Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now SnS

Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$18.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 3, 2008
This is one of the best documentaries about China today. It shows the diverse topography, flora, and fauna of the most geographically and ethnically diverse countries in the world. It also focuses on the little known and long-standing efforts by China to preserve it's environment, delicate ecological systems and unique animal life. The photography is breathtaking and the extra effort to show rarely seen areas of China are amazing. I have traveled all over China and this documentary shows the land as it truly is. For people who would like a glimpse into this remarkable land and it's people, this documentary is an excellent choice.
11 comment102 of 105 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2008
I have to agree with the previous reviewer that said: "It also focuses on the little known and long-standing efforts by China to preserve it's environment, delicate ecological systems and unique animal life." There's an example, in almost every episode, of conservation by the Chinese people, and this is not new. One of my favorites is the scene of Chinese people riding some distances on their bicycles with their birdcages strapped behind them, so they could hang all the little cages on trees so the birds could all talk to each other and not be lonely. Just recently, in the big earthquake (not this morning's, the one before) one of China's famous Giant Pandas 'Mau Mau' died when a wall collapsed on her. The keepers cried at her grave and she had a real funeral. While there is nothing quite so dramatic in this series, it is nice to see this side of the Chinese people at least alluded to.

Not mentioned in the last few reviews is the wonderful narration provided by Bernard Hill (captain of 'The Titanic'; King Theoden of Peter Jackson's 'The Lord of the Rings'). I was happy to see his wonderful voice put to such good use, and he even gets to keep his British accent!
1111 comments67 of 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2008
This is truly an incredible documentary. I knew that there were both marvelous animals and picturesque natural beauty in China, but never like this. Each episode [8 in total, viewing time of 377 minutes]makes you gape in awe at both the vastly diverse environments, animals and human tribes that make China their home.
0Comment44 of 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2008
This by the far the best documentary for your money,23 dollars that has 6 hours of documentary! might not rival to planet earth in term of depth or rival gapagos picture quality, but anyway this is great documentary regardness, this is not your typical china documentary, you won't find forbidden city or other public well know sight, but isntead this more focus at the nature beauty landscape and landmark of China, which only native chinese know, example many of the scene of the wild china are never show in tv anywhere especially not in the west, only tourism will goes to those place, this mean it actualyl gave you a trip to china really, is that good. Also this one has large coverage of the popular china icon animal panda, which i sure please many, included coverage of tibet, most people think tibet as a religion and very harz place to live , but is far more than that and is very important for the survival of human kind. This does coverage of daily peopel lives but is balance with equal animal and nature coverage.
0Comment22 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2008
July 16th, 2008:
This series has just recently been shown on CBC in HD here in Canada. I only watched 2 of the 7 part series due to schedule conflict. What can I say, BBC has done it again after their masterpiece Planet Earth. It portraits the natural beauty, the special animal species, and the people who live in harmonization, in various parts of China. Some of the scenes, according to the narrative, are the first time being shot. From the 2 episodes I watched, Wild China has some of the most stunning images and the picture quality is superb. I was so thrilled to see most of the things I have never seen either in person or on TV/Moive, even though I was originally from that country.
Now I am going to buy it off Amazon and will put it along side of Planet Earth as my permanent collection.

September 13th. 2008:
Regrettably, I have to agree with some of the reviewers that the Blu-ray production is a letdown! Comparing to the original TV series I saw, the color is not as vivid, the image drifts in and out of focus leaving one wonders whether it is really HD. And the voice of narrative is boring, I like the CBC version much better with Canadian TV host/environmentalist David Suzuki. It is very disappointing that such an amazing HD program came out to blu-ray like this.

I therefore downgraded my original rating from 5 to 3.
66 comments54 of 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2008
Very impressive, covers many aspects of China's diverse scenery, and informs the viewer in detail. Missing is the usual commentary from David Attenborough that had accompanied many previous nature shows. The new chap does a good job though.

I'd give this 4.5 stars if I could, it loses half a star for video quality. I feel there are a number of scenes that are a little fuzzy or soft/out of focus compared to Life on Earth and Galapagos. Other than that another classic, worth buying as you'll want to watch more than once.
0Comment11 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2008
I had originally come across some of these episodes on the Travel Channel, right before the Beijing Olympics. Once I saw a couple of the episodes, I knew I had to get the DVD set. It was just jaw-dropping, breath-takingly beautiful. The scenery is straight out of the traditional Chinese 'mountain-water' paintings, the animals were amazing, and the overall presentation was just classy-ly done. And to those who would love to have Chinese friends and family watch and enjoy, there are indeed traditional Chinese subtitles. I can safely say this is worth every penny.
0Comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon December 13, 2010
This is not a 'made for the travel industry' or 'tourist guide' China documentary. This blu-ray is indeed Wild China! It captures the raw, unpolished, natural beauty of China - as close as one can get to seeing China through the eyes of the natives. Children in a classroom, fishermen working the waters in bamboo rafts, and Tibetan monks meditating. It's these simple facets of life in China that keeps you enthralled for the entire 353 minutes of this production!

Wild China comprises 2 blu-ray discs - Disc Format 1 x BD50 and 1 x BD25

DISC 1
Heart of the Dragon
Shangri-La
Tibet

DISC 2
Beyond the Great Wall
Land of the Panda
Tides of Change
Special Feature - Hunting Dragons (The making of)

SEE MY PHOTOS IN CUSTOMER IMAGES

I have always been captivated by China's Great Wall, and this documentary does not disappoint! Although no 2 blu-ray disc set can fully capture such a massive country in its entirety, Wild China certainly touches enough on the peoples, landscapes, flora and fauna to leave you satiated.

The HD video quality is certainly not as crisp as Galapagos or even Planet Earth. However, Wild China's video is good quality HD (I looked at this blu-ray on a 55 inch and had no issues other than some 'softness' in the video).

The narration is done by by 'new kid on the block' Bernard Hill (actor King Théoden in 'The Lord of the Rings' trilogy). Although I have grown accustomed to David Attenborough's narration (Life and Planet Earth), I must admit - Bernard Hill does a great job, giving Wild China's narration a truly Royal treatment! :))

VIDEO:
Video resolution: Hi Def 1080i
Aspect ratio: 16:9
Length: 353 Minutes

AUDIO:
English: Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: English, Traditional Mandarin

Wild China is a truly engaging production and complements my other BBC documentaries, Planet Earth,Life and Galapagos. Despite the video 'softness' in a few scenes, I rate this truly enthralling 2 blu-ray disc set 5 STARS!

RECOMMENDED: Ganges - Blu-ray - fantastic video and an impressive DTS-HD HR audio mix. Also, Baraka - Blu-ray - the majesty and scope of the 1080p film conversion fills any television whatever the size of your screen!
review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2011
This film is a six-episode documentary on the flora and fauna of China, with occasional intercessions of human activities, all in high definition. The viewers are treated with incredible sight and sound of natural China, as well as the lifestyle of local people in various parts of the country. It is beautiful. In one scene, a Rickett's big-footed bat was filmed with a high-speed camera catching fish in the dark. The sequence is a work of art. Do not miss out on this gem, nature lovers.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2012
This documentary was absolutely breathtaking! The film quality is very crispy and shows the wild lives in their most natural habitat. The scene where the bat briefly skims the water in a hunt for fish, was been put in slow motion, and the scene emerges as almost an art piece. This is my first time ever writing a review on Amazon, and I feel this video gives me all the reason to share my feelings with everyone. I encourage everyone to watch this magnificent natural documentary!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.