Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harder brand of hair metal with powerful guitars and vocals
In the wave of hair metal that was coming out, one of the harder ones was Winger, which strongly benefited from guitarist Reb Beach's crunching guitar and with all band members accompanying bassist Kip Winger in the chorus and pre-chorus segments. His vocal register is high like David Coverdale, and there are times when he emulates Robert Plant's banshee-like yelps...
Published on November 12, 2003 by Daniel J. Hamlow

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A satisfactory piece of music.
This debut from Winger isn't bad. None of the songs are that original, but the songwriting and playing are respectable. A few of the songs have good energy, but a lot of the material is forgettable also. I think that the two ballads ("Without the Night" and "Headed for a Heartbreak") are the most impressive ones. Songs like "Poison...
Published on March 11, 2000 by sauerkraut


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harder brand of hair metal with powerful guitars and vocals, November 12, 2003
This review is from: Winger (Audio CD)
In the wave of hair metal that was coming out, one of the harder ones was Winger, which strongly benefited from guitarist Reb Beach's crunching guitar and with all band members accompanying bassist Kip Winger in the chorus and pre-chorus segments. His vocal register is high like David Coverdale, and there are times when he emulates Robert Plant's banshee-like yelps. Other times, imagine if Jon Bon Jovi had the bestial intensity of Gene Simmons. He sounds like that when he's belting'em out.
"Madalaine" was their first single and is just the latest in a long line of women over whom a warning sign should be placed: "Beware the girl/beware the pain." Pretty intense guitars and power vocals here, as there are in many of the other songs.
Their use of actual strings on the melodic soft portions of "Hungry" must count for something where others were using synths. The rest of the song is straight up slow metal.
The hard-rocking and hook-catchy "Seventeen" was the second single I heard from them. I will have to say KISS had that beat with "Christine Sixteen" via the age of the girl, but the forbidden love aspect is hinted with "Daddy says she's too young/but she's old enough for me." Love that fiery guitar solo towards the end.
With its keyboards and lighter electric guitar, "Without The Night" could've been a good power ballad single, just as good as "Headed For A Heartbreak."
Their take on "Purple Haze" is definitely heavier than the original, and while there is some aping of Hendrix's guitar, probably Dweezil Zappa's left-side solo, it's still an exercise in bombastic hard metal.
"Time To Surrender" with a chugging guitar riff, is an all-out "no mas" against a woman he's had enough of. I wonder about the poker analogies that always come out in these situations: "I won't play your game and I won't play your fool" and "Best be makin' your move/play your last hand"
"Poison Angel" is very high energy metal and guitar theatrics. That is followed by "Hangin On", with some Eddie Van Halen-style guitar. Come to think of it, David Lee Roth could've made something of this, 1984-era.
Power keyboards are prominent in the light rocker "Headed For A Heartbreak", and which probably helped it hit the Top 40.
"Higher And Higher" is another power rocker and is about one of those kind of women. What kind? "Primal scream, she's got the body of sin/should be a law against such an invention", which usually means she's bad news, and she is.
Harder than Poison or Whitesnake, more on the Def Leppard end of the spectrum, but nothing surpassing early Ozzy or KISS's Animalize. Their heavy sound is what carries this sound, thanks to Reb Beach's guitar and Kip Winger's vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great heavy metal masterpiece, May 27, 2006
By 
This review is from: Winger (Audio CD)
I have loved the majority of songs on Winger's debut album since its release in 1988. I had an intense crush on Kip Winger (who I thought was incredibly sexy. My opinion hasn't changed) but he proved he could back up those sexy looks with his immense talent, belting out such ballads as "Headed For a Heartbreak." His voice was seductive in "Seventeen" and I loved the way he wailed on "Madalaine."

I don't know who created this term "hair bands" to describe late-80's heavy metal groups but it's a bit annoying. Yeah, I realize they had "big hair" (hence the label) but I just look at groups such as Winger, White Lion, and the like as great bands of the late-80's who could write and sing their own songs (creating some great ballads in the process) who were, unfortunately, flushed out by "grunge" bands such as Nirvana and Pearl Jam in the early-90's.

For shame because Winger and company were a talented group of musicians. - Donna Di Giacomo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hair bands forever, grunge bands never! :), November 22, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Winger (Audio CD)
First of all, I don't understand why Winger has such a negative reputation. People who lived in the 90s and even people who live in the new millenium LOVE to criticize the 80s and often write nasty reviews of Winger's music. Why can't they see how much more talent Winger has than say Nirvana or Pearl Jam? Guitar virtuosos Reb Beech and Paul Taylor could play guitar better with their toes than Kurt Cobain or Eddie Vader could play with their hands. Kip's bass and Rod's drums are a way better rythem section than Dave Grouhl or Chris Novosellic. Even Kip's voice is far better than Kurt's monotone mumbling. If you like well played rock/ pop metal and aren't biased against the 80s and everything that ever came out of it, you'll probably like this album,. But if you prefer grunge and alternative rock, just go pick up some of that cr@p by Pearl Jam, Nirvana, or Alice in Chains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winger? That sounds good. I'll have that..., October 30, 2003
By 
Keith Beebe (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Winger (Audio CD)
Thanks to the 1980's coming back into style recently, it is now somewhat safe to discuss this album with confidence and pride. Of all the lame acts in the late '80's, it will always remain unclear why Winger ended up becoming the example for all things "don't". The writing on this album is, on the whole, first-class material and the instrumentation blew everyone else in the industry away. Rod Morganstein-sick, Reb Beach-sick. Reb is too nice of a guy so I have to say this for him: He is better than you. If you're familiar with this group, you'll recognize the opener "Madalaine" and the uber-catchy "Seventeen". Though every song on this debut is in fact "radio ready", Winger slyly throws in a progressive rock stunt into each song (in "Seventeen", the off-kilter meter during the post-solo interlude). This album isn't for everyone, but if you enjoy quality music with some bombast and a never-ending line of hooks, this could be a favorite within your collection. Knuckle up and get past the "Winger sucks" fascade, this one will surprise you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a forgotten single, November 30, 1999
This review is from: Winger (Audio CD)
The biggest shame of the 80's was that track 4 was never released as a single. the rest of the tracks on this c.d. are very strong from start to finish.from the lush vocals of headed for a heartbreak to the driving thunder of seventeen to the haunting sounds of without the night. a must of any 80's rock collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Building on what everyone has said...., January 24, 2006
This review is from: Winger (Audio CD)
Winger IS great! This album is great!!!

