Customer Reviews


745 Reviews
5 star:
 (558)
4 star:
 (107)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you think you'll like "Willow"? I'm sure you will!
What do you get when you have George Lucas AND Ron Howard, both famous for their work in the movie-making industry, producing and directing this movie? You've got it, a fantastic, rollicking fantasy-adventure!
The evil Queen Bavmorda (Jean Marsh) has for years been searching for the baby who, according to an ancient prophecy, will end her reign of terror. Taking all...
Published on December 28, 2001 by Priscilla Stafford

versus
33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Essential part of any Fantasy Collection
Many claim 'Willow' bears uncanny resemblances to Lord of the Rings and Star Wars (Madmartigan is Han Solo with a sword instead of a gun, and the short, pastorial, innocent Nelwyns are highly reminisent of the Shire-dwelling Hobbits). Though this is true, both Star Wars and Lord of the Rings are good books/movies - thus reason dictates that 'Willow' is too! People of all...
Published on August 20, 2002 by R. M. Fisher


‹ Previous | 1 275 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

113 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you think you'll like "Willow"? I'm sure you will!, December 28, 2001
By 
This review is from: Willow (Special Edition) (DVD)
What do you get when you have George Lucas AND Ron Howard, both famous for their work in the movie-making industry, producing and directing this movie? You've got it, a fantastic, rollicking fantasy-adventure!
The evil Queen Bavmorda (Jean Marsh) has for years been searching for the baby who, according to an ancient prophecy, will end her reign of terror. Taking all the pregnant women, she searches each and every baby when one day, the sacred girl is born. But before Bavmorda could kill her, a faithful midwife takes the child away from the castle. When she realizes she is being pursued, she lets the baby drift away on a river. The abandoned girl is found by a Nelwyn named Willow Ufgood (Warwick Davis). But Willow quickly finds out that the baby is being tracked down Bavmorda's armies, including her daughter Sorsha (Joanne Whalley) and General Kael (Pat Roach). Willow sets out to the crossroads to give the baby back to the Daikini, or the big humans. He finds out though through the magical Cherlindrea (Maria Holvoe) about the baby, Elora Danan (played by both Ruth and Kate Greenfield) and the prophecy about her. Willow, with the companionship of swordsman and warrior Madmartigan (Val Kilmer) and Brownies Rool and Franjean (Kevin Pollak & Rick Overton), they go to seek help from sorceress Fin Raziel (Patricia Hayes).
A totally charming movie, "Willow" will be one of my favorite movies to watch for a long time. Though people must be warned that though it is rated PG, it's more like PG-13 in some areas and I strongly suggest that adults watch before their children do.
Everything is wonderful about the movie, from the directing, the acting by the whole cast, an enchanting plot, pretty good special effects, and plenty of humor and action. There's humor that is witty, sarcastic, and laugh-out-loud funny. Val Kilmer as Madmartigan and the two Brownies gets plenty of great lines. Yet at the same time the movie is pretty serious with all of the battles against good and evil, and Val Kilmer is a great swash-buckling swordfighter and handles the sword pretty well.
And this DVD isn't called "Special Edition" for no reason. Though it may not have as many special features as many recent movie special editions, "Willow" will satisfy you. 1) Commentary by Warwick Davis, 2) Willow: Making of an Adventure Featurette, 3) Featurette: Morf to Morphing, 4) Behind-the-Scenes Still Gallery, 5) Theatrical Teasers and Trailers, 6) 8 TV Spots, and a few more. One thing you must watch is the 'Making of an Adventure Featurette'. Looking at an older Ron Howard with his mustache certainly was a little shock to me after seeing him play Opie on the "Andy Griffith Show" and acting in "Happy Days". One part that was fun about it is when they were talking about the love scenes in the movie. Val Kilmer admits that whenever he had to kiss Joanne Whalley, afterwards he always forgot his lines and no matter how many times they had to do it, he never got it right. They were married after making the movie but unfortunately, they were divorced later on.
