Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wildlife of the Galapagos - A must have field guide
If you plan to visit the Galapagos Islands, this is the book to bring with you. This field guide covered all of the major highlights of the Galapagos (animals, plants, geology...) as well as give detail about everything you could possibly find on these islands. The entire book is printed on stury, glossy paper, with bright colorful pictures.

Overall this is a...
Published on October 21, 2005 by Rebecca S. LaBarca

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wildlife of the Galapagos
While on Galapagos, we checked off in this book all the wildlife that we saw daily. We went snorkeling twice and saw many species of fish. Unfortunately, this book does not have a section on fish.
Published on July 29, 2011 by Amy L


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wildlife of the Galapagos - A must have field guide, October 21, 2005
This review is from: Wildlife of the Galápagos (Princeton Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
If you plan to visit the Galapagos Islands, this is the book to bring with you. This field guide covered all of the major highlights of the Galapagos (animals, plants, geology...) as well as give detail about everything you could possibly find on these islands. The entire book is printed on stury, glossy paper, with bright colorful pictures.

Overall this is a must have if you plan to go to the Galapagos. When I went I brought the book with me everywhere. It was small enough to fit in a big side pocket or a small bag. Everything about this book is just logical; the size, the order, and even the type of paper it is printed on. The only other thing you need after getting this book is a mechanical pencil & a geology field notebook (waterproof) - along with a ziplock bag for your field guide & camera (this is for when you go on the pangas).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth purchasing, June 27, 2003
By 
This review is from: Wildlife of the Galápagos (Princeton Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
This book is well organised, well written and beautifully illustrated. Written by people who truly know the Galapagos Islands and all that exists there, including landings and information on what one can expect to see on arrival at any one island. I actually used three other guides whilst in the Galapago this month and only accessed this one at the end of my trip. I have continued to read this book since arriving home and highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Life Changing Experience, May 12, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wildlife of the Galápagos (Princeton Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Anybody planning a trip to the Galapagos Islands needs to have this book in their pocket while on the islands. The photographs of plants and animals alike are as realistic as you will see on the islands and such reality will allow one to easily identify the wealth of species you will encounter. Descriptions of individual species include a listing of which island(s) the plant or animal is typically found. Added features in this book include maps of the islands with trails and listings of what to look for; tips on photography; and guidelines for respecting the national park and being a responsible visitor to the islands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wildlife of the Galapagos, September 14, 2009
By 
Ernest C. Gerke (Bay Area, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wildlife of the Galápagos (Princeton Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
This is an excellent resource! Every plant, animal, and useful piece of information is included. There is even a section in the back for visitors listing flora/fauna on various islands with text and maps. Much thought went into this book. I was very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have Book For The Galapagos, December 9, 2009
Wildlife of Galapagos is the book to buy during you visit to the Galapagos. It outlines the most common flora and fauna. The book also has maps of all of the public trails in The Galapagos along with the wildlife pertaining to the trail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars surpases anything else - even better than guides' guides!, October 3, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was the envy of all of the travelers in my various excursions. Everyone was always borrowing it. The photos are plentiful, organized well, and BIG. It was so easy to just flip to an animal either when seeing it in real life or just talking about with others on the island. The guides were always impressed by it and it made it easier to clarify what creature they were talking about sometimes. It's not just a Spanish vs English thing either, sometimes the animals have multiple names in English and it's easy to just pop this book out and clarify. The book's icon detail for the origin status of each species (native, Galapagos only, invasive, etc) is even more useful once you're there and you are soaking in 100s of animals and trying to understand the big picture of their ecosystem and evoltuion.

I never saw a better guide period. On the Islands, I saw some really detailed, thick expensive guides that would not been useful in the field. There is no waterlife in this book at that's its only drawback. But getting another guide for that is fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only book to take with you, January 30, 2007
By 
Gloria E. Reich (Portland, Oregon USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wildlife of the Galápagos (Princeton Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
This book and a highlighter made it possible to keep track of the many birds and mammals, plants and invertrabrates that we saw during a recent week in the Galapagos. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beagle's wake, January 28, 2008
By 
Mark T. Couch "Seeker" (Smyrna, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wildlife of the Galápagos (Princeton Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
We have always been fascinated by Darwin's adventures in the area and the fauna to be found there. This book is very complete and will give us a good idea of what to expect during our own voyage there this coming Fall, where the book will serve as a reference to guide me in my photographic explorations for my forum. During last year's trip to Italy I made almost 900 photographs. I expect to make at least twice that number this year with the aid and guidance of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, August 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wildlife of the Galápagos (Princeton Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
I took this with me on a recent trip to the Galapagos and was really glad to have it! Great book and was nicely laid out to quickly find animals as I saw them. The maps were especially helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good field guide for Galapagos animals AND plants, August 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A handy, wide-ranging field guide to the vertebrate animals (with the notable exception of fishes) and many invertebrates of the Galapagos. In addition, the book includes descriptions and photos of the flowering plants of the islands and touches on some of the nonflowering plants. This is a great single volume for identifying land life on these spectacular islands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wildlife of the Galápagos (Princeton Pocket Guides)
Wildlife of the Galápagos (Princeton Pocket Guides) by Julian Fitter (Paperback - July 21, 2002)
$19.95 $13.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.