What I wanted to point out is that there are subtle things that make these songs great...different 'background' type sounds that make the songs funky or make you hungry to hear them again. (pun intended on 'hungry'!)

For example, on "Seventeen" there is a fabulous center section where the guitar riffs are sexy and fun, and the rhythms change...it really adds to the song, it isn't just 'plop plop, plop plop' with the same rhythm throughout the song, which in my opinion, gets very boring!

Yes, Winger has slightly cheesy lyrics as was mentioned (on some songs) but the quality of the songs is not to be overlooked!

Top songs (IMO) are almost all the songs, notably Seventeen, Madalaine, Hungry, Without the Night (which I also agree is a great midtempo ballad!) and Headed for a Heartbreak. Maybe I am the one of the only people to like this, but I think the Purple Haze cover is actually quite hot, and an interesting interpretation!

Please pick this cd up, it truly rocks, and since I have picked up the cd version recently, I can't keep it out of my radio!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just to set the record straight....., January 7, 2006
This review is from: Winger (Audio CD)
okay, first off this is a great album. kip winger has a lot of songwriting talent along with REB BEACH the band's guitar player who wrote the seventeen guitar parts and all the other riffs on the album. i happen to play guitar and if you for one second doubt the genius and pure ability of Beach then i throw down the gauntlet and tell you to learn a few of his songs.

i am mainly writing this review because an earlier one was talking about how great kip winger's guitar playing was on this album. i got news for you, the playing on this album does rock, but it's not kip winger. he plays bass. reb beach played guitar and then went on to replace george lynch (another guitar god) in dokken and then sykes and vai (both insane players) in whitesnake. yeah, he's THAT GOOD.

buy this album if you like great playing and not feeling bummed by feel-sorry-for-yourself lyrics like todays music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great 80's hard rock album!, May 2, 2003
By 
Gitters (Allendale, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Winger (Audio CD)
Winger is a very solid debut album.Kip Winger was a member of Alice Cooper's band in the early 80's before he went on to form his own band.Winger is a very talented musician.The album itself has many great songs.Madeline,Seventeen,Without the night,basically most of the songs are first rate.The Jimi Hendrix cover of Purple Haze is cool,whether you like it or not,at least they had the [guts] to give it a shot.If you're a fan of 80's hard rock and pop metal,this album deserves a spot in your collection,you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST cd ever!, January 28, 2000
This review is from: Winger (Audio CD)
Like, oh MY GOD! I am the biggest Winger fan and I can't find this cd anywhere! I just found Amazon and am totally excited that you guys have it! I have a Winger tattoo on my stomach that's how big of a fan I am. Kip is sooooooo sweet. I met him backstage once and he kissed me! What a sweetie pie! Anybody who likes god musical expression will totally dig this! Anyone can enjoy the passionate lyrics. These songs can totally help you through some tough times like they helped me! I remember I had just been fired from my job and I put on "seventeen" and felt all better again! It was like magic! I hope that others can enjoy this album as much as I did! Thanks Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked and Underappreciated, August 18, 2005
By 
This review is from: Winger (Audio CD)
Unfortunately, most people will only remember this band for the song 'Seventeen,' and this is too bad, because in an era of cookie-cutter hair band albums, I feel this self-titled Winger record is one the most enjoyable rock albums of the 80's. One should also make note of the drummer of this band, Rod Morgenstein, who is one of the most revolutionary drummers of the last thirty years. I recommend checking out his work with Steve Morse as well as Jordan Rudess of Dream Theater. Even though this band was writing and recording stereotypical pop songs mostly about women, it should not be forgotten that this was truly a 'super-group' full of talented musicians.

Apart from the major hit, 'Seventeen,' which has some of the funniest lyrics of all time ("She's only seventeen/Daddy says she's too young but she's old enoguh for me), we get to hear the awesome song writing skills and guitar playing of Kip Winger on tracks like the single, 'Madaline,' as well as 'State of Emergency,' 'Poison Angel,' and 'Headed for a Heartbreak.' The only songs I really don't enjoy are the raw-sounding 'Hungry' and the album's only cover, 'Purple Haze.' Accompanying Kip and the boys is Dweezil Zappa. I never really liked Hendrix, so to hear someone else covering one of his songs doesn't really do much for me.

I whole heartedly believe this record is up there with other major recordings from the 80's like 'Open Up and Say Ah' by Poison, '1984' by Van Halen, and Skid Row's self-titled album. If the only track you're familiar with is 'Seventeen' I highly recommend shelling out the $9 or so and checking out this landmark 80's album. Songs like 'Madaline' and 'Headed for a Heartbreak' are overlooked gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Winger
Winger by Winger (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.