Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Appetizing, October 21, 2005
Two culinary pleasures come together in this book, "The Wine Lover's Dessert Cookbook" by Mary Cech and Jennie Schacht: dessert and wine! Not only are the recipes delicious but the wine education and suggested pairing make wine selection a breeze!

Mary Cech is an award-winning chef and instructor. She has been a pastry chef at a couple of the more prestigious restaurants, and has taught pastry making at the renowned Culinary Institute of America. Her recipes have been featured in numerous publications including Bon Appetit, Chocolatier, Veggie Life and several cookbooks.

Jennie Schacht is a culinary writer who has worked on several cookbooks. She has her own consultation firm, Scahcht and Associates, which aid clients in the food and health care industry.

This beautifully photographed book is loaded with information on selecting wines dependent on the dessert being served. The recipes are delicious and very inspiring. With Mary Cech's expertize at teaching, the recipes are very clear and easy-to-follow.

Some of the delectable recipes found within this book are Buttermilk Panna Cotta with Fresh Peaches, Tropical Fruit Crèpes, Pumpkin Pots de Crème with Candied Pecans and Lemon Cream Mousse.

For the wine-wary, there is an index of complicated wine terms to help you understand wine and how to select wines based on your food.

With the holidays approaching, this would be a wonderful gift to help celebrate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great ideas, November 28, 2005
A marriage made in heaven: that of wine and desserts. What a wonderful idea!! The bringing together of two of the world's best offerings (wine and dessert) is a decadent inspiration that Ms Cech and Ms Schacht bring to perfect fruition with mouth watering recipes and superb wine suggestions to accompany them. The book is very friendly even for a novice like me in the art of wine appreciation, and it gives easy to follow recipes. I am up to the challenge of indulging my craving for sweets and wine! I plan to send a book to all my friends and family to create a network where all the recipes will be cooked or baked and later shared and combined with the wine suggestions to improve our palates, delight our spirits while giving us the perfect excuse to get together. I have tested a few of the recipes, and the results have not disappointed. I recommend this book greatly and think at the very least it makes a perfect gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Desserts are awesome, design is lame., February 17, 2009
I really like this dessert cookbook. Both Mary Cech and Jennie Schacht are knowledgeable and provide some great information with their recipes and wine recommendations.

On page 108, the Chocolate Currant Tartlets were to die for. The Banyuls and Port wine recommendations were spot on. I served the Apple Citrus Custard Tart for New Years without the wine and the dessert itself was wonderful. The recipes are just awesome...but

...the design is lame. All the print is virtually the same color, the titles, the recipes, the wine recommendations, the lines, and it's almost the same font and size. The page just runs together. The em dash page layout and design by Chronicle Books was a poor choice here.

The "Making The Match" wine insets should have been blocked with a different color and font so they stood out as a true side note rather than looking like part of the recipe. The pages jump from single layout to double layout and then back again and it's very hard to tell if you're suppose to read down or across because it's both.

Also, the pictures are all semi-blurry. They are not crystal clear photographs. I don't know if it was suppose to an artistic statement but it's an artistic blunder. I really dislike the off-centered blurry pictures. The book would have been so much better with sharp pics of the desserts as well as the glasses of wine.

The book is excellent, there are no issues with the desserts or wine pairings. It's the actual design that is really the downfall of this book. I hope the authors find a new publisher and remake this cookbook to be a 10, it's now a 7 because of the amateurish appearance.

Regardless, this would be a great book to give as a gift with a bottle of Late Harvest Riesling or a Doisy-Vedrines Sauternes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely cookbook!, January 31, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a notch up from the usual Chronicle Book publication! I say this because I often find that this publisher puts out cookbooks that are all "beautiful pictures" and very little information. It is clear that the authors worked really hard to deliver good information and content and tips - this book isn't just a vehicle for the photographs. There is lots to read and absorb for each recipe, and the recipes themselves look extremely do-able in one's own humble kitchen. I bought a copy after glancing through it in the bookstore because I know this is definitely a book that I can use (and not just leave around looking pretty). I would say, though, that it functions really well on its own as a dessert cookbook - I'm less interested in the wine pairings - which would interest only those who are sticklers for such things!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars elegant and refined dessert recipes, April 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
simple, elegant and maybe easy to prepare dessert recipes paired to match the perfect dessert wine!

