Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Resource
At TechEd this year I had the opportunity to put my hands on this book prior to buying. Looking through it, it appears to have some good information. You're not getting the usual bit of standard commands that everyone and their grandmother knows like "ipconfig /all". You're actually getting some good information to build into scripts or batch files that can help...
Published on May 18, 2011 by Jacob P. Lavender

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful book
John Paul Mueller is a very smart fellow, and overall, this book is reasonably well written, and a helpful addition to any Windows System Administrators bookshelf. Written for an audience of primarily Vista/Win7/Server2008 admins, some of the commands described in the book do not work on legacy operating systems such as WinXP/Server2003. Additionally, some sections of the...
Published on October 20, 2011 by Apex


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Resource, May 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Windows Command Line Administration Instant Reference (Paperback)
At TechEd this year I had the opportunity to put my hands on this book prior to buying. Looking through it, it appears to have some good information. You're not getting the usual bit of standard commands that everyone and their grandmother knows like "ipconfig /all". You're actually getting some good information to build into scripts or batch files that can help shorten your day. It also does a good job of explaining the process and application. It is evident that the author put some thought into this book. Additionally, it's published by Sybex. Typically that's a safe bet.

After flipping through the book for around 30 minutes in the MS bookstore I went online to Amazon and found it for 2/3's of the price...of course. I opted to go ahead and spring for it.

I also think that the book is a good reference point for other information as well. For example, it covers some of the commands to work with WMI and WinRM, both vitally important in W2K8. In addition, it might help get your wheels spinning on other areas to explore.

I gave it 4 stars because I do not see this book as a one stop authoritative source on all. However, it was apparent that it had some good information. I consider myself a moderate command line guy, as I spend 50% of my time on the job working inside Server Core (yes, one of the few adopters, and we have a fairly expansive server base that runs only Server Core). I anticipate that this book is going to help me shorten up some of my work and get some automation going. If nothing else, it will serve as a good starting point, and I can go more in depth with additional research.

It does serve as a good reference for the shelf, especially when you need info fast, and the innerweb may not always be an option.

Good book. Would recommend for $20. I'm a little hesitant at $30 though, as the book calls for on the back cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This book contains all the information about the command line ..., December 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Windows Command Line Administration Instant Reference (Paperback)
This book contains all the information about the command line which one could ever need . . . and more. Unfortunately, the majority of the book is written from the perspective of the network administrator. The average user will find perhaps 30 to 40 pages of applicable information. The system administrator will find the remainder of the book helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful book, October 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Windows Command Line Administration Instant Reference (Paperback)
John Paul Mueller is a very smart fellow, and overall, this book is reasonably well written, and a helpful addition to any Windows System Administrators bookshelf. Written for an audience of primarily Vista/Win7/Server2008 admins, some of the commands described in the book do not work on legacy operating systems such as WinXP/Server2003. Additionally, some sections of the book (such as chapter 2 - making remote connections) seem rather pointless, while there are other technologies (such as Windows Powershell) which are not mentioned at all. Those criticisms aside, the book has been helpful for batch file creation on Windows XP. (SC - Service Control - for example is well covered). As the title implies, the book is better used for reference than instruction, but in the end it manages to do both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Reading Material, February 16, 2013
This review is from: Windows Command Line Administration Instant Reference (Paperback)
This book has provided a new respect for the command line on my machine. I didn't know what to expect upon study of this material, and have found it quiter interesting.

~Edric
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference tool, August 21, 2013
By 
Steve Anthony (Chicago,, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Windows Command Line Administration Instant Reference (Paperback)
This Item is just what I was looking in this area for complete and comprehensive information on the subject. Money very well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent reference manual, June 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Windows Command Line Administration Instant Reference (Paperback)
I use these to help student quickly find how to do things in Windows. All of these instant references books are excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty weak in its content - Very incomplete, March 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Windows Command Line Administration Instant Reference (Paperback)
Not really what I was expecting. I needed a complete command line reference and this one barely scratches the surface. Better off just using Microsoft TechNet website
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Windows Command Line Administration Instant Reference
Windows Command Line Administration Instant Reference by John Mueller (Paperback - September 28, 2010)
$29.99 $22.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.