Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!
I was about due for a new decanter and could have bought any. After searching found this decanter to be the best. Its classic shape was slightly more shallow than the one I had and most others, but not too shallow. 750ml will fill it slightly above the crest of the curvature with a little more width than usual. This exposes the maximum amount of surface area to...
Published on June 3, 2007 by Toad

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty but doesn't pour well....
Unfortunately, I will have to replace this decanter. We use decanters all the time for almost every bottle we open. This one is pretty by appearance but the rim form is not suitable for pouring wine. What you can't see in the picture is how thick the top rim is - almost 1/4 inch. This affects the wine pour & makes wine dribble all over the edge & sides of the decanter. It...
Published 6 days ago by N. Stover


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, June 3, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was about due for a new decanter and could have bought any. After searching found this decanter to be the best. Its classic shape was slightly more shallow than the one I had and most others, but not too shallow. 750ml will fill it slightly above the crest of the curvature with a little more width than usual. This exposes the maximum amount of surface area to air.

I don't think the average person bothers with wine decanters, but personally feel they can make all the difference. I can open a bottle and drink a glass, then decant the rest. After a day or so drink from the decanter and it doesn't seem like the same wine. The decanter brings out all the fine qualities.

A stopper should be purchased the same time as the decanter and from the same store to ensure proper fit.Wine Decanter Glass Stopper - Large

Wine stoppers, particularly ball-type, differ in function as compared to that of distilled spirits. It is not compulsory to remove and replace after each serving. Right or wrong, many people including myself never take it out. The ball is simply rolled back where the flat portion produces a gap between the decanter neck. You then hold the stopper in place and pour through the ball then roll back down. The weight of the stopper also adds to the balance of the decanter making it easier to handle.

I've received many compliments with this decanter and they don't know I haven't spent hundreds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vivid Wine Decanter, June 23, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love the shape and design of this decanter. I never use this without the stainless steel funnel to aid in decanting. However, the one issue I have with this design is the degree of difficulty in pouring the last class of wine. You have to lift and turn the decanter completely over and one has to be very careful not to spill a little wine. Love the design, just need to work on your wine pouring skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent decanter, April 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wine Enthusiast Vivid Wine Decanter (Kitchen)
im no somelier, but i do drink a lot of wine and this seems to satisfy all decanter requirements, including made of glass, has ballar platinum beads that you can order along with it to clean the product, and the upside down stand to have the wash drip away (unless you like the taste of soap in your wine). So if you want the full package and looks decent in front of a gentrified crowd (disclosure: i personally do not belong to the latter), then get this decanter plus stand plus reidel cleaning balls, and you are set for any occasion involving fine wines. and, please, by all means, avoid that darn aerator, i swear i could publish a double blind cross-controlled study on this and get a ridiculously significant p-value for non-aerated/venutri'd scoring significantly lower than your decanted wine.

bottom line: stick with the decanter set, it looks sweet, as a copious wine consumer i can tell you it work well, and avoid other aeration devices. trust me, folks in France got it right after their first 1000 years of viticulture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keep it dry, February 14, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wine Enthusiast Vivid Wine Decanter (Kitchen)
Be sure you dry this after cleaning it. I didn't and discovered mold growing in it days later. It seems to be the perfect petri dish as the water doesn't evaporate. You may want to get a holder that can support the decanter upside-down while it dries.

Decanter Drying Stand Plus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy and Elegant - Good the the Last drop, May 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wine Enthusiast Vivid Wine Decanter (Kitchen)
There are really only a few things you need to know about a decanter. Decanting should mimic the process of swirling wine in the glass and the result should be softer tannins in the wine.

This decanter will drape wine over the full interior surface. It is both beautiful and effective. Sure it's shape makes pouring the last glass a challenge, but if you put a quality wine in there you are going to get quality out. I am sure you are up to the challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect and still a good value, November 18, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased this decanter (here on Amazon) and wanted to modify my review so I cancelled it, thinking that I could start the process over. I could not.
So this review IS from a very recent purchase. The bottom is not flat and it rocks a little. They do not grind the bottom flat. Otherwise, I am happy with the purchase and not unhappy enough to return it. It is a large, pretty piece of glass! The mouth/neck is large. More so than I thought from the picture. It is a very "manly" size and weight decanter. One feature is that it is large enough to fit the neck of an average bottle in the spout to drain completely and the bottle shoulder acts as a stopper. A large avacado is also a good fit! The free book - Wine Enthusiast Wine Guide and magazine was a nice bonus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Actually Works, January 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wine Enthusiast Vivid Wine Decanter (Kitchen)
We are no wine snobs. I have heard people say you cant drink wine without a decanter and that is definitely true, most people do drink it without the decanter ;) However much to my surprise a decanter does make it better.

I am not afraid to have my own opinion about things and generally I think a lot of is more fluff then functional so I was happy to see that this present for my wife was not all fluff. Ya it looks cool, yes it seems like a solid piece of glass, yes it also makes the wine look more sophisticated but more importantly everyone that did a blind taste test picked out the decanter wine and preferred it over the bottled wine.

We poured half a bottle in the decanter, let it sit a few minutes and kept half of the wine in the bottle. Poured two glasses and tried to spot the differences. It was easy, even the smell was different. The decanter (from a non-wino perspective) really does balance the flavors of the wine out. That way you dont get us much sharpness or as many as the overtones that you typically get at the beginning and end of the sip or gulp.

Now I am sure that is the case with pretty much any decanter, but this one seems to be constructed well, looks nice and pours fairly easy unless it is almost empty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, May 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wine Enthusiast Vivid Wine Decanter (Kitchen)
Works great. Good weight. Pours well. Highly recommend. I've had this for almost a year and gave one as a gift. Everyone who uses it loves it, and it looks great. Has a more grande look in person than the picture lets off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for allowing wine to breathe, July 13, 2012
This review is from: Wine Enthusiast Vivid Wine Decanter (Kitchen)
The large surface area exposing the wine to air provides rapid breathing. You will want a decanter size that a bottle fills only to the widest dimension of the decanter so that there is a maximum air exchange surface. If you fill to the narrow neck, there is not much breathing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, October 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wine Enthusiast Vivid Wine Decanter (Kitchen)
Definitely do the job it supposes to. I like the look and feel of it. Although, it is tricky pouring the very last drop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wine Enthusiast Vivid Wine Decanter
$39.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.