Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


130 of 139 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight from a master communicator
I've seen the author on TV and read his earlier books. Dr. Luntz's passion for understanding people and crafting messages that will persuade them is clear. In this book he uses personal stories of successful individuals to illustrate his principles of effective communication. The book delivers on its promise of explaining how good communication works and how to use the...
Published on March 1, 2011 by Steve in MA

versus
25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Redundant
The first 4 chapters were great. I highlighted, made notes, and relished what I learned. Chapter 5 was somewhat disappointing as many of the SAME principles (although with different names) were revisited. By the 6th chapter, appropriately named "PERFECTION" the author was 'perfecting' the past 6 chapters AGAIN. Chapter 7 was a disaster with the SAME stories in previous...
Published on March 27, 2011 by Sandy Caruso


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

130 of 139 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight from a master communicator, March 1, 2011
By 
Steve in MA (Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
I've seen the author on TV and read his earlier books. Dr. Luntz's passion for understanding people and crafting messages that will persuade them is clear. In this book he uses personal stories of successful individuals to illustrate his principles of effective communication. The book delivers on its promise of explaining how good communication works and how to use the author's insight to do it better ourselves.

For me, the most valuable aspect of the book is that it goes beyond putting the right words together. As Luntz explains, the style of communication is just as important to the eventual success as the substance. This book gives recommendations on both substance and style, along with concrete examples of how his techniques have been used successfully.

I've used the tips in his book "Words That Work" for the past few years and I've been amazed at how effective they are - my daughter even used some of them in her run for student council president! "Win" is even more focused and relevant, and Luntz's straightforward approach makes his recommendations easy to understand and employ. It's a perfect field guide to measurable results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, March 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Really gets to the essence of winning--how to use your skills to assess situations, come up with a strategy, and implement it. Rock solid book--great theoretical and practical advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A PhD in winning in just one book, March 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book has taken some of the greatest minds from every aspect of life including business men and women, billionaires, multi-millionaires, innovators, politicians from both sides of the aisle, sports stars and coaches. The knowledge acquired from these winners has been transformed into an easy to read journey to understand their winning mindset. The beliefs that these special people use are also set up and explained in the book by a master communicator.

The ability to have multiple perspectives from these winners will give you the ability to weave through what may help you. There are plenty of stories, quotes and even narration from Dr, Lutz along with his observations and his unique insight.
If you need some ideas for a presentation, a speech or to get your employees fired up its in here.

Once you read the book you may have a different opinion on what it takes to win or it just may underscore and enhance what you have already learned. Whether you are a salesperson, a coach or just someone who wants to understand winning better to get an upper hand this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to win, March 21, 2011
By 
A&D (Boston, MA, USA) - See all my reviews
Do you have what it takes to win? That's what this book is all about.

THE KEY DEFINITIONS OF WINNING:

- The ability to grasp the human dimension of every situation;

- the ability to know what questions to ask and when to ask them;

- the ability to see the challenge, and the solution, from every angle;

- the ability to communicate their vision passionately and persuasively;

- the ability to connect with others and create an enduring chemistry;

These are the ones that this book addresses by analyzing famous people and 10 other universal attributes of "winners" in diferent business areas, like Mike Bloomberg, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Rupert Murdoch, Steve Wynn, Fred Smith, J. Crew, Gibson Guitar, Larry Bird, Jimmy Connors, Mike Richter,Roger Ailes, Don Imus,...

Luntz focuses on 9 Principles of Winning:
People-focused/Positioning,Priority Identification,Proactive Approach,Problem Solving,
Passion,Pragmatic/Practical,Partnership,Persuasion and Persistence

Dr. Luntz offers more than seventy new "words that work" for private one-on-one meetings with your boss, for public presentations to hundreds of colleagues, or for television appearances that reach millions.

