Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Darkly Entertaining
Fifteen short stories (or sketches) from the life of a cynical and mildly embittered introvert. In his childhood he refuses to attend his friend's birthday parties; as a husband and father he refuses a neighbor's gift of a piano for his daughter. Whatever life throws at him, he responds by avoiding, refusing, or complaining. In one sketch he becomes obsessed with a tote...
Published 5 months ago by Louis N. Gruber

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A humorous walk through social disfunction
This is a series of funny short stories by the noted humorist Adam Resnick. I do not know how autobiographical it is but it “feels” very autobiographical. In any case it is a series of stories about how he doesn’t fit in in most social situations. His motto is to decline almost everything. He intends to do only what he wants. He gets into many...
Published 5 months ago by Patricia


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Darkly Entertaining, April 30, 2014
By 
This review is from: Will Not Attend: Lively Stories of Detachment and Isolation (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Fifteen short stories (or sketches) from the life of a cynical and mildly embittered introvert. In his childhood he refuses to attend his friend's birthday parties; as a husband and father he refuses a neighbor's gift of a piano for his daughter. Whatever life throws at him, he responds by avoiding, refusing, or complaining. In one sketch he becomes obsessed with a tote bag from his favorite bookstore. In another he sneaks away from a class field trip to gawk at people with disabilities. He is not a nice person, as he freely admits, and he doesn't get much better as he moves through life.Yet, in spite of all, these little stories are funny. Well, mildly funny. Sad, too.

Author Adam Resnick has a keen wit, and manages to make absurd situations funny by taking them to outrageous extremes.

This is not great literature, but if you're looking for some witty, dark, inventive tales to pass the time, you will enjoy Will Not Attend. Not for anyone who is offended by bad language or "adult" (read, "adolescent") situations. With that reservation I can recommend this book for an afternoon's entertainment and some laughs. Reviewed by Louis N. Gruber.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious-Adam Resnick is a great writer., May 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've never written a review before-but I saw Adam Resnick on the Late Show and LOVED the segment and had to buy the book. David Letterman was laughing so hard (rare!) and he is right, you laugh on every page. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this book. It is written brilliantly, like you are having a really funny conversation with a friend. A really quick, fun read. I got the hard cover book and then downloaded the kindle edition so I could read whenever I have a free moment. Can't wait to read the sequel and see the movie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Hip Hop Thurber?, May 1, 2014
This review is from: Will Not Attend: Lively Stories of Detachment and Isolation (Hardcover)
Adam Resnick wants to withdraw. He hates small talk, meeting people, talking on the phone or hearing his own voice. He admits to being hostile, short tempered, paranoid and nervous. He classifies it a his "basic revulsion for human interaction". He's someone who always sees the darkside of any situation. In short, he is a classic candidate to write humor with a psychotic tinge.

And so Resnick exposes his family, his wife, daughter and a litany of personal memories to an unsuspecting public. The stories are very realistic, very possible, very human. They are funny because of their familiarity and because Resnick structures paragraphs to include curveballs and zingers. He is after all, a comedy writer for the likes of Saturday Night Live, David Letterman and Chris Elliott. It shows.

He is one of six boys in his family. He is a middle child, tremendously put upon by people and events. And this carries through to his own family later. His father is a foul mouthed brute ready for violence at the slightest urging or lack thereof, something he passes on to five of his sons, who always seem to be fighting or otherwise in trouble. In other words, a good old fashioned traditional American family.

Will Not Attend is of course, reminiscent of the grand age of short story telling lead by Stephen Leacock, Robert Benchley and James Thurber, followed by countless others. It's a genre more difficult than it first seems, and Resnick builds it nicely as the book progresses, or ages, perhaps. It is cohesive and straightforward, and Resnick makes it worthwhile to remember the players he introduces, because they reappear in other stories.

