Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Adele Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$11.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 4, 2001
Unfortunately, "Wing Commander" has gotten blasted quite a bit by Hollywood critics and many viewers for a lot of reasons. The Hollywood people don't like it because its not Shakespeare. Many of the viewers didn't like it because they were players of the Wing Commander game and the movie is different from the game.
However, when judged on its own merits, "Wing Commander" is a decent space adventure film. So what if it is not Shakespeare and so what if its different from the game? This film combines fantastic special effects, great battle sequences, and rather compelling characters and character conflicts. We have Lt. Blair who must deal with his half Pilgrim heritage. We have Lt. Marshall who's recklessness gets him into trouble. We have Lt. Commander Deveraux, a woman who's cold exterior is her defense against loosing friends to the war. Then there is Taggert, a wise space pilot who has a hidden identity.
All of this makes "Wing Commander" a space adventure film worth seeing. If one does not nitpick the film to death, "Wing Commander" is a fun and enjoyable film for science fiction fans. Don't listen to the critics and the disgruntled fans of the Wing Commander game. If your looking for a fun scifi film, get "Wing Commander".
0Comment|75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2013
I'm really surprised that there aren't more reviews of this film. It's actually a decent movie. Do not judge it by one bad review from an individual who left before the story was over. Make your own decision!
11 comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 1999
I played all Wing Commander computer games and i consider myself a fan of the series. And i congratulate Chris Roberts on his long-time dream, to bring Wing Commander to the big screen. Roberts may not be a Hollywood director, but he has something, many others lack: Vision. He created the hole series. And his passion definitly flows through the movie. His various allusions to Homer's Odyssey are also a nice addition. The music score is absolutely fantastic. The themes have been composed by David Arnold, who also composed the epic themes from Stargate and Independence Day. The special effects are really great. Roberts own company Digital Anvil created some effects that are on the same level as ILM effects. But the movie also has its weeknesses. The biggest one are the Kilrathis. The look rather dull compared to the computer game series and they appear only in two scenes. Too bad! The storyline also has its flaws, but it is never boring.
The actors are very good. Matthew Lillard really gets on ones nerves and Jürgen Prochnow gets another chance to play a naval captain. (Greetings from Das Boot!).
All in all, the movie is fun. Every SciFi fan should watch this film.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This part of the review is for the veterans:
I have played every Wing Commander game so far (including every add-on disc) and I can recommend this movie to everyone, who blew the Kilrathi across deep space, too. Although the story takes place before the first Wing Commander game, it is not that much of a problem that Chris Roberts mixed a few items from later WC games into this movie (like the Snakeir battleship, Admiral Tolwyn or the Skipper Missles). Okay, the special effects are better than Starship Troopers or even Star Wars Episode 1, but why was it necessary to change the look of all the capital ships and fighters that much? The Tiger Claw (why not Tiger's Claw???) does not look like the Bengal-class carrier to me, but more like a battleship that happens to have a few fighters on board. Anyway, although some people might miss an actor resembling Colonel Halcyon, Jürgen Prochnow and Tcheky Karyo are doing a good job as the good guys (ever noticed that the Kilrathi ships were PINGING in order to find the good guys? - "Das Boot" must be around somewhere - especially with all those torpedo battles during the movie). What is REALLY fascinating about this movie is the soundtrack! Honestly, I have never EVER heard anything better since Star Wars (especially "The Imperial March" of "The Empire Strikes Back") or Dark Star. So, if you know the games, and liked them, the movie is a DVD/VHS that is worth being had. Enjoy!
This part of the review is for the rest of the world:
Okay, okay! I know that even uninhabited asteroids would have been better actors than the "young heros" of the movie. I know that everyone, who does not know the games, does not understand the story. I also know that some people might think that after hiring Jürgen Prochnow (Das Boot) and Tcheky Karyo (Goldeneye), there was no cash left for writing a good story or hiring more known actors (but that worked with Starship Troopers!!).
But hey! This is a movie for the fans of the game! Chris Roberts has put his dream on the screen and his efforts are worth it! This movie isn't perfect, but for those, who like the topic, it is a good piece of entertainment.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2009
Please keep in mind the movie was produced in 1999.

Video Quality: The film is crisp and clear. Wide Screen format. Aspect Ratio of 2.35:1. English Subs only.

Sound Quality: Good, clear. Available in 5.1 Surround or Dolby Surround.

