Customer Reviews


414 Reviews
5 star:
 (343)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than season one!
I've just finished watching the first side of disk one(there are three two sided disks just as in season one.) which contains the first six episodes of season two plus creator Sherwood Schwartz commentating on the episode "The Little Dictator". The color is fantastic as is the sound. The picture is so clear that you'd swear you were watching the shows in their original...
Published on January 12, 2005 by C. Allen Lennon

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Laurel and Hardy on Gilligan's Island
This is Season Two of the innocuous and utterly harmless family comedy Gilligan's Island,for the /65-/66 TV lineup.As I watch I can't help but compare the great comedy team of Laurel and Hardy to Gilligan and the Skipper.As The Boys last feature had them stranded on a desert island with others in the Pacific,so too we have the Skipper,Gilligan and the rest stranded on an...
Published on April 28, 2010 by Robert Badgley


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than season one!, January 12, 2005
By 
C. Allen Lennon "Conan Craven" (Plymouth, Ma. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gilligan's Island: Season 2 (DVD)
I've just finished watching the first side of disk one(there are three two sided disks just as in season one.) which contains the first six episodes of season two plus creator Sherwood Schwartz commentating on the episode "The Little Dictator". The color is fantastic as is the sound. The picture is so clear that you'd swear you were watching the shows in their original run. Much clearer and much more colorful than the syndicated television versions, and best of all, UNEDITED! syndication chops off probably 5 to 8 minutes of each episode. Unfortuneatley, there isn't much for bonus features, but just having each episode unedited in great color and clarity is more than enough, with a great price to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Sit Right Back And You'll Hear A Tale, October 31, 2005
By 
Michael King "Mike" (Taunton, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gilligan's Island: Season 2 (DVD)
The first thing that struck me while watching "Gilligan's Island" on DVD was the sharpness of the images and the vibrancy of the colors. After a hit and miss first season, the castaways really came into their own in the second season. For an uncharted, deserted island, they had an amazing number of visitors. The island was visited by four native tribesmen, an exiled dictator, two Russian cosmonauts, a sixties rock group called the Mosquitoes, female tycoon Erika Tiffany Smith, a robot, a lion, a Mr. Howell impostor, a secret agent dressed up as a ghost, and a mad scientist. The episode with the mad scientist is my favorite.

Dr. Boris Balinkoff (Vito Scotti) takes the castaways to his island castle where, with the help of Igor (Mike Mazurki), they perform experiments on them. The Doctor takes the brain of one person and puts it into the body of another person. He makes a mistake by putting Ginger's brain into Igor's body, because Igor breaks the chains holding the castaways. The professor manages to restore the brains to their rightful owners, trap the Doctor and Igor, and help the others make their way back to their island. Unfortunately, the boat sinks before the castaways can sail off the island again. Dr. Boris Balinkoff returns to the island in the third season episode "Ring Around Gilligan."

During the second season, Gilligan and the castaways manage to survive a grenade-wielding gorilla, volcanic activity, rising waters that threaten to sink the island, nearly getting trapped in a cave during a monsoon, a World War II mine that becomes activated, being bitten by deadly bugs, getting sick due to a lack of Vitamin C, and a crashed meteor that greatly speeds up the aging process. Even in the episode where everybody is allergic to Gilligan, the castaways manage to work together as a group. To survive cabin fever during the Winter, I suggest you watch the tropical treats that take place on "Gilligan's Island."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, February 1, 2005
This review is from: Gilligan's Island: Season 2 (DVD)
The episode where Gilligan dreams that he is Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde actually would be number 81 "And Then There Were None". Such it will be featured on the upcoming DVD set featuring the complete third season. There is nothing missing here at all. The 32 original episodes from the show's second year are there in all their technicolorical glory!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars will they ever get of the island? i hope not for all of our sakes, March 27, 2006
This review is from: Gilligan's Island: Season 2 (DVD)
as i have said i'm a father of two boys and the wife and i use dvds of old shows we like to keep tabs on what they see,and they love gilligan.

this is the first season to be shot in color, and after bob denver demanded that it be done(he really was a nice guy) we get "the professor and mary ann" added to the theme song.as a family we have movie and popcorn night on friday and the boys get to pick what we watch and they love gilligan. no bad words or over the top talk of sex and that is also one more reason this show is in our collection.