Just the type of recipes I am looking for in a cookbook - elegant and restaurant grade!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Dessert & Dessert Wine Pairing Book, February 24, 2013
By 
Donna S. Webb (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pairing desserts with the sweet wine category can be tricky for the novice, but this book can be your guide to rely
on when it comes to preparing desserts with sweet and fortified wines. The right combinations will elevate your end of meal
course to an unforgettable experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gift for a friend, February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this as a gift for a friend. I only had a little time to look through it, but it looked enjoyable and like something I would also have liked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The author does a great job explaining how dessert wines are made and how ..., December 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The author does a great job explaining how dessert wines are made and how to pair them with desserts. The desserts themselves are classy and delicious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful & Educational Cookbook, July 7, 2008
By 
S. D. Fischer (Washington, DC USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is another winning cookbook from Chronicle Books. The authors provide very interesting, digestible information on wines and then offer a variety of dessert recipes with wine pairing suggestions.

I will be a better dinner guest thanks to this book. Now, I can easily select the right wine to bring with whichever dessert I bake for the occasion.

Most of the 55 dessert recipes are accompanied by a full-page color photo. The recipes are inventive but do not require exotic ingredients or equipment.

I really liked the organization of the recipes by flavor which reminded me of Baking by Flavor and Pure Dessert. Recipe chapters include Stone Fruits; Berries; Citrus; Apple & Pear; Tropical Fruits; Dried Fruits; Cream; Caramel, Honey & Spice; Nuts; Chocolate; and Finishing Touches (sauces and garnishes).

Stone fruit recipes include Chilled Stone Fruit Compote, Double Plum Galettes, Peach Tarte Tatin, Cherry Gelee Parfait with Lime Custard, Buttermilk Panna Cotta with Fresh Peaches and Jeweled Apricot Soup with Couscous Timbales.

Berry recipes include Boysenberry Sorbet and Cream Swirl, Raspberry Baked Alaska, Lemon Raspberry Pavlova, Double Blueberry Crisp Bars, Chilled Strawberry Consomme, and Blueberry Almond Tart.

Citrus recipes include Lime Tartlets with Pomegranate Seeds, Hint of Mint Orange Chiffon Cake, Lemon Thyme Creme Brulee, Lemon Cream Mousse, Ruby Grapefruit with Honey Sabayon and Lemon Shortbread.

Apple and Pear recipes include Individual Pear and Quince Pot Pies, Apple Citrus Custard Tart, Baked Granny Smith Apple Terrine, Deconstructed Autumn Pear Crisp with Sparkling Pear Sorbet, and Ginger Pears with Black Sesame Butter Crunch.

Tropical Fruit recipes include Mango-Lime Souffles, Fresh Mango-Nectarine Crumble, Tropical Fruit Crepes, Ginger Pots de Creme, Brown Sugar Glazed Bananas with Roasted Peanuts and Lime and Coconut-Lychee Tapioca Pudding.

The Dried Fruits chapter includes recipes for Holiday Dried and Fresh Fruit Tartlets; Caramel Apricot Pecan Tart; Chocolate Currant Tartlets; Apricot, Cherry, and Pistachio Biscotti; and Creamy Risotto Pudding with Brandied Figs.

Cream recipes include Sour Cream Butter Cake, Coffee Cream Tart in A Cocoa-Espresso Crust, Mascarpone Chocolate Swirl Cheesecake, Browned Butter Cheesecake, and Pumpkin Pots de Creme with Candied Pecans.

The Caramel, Honey & Spice chapter includes recipes for Brown Sugar and Cinnamon Creme Brulee, Apricot Gingerbread Upside-Down Cake, Honey Ricotta Tart, Honeyed Fig Tart and Wine Lovers' Caramels.

The Nut recipes include Almond Apricot Pithiviers, Hazelnut Wafers with Cheese and Fruit, Almond Wafers, Caramel Macademia Tart, Classic Amaretti, and Toasted Pecan Sandies.

The recipes in the Chocolate chapter include Cocoa Walnut Biscotti, Blackberry Topped Chocolate Silk Tart, Bittersweet Chocolate Hazelnut Torte with Brandied Currants and Orange, Chocolate Souffle Roulade, White Chocolate Raspberry Parfait and Triple Chocolate Buttermilk Loaf Cake.

The final chapter, Finishing Touches, includes recipes for Caramel Sauce, Chocolate Glaze, Fruit Purees, and Chocolate Curls as well as a note about cake stencils and suggestions for other finishing touches such as toasted nuts or fresh edible flowers.

This book along with a bottle of dessert wine would be a wonderful hostage gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wine Lovers' Desserts
Wine Lovers' Desserts by Jennie Schacht (Paperback - September 15, 2005)
Used & New from: $26.27
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.