It's good reading except for all the four letter words. There isn't a story without them. Lots of them. His father leads the way, hardly able to utter a sentence without them, but his teachers curse (him) just as freely, as does his wife, and even his publisher's lawyer. About the only one who doesn't is his seven year old daughter. She'll learn. It's the hiphop version of James Thurber. The effect of all the swearing is of course, self nullifying. It quickly ceases to have any impact at all, and becomes part of the background noise, to be ignored. Get past it, and Will Not Attend is very entertaining.

David Wineberg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humor and Suspense, May 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Will Not Attend: Lively Stories of Detachment and Isolation (Hardcover)
Being in my 40s I related well with these stories from the days of landlines and county fairs. Besides the humor, the common thread through the book is the page-turning suspense of how each chapter unfolds. On the Blue Yodel No. 13 story I was really rooting for young Resnick to lose his virginity to the chain-smoking teenage runaway girl. And I was dying to know what kind of cereal his dad was eating in chapter 12. But I won’t give anything away here. To find out what kind of cereal it was, you will just have to read the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart and entertaining, Will Not Attend will surely become a classic!, May 8, 2014
By 
Liz N. (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Will Not Attend: Lively Stories of Detachment and Isolation (Hardcover)
Will Not Attend is one of those rare books where you will find yourself quoting lines to your friends. Unlike David Sedaris, where I only chuckled (on the inside), Adam Resnick's stories, made me laugh out loud! From his childhood in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania growing up in a dysfunctional house with five brothers, to his more peaceful but still not perfect life in New York City, Resnick has always marched to the beat of a different drummer. And he does not apologize for it.

If you're a fan of his writing, which I am, you will appreciate his dark, self-deprecating humor. I expected stories about his work in the film and television industry yet he completely avoided this material, and I'm glad he did. No one could make every day neurosis' so enjoyable. Whether talking about his childhood, or something that happened a few years ago, his words perfectly capture every moment.

On how much he hated school: "From the very first bell of first grade, I considered school nothing more than a hard dozen without the possibility of parole."

His opinion of eating fast food: "Only a narcissistic a******* would consider his body a temple."

His take on Disney - "A person doesn't "visit" Disney World; Disney World sucks you into its digestive tract like an anaconda swallowing a wild pig."

Resnick does not hold back. Funny, yet at times very touching, like when he writes about the birth of his daughter. Smart and entertaining, Will Not Attend, will surely become a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Read and so funny!, May 3, 2014
This review is from: Will Not Attend: Lively Stories of Detachment and Isolation (Hardcover)
Resnick's writing makes me laugh out loud. Love his humor and how he turns situations on their ear—totally unexpected and just a riot. I love this book and can't put it down. Talk about your must read! WILL NOT ATTEND is terrific!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, HILARIOUS, LAUGH-OUT-LOUD FUNNY, May 2, 2014
By 
This review is from: Will Not Attend: Lively Stories of Detachment and Isolation (Hardcover)
Simply put, Adam Resnick's Memoir "Will Not Attend" stands with Phillip Roth's "Portnoy's Complaint" and David Sedaris's "Christmas on Ice" as one of the funniest and biting commentaries I have read. If you are a fan of dark and caustic humor tempered with palpable sensitivity and longing for normalcy that act to illuminate what goes undetected by most...then this book is for you.

Mr. Resnick is an immensely talented writer who has the gift of being able to blend the neuroses, vulnerabilities, self-doubt, and fears that are integral components of the human condition with the dysfunction that pervades the imperfect organism called family to create a work that is entertaining, hilarious, sad and touching. The stories set in Manhattan are priceless and Mr. Resnick's characterizations and descriptions of the city and our neighbors capture and convey what we know makes New York City so quirky but cannot otherwise put into words.