So if you are thinking about getting "Willow", I strongly recommend that you watch it! Enjoyable for the whole family, if your children are old enough to handle some parts of the film. And if you have a chance to check out the quotes and trivia page on Amazon, I suggest you do because you can find out all sorts of things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Willow, January 1, 2000
This review is from: Willow [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A great story about a Nelwyn named Willow (Warwick Davis) who finds a baby in the river. It turns out that this baby, named Elora Dannan, is part of a profecy that was said to destroy the evil Queen Bavmorda when the child grew older. Willow sets out on an adventure with a warrior named Madmartigan (Val Kilmer) to save the baby from being killed by the queen. Fairies, trolls, dragons and sorcerers magic bring this story to life by the talents of Industrial Light and Magic. My favorite scene is when all these fairies are flying around in the woods and the head fairy Shalindria gives Willow her wand and tells him to protect the baby and how important his quest is to the whole kingdom. The brownies are very funny too. One of them is played by Kevin Pollack. I highly recommend this movie for people that really like fantasy and adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Essential part of any Fantasy Collection, August 20, 2002
By 
R. M. Fisher "Ravenya" (New Zealand = Middle Earth!) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Willow (Special Edition) (DVD)
Many claim 'Willow' bears uncanny resemblances to Lord of the Rings and Star Wars (Madmartigan is Han Solo with a sword instead of a gun, and the short, pastorial, innocent Nelwyns are highly reminisent of the Shire-dwelling Hobbits). Though this is true, both Star Wars and Lord of the Rings are good books/movies - thus reason dictates that 'Willow' is too! People of all ages should enjoy this movie, centred on the universal theme that just one person can make a difference, and filled with adventure, romance, comedy, danger and intrigue.
The story is centred around a baby rather than a Ring, and the infant is not to be destroyed, but saved at all costs. The reason is that this child - Elora Danan - is prophesied to bring about the downfall of the tyrannical Queen Bavmorda (played to great effect by Jean Marsh). Through a series of fortunate events, Elora escapes the clutches of the Queen and comes to the Nelwyn village, a small community of tiny woodland folk, and the guardianship of the sorcerer wannabe - Willow Ufgood (played by Warwick Davis in perhaps the best role of his career - for once he's not hidden behind a mask or facial prosthetics!) Because the presence of the baby puts the community at risk, Willow is chosen to take the baby far away, into the care of the Dakini (or human) race. On the way, Willow has (inevitably) many amazing adventures with a series of diverse characters, learning not only of Elora's true destiny, but that even someone as small as he can have an impact on the world.
The story, on the whole, hangs together well, although there is some back-and-forth travelling between the characters, and some logic flaws (ie. there's no way even a magical baby could survive even half the things that Elora does, and Sorsha is accepted without question into the ranks of the 'good guys').
The movie makes up for these faults by presenting a wide range of interesting and well-portrayed characters that fit perfectly into the fanasty genre - no one should be disappointed by the variety, whether it be from the shape-changing enchantress Fin Raziel (Patricia Hayes), to the skeleton-masked Kael (Pat Roach), the etheral faerie Cherlindrea (Maria Holvoe) to the comic relief - the brownies Rool (Kevin Pollack) and Franjean (Rick Overton). Likewise, the scenery and sets are beautiful (Lord of the Rings wasn't the first to discover New Zealand!) and most of the special effects hold up reasonably well against today's technology. Furthermore, the musical score is lovely - both poignant and heroic, and the costumes are colourful but realistic.
Although the love/hate romance between the stars of the movie (Val Kilmer as Madmortigan and Joanne Whalley as Bavmorda's daughter Sorsha) is a nice twist on the typical fairytale treatment, it could of been handled better, especially since the two actors fell in love on set (although they did later divorce...). Oh well, this is only a minor gripe, and by no means ruins the story.