I've seen the author on TV and read his earlier books. Dr. Luntz is intrested in communication and how to get your message delivered effectively and efficiently to your audience regardless of if it is just one person or millions. In this book he uses personal stories of successful "winners" to describe his principles of effective communication. The book explains how good communication works and why some communication is better than some other communication, why some people get their message through better than others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Redundant, March 27, 2011
By 
Sandy Caruso (RICHFIELD, UTAH, US) - See all my reviews
The first 4 chapters were great. I highlighted, made notes, and relished what I learned. Chapter 5 was somewhat disappointing as many of the SAME principles (although with different names) were revisited. By the 6th chapter, appropriately named "PERFECTION" the author was 'perfecting' the past 6 chapters AGAIN. Chapter 7 was a disaster with the SAME stories in previous chapters...Frank-I got it the first and second time around. I don't need to be BEAT over the head! The 8th and 9th
chapters were somewhat refreshing but the 10th and 11th chapters started the 'I read this before' feelings again.
If you are lazy; therefore you probably wouldn't be reading this book; you might find it entertaining and
helpful. If you are HIGH energy and want to GET SOMETHING DONE...this is not the book for you. It will suit those
who are detailed, slow, methodical, and meticulous much better. I couldn't wait to get it OVER with, apply what I had
learned in the first 4 chapters, and MOVE ON!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Political Book Disguised as a Helpful Business Book, April 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Short version: Use it but don't fall for it. Don't celebrate it. Skim the gray sections and revisit it.
Rating 2.5/5 If I had to commit to a whole number I'd lean to give the book a very soft 3. There are better biz books out there.

This book disguises itself as a business book, but is riddled with distracting political rhetoric and worship of the cult of celebrity. From the man that brought you Words That Work among others, Luntz should stick to presenting what he knows best; polling data for effective language. In this book, he presents "Win" as a combination of interviews/profiles of winners mixed with sections of Words That Work.

he Good
The Words That Work sections and various Luntz Lessons are worth reading. The conclusion was also well written and had far less political distractions. These saved this book from a 1 star rating.

Why it Belongs on Your Shelf or Coffee Table

It's a good critical thinking test to measure business colleagues, to see if they follow suit or can identify holes.
It's a challenge to read and will help you develop patience.
What it lacks will help you discern your values.
Read it so you can use it but don't fall for it.
There is some useful advice and vocabulary that can be easily located in the grayed call -out sections.
The hardcover edition (which I own), would make a suitable weapon.
Unlike Luntz, I find it important to derive wisdom from any experience
Provides a great way to know thy enemy as I promise you many who practice the art of corporate douchebaggery and ameteur salesmen will worship this book.
Ultimately, I kept in mind it was better than the first Twilight movie, which pumps up it's score.

"Win" suffers from 3 big problems and 3 more notable problems: a deceptive title, chronic business idolatry, political rhetoric slanted obnociously far to the right; alienating middle of the road readers (conservative or otherwise), bad analysis, hypocrisy, and throughout the book you can't help but feel like he's pandering to clients and colleagues. All of these things distract from some truly useful gems that are buried among the rubble of musings of a mindset that is politics and business 1.0, desperately in search of an upgrade.

Republicans will love it. Entrepreneurs will laugh at it or struggle with it as I did. This isn't a book I'd recommend to budding entrepreneurs to shape a mindset or set of standards. This is a book worth a read because of it's problems and the implications of this method of deriving value and determining success and winners. Great for the coffee table or balancing a piano. It's bot that bad and good enough.

Deceptive Title & Political Rants
The political slant of this book made it seem more like Luntz' Guide to Republican Argument rather than The Key Principles To Take Your Business From Ordinary to Extraordinary. I understand that publishers name these things but Luntz is accountable for luring the unsuspecting public into a book with this title. At first I dismissed the noticeably charged statements, then they persisted re-appearing as if in a game of Whack-A-Mole. Regardless of your affiliation, you'll find these lengthy rants are distracting to the subject at hand: Business principles. In fact, you must call 3into question his credibility, as he can see no flaws in his own party or clients.

Pandering & Hypocrisy
The soft positions on some obvious historical offenses of Luntz' heroes does not reflect the aura of accountability that he advocates for throughout the book. This hypocrisy, unfortunately, wasn't limited to the political winners either. The political slant, though annoying is understandable, but he marches on to excuse some and label them winners, and then trash on others. He presents no standard characteristic or attribute of a winner that he doesn't proceed to violate in some way with the various personas he chooses to label winners or not winners. Calling out various virtues such as the importance of being people-centric while using a pyramid scheme model as an example really grinds my gears. For legal reasons, I won't make the direct assertion but if you read the book you will know who I am referring to.

Save for one dead, Democratic Senator, the celebrities with a (D) next to their name are vilified while the Republicans are celebrated. He seems only capable of recognizing the virtues of the home team (the party) and it broadcasts a short-sided viewpoint and weak mindedness. Bear in mind, I am not a Democrat and I can clearly see this. Furthermore, many of the Gordon Gecko types of 80's business fame and beyond are forgiven for transgressions and labelled winners. Again, he violates his own assertions and definitions of winners to forgive and label friends and colleagues as winners. You get a sense that many of the shout outs in the book are to friends and colleagues. In fact Luntz makes this pretty obvious.