DVD: 1 DVD

Time Duration: 100 Minutes

Summary (WARNING: May contain Spoilers):

This film was made after the game series of the same name. I like how they present the intro, the glowing regions on the space map representing human colonization. The CG are nicely done. Space combat is well presented. The only problem I had, were the actors; hence why I gave it 8/10. I think Freddie Prinze JR could have done a better job. I felt I couldn't take him seriously throughout the movie. Matthew Lillard had some character. Tcheky Karyo did a fine job. I would recommend this film to anyone who's familiar with the game.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2016
I have never seen (nor previously heard of) the computer game of the same name so I can only rate the movie on its own merits. I would have given Wing Commander four stars, but since someone who hasn't even seen the movie seems to be trolling it with nonsensical 1-star ratings, I'll chip in another star to offset the troll. The film is mostly unblemished by any noticeable political or social agenda (other the nonsensical notion that women make better fighter pilots, but that dates back 50 years to misrepresentation of the writing of Robert Heinlein and the film doesn't dwell on it) and contains no gratuitous nudity, foul language, or bad grammar; which might explain why the trolls don't like it.

It's humans vs. bad guys in a spaceborne adventure that oddly has gravity to deal with even outside the spacecraft. The sets and effects are nicely done for a 1999 film, perhaps not the best ever produced but certainly in the same league. The script was pretty good, convincingly delivered by good actors whose performances might have been better if they had better material to work with. Direction seemed average for Hollywood major releases but the cinematography felt a little off throughout the film.

Most of the human subplots could have been better developed and the whole theme about the past war between Pilgrims and Earthlings should either have been far better developed or omitted entirely. It appears that this is a continued subplot from the computer game so perhaps the filmmakers were thinking fans would already know what it's all about.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2000
For someone who's not a fan of the sci-fi genre, evaluating Wing Commander is pointless. As a sci-fi it's very good, even for people who aren't familiar with the popular computer game series that spawned the movie.
What's nice about this film is that the story is everything. The acting is all right--not bad, but in general not fabulous either. But what this film delivers is essentially a classic World War II submarine/carrier story set in space. It's got action moments and tense waiting game moments, but the story focuses mostly on the fighter pilots (for obvious reasons) so there's plenty of gunfire and stunt flying to go around.
The effects serve the story here, not vice-versa. Bullet time was thrown into one pulsar-jump sequence, following its brief success in Lost In Space and before it was used so extensively in the Matrix; previews sadly made the movie seem like an excuse for that effect, but the movie stands up just as well without it. Nothing looks especially CGI or goofy. Not too much flash, not too little.
The music is plenty good, the story is plenty decent, and the effects don't smother everything else. It's good sci-fi, which is rare enough to begin with, and worth your time if you appreciate the genre.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2015
Wing Commander is a fun movie. It's cheesy, it's goofy, but it's got some name brand actors who actually do a good job making this movie work.

Considering this movie was made in 1999, most of the special effects were decent. Okay, the bad guys on the bad guy's ship were hokie, but If that's all you can use as a negative, that's not bad at all.

The premise is the Kilrathi have gained access to a very important piece of Earth equipment which allows them to enter into Earth airspace. Obviously the good guys don't want this to happen and do what needs done to stop it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2015
I grew up playing the Wing Commander video games. I loved playing them but more than that, I always imagined stories of the "expanded universe" that must have existed outside the game. What were some of the other adventures of the Tiger's Claw, Concordia, Chris Blair, etc? I think the Wing Commander movie is a glimpse into that universe.

If you've never played the video games, this movie is going to come across as flat and dull and won't make a lot of sense. But if you've "lived through" the saga of battling the Kilrathi, know what it's like to dogfight dralthi fighters, or trying to survive another few minutes with no shields or armor, the Wing Commander movie is oddly satisfying.

That being said, the video game was actually better produced than the movie. The game had more tension and drama in its cut scenes as well as better actors (Mark Hamill, Malcolm McDowell, John Reves Davis, etc.). But again, if you were a fan of the game you'll enjoy the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2015
This is one of my favorite movies since I first saw it on TV years ago. Most people have never heard of it, but all of my friends I have introduced to the movie have loved it as well. If you are a scifi fan, you really need to check this title out.

The overall plot is interesting. Despite some plot gaps, the story is good and action-packed. The visual effects are all great (though the bad guys look a little cheesy). The science behind the movie, especially behind the FTL jumps is a bit confusing and isn't elaborated on, but is interesting and unique to this title.

I was thrilled to finally own this classic favorite in an HD format for a reasonable price. I strongly recommend that you pick this up and give it a shot.

If I was just rating this specific product (the Wing Commander Blu Ray) I would give it two stars, but I can't bear the thought of people skipping over this title altogether after glancing at a low star count. I think the transfer is really good and the picture looks fantastic. I can't comment on the sound because I don't have anything beyond my TV's built-in system, but there are no obvious audio issues. One significant complaint I have is the complete lack of subtitles. While I understand that the movie is a little dated and came out before universal captioning was required, it would have been nice to have seen at least that token effort for the BD transfer. Also, I would have appreciated a few bonus features (there are none). This movie is based on a game series, similar to the Resident Evil films, so I feel like there was a lot of potential for some interesting discussions of bringing the game to the screen or just talking some about the games. So, overall I love the movie but am a little disappointed with the studio's construction of this release.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.