so "just sit right back, and you'll hear a tale" that the whole family can laugh with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LITTLE BUDDY.........IT'S SEASON TWO,, December 16, 2006
This review is from: Gilligan's Island: Season 2 (DVD)
Season Two of "Gilligan's Island" sees a dramatic change as the show switches from Black & White to color. The three hour tour continues with all 32 hilarious second season episodes and includes a few bonus features as well. The bonus features include a season introduction by the professor and the shows creator Sherwood Schwartz. There is also a commentary on episode #3 "The Little Dictator" by Schwartz. So once again no cast interviews or bloopers or featurettes of any kind from the shows memorable stars. The video transfer is great and the sound is clean and crisp and comes across nicely on my sound system. The colors are sharp and remain vibrant. Once again the Studio somehow crammed the entire season onto 3 double sided discs and the picture is still great. These episodes never looked this good when I watched the show on television and it's a real treat to own season two on DVD. A show for the whole family without sex, violence and swearing; how can it possibly be entertaining? Just sit right back and you'll hear a tale..........just enjoy it!

Disc # 1, Side A
1: Gilligan's Mother-in-Law
2: Beauty Is as Beauty Does
3: The Little Dictator
4: Smile, You're on Mars Camera
5: The Sweepstakes
6: Quick Before It Sinks
*Special Features
- Gilligan's Island: Season 2 Introduction
- The Little Dictator Commentary by Creator/Producer Sherwood Schwartz

Disc # 1, Side B
7: Castaways Pictures Presents
8: Agonized Labor
9: Nyet, Nyet - Not Yet
10: Hi-Fi Gilligan
11: The Chain of Command
12: Don't Bug the Mosquitoes

Disc # 2, Side A
13: Gilligan Gets Bugged
14: Mine Hero
15: Erika Tiffany Smith to the Rescue
16: Not Guilty
17: You've Been Disconnected
18: The Postman Cometh

Disc # 2, Side B
19: Seer Gilligan
20: Love Me, Love My Skipper
21: Gilligan's Living Doll
22: Forward March
23: Ship Ahoax
24: Feed the Kitty

Disc # 3, Side A
25: Operation - Steam Heat
26: Will the Real Mr. Howell Please Stand Up?
27: Ghost a Go-Go
28: Allergy Time
29: The Friendly Physician
30: "V" for Vitamins

Disc # 3, Side B
31: Mr. and Mrs.???
32: Meet the Meteor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Honey Bees Make a Comeback, October 3, 2005
This review is from: Gilligan's Island: Season 2 (DVD)
Like everybody else, I grew up watching Gilligan's Island reruns after school in the 1970's. I knew these episodes so well I didn't realize until buying this set I hadn't seen but maybe a handful of episodes in the last 25 years. This show gets trashed by the critics but kids have always loved it and now that I am well into adulthood, I can see what some of the critics were talking about; some of the jokes are lame and several actors play very broadly at times and it does come off as a kid's show. What's wrong with that? This is a good cast of actors and most especially actresses. To me, the women have ALWAYS made this show, incredibly gorgeous and sexy Tina Louise, sweet and beautiful Dawn Wells, and delicious and quite glamorous character actress Natalie Schafer. The ladies are all really good comediennes and their parts are well written. And THIS set includes the famous Honey Bees episode in which I three island girls become rock n'roll divas, one of the great episodes in the series.

GILLIGAN hit it's stride in season two with color and a more decided sense of fun in the episodes, plus the full cast got to enact in shaningans and be more whimsical, in the first season Gilligan and Mr. Howell were the main comedians and everybody else pretty much played it straight.

