Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Willy D. Returns
This is an amazing DVD, not only great music performed live by DeVille along with his terrific band, but beautiful "up close and personal" interviews capturing Willy's heart and passion. He is a lovely man.
Published on March 23, 2006 by Sue Few

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "He's a Conjure Man"
Back at his good old Paradiso venue, he appears onstage with a limp, a cane, a mouthful of something that may have once been teeth and a nose that veers stage right. Then he opens his mouth to sing and he becomes the most beautiful man on Earth. He has reinvented himself more times than Madonna, yet with a soul that lacks any and all narcissism. He is the original "Slave...
Published on April 19, 2006 by C. Calabro


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "He's a Conjure Man", April 19, 2006
By 
C. Calabro (Sunland, Ca USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Willy Deville: Live in the Lowlands (DVD)
Back at his good old Paradiso venue, he appears onstage with a limp, a cane, a mouthful of something that may have once been teeth and a nose that veers stage right. Then he opens his mouth to sing and he becomes the most beautiful man on Earth. He has reinvented himself more times than Madonna, yet with a soul that lacks any and all narcissism. He is the original "Slave to Love". His blues roots go so damn deep. He's the real deal with his Delta Daddy growl on "Muddy Waters Rose From the Mississippi Mud". He surrounds himself with flawless musicians (say hullo to Hook Herrera, ladies!) who still keep their eye on him because they are never sure what he's gonna do in the middle of a song...pretty delightful and fresh after all these years. Sadly, the camera work is cheesy and amateurish with the best shots of him quiet and still or from behind a mic or in between drums.

Highlights were a breathtaking version of "Let it Be Me" which

left me sobbing uncontrollably, doing that hiccup thing and the interviews at the end were wonderful and full of endearing characters. There's been some hard living and good stories shared here...(Plus, who can resist the segment of him in bed with the green caftan and his sweet, pale chest!?) Willy DeVille endures as an elegant and noble ruin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Willy D. Returns, March 23, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Willy Deville: Live in the Lowlands (DVD)
This is an amazing DVD, not only great music performed live by DeVille along with his terrific band, but beautiful "up close and personal" interviews capturing Willy's heart and passion. He is a lovely man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Willy and a great band, February 15, 2008
By 
Gaylen Halbert (Weimar, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Willy Deville: Live in the Lowlands (DVD)
This is one of the best concert DVDs I own. Very good audio and the camera work is just fine. Willy's performance is totally satisfying for us long time fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still waiting for this, March 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Willy Deville: Live in the Lowlands (DVD)
but watched the concert on-line. I discovered this wonderful performer just recently realizing he sings Storybook Love in the movie The Princess Bride and then hunting down stuff about his and his music on-line. I am now a big fan of his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Singer,composer and performer - ranks with the BEST..., December 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Willy DeVille's voice alone will capture your attention; his charisma and magnetic personality will make you not only a fan, but a follower. Although not widely known or celebrated in the US, this Connecticut born, New York raised, London based (early years), New Orleans resident has had a tremendously successful career in Europe and abroad. Italy honored him with a lifetime achievement award, and Hollywood nominated his song "Storybook Love"(The Princess Bride)for an Academy Award. The point: this Blu-ray DVD showcases this prolific master of all genres at his best (When was he not?) He has commanded the respect and accompaniment of renowned songwriters and musicians - check out his discography. The disc is of pristine sonic and video quality (camera work intimately shot - not highly polished or orchestrated); the musicians are top notch. I knew of WD back in the late 70's, but I didn't pay much attention to his works. It was much later in life that I rediscovered his works (guess I inadvertently saved one the best for last). What a thrill to find a "new" artist and writer later in life (difficult to do!). Needless to say, WD filled the void. If you are not familiar with his works, start with the last album, "Pistola". Then work your down to each previous album - there are many. In my humble opinion, WD's album "Live" (NYC/Paris) is one of the greatest live albums ever recorded. I was introduced to WD at the Stone Pony in Asbury Park, NJ by his bassist, David Keyes. Willy autographed a billing poster for me. Check him out on YOU TUBE for songs, albums, performances, interviews and pictures - won't regret it. Interesting character. I miss him. May he "RIP".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Brilliant, October 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Willy Deville: Live in the Lowlands (DVD)
From the moment Willy walks onto the stage the only way to describe this gig is to say "this is as good as it gets".
The band is so tight,Willy's presence and performance is magnificent.If you are a Willy Deville fan it is an absolute MUST. If you don't know of Willy, check it out.10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great concert, great singer!, June 30, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Willy Deville: Live in the Lowlands (DVD)
Yes, this dvd is great, all songs, the band, the beautiful afro american womens behind him, the place is pretty, the sound and all is good here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live in the Lowlands, May 30, 2007
By 
This review is from: Willy Deville: Live in the Lowlands (DVD)
This Concert DVD Shows Willy DeVille at his best awesome concert great variety of Music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO SO ALIVE!, April 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Willy Deville: Live in the Lowlands (DVD)
Perfectly LIVE! Hoping more film of Willy will be released someday! JUST what a performance should be, at the edge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly an original artist..In the truest sense of the word..., May 4, 2014
By 
G. Fields (Worcester, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Willy Deville R.I.P 1950 - 2009.
Blues music at a very high level. The man is a class act, we'll - respected by his peers in the music business. His die - hard fans in the U.S.A. always supported him whenever he toured. The last concert of Deville that I saw was at Tramps in NVC 1999. A great show as always. This Blu-ray disc has a great set list from this great artist. Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Willy Deville: Live in the Lowlands
Willy Deville: Live in the Lowlands by Willy Deville (DVD - 2006)
$9.99
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.