Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Train egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Deals Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Nintendo Digital Games Shop Now HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
on September 9, 2006
The cd is taken from an overseas lp master tape and is not mixed for cd. If you want the best sound quality, purchase the America version (MCA - 088 112 043-2) lovingly remastered by Stephen Barncard.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
"Wind on the Water" was the second album that David Crosby and Graham Nash recorded together, coming after the first CSN&Y reunion tour tour (how many have there been now?). This 1975 album is on a par with their self-titled first effort, but is not quite as good as the stellar solo albums each produced during that time. Crosby and Nash always had the virtue of bringing out the best in each other and that is the case here. Their two-part harmonies work, from the opening track "Carry Me" to "Homeward Through the Haze" and "Naked in the Rain." Of course, there are also background vocals from the likes of James Taylor, Carole King and Jackson Browne, which just goes to prove the more the merrier. "Wind on the Water" is nicely bookended by the two most substantive songs in terms of the lyrics, "Carry Me" and "To The Last Whale: A. Critical Mass and B. Wind on the Water." This is just a solid little album of rich melodies and solid vocal harmonies.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon March 24, 2003
Well, this is the gem of the entire CSNY catalogue! Crosby and Nash never sounded better, never played better, never wrote better, and their back up band was spot on from the first note to the last. I remember walking down Bloor Street when I first heard this from a record shop. I was hooked. I wore out 6 vinyl copies of this.
Crosby and Nash seemed positively liberated from the chains that went with being in the Supergroup that was more ego than substance. For all of Neil's posturings, at this point in their career, Cros and Nash were the best songwriters in rock music, touching on themes of life, death, love and environment with a poignancy any writer would sell their soul for.
"Carry Me" has come back to me as a source of comfort several times when I've lost friends to Aids/Cancer/Tragedy. "Mama Lion" is a wonderful tribute to a lover who has so affected your life that even though you are no longer with him/her, it is their positive influence, not the negative that lives with you, eh Nina? "Wind on the Water" is the quintessential environmental track, and Nash hit his zenith here as a creative writer. Sheer profundity as Cros would often comment. "Cowboy of Dreams" would reference Neil more accurately than anything I've ever heard or read. The musicianship is a wonder to behold on this: looser, now that they were both free of Stills' maniacal control issues and Neil's passive aggressive mind games, this is the essence of what David and Graham were capable of.
Live, they were tremendous during this period. That probably fed Crosby's ego enough to convince himself that he was handling his drug problems. Six to nine months after this, he was teetering on becoming useless as a creative songwriter. Well, this was still to come.
At this point, with this release, they were brilliant. It is evident in the confidence seen on their faces in the cover photo, and it carries all the way through every single track. Well done, a true diamond.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on January 28, 2004
What an album! Two of the greatest harmonizers to ever live churned out a memorable and relaxed album (for the most part). Every song is above average, especially "Carry Me", "Critical Mass", and "Low Down Payment"( a real nice rockin' tune). I've already played through the album more times than I can recall, and it never gets old.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on February 3, 2000
Overlooked masterpiece from two thirds of CSN. It certainly proves that Graham Nash could carry his weight, writing classics such as "Take the Money and Run" and "Wind on the Water". By the way, Happy Birthday to Mr. Nash and if your reading this, my review of the last CSNY album will be coming out in my college newspaper and I'll be sending copies out to you. David Crosby cements his place in the Hall of Fame with his soul searching songs. A must have for any CSN/CSNY fan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on January 10, 2001
On this mid 70's effort, Crosby and Nash show what efficient and capable songwriters they are. I personally tend to enjoy Crosby's efforts much more than Nash's especially on this album. Song's like "Bittersweet" capture the beauty and intensity Crosby can bring to a song. Also of note is Crosby's beautiful "Naked in the Rain". The musicianship is tight and well crafted on this album. "Wind on the Water" is also a lovely number, but the only one of perhaps two tolerable songs by Nash on this set. Sometimes Nash can write songs so light and airy it leaves you feeling empty. Having said all that, this album is definitely worth getting if you are a Crosby fan at all.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on October 2, 2005
I bought this LP the day it came out. I saw the tour and even took some very good pictures of this time in David and Graham's career. They played Moody Colliseum on the SMU campus in Dallas. Compared to some of their later work this album stood the test of time. With Russ Kunkell on drums, Leland Skylar on bass and all assorted guests these guys laid down some tremendous songs and soaring harmonies. To The Last Whale made me mad and sad at the same time. I mean killing whales for eyemake-up. If you have ever been on the water in a boat next to one of these gentle giants the song hits home. The guys in this backup band were the most sought after session men in L.A. for years. They were tight. Once again I lived this album. I put it on cassette the day I got it and I know every song by heart. I can't help it. I love these guys. These musicians both influenced my songwriting and my desire to seek music as a career. This album moved me very much.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on January 1, 2006
I rarely give five stars on any of my reviews. Actually, most people who read them may not find then favorable. I am not looking to be the most popular reviewer on Amazon, but perhaps one of the most realistic. I bought this on vinyl when it first came out and was delighted to buy it on CD about a year ago. It makes me wonder how I did without it so long.... Their isn't a bad song on this CD...Hence, the five stars!!!! This is a well-produced CD. My favorite selections are Carry Me, Take The Money And Run, Homeward Through The Haze, and the title track. Take your money and run to buy this one if you are a fan of CSN&Y. You will probably find this is even better than a lot of what they all did together.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on April 8, 2007
This is my favorite Crosby - Nash album. It came three years and several solo projects after their first release and was a big hit in 1975 (reaching number 6 on the Billboard album chart in the US and being certified GOLD). Many of the songs on this album was intended for an aborted CSNY reunion. It produced one minor hit single "Carry Me" but many other songs received airplay on FM stations that played album cuts including: Bittersweet, Take The Money And Run, Love Work Out, and the classic To The Last Whale. A very strong effort!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on November 10, 2008
The text above is worded to imply that this 2008 UK release from Troubador Records states this CD is newly remastered. This is not true. The master utilized for this release is the same U.S. remaster released in 2000 on MCA.

The cardboard LP-sleeve provided by the label is the same size as all Japan mini-sleeves. However, the images of both sides of the 'sleeve are darker than the original artwork, with a sizeable loss of photographic detail.

There is a genuine Japan mini-sleeve of this title, also released in '08, that has artwork more faithful to the original release, but unfortunately, it is not available on Amzon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Graham Nash & David Crosby (US Release)
Graham Nash & David Crosby (US Release) by Graham Nash & David Crosby

Whistling Down The Wire
Whistling Down The Wire by David Crosby and Graham Nash

Leon Russell
Leon Russell by Leon Russell

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.