The major dampener is nothing to do with the movie, but with the DVD, as it does not include the vast majority of deleted scenes that were filmed but never shown. If you're interested, they include: scenes that deepen the friendship between Willow and Meegosh, and gives a legitimate reason as to why Meegosh would leave his friend (he breaks his arm when falling down the brownie pit); a run-in with a sea-monster when Willow rows out to Raziel's island; important background information on Sorsha, explaining that her father was the ruler of Tir Asleen and once in love with Raziel until Bavmorda placed him under a love spell before turning him to stone along with the rest of his kingdom; a large battle sequence between Airk and Kael's troops; banter between Kael and a captured Madmortigan; Sorsha calling Willow into her tent to tend for Elora where they discuss Madmortigan; Airk questioning Sorsha's sudden change from evil to good; and Sorsha actually *using* the quiver of arrows she carries around on her back for the entire movie.
These deleted scenes could have made up a substantial part of the DVD and heightened it's collectibility considerably. Perhaps before buying this DVD we should wait a bit longer and see if they are released on another edition in the future.
If you like the Willow movie and are interested in 'what happens next' - try tracking down the trilogy of books that are set after the events in 'Willow' - Shadow Moon, Shadow Dawn and Shadow Star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You're crawling with Brownies!", April 11, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Willow (Special Edition) (DVD)
Contrary to popular belief, there were fantasy films made before The Lord of the Rings series, and some of them are excellent, as is the case with Willow (1988), which I not only had the pleasure of seeing in the theatres when it was originally released, but also watching it last night as I now own the DVD. I suppose comparisons of this film with others could be made, especially since nearly all epic fantasy adventure films involve a quest of sorts, but I'll just be talking about this film, and why it's worth anyone's interest to see it if they haven't already. By the way, I read George Lucas, who not only produced but also had a hand in writing this movie, had two sequels planned, but after the box office totals barely covered the cost to make the film, said sequels got nixed, only seeing the light of day in novel form (it's not that the film did poorly, but the production costs incredibly high as the technology to create the effects was cutting edge at the time, and the production itself was huge, including a cast of literally hundreds). Directed by Ron `Lil Opie Cunningham' Howard, the film stars Warwick Davis, who would later go on to appear in a number of Leprechaun films as the title character. Also appearing is Val Kilmer (Real Genius, Top Gun), Joanne Whalley (Scandal, Navy SEALS) -incidentally, Kilmer and Whalley got married after meeting on this film...it didn't last---, Jean Marsh (Jane Eyre, Frenzy), Billy Barty (Under the Rainbow), Pat Roach (Raiders of the Lost Ark), Gavan O'Herlihy (Never Say Never Again), Rick Overton (Groundhog Day), and Kevin Pollak (Grumpy Old Men, The Usual Suspects).

As the story begins, we learn that the evil Queen Bavmorda's (Marsh) reign of terror is strong, and virtually unopposed, due to a mixture of her own magical prowess and the ferocious strength of her Nockmaar army, lead by the skull-masked General Kael (Roach). But there's a fly in the ointment...prophecy says a baby will be born (one with a mark), and that baby will bring forth the destruction of not only Queen Bavmorda, but the evil she's spread across the lands. This causes Bavmorda to send her minions, including her daughter Sorsha (Whalley), to scour the lands, as the Queen must retrieve the newborn for some sort of ritual. The baby is born, but spirited away by a sympathetic midwife, only to end up in the hands of a Nelwyn (people diminutive in size) named Willow (Warwick). It's decided that Willow should take the baby forth and relinquish her to the first Daikini (`normal' sized people) he meets, which happens to be a roguish sort named Madmartigan (Kilmer). Various events take place and eventually Willow ends up with another quest, one involving delivering the babe to a faraway kingdom, assisted by motley crew including Madmartigan, a couple of Brownies (itty bitty people), and a sorceress, all while being pursued by Bavmorda's deadly forces. Will Willow find the strength and courage to protect the child and deliver her to safety? Or will Bavmorda and her forces succeed, solidifying her stranglehold on the lands, plunging them forever into the darkness?

