. No, there aren't any super cool surprises or edge-of-your seat suspense, but for us, that's perfect. When the three of us are playing Wii, we kinda want to sit back, be engaged, but not super active. Wii Party U is a great successor to the original Wii Party- several large games that are comprised of (all new) mini-games that you compete against one another in. There's no jumping or leaping across the room, and the use of the Gamepad is very good (we all use it but there's no constant passing it around like on some party games for the Wii U). So it's perfect for a quiet evening after dinner- we sit down together on the couch and battle it out, Wii Party style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A couch multiplayer essential, June 27, 2014
This review is from: Wii Party U (Video Game)
Well, thanks to the oh-so-awesome Mario Kart 8 free game deal, a friend of my little brother's gave us a Club Nintendo code, allowing for not only our own code to be used on The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD, but also for this new code to be used on a certain multiplayer bonanza that seems to be directly inspired by Mario Party. And I'm not talking about the one with Sonic the Hedgehog in it.

Wii Party U strives to be much more than just copycat game, though, and it succeeds at that.
There is a surprising amount of game modes and ways to have fun. There are multiple modes based on the traditional board-game-video-game rules, but with a twist depending on the mode.

For a notable example: Highway Rollers has you move a ginormous amount of spaces to reach the other side of the board. The numerous minigames that you'll be thrown into determine how many dice you will get to use per turn. There are spaces on the board that can also send you 20 spaces forward, backward, or give you more dice!
There's also a mode based around "fashion styles" - You collect pieces of the outfit, show up on the stage when it's nearby, and gather points for the outfit you come onstage with! Lurking around the board causes you to find shops with clothing you could either nab for the outfit, or there are spaces where you can play a minigame to gain a freebie or steal a player's piece!

TV Party (the set of modes the above two are grouped with) contains all sorts of kooky competitive shenanigans and very diverse and equally entertaining minigames that Mario Party has been struggling to execute properly this day and age. And that's just a fraction of what the overall package has to offer!

House Party is a second set of modes that have their own arguably more unique experiences, especially since they don't use the minigames that TV Party partly thrives on. These modes are composed of their own less-than-20-minute exercises that make interesting uses of the Gamepad. You could make a silly face with the camera and make your opponents guess what charade you're doing, draw with the stylus and see whose drawing is the odd one out, or cooperatively press buttons on the Wii Remotes and Gamepad in what's like a new way to play Twister. If you won't be playing Wii Party U for a long burst of time, the House Party set is where your short-lived party is at!

And then there's the Gamepad Tabletop games.
These games may only allow two people to play, but the games that are in here nevertheless manage to pack in lots of intense and competitive moments. Heck, I'm just going to say it right now - Tabletop Baseball alone is more intense and addicting than Mario Super Sluggers. It may seem like a very bold claim, but that's just how I feel about it. Another favorite is Tabletop Foosball, which has never ceased to excite me, whether or not it's simulated on the Gamepad or on a physical table. There are also activities such as the Tabletop Gauntlet and minigames, but Baseball and Foosball are the real deals in this set.

As for the entire Wii Party U game, I wholeheartedly recommend getting it, regardless of whether or not you'll be buying it for a Wii Remote or because you bought Mario Kart. If you are a lone person who doesn't really have people to play with, then subtract one star from the overall rating. Otherwise, this is a great game to play with family and/or friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wii Party U - Definitely worth the price of admission., February 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wii Party U (Video Game)
Nintendo video games are magical in the way they get people to interact. Walk into a room full of people playing Madden and you'll see two people playing the game and talking trash at each other, while the rest of the people in the room look disinterested and try to find something else to do while they wait their turn.

Walk into a room of people playing Wii Party U and you'll see something very different... you'll see an entire room of people not only engaged in the game, but actively engaged with each other. That's what makes this game shine.

I would put it on the level of a really good board game with more replay value because of the variety. And at only $40 with a wii remote, that's a huge steal.

The game itself is divided into three sections:
1) Gamepad Party: Here you can play a variety of mini-games on the gamepad alone. They are very short games and not meant to be very in-depth. For most, the duration makes sense. For other's, I wish there was an option to play longer (foosball, racing are the ones that come to mind). This is pretty cool because there are times when the TV is being used and you just want a quick game fix.

2) TV party: Here you compete with other people in a wide variety of mini-games using the gamepad and/or wii remote. It's similar to what I've seen with the old Mario Party games. You can think of it as a "mini-game Olympics." Definitely more fun with real people than the computer. For most games, one player has the gamepad and the other players compete against them with the wii remotes. It's fun in the same way Nintendo Land is fun, but the games are less in-depth.

3) House Party: More games! These games offer different ways to use the gamepad and remotes. For example, with one you draw something and the others have to guess what it was. Overall, it just adds to the variety of the experience.

At $60, this was a must own for anyone who likes party games. At $40, it's a must own for anyone with a Wii U and less than 4 wii remotes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great buy, January 11, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wii Party U (Video Game)
A Wii motion plus controller is $35. This game is $50. So it's like getting a controller and the game is thrown in for $15. The game is fun for my 8 year old daughter so it is well worth $15. I probably wouldn't buy it for the $50 price if the controller wasn't included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great party game for 3+ people, December 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wii Party U (Video Game)
This is not a game for 1 person. Even with 2 it is kind of boring. But with 3 or more, it is a ton of fun. Not as good as the Mario Party games back on N64, but this is the type of game I've been waiting for. Great mini games. Lots of different modes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product and price / value., December 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wii Party U (Video Game)
(ES) Magníficos mini-juegos, ideales para compartir en familia, también se puede jugar sólo pero la experiencia no es la misma.
Incluye un WiiRemotePlus con Forro, baterías y cordel de seguridad, además de ser la nueva versión en cuya tapa dispone del Boton 'sync' de fácil acceso sin quitar el forro ni la tapa de las baterías.
Además incluye una pequeña base para colocar el WiiUGamePad de forma completamente horizontal.
Excelente producto y relación precio/valor.

(EN translate)
Great mini-games, ideal for sharing with family, you can also play but the experience just is not the same.
Includes WiiRemotePlus, batteries, in addition to being the new version of the lid has 'sync' easily accessible without removing the cover or battery cover.
Also includes a small base to place the WiiUGamePad in a completely horizontal.
Excellent product and price / value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better then I thought, December 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wii Party U (Video Game)
I ordered this one n the blue one n i would do it again the controllers come with the wrists strap n protective jacket it's an awesome deal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wii Party U
Wii Party U by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii U)
$49.99 $41.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.