Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have Book for Men with Prostate Cancer
If you or a man you know has been diagnosed with prostate cancer, this is one resource you should definitely own. Dr. Gerald Chodak, the author, is an expert in the disease who founded the Midwest Prostate and Urology Health Center in 1999 in, I believe, Chicago. The book is published this year so you know this is up-to-date information

I don't know of any...
Published on February 3, 2011 by Barbara J. Mitchell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Its OK
This book is good however it doesn't go into detail as much as I would have liked. The book is still good value .
Published 2 months ago by Rod


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have Book for Men with Prostate Cancer, February 3, 2011
This review is from: Winning the Battle Against Prostate Cancer (Paperback)
If you or a man you know has been diagnosed with prostate cancer, this is one resource you should definitely own. Dr. Gerald Chodak, the author, is an expert in the disease who founded the Midwest Prostate and Urology Health Center in 1999 in, I believe, Chicago. The book is published this year so you know this is up-to-date information

I don't know of any cancer that has so many tough choices involved in selecting treatment (or not) and this book answers all of your questions in easy-to-read format without medical jargon or confusion. There is a glossary in the back and an index. In addition, the table of contents not only tells you the name of each chapter, but also in bullet points what is included in that chapter.

Because prostate cancer can develop quite slowly, sometimes the best course is to do nothing but watch the PSA (prostate specific antigen) level which can be followed with a simple blood test. That is your indicator of how slowly or quickly the cancer is growing. If you decide to proceed with a treatment, and remember it is your choice, this book explains every detail of every treatment. You know how it is done, what to expect, and possible outcomes. You have everything at your disposal to help you make the best decision for you.

The downside of this decision process is that very few controlled studies have been done on the different choices, and Dr. Chodak writes that such studies are necessary for physicians and patients both. The problem is that few men are willing to take part in studies.

In his book, the doctor is clearly in favor of radical prostatectomy (complete removal of the prostate) for most men. The exceptions are men with slow growing disease who don't have a life expectancy of more than ten years, either because of advanced age or because of other disease processes. There are nonsurgical options as well. He is straightforward with information about possible side effects of treatment such as erectile dysfunction and urinary incontinence, as well as others that aren't so traumatic.

The only thing missing from this excellent book in my opinion is drawings of anatomy. Since this is written for patients and their loved ones, they are unlikely to have such drawings at hand unless the urologist has given them appropriate pictures. The descriptions of the anatomy involved are very well done, but pictures would be a great help. I can't help remembering former neighbors whose father had "problems with his prostrates" and it was obvious neither he nor his sons had a clue about it. I do like the charts showing treatments and their side effects clearly.

Again, I urge you to buy this book if you are faced with prostate cancer or your husband or father. Give it to any friends who have the disease. This is vitally important information you need to have in your home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winning the battle against Prostate Cancer, March 15, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Winning the Battle Against Prostate Cancer (Paperback)
It was great to find a current book on Prostate Cancer that does not have an adgