Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do you love sweets?
There are eight items in this basket all of them sweets. There's a nice blend of tastes both for chocolate lovers and non-chocolate devotees. Most of the individual packages contain two to eight pieces. The basket the items come in is cute with two small side handles, not of the type that's reusable except for very light items and for a decorative purpose, not for hard...
Published on May 22, 2012 by Cynthia

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but small
This basket is very attractively packaged; the sweets are well displayed and the basket is fairly nice, as this sort of thing goes. The bow is attractive enough to save, and the basket holds a good variety, from biscotti to candy. The frustration-free packaging was easy to open and protected the contents very well.

The contents made nice snacks paired with...
Published on May 24, 2012 by Aderyn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do you love sweets?, May 22, 2012
This review is from: Wine.com Delight and Enjoy (Grocery)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
There are eight items in this basket all of them sweets. There's a nice blend of tastes both for chocolate lovers and non-chocolate devotees. Most of the individual packages contain two to eight pieces. The basket the items come in is cute with two small side handles, not of the type that's reusable except for very light items and for a decorative purpose, not for hard use. The color of the boxes range from white, to beige to pink. There was a gold bow tied around the cellophane covered basket with pink paper shreds on the bottom.

Here is a breakdown of the individual items you'll receive:

Beth's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Almost bite sized cookies that have a shortbread texture. There are VERY few chips in them but that was fine with me because the cookies were delicious. I love that style of texture and taste. The box contained about eight to ten cookies. I'm not sure if it was the packaging or the style of cookie itself but they were a bit pulverized.

4/5 stars

Brown and Haley's Cashew Roca

One of my favorites! There were three individually wrapped, larger than expected cookies. They were extremely fresh which meant they had a slight crunch but they were easily chewable without sticking to your teeth. The chocolate was soft and melty.

5/5 stars

Claeys' Chocolate Fudge

I'm not fond of fudge because it's so sweet. The package contained two individually wrapped pieces. For me this was just ok.

3/5 stars

Dolcetto's Chocolate Cookies

These are the rolled, Italian like, flakey tube cookies and the outside was chocolate as well as the inside. Very fresh and though they were all in one package the flaking damage was minimal. The fudge inside was soft and gooey. Nice blend of soft and crunchy.

4.5/5 stars

Torani Chocolate Milano Biscotti

You receive one large biscotti. The chocolate is in the biscuit itself as opposed to being a coating, it's almost a bitter taste though not unpleasant, and it has a few nuts mixed in. The consistency is a bit too crunchy to my taste.

2/5 stars

Primo Dolce Truffle Cookies

There are two large cookies individually wrapped and oh my Goodness they're good! Each wrapper contains two thick wafers sealed together with chocolate; chocolate also surrounds both of them. Along with the Cashew Roca this was my favorite in the basket.

5/5 stars

Angelina's Sweet Butter Cookies

You receive ten average sized cookies, 4 round, two oblong, two pretzel shaped and two donut shaped. They're good; a nice relief from chocolate (is there such a thing?).

3.5/5 stars

Biscoff Caramelized Belgian Cookies

You receive six individual wrapped small rectangle shaped cookies. Very nice taste with no cloying sweetness. I would think these would go well served with Earl Grey Tea or black coffee.

4/5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but small, May 24, 2012
By 
Aderyn (Small-Town Michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wine.com Delight and Enjoy (Grocery)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This basket is very attractively packaged; the sweets are well displayed and the basket is fairly nice, as this sort of thing goes. The bow is attractive enough to save, and the basket holds a good variety, from biscotti to candy. The frustration-free packaging was easy to open and protected the contents very well.

The contents made nice snacks paired with coffee, with flavors running from very good to just so-so. The Cashew Roca is delicious, as Roca-brand treats always are, to my taste. The chocolate chip cookies barely earn the name, as they are very sandy shortbread (a texture unlike any I expect when I think "chocolate chip cookies") with tiny, scarce chips too small even to taste chocolaty. The fudge is tasty, although there are only two small pieces.

Therein lies my chief complaint: All of the items are very over-packaged for the amount of food they actually contain, making the basket appear much more generous than it actually is. For example, the fudge box measures 3 x 4 inches (that's it on the right in the picture of the filled basket), containing two pieces of fudge that measure just over an inch square: 12 square inches of box for about 2 inches of fudge. The Roca box (on the left in the picture) is 6 x 3-1/2 inches, with three small pieces of Roca in it. The cookie box was about 24 square inches, containing 2 ounces of itsy-bitsy cookies (each is about the size of a quarter).

There is no dishonesty in advertising here, as the basket clearly lists contents of just 11.9 ounces. However, the appearance is one of a large, bountiful basket full of treats, but it actually doesn't contain very much once all the packaging is disposed of.

At the right price, I would suggest this as a nice, small gift with an interesting variety of treats -- emphasis being on small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More packaging than food!, June 2, 2012
By 
C. Fernandes (Columbia, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wine.com Delight and Enjoy (Grocery)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Depending on who you're buying this for, it may not be such a big deal that there's more packaging than food in this basket. Where packaging is concerned, it is done well with a bow and all. The basket is very nice and can be re-used. Like the picture shows, most of the boxes are very pink!
But on to the contents. Here's what you get (8 boxes total):
- Dolcetto Chocolate Cookies. 3 of them, each looks like a cigar with chocolate inside. Nice and tasty.
- Claeys Kettle Fresh Chocolate Fudge. 2 individually wrapped pieces. Also very tasty.
- Brown & Haley Chashew Roca - 3 individually wrapped (small) pieces. Not too bad, sticks to the teeth though.
- Primo Dolce Chocolate Dipped Truffle Cookies. 2 individually wrapped (medium size) cookies. Nice and tasty.
- Angelina's Butter Cookies. A tray of different types of butter cookies (like the kind you get in a tin). Pretty good.
- Torani Chocolate Milano Biscotti. Just one of these. Has nuts in it and made with bitter sweet cholocate. Very filling and okay (not so tasty).
- Beth's Chocolate Chip Cookies. A packet filled with about a dozen small cookies. Nice. They crumble easily though.
- Biscoff Carmelized Belgian Cookies. About 5 individually wrapped cookies. It sounds better than it tastes, but still not too bad.