One thing people should know that when Willow came out in the late 80's, it was ahead of its time in terms of special effects, being the first feature to utilize the effect of `morphing', or the visual transformation of a character into something else (the technology was also highlighted in Michael Jackson's early 90's video Black or White). But this isn't to say the film relied on special effects to prop up film as they're incorporated to support the fairly detailed and well-developed story. There were a couple of things that have always felt a little odd to me, like the battle scene at Tir Asleen featuring sometimes cartoonish looking trolls, or that whole `sledding' sequence followed by Madmartigan rolling down the hill in a giant snowball (I've only really ever seen this done believably within cartoons), but the strengths of the film far outweigh these minor elements. Director Howard does a really great job balancing out the action, presenting an engaging and epic adventure throughout. I thought the overall casting to be very well done, and many of the performances perfectly suited for the characters. I especially liked Marsh's performance as Queen Bavmorda, as she reminded me of those evil witch-type characters from the classic Disney cartoons, not only in her dress, but also her demeanor. There was a sense of her character being over the top at times, but it didn't detract from the film at all, given the fantasy nature of the story. I also appreciated the comical elements of the Brownies Franjean and Rool, played respectively by Overton and Pollock...some have criticized this aspect, but I thought their goofiness was well placed. Also, I was amazed how the filmmakers were able to get the baby (whose name we later learn as Elora Danan), played by twins Ruth and Kate Greenfield, to express and react as appropriately as they, the twins, did, given the various situations in the story. I suppose it's easy enough to make a baby cry, but it went far beyond that, as the character seemed aware of much more than we would have given a child of that age credit for...one thing I thought was done well was the romantical element that eventually developed between two of the main characters...it's pretty rare to have a story like this and not have something along those lines, but here it was blended in nicely rather than thrust upon the audience as the fulfillment of a requirement. The film is filled with vast, vibrant, beautiful location shots and wonderfully developed sets, and features an amazing musical score by composer James Horner.

The anamorphic widescreen (2.35:1) picture on this DVD is sharp and clear, and the Dolby Digital 5.1, Dolby Digital 2.0 Surround is as good as I've ever heard. There are a few special features including featurettes titled Willow: The Making of an Adventure, and From Morf to Morphing: The Dawn of Digital Filmmaking, along with some TV spots and trailers, a photo gallery, a THX Optimizer, and a commentary track with Warwick Davis. The film may not be suitable for very young viewers, as there's a good deal of scariness, especially during the battle of Tir Asleen featuring a two-headed beastie I've heard was named Eborsisk after film critics Roger Ebert and Gene Siskel.

Cookieman108
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stop torturing us Lucas! We want our DVDs., September 12, 2000
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Willow (Special Edition) (DVD)
WILLOW is a terrific movie, one of my favorites of all time. Val Kilmer, who can often seem a little too "weird" or simply annoyed to be there in some of his other roles, is the perfect reluctant hero. Joanne Whaley (Kilmer) is the best female fantasy character ever filmed. She's neither too vulnerable nor too testosteroned. The only other "princess" that can even hold a candle to her is Buttercup from THE PRINCESS BRIDE, but as much as I love TPB, I feel that Sorsha is a cooler heroine. Warwick Davis puts in an excellent central performance and is the heart of the film. The special effects were terrific, the story is simple yet rich, so that the film stands up to repeated viewings. Simply put, this was the last great fantasy film, and certainly one of the best of all time.
Now if only they would release it on DVD. My VHS copy long ago went the way of the socks in the dryer (i.e. lost between moves). I know Lucas invested $$ in Laserdisc, but it's time for him to give it up and release STAR WARS, RAIDERS, and WILLOW on DVD. Pretty please George?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


141 of 171 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure, nonsensical satisfaction!, October 10, 2001
By 
D. Litton (Wilmington, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Willow (Special Edition) (DVD)
"Willow" is a mixed bag of different movie venues and audience reactions, ranging from originality to predictability, from exciting to downright weird. It lacks the ingenuity and spirit of such child-oriented movies as "The Neverending Story" and "The Goonies," but for the most part, it pays off, and you may be surprised to find yourself enjoying different sections of the film.
The beginning is wonderful, a highly suspenseful opening in which an evil queen brings all pregnant mothers in her kingdom before her in hopes of locating and destroying the one chosen to bring her reign of terror to an end. A midwife smuggles the child out of the castle, and before she is set upon by wildebeests, she sends the child floating down the river, where it comes to the attention of the Nelywn community.