The prints are great and it is truly wonderful to see COMPLETE UNCUT episodes. The little end three-minute comic wrap-up bit was almost always cut from the reruns and I think I'm seeing all of these bits for the first time! I would have a liked a few more EXTRAS on this set though, all we get is commentary from Sherwood Schwartz and Russell Johnson on two episodes; it would have been great if they would have included appearances by the cast on other programs or talk shows from the era. A nice little 10-minute or so biography/career retrospective on the seven cast members would have been really cool and could have been divided among the three season sets, for example. Still, the boxed set is quite nice and the great prints to the show will please any fan of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gilligan's Island the Complete Second Season, July 15, 2010
By 
Auburn Niewiadomski (Anacortes, Washington) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gilligan's Island: Season 2 (DVD)
Gilligan's Island was originally aired in black and white but in season two was changed to glorious color. Fortunately season one's DVD set has the episodes in their original black and white state, but I'm glad we can finally see the color of the island, and the clothes. Each episode has been wonderfully re-mastered and the episodes are not edited. Season two stayed pretty similar to season one, there goal is to get off the island and still is. In all, there are thirty two episodes of classic entertainment and yet again some decent interesting bonus features. To start with, there's a nice introduction with Russell Johnson and series creator Sherwood Schwartz. And episode three "the Little Dictator" includes a commentary with Sherwood Schwartz. The packaging for season two is very well done, nice color photographs of the characters and an episode guide. But alas, the discs are double sided so yet again they're very easily scratched.

One of my favorite episodes from season two is "Feed the Kitty." That one is when the lion washes ashore and Gilligan befriends the lion. Oh yes, another great one is "Agonized Labor" that one's about when the Howell's find out their businesses have collapsed so they try to learn how to live a workaday life. But really, it's hard to have a favorite episode there all so great so it's kind of difficult to choose. Well that's enough about my favorites, you decide for yourself. Below I'll list season two's episode descriptions.

Gilligan's Mother-in-Law - Airdate: 9/16/1965 - A native family arrives on the island looking for a husband for their ample daughter.

Beauty is as Beauty Does - Airdate: 9/23/1965 - After each of the other men nominates a different girl as the fairest on the island, Gilligan suggests a beauty contest to decide Miss Castaway. With the other three men each backing a different girl, Gilligan finds himself in the uncomfortable position of judge.

The Little Dictator - Airdate: 9/30/1965 - A deposed despot is dumped on the island and he turns it into his new realm.

Smile, You're on Mars Camera - Airdate: 10/7/1965 - When a Mars Lander accidentally crashes on the island instead of landing on Mars, the castaways are mistaken for life on Mars.

The Sweepstakes - Airdate: 10/14/1965 - Gilligan wins the lottery and then loses the ticket.

Quick Before it Sinks - Airdate: 10/28/1965 - The Professor believes that the island is sinking.

Castaways Pictures Presents - 11/4/1965 - Gilligan discovers a sunken ship in the lagoon. The ship is only half there, but the cargo is intact. Two crates of movie production equipment and costumes. Exit South Seas Film Productions and enter Castaways Pictures. The group uses the equipment to make a movie about themselves and their predicament in hopes that it will spark a rescue.

Agonized Labor - Airdate: 11/11/1965 - The Howells are broke, or so the radio says. The rest of the group tries to train them for other lines of work for after they are rescued.

Nyet, Nyet Not Yet - Airdate: 11/18/1965 - Two Russian Cosmonauts land on the island and the castaways hope it will lead to a rescue.

Hi-Fi Gilligan - Airdate: 11/18/1965 - Gilligan's mouth becomes a radio when a filling in a tooth is knocked loose.

The Chain of Command - Airdate: 12/2/1965 - The Skipper wants to train Gilligan to take charge should anything happen to him. Gilligan's mettle is tested when the Skipper disappears, apparently kidnapped by natives.

Don't Bug the Mosquitoes - Airdate: 12/9/1965 - The music sensation "The Mosquitoes" land on the island for much needed peace and quiet, unfortunately, they have the wrong island.

Gilligan Get's Bugged - Airdate: 12/16/1965 - Gilligan has been bitten by the dreaded, and deadly, Mantis Khani. Now he only has 24 hours to live.

Mine Hero - Airdate: 12/23/1965 - Gilligan catches a WWII mine while fishing. Now they must get rid of it before it destroys them all.

Erika Tiffany Smith to the Rescue - Airdate: 12/30/1965 - Socialite Erika Tiffany Smith arrives on the island, looking for a place to build a resort. But instead she falls in love with the Professor.

Not Guilty - Airdate: 1/6/1966 - Who killed Randolph Blake? According to a newspaper that washed ashore, one of the castaways did it the night before the fateful 3-hour tour. So they recreate the crime in order to find out who among them is the murderer.

You've Been Disconnected - Airdate: 1/13/1966 - A storm washes an international underwater telephone cable onto the shore of the lagoon. So naturally they try to call for help.