I usually do not write reviews however Mr. Resnick's "Will Not Attend" warranted taking the time to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laughed so hard I scared my dogs, May 1, 2014
This review is from: Will Not Attend: Lively Stories of Detachment and Isolation (Hardcover)
There is nothing more difficult than writing a truly funny book, except writing a book with deep poignancy. This is not just a comedy book, it's a rich collection of stories that will take you to magical places - like Disneyland... and Harrisburg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rated "R" for raunchy, rollicking entertainment., April 29, 2014
This review is from: Will Not Attend: Lively Stories of Detachment and Isolation (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I've been a fan of Adam Resnick since I saw two of the off-beat movies he wrote: Cabin Boy and Death to Smoochy. Adam, in his personal life seems to lack the basic etiquette enabling him to play well with others. He describes himself as bitter, self-loathing and harbors fantasies of vengeance. He refuses to be burdened by the obligations that many are too cowardly to avoid. Misanthrope? If not full blown he probably gets Mr. Runner-Up.

This is a book of short vignettes that chronicle his life from boyhood in a family consisting of six boys to adulthood in no particular chronological order:

1. An Easter Story - While attending an Easter Party in second grade Adam finds more than a plastic money-filled egg in the ill- fated hunt.

2. Booker's a Nice Guy - Adam learned to equate laughter with violence on car rides when his father asked "You know what happens to people who laugh too much? They end up crying." One particular car ride left a lasting memory due to a case of mistaken identity.

3. Playground of the Shrew - Adam relents and his family joins his sister-in-law for a memorable (for all the wrong reasons) vacation in Disney World.

4. Scientology Down Under - Amid the controlled chaos of a subway station Adam is hooked up to the infamous E-Meter.

5. The Panther - In 5th grade Adam dabbles in the occult.

6. Substandard Risk - Considering school a "hard dozen without possibility of parole" he graduates with a "GPA lower than a circus dog's". His dad decides he should become an insurance agent.

7. The Agitator Slant - Adam loves fast food until the day his order contains more than he bargained for.

8. The Porter's Screenplay - Adam chats with his apartment house porter while waiting for the elevator.

9. Boy 6 - What is it like growing up in a family with six boys? Adam is amazed when visiting other families to see that they speak to each other in a calm and civilized manner. This is apparently not the norm in the Resnick household.

10. Blue Yodel No. 13 - We follow Adam in his Cutlass while his plans to canoodle with Gina crumble.

11. The Strand Bag - Can you develop a deep relationship with the bag you use to ferry paperwork and fruit from your apartment to your office?

12. The Lion in Winter - Adam's vision of hell is probably much like the phone conversations he has with his father.

13. A Fork in the Midway - 10th grade History teacher Mr. Mueller, a known booze-hound, wife-beater and antique tractor buff takes his class to the York Fair to see a threshing machine demonstration. Adam is intent to go MIA and see the freak show.

14. Boy Refuses to Hold a Frozen Turkey - At age seven Adam is picked by a local news photographer to hold a turkey for a Thanksgiving Supermarket promotion.

15. The Sensodyne Lady - Adam's daughter wants to take piano lessons.

I enjoyed every story in this book and rate it "R" for raunchy, rollicking entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book Makes Me Happy Again!, June 27, 2014
This review is from: Will Not Attend: Lively Stories of Detachment and Isolation (Hardcover)
I just finished reading this book on recommendation from a friend, and I am left with a sense of complete joy! I decided to review this book after reading all the other reviews. Most of the people who felt the need to give 1-2 stars must not understand what it means to grow up in an environment where your siblings are the ones tying you to a tree in the front yard and pulling down your pants so all the passing cars can see your genitals. Profanity is not a crutch for the author, but gives a realistic point of view on what he experienced, and adds to the overall enjoyment of this easy read. I felt it was very easy to relate to many of the stories, and it had me laughing out loud on public transportation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Will Not Attend: Lively Stories of Detachment and Isolation
Will Not Attend: Lively Stories of Detachment and Isolation by Adam Resnick (Hardcover - May 1, 2014)
$25.95 $17.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.