In the world of "Willow," there are two sets of people: the Nelwyns, a community of short, midget people, and the Daikinis, regular-sized humans. The baby is a Daikini, and so Willow Ufgood (Warwick Davis) is called upon to return the baby to its original habitat. Setting out on the dangerous journey, he soon meets adventurous Madmartigan (Val Kilmer), and the two pair up to take the baby to its destination, which changes almost every minute as they encounter such beings as a forest fairy, and a sorceress who comes in the form of a rat, a bird, a goat, etc.
The movie isn't really interested in setting a straight course for itself. The constant changing of setting, pace, and destination are all a reminder that a movie such as this is more of a device for action and humor rather than logical plot. Because this movie is aimed at children, and has a childlike quality of its own, it gets away with such a tactic.
Having said that, the film is exceptionally entertaining. It's full of humor and yes, even a little bit of suspense, likeable characters, who are sometimes so goofy and cumbersome that you'll laugh until you cry, and a story that is the stuff dreams are made of. Kilmer's character is a throwback of sorts to the swashbuckling heroes of yesteryear, while Davis is a hero as well, and the one we all come out rooting for.
The action sequences are mindless good fun, ranging from a high-speed horse chase to some showdowns at various castles throughout the land. These scenes all give Lucas and director Ron Howard a chance to showcase some of the finer set pieces in a children's movie, from knights in armor and beautiful yet foreboding vistas, to dark, gothic castles and otherworldly creatures conjured out of magical powers.
Watching the movie as an adult proves to be far different than from seeing it in my childhood. As a child, I remembered the excitement of such scenes, and looking back on them, I find that it is unfair to dismiss the movie on its logic. I do find that some scenes are somewhat disturbing for younger children, at whom the movie is aimed, such as the sequence in which a two-headed dragon rises out of a river; they seem a bit too daring for a children's movie.
The fantasy land created in "Willow" lives up to the expectations of the genre, and even goes a bit further. The story is a bit befuddled, but paying attention to its flaws takes away from the fun and excitement it has in spinning its tale. The special effects are dazzling without being jaw-dropping, and the action is intense without being gratuitous. As a children's movie, "Willow" is pure, nonsensical satisfaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sword and Sorcery Epic, December 2, 2001
By 
Joe J Barclay (Chula Vista, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Willow (Special Edition) (DVD)
An ancient prophecy tells of a sacred child that will bring an end to the reign of the evil Queen Bavmorda(Jean Marsh). The sacred child is smuggled out of the castle and finds her way to Willow Ufgood(Warwick Davis). He leaves his village on a quest to return the baby but he becomes trapped in the middle of a battle beween good and evil. With the help of Madmartigan (Val Kilmer) Willow must protect the baby from the queen and her daughter Sorsha (Joanne Whalley) and fulfill the prophecy.
Willow has received a very nice transfer that is a step up from the old laser disk. It is presented in Anamorphic Widescreen (2.35:1). There is no edge enhancement and very little grain which is amazing for a picture from 1988. The sound however doesnt make use of the surrounds. Very few times are the rear speakers used. The film is in Dolby Digital 5.1 surround.
The audio commentary by Warwick Davis is very informative and every fan of the movie should listen to it. I just wish that George Lucas and Ron Howard participated as well. Two great featurettes are included along with several trailers and stills. Unlike most fantasy movies it is suited for all ages. Willow is a movie that I grew up with and today am still very fond of it. This film has it all, action, adventure, comedy and romance. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best, January 7, 2001
This review is from: Willow (Special Edition) (DVD)
Admit it. Willow is the best fantasy genre movie ever madesince the 80's, next to The Princess Bride.
All around, the actingis excellent. Of the lead roles, Val Kilmer nearly steals the show, playing one of his best roles ever as legendary Madmartigan as if he was born for it.
For the fantasy gamer out there, this movie has it all. Powerful swordsmen, novitiate wizards and mighty sorcerers, thieves, brownies, fairies, trolls, worgs, castles and kingdoms, and more -- everything a fantasy story should have to stimulate the imagination of young and old.