The Postman Cometh - Airdate: 1/20/1966 - When Mary Ann overhears the others talking about how to break the bad news to her (about her fiancé's new girlfriend), she mistakenly believes the news is that she has eaten poison mushrooms.

Seer Gilligan - Airdate: 1/27/1966 - Gilligan has found a bush that provides seeds that enable anyone who eats the seeds to read people's minds.

Love Me, Love My Skipper - Airdate: 2/3/1966 - The Howells are planning a cotillion, but Mr. Howell accidentally loses the Skipper's invitation.

Gilligan's Living Doll - Airdate: 2/10/1966 - A robot lands on the island and the castaways must figure out how to use him to get rescued.

Forward March - Airdate: 2/17/1966 - Someone is shelling the castaways with hand grenades. It turns out that a gorilla has found a stash of WWII weapons in a cave.

Ship Ahoax - Airdate: 2/24/1966 - When "Island Madness" threatens to destroy harmony on the island, Ginger uses a crystal ball to give everyone something to hope for.

Feed the kitty - Airdate: 3/3/1966 - A cage carrying a lion washes off a ship and onto the island.

Operation: Steam Heat - Airdate: 3/10/1966 - Gilligan finds a thermal vent and soon everyone has piping hot water. But the Professor isn't so excited.

Will the Real Mr. Howell Please Stand Up? - Airdate: 3/17/1966 - Mr. Howell has a double back home spending his money. When the gent goes on a cruise, guess where he lands?

Ghost a Go-Go - Airdate: 3/24/1966 - A ghost is terrorizing the castaways, so the castaways decide to terrorize the ghost.

Allergy Time - Airdate: 3/31/1966 - First the Skipper, then the rest of the castaways develop an allergy to Gilligan.

The Friendly Physician - Airdate: 4/7/1966 - Mad scientist Dr. Boris Balinkoff "rescues" the castaways. But in reality he kidnaps them to his own nearby island for mind transfer experiments.

"V" for Vitamins - Airdate: 4/14/1966 - Gilligan must guard the last precious orange when the Professor determines that the castaways are in need of vitamins.

Mr. and Mrs. ??? - 4/21/1966 - The radio announces that the minister who married the Howells was a phony, so they aren't really married.

Meet the Meteor - Airdate: 4/28/1966 - A meteor crashes into the island making everything near it age very rapidly, including people.

Now, many might say who needs to buy the show on DVD it's on television all the time. But none of the episodes are re-mastered as well as they are on this DVD and the extras (while yet not too impressive) are another reason I'd recommend this terrific show on a very well made DVD, so go get this one for the family and have a blast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Video/Sound Quality - Only One Gripe., January 16, 2005
By 
Michael (Sherman, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gilligan's Island: Season 2 (DVD)
The video quality of this set is outstanding. If you are Gilligan fan and have only seen the show on TV and on video tape, you are in for a treat. I am very glad they came out with this second season (in color) release.

My only complaint is this: The Disks are not labeled in any way that lets you know which you are about to insert. There are 3 disks and each is double sided. It is left for you to guess which disk you are holding. The first release (season one) had labels on the disk middles that advised which disk of the three you were picking up.

Other then this, it is very good and Gilligan is one of my families favorite series of all time. Thanks for offering it to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars where is it, January 11, 2005
By 
This review is from: Gilligan's Island: Season 2 (DVD)
The "Up at Bat" Episode is the 1st episode from Season 3. It aired September 12, 1966. So it will be on the Season 3 DVD set when its released.

As to the season 2 set, its great and the sound and video quality are top notch! If your a fan of this show, what are you waiting for go buy it!! The price is also very reasonable at $27.99..yes there are double sided DVDs, but thats what keeps the price down and I like that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gilligan's Island, September 25, 2005
By 
Fiona T "Fiona T" (Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gilligan's Island: Season 2 (DVD)
I always enjoyed Gilligan's Island as a child. Now I can bring that enjoyment to my own children. With all the rubbish on Australian television that is on at unsuitable times e.g. 7.30pm. Gilligan's Island is very funny with clean humour, something of a rarity these days. Australian television stations do not have any morals and do not cater to childrens' needs. I highly recommend Gilligan's Island for the very young to the very old. F.T. Victoria Australia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.