Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars .38 before they sold out
This CD has the classic .38 Special sound before they went top 40. Nothing fancy here---just some good old southern rock 'n roll. "Hold on Loosely" is hands down the best song they have ever recorded.
Published on September 8, 2000 by Zane

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Wild-Eyed Southern Boys was OK
I found that the track Fantasy Girl was my favorite and still is. The rest of the CD was just not of my liking for the most part although I could see that 38 Special diehards would find this CD to be very good.
Published on April 2, 2012 by S. Rippin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars .38 before they sold out, September 8, 2000
By 
Zane (Tempe, AZ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wild-Eyed Southern Boys (Audio CD)
This CD has the classic .38 Special sound before they went top 40. Nothing fancy here---just some good old southern rock 'n roll. "Hold on Loosely" is hands down the best song they have ever recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Mix of Southern and Melodic Rock, November 16, 2003
This review is from: Wild-Eyed Southern Boys (Audio CD)
.38 Special's fourth album in 1981 excellently blends southern rock vibe with melodic hard rock. Jim Peterik known as Survivor's keyboardist and songwriter was instrumental in adding melodic hard rock vibe penning HOLD ON LOOSELY which became their first major hit and FANTASY GIRL second single which became a minor hit. Jim Peterik also co-wrote HITTIN' AND RUNNIN' and WILD EYED SOUTHERN BOYS, the title track. HOLD ON LOOSELY is one of my all time favorite songs among the excellent songs Jim have created so far including Survivor. At the latter part Lynard influenced nice southern rock can be tasted. Essential for early 80s pop rock fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars .38 Special's Second Great One In A Row, September 22, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Wild-Eyed Southern Boys (Audio CD)
WILD-EYED SOUTHERN BOYS was .38 Special's second great album in a row. The first two cuts- "Hold On Loosely" and "First Time Around", as well as "Hittin' And Runnin'"- are downright cautionary in their lyrical content; the title track is pure boogie heaven; and "Fantasy Girl" is simple Southern pop-rock. A few songs are filler, but the great ones make this album worthy of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE for 38 Special fans! Excellent Southern Rock!, June 13, 1998
By 
This review is from: Wild-Eyed Southern Boys (Audio CD)
This music will make you feel like smiling. It brings back a wealth of memories of our high school and early college days, and all the fun and craziness that went with it.
No collection will be complete with out it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cd, July 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wild-Eyed Southern Boys (Audio CD)
This is one of my favorite Cd's of all time. Converted them to mp3's and sent them to my player so I can listen anywhere any time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant melodic Southern Rock, May 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wild-Eyed Southern Boys (Audio CD)
This is a brillant album of melodic southern rock by an awesome band so if you love 80's radio friendly rock then listen to this album one of the best by this brillant band who knew how to have a good time and you will to as you sing along to these classic songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 38 Special at it's peak. This album captured them at there best., January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wild-Eyed Southern Boys (Audio CD)
Wild Eyed Southern Boys. this is one the best albums by 38 special. Contains the hits Hold On Loosely and Wild Eyed Southern Boy. If you are a fan of 38 special you must have this album in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect 38, May 8, 2009
By 
This review is from: Wild-Eyed Southern Boys (Audio CD)
This album was a watershed for me as a 16 year old. The amazing cover art. The fact that I was now cool enough to listen to "southern rock". My favorite radio station, 94 HJY was all over 38. Out of the box on "Hold On Loosely". A monster power chord masterpiece with hooks that have long since dissapeared from the rock scene. 38 Special was at best a southern rock hybrid. Don Barnes has one of those all time great AOR voices. Deep and masculine enough to exude the power and bravado needed to make this a cool band for guys and hot southern rock chics. Jeff Carlisi invents a new way to play basic chords. His method is quick and precise. Check out the pop-rock guitar jam of "Hittin' and Runnin'"- a lost AOR classic with all the guts and glory of "Loosely". This collection still has plenty of street cred with the southern rockers. "Wild Eyed" melds both Don and Donnie in an authentic southern rock anthem. The song epitomizes all of the crossover appeal of a band that was soon to shoot for the top 40. But "Southern Boys" is flawless in it's production. "Fantasy Girl" could have easily been the lead single. Barnes is rubber stamped as THE vocalist. Carlisi becomes the artful hookmaster. Donnie's tunes are all southern raves that have even Skynyrd fans cheering. All and all an amazing work and a time capsule to a much better time for AOR radio. This is where you'll find some of the most exciting moments in rock radio. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't go wrong, June 25, 2014
This review is from: Wild-Eyed Southern Boys (Audio CD)
This was in my radio when it was first released on cassette, and I wore it out. Feel good,party down, rock & roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ah the memories, May 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I downloaded this mp3 when I heard a 38 Special song on the radio. Just as good as I remembered it 30 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wild-Eyed Southern Boys
Wild-Eyed Southern Boys by .38 Special (Audio CD - 1990)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.