Overall this basket has very good presentation value (looks really nice). Most of the food items are good, but there's not as much as food as it looks like when you open it all up. It leaves you feeling a little bit gypped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Picture perfect., January 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wine.com Delight and Enjoy (Grocery)
I gave this gift to my friend as a lil christmas gift.
It was actually really good.
I admit it was not the FINEST gift but for the cost and the products, it was pretty impressive.
My friend and I enjoyed some of the sweet treats together.
It tasted delicious and my friend really liked it, and she actually uses the basket in her kitchen now to hold her handmade breads.
(which I know she does not make by hand but buys them at the little artisan shop downtown... but that is between you, me and the basket)
Either way, cute basket full of yummy treats makes for a fun gift. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars YOUR GIFT NOTE WON'T BE INCLUDED, SO WHAT'S THE POINT??!!, December 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wine.com Delight and Enjoy (Grocery)
I sent this to someone who is very sick. Didn't hear from her. I finally contacted her to find out if she received the basket; she did, but had NO IDEA WHO HAD SENT IT. There was NO NOTE showing WHO SENT THE BASKET, and the note that I wrote, expressing my thoughts was completely LEFT OUT. Therefore, WHAT'S THE POINT?

When I called Amazon to complain about what happened, the customer service representive said: "What do you want us to do for you now? The items been sent already. It's too late to change anything." I'm very surprised at this attitude since Amazon usually has the best service around. Obviously their service is beginning to slip. I guess the rep doesn't realize that a huge part of sending a gift are the words and thoughts that go along with it. Maybe he never sent one before. Besides the fact that I was worried sick when I did not hear from this recipient once she received the basket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tasty treats, June 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wine.com Delight and Enjoy (Grocery)
The recipient said that the items were fresh. The basket items are not much for the cost, but very pleased with the taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well Pleased, January 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wine.com Delight and Enjoy (Grocery)
This was purchases as a gift. The receiver really loved it. I was told it was really pretty, well designed, and everything in it was fresh and good. Just for a caveat, it is small. I know one should read the dimensions more carefully, but still... I would have still ordered it I think, but I want others to know, it's a really nice basket, but small. Shipping and packaging were excellent. No damage. Items fresh. I was told the items were really delicious. Had the price been a bit lower, or the basket a bit bigger, I would have given this 5 stars. I am pleased, the receiver was pleased, and I absolutely order this item, or from this company again. I also enjoyed reading the history of this company. Basket is reusable, too, nice enough to keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yummy, August 27, 2012
This review is from: Wine.com Delight and Enjoy (Grocery)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
In general, I'm not a fan of gift baskets. They often contain sub-par items that are not of good quality, nor do they taste good. This basket from Wine.com is a big exception, and it was really a very pleasant surprise. Every item in this basket was tasty, and thoroughly enjoyable. The pink color on most of the items makes me think it might be a more appropriate gift for a woman than a man, but the treats would appeal to anyone. The basket was lovely, and could be used long after the food is gone. I'm always watching my calorie intake, and all the food in this basket, individually, fit into my daily plan as a snack without too much adjustment.

In many cases, I wind up giving away or throwing out the food that comes in pre-made gift baskets that we might receive during the holidays. Many times I take one bite of food and throw it out because the poor quality is just not worth it. However, had I received this basket as a gift I would have been pleasantly surprised and I would have kept all the food. (And eaten it!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Enough Gift, June 3, 2012
By 
SouthGenie (Charlotte NC, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wine.com Delight and Enjoy (Grocery)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
It's a little hard to judge this item because I don't know what price this will be offered at, and with an item like this that does make a difference. It certainly is a nicely packaged item that makes a nice presentation, and I could easily see giving this to a wide variety of people I might not know well because who doesn't like a bit of sweets, especially for a special occasion? But there's not really a whole lot here, it's more of a "sampler" package, so I would give it as a gift for a maximum of 2 people, not for a family to share. As far as the sweets themselves, they were all right, but not great. I thought the fudge was a bit grainy, and the cookies were ok but there are certainly better quality sweets out there that I would give to people I know and care about more.

For presentation it's a 5, but for products about a 3 to 3.5. At this point, I think I would give this as a hostess gift or to a manager for a holiday or special occasion, but for true friends and family I would spend the extra bucks for higher quality products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice gift, May 30, 2012
This review is from: Wine.com Delight and Enjoy (Grocery)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This pretty gift basket contains 8 samples of morsels that are great to go along with a cup of coffee. They are in a pretty basket with a gold ribbon / bow. It contains the following: Kettle Fresh Chocolate Fudge; Truffle Cookies; Caramelized Belgian Cookies; Chocolate Milano Biscotti; Cashew Roca; Dolcetto Cookies; Sweet Butter Cookies and Chocolate Chip Cookies. This would make a great gift for a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wine.com Delight and Enjoy
$33.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.