Business Idolatry & The Cult of Celebrity
This book is haunted with blatant worship of characters like Steve Jobs and products like the iPad. Not exactly insightful, and with no criticism, the watered down business idolatry is mostly useless to the business community. General rule of thumb for business books: read only those written by the people who have actually accomplished something or at least practice what they preach. This book loses on both accounts. Winners don't follow other winners; they carve their own paths and break paradigms. Luntz calls this out, and then proceeds to give the profile pieces and descriptions of winners that make so many of us unsubscribe from magazines like Fast Company. The Words That Work and Luntz Lessons sections were the only substantive entries that kept hope alive for this book.

Bad Analysis

Luntz also calls out several companies as failures, like Toyota based on events like the recall and accident record. Much of the analysis in the book has been proven false, and much more will be proven to be so over time. When assessing credibility, you must include the capacity for critical thought. This is exactly why profile business books offer so little, so focused on celebrity that pay very little attention to critical thought, analysis and thus don't produce many useful tidbits and insights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant recycling of valuable business material, May 22, 2011
Frank Luntz identifies what he characterizes as "The 15 Universal Attributes of Winners" (on Page 2) and then "The Nine P's of Winning: What It Takes to Get to the Top" (on Page 13) before sharing this definition: "Winning is about getting to the top and making things - great things, unprecedented things - happen. It's about transfo0rming and completely revolutionizing products, processes, and even people. It's about making an impact that endures long after you have gone." An 11th century monk, Bernard of Chartres, once observed, "We are like dwarfs standing on the shoulders of giants." Those on whose shoulders Luntz stands are duly acknowledged (Pages ix-xi) and countless others are listed within the Index.

I admire the skills that he must have summoned to locate, evaluate, and then organize material from hundreds of different sources. He presents it within a series of chapters whose framework is provided by eight principles that, he claims, can take the reader's business "from ordinary to extraordinary." That's Luntz's vision and presumably he realizes that, in Thomas Edison's familiar words, "vision without execution is hallucination." Much of the insights and advice he has appropriated as well as what he contributes focus on "how" to achieve the given goal or objective.

Most of his contributions focus on the nature and components of effective communication (i.e. message creation and image management). For example, the "Luntz Language Lesson" (on Page 99) as well as 12 clusters of "Luntz Lessons" elsewhere in the narrative. I am curious to know the sources of the self-audits (e.g. Are You Self-Centered?" on Page 37) as well as the material provided on Pages 111, 222, 232, and 272. Perhaps each is a consolidation of key points that Luntz has selected from a combination of sources. All are eminently sensible.

There is an abundance of information, observations, insights, aphorisms, and recommendations in this book. Obviously, it would be a fool's errand to attempt to adopt everything that Luntz provides.

Here's what I presume to suggest. As you read the book, keep a notebook of some kind handy and, as you work your way through the narrative, rate yourself on a 1-10 scale (with 10 = Outstanding) on the various skills that are discussed. (Here's where the self-audits and the sets of questions will be most helpful.) Record notes including page references when you rated yourself in the 1-6 range, then compile a list of what you rated yourself in the 1-3 range and check the page references you've noted to focus on the relevant material that Luntz provides. Then proceed to what you rated 4-6.

In other words, convert this hybrid (i.e. anthology/self-help narrative) into a workbook that you customize to accommodate your specific needs and interests. I also suggest you check out the wealth of resources at luntzglobal/dot/com. Finally, I wish you great success with your efforts to achieve great success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undoubtedly, a WIN, March 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is my first read by Dr. Frank Luntz and it is a poignant, powerful, essential read for anyone who wants to grasp people, business, politics or life in general. The dynamic insights from Mr. Luntz and the various interviews of legendary, exceptional & ground breaking people in the world are effective and bury inside of your psyche skillfully. If you are ready to grow, build and succeed then grab this brilliantly gathered book. It's an absolute Win! Highly Recommend!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly funny and useful book, April 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There's a quote in the book which sets the tone, "Words have power. They hit like a fist. Especially if the words are written on your fist." I bought five more copies of the book and handed them out to the senior managers in my workplace. Great information to inspire (of course us winners already knew we were winners) and easy to follow principles which can be used in classes or meetings to get the points across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great New Observations, April 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've read lots of books on winning and the qualities of winners. This one holds new and refreshing research. It offers me information that is both helpful and easy to apply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Win: The Key Principles to Take Your Business from Ordinary to Extraordinary
Used & New from: $1.54
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.