Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


109 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wing Chun: the Science of In-Fighting
There are quite a number of videos now available on the Wing Chun combat system, some of which run into several volumes and have running times of over two or more hours. This tape, however, while one of, if not the earliest of those available, and with a running time well under an hour, is far and away the best of the bunch and offers so much more than products running...
Published on July 14, 2000 by Melbourne Born

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average Instructional Value
The instructor defintely knows what he is doing as far as ing Chun is concerned, but the presentation for learning purposes is weak. You do not get multiple angles, instead, just about everything come right at you. There's also no way of selecting a sequnce from the menu. You have to make you way through the entire chapter to view the information you are interested in...
Published on February 27, 2005 by Steve


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money!, August 23, 2004
This review is from: Wing Chun - The Science of In-Fighting (DVD)
This DVD is excellent! I've been doing Wing Chun for 12 years now and this was great to watch and pick up some basic pointers from someone so skilled...

I highly recomend this DVD to anyone who is in their first 5 years and even beyond. This only shows the first form, but the others are available (check the previews).

All in all a it more than I would normaly pay, but just to see Master Wong Sheung Leung (whom I belive was undefeated) is well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average Instructional Value, February 27, 2005
This review is from: Wing Chun - The Science of In-Fighting (DVD)
The instructor defintely knows what he is doing as far as ing Chun is concerned, but the presentation for learning purposes is weak. You do not get multiple angles, instead, just about everything come right at you. There's also no way of selecting a sequnce from the menu. You have to make you way through the entire chapter to view the information you are interested in. It's good for watching Wing Chun and getting some information, but for learning techniques and the first form, you might want to look elsewhere.

The DVD is itself is not high quality. Somebody else mentioned VCD quality, I would give it a little less. Definitely looks like a video transfer. My chapter selections also did not work correctly. Most did, but one went nowhere and one which looks like it should go to blocks instead goes to kicks.

Finally, depending on your DVD player, you may have problems. I can only guess, but I think the DVDs are not DVD-ROMS (which is what Hollywood and most DVD companies use). I think they are either DVD-R or DVD+R format (just guessing). It won't play in my main DVD player (an older Sony). It will play on a newer portable DVD player I have and on my computer DVD player. So if you have a DVD player you know does not play all DVD-R and DVD+R discs, you may have problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great start DVD of Wing Chun, July 21, 2006
By 
S. Nay (Providence, RI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wing Chun - The Science of In-Fighting (DVD)
This is the first Wing Chun DVD I started off with. It covers some useful basic theories and concepts of Wing chun such as simultaneous block/attack, attack/protect centerline, redirecting force, deflection, armtrapping, minimum movement maximum efficiency. Shows 1 or 2 application usage for each of the 8 blocking/attacking forms of Wing chun.

Of the 3 empty hand forms of Wing Chun, this DVD does not cover any Chum kiu or Biu gee or barely. Only Sil lim tao and form breakdown, Chi sao one/two hand demonstration, retreat/advance footwork, shifting angles, and basic kick attacks.

A great start off DVD. I learned some useful fighting concepts and strategies that I can use almost immediately in a few days! Wing Chun is a very effective fighting system even on the streets. I can almost say it has an advantage over boxing because it uses simultaneous arms and leg attacks. Only a few DVDs ever found starring Sifu Wong Shun Leung. If you want to learn the other two empty hand forms or other advanced Wing Chun, also look for DVDs that has William Cheung or Gary Lam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last and only video of master Wong available!!!, May 31, 2003
By 
G.C.J de Vries (Zeewolde Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wing Chun - The Science of In-Fighting (DVD)
If you are interested in Ving Tsun (wing chun) or you are a practitioner of it, this is a DVD you need to have. Here you can see master Wong in action. Learn more about the WSL way. No nonsense combat. Great video!!!! I wish the sequal was available, but it is never sold....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wong Shun Leung, Science of in-fighting, September 21, 2001
By 
This video provides the viewer with a great introduction to the art of wing chun kung-fu, and an opportunity to witness a true master illustrating the very essence and simplistic principles of a truly great art. Ideal for the die hard martial artist, as well as the beginner, this is a great addition to any martial arts video collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not bad intro video.....sun_tzu888@yahoo.com, November 1, 2002
By 
Arthur Wong (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Everyone recommends this video. It is a good video. I have some problems with the intro. It is laughable with slow-mo shots and funny sound effects. It was meant to be a choreographed example of wing against long fist. That said its pretty short, but does give u a pretty good idea of what wing chun is. The examples of chi sau arent great however. The senior students who provide examples have their hands going up and down as if they could not get the proper wu sau position. wong shun leung's chum kiu goes too fast. This was probably intentional as he did not want to show everything on a videotape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wing Chun: The Science of In-Fighting, March 8, 2007
This review is from: Wing Chun - The Science of In-Fighting (DVD)
This instructional dvd on Wing Chun is dated, but don't let that keep you from buying it - appreciate this dvd for the time it was produced. Even though it was produced in the 70s, it was very-well filmed and even a novice can learn from it. I would rate this dvd superior to many instructional martial arts being produced with today's technology which seem to be more about theatrics & CGI than instruction. As with any instructional dvd, do NOT expect to become a master by just viewing it, seek out a certified instructor & use the dvd as a training tool to perfect your skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wing Chun- The Science of In-Fighting, May 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wing Chun - The Science of In-Fighting (DVD)
A disappointment even for the low cost. The cover of the DVD looks compelling and might lead you to think it had a high production value, really though it looks as if it was converted from VHS to DVD. The content is at best a smattering of techniques that were quickly glossed over, never really getting into indepth instruction. This reminds me of some of the Self Defense tapes that were flooding the market in the mid 80s when VHS instruction was booming. Anyone with a VHS recorder and what they thought was an expertise sent out teaser ads to get you to buy thier "stop any attack" BS. The only difference being that this guy is the genuine article, unfortunately his product is not. I only gave it one star because I had to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Technique - Poor Instructional Value, May 10, 2005
By 
J. Green (Tokyo, Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wing Chun - The Science of In-Fighting (DVD)
I have been studying Wing Chun for several months now, and purchased the DVD to supplement my training. In fact, it seems that this video would be much better suited to the Wing Chun student that has yet to go to his/her first class and is evaluating the art before truly diving in.

As one reviewer notes, Master Leung does goes through the various hand and foot techniques, Wing Chun's most simple form - Siu Lim Tau, and even the one-inch punch made famous by Bruce Lee. That said, only parts of Siu Lim Tao are demonstrated slowly, making learning the form from this DVD next to impossible. The same is true of the one-inch punch. The force Master Leung uses in displaying his one-inch punch in the video is truly incredible, but no effort is made to show how he successfully completes the tactic.

Master Leung is an incredibly talented practitioner, but for the student looking for outside-the-classroom supplemental instruction - I would NOT recommend this DVD...I wouldn't even classify it as a primer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid dvd, May 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wing Chun - The Science of In-Fighting (DVD)
This video contained just what I was looking for. I study a different martial art, but was interested in Wing Chun. I got this video to learn some of the basics and it does a great job explaining them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wing Chun - The Science of In-Fighting
Wing Chun - The Science of In-Fighting by Lawrence Tan (DVD - 2003)
$14.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.