Willow doesn't make the mistake that they made in the Dungeons and Dragons movie that came out at the end of 2000. If you know the good guys are going to win, you just can't expect to capitalize on drama, suspense, and beating sheer odds -- Hello Hollywood, that's only fun with dice! In Willow, the jokes and dialogue are playful, colorful, and plentiful. And they don't go anachronistic! Argh! Don't expect to sustain yourself on drama and suspense when writing a kid's fantasy movie.
Willow of course makes none of these mistakes. The soundtrack is great, the replay value is excellent, the jokes make you laugh out loud. If you know what's good for you, you'll eat your blackroot and watch this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A movie to long for., August 8, 2001
By 
Callie "chroi" (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Willow (Special Edition) (DVD)
I'm 17, but when I was a little girl I watched this movie almost every single day. I'm not kidding. My parents taped it a long time ago and even though the tape is really old, I have recently enjoyed watching it once again. I cannot believe that this wonderful film is out of print. There are films much less popular than this that are still in print, so why is this film not around anymore? It is so incredibly good. The characters, the story, the setting, and the magic all steal the viewer away. The setting is a realm of fantasy, full of monsters, little people, warriors, and sorcerers. The story evolves around Willow, a little person who discovers a baby that was born to be empress of all lands and overthrow the wicked sorceress queen. Some of the great characters include Willow, played by Warwick Davis, Madmartigan played by Val Kilmer, the funny little brownies, the good sorceress, and all of the other little people. Val Kilmer really stole the show away, doing so well at acting out the personality and action of Madmartigan. Warwick Davis was very charming and magical(rumor says that he will appear in the upcoming Harry Potter movie). The brownies also added in so much humor that you just can't put this movie down. When my sister and I watched this film together a short while ago, from our very old tape, we loved seeing all of those timeless scenes, like the baby going down the stream, Val Kilmer in the cage, the two headed monster, the people turning into pigs, and so many other great things, I would prefer not to give away the plot. And the music! The score was by James Horner, whose mystical, ethereal music creates a very haunting atmosphere. Several Celtic instruments were even used in the soundtrack, such as the Celtic harp. The credits also say that Wales one of the sights for filming. It gives a very Celtic feeling to the movie. Some time ago, I found out that back in '88, this film somehow ended up on Siskel and Ebert's list of worst films of 1988. I don't know why such a disgraceful action took place because in contrary, this movie is one of the best fantasy films, not just of the 80's, but of all time. These other reviews testify of that. My family does not have a DVD player, but as soon as this movie comes out on DVD, believe me, we will get one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fantasy, December 18, 2001
By 
J. Worden (Concord, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Willow (Special Edition) (DVD)
Finally the enthralling fantasy that is Willow is released on DVD! Now when is the Star Wars trilogy arriving?? Anyway, this is definitely one of my favorite fantasy movies of all time. The movies Legend and Krull are also great, but don't have the enrapturing quality that all of George Lucas's movies seem to have. The movie follows a Nelwyn farmer, Willow, that is dreaming of becoming a sorcerer. Through a matter of fate he becomes the guardian of a baby, the one prophecied to save the world. During the film he meets Val Kilmer's character, who is reluctant but helps Willow nevertheless, and a couple of teeny-tiny rodents that provide the humor in the story. He also finds help where he least expects in the form of a beautiful young lady, that is actually the Queen Bavmorda's daughter. In his journey to save the babe he goes through many seriously risky situations, one that includes a mutated dragon.
The plot line is excellent and the dialogue goes from serious to funny without breaking any seams. The plot seems to contain some elements of the Lord of the Rings and Star Wars, but it combines them well and creates a movie that stands firmly on its own. Excellent movie recommended for fans of Tolkien, Lucas, and any fantasy adventures. Buy it today, its a great Christmas gift.
Now if they would only make movies out of the novel sequels...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 275 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Willow (Blu-ray / DVD Combo)
Willow (Blu-ray / DVD Combo) by Ron Howard (Blu-ray - 2013)
$24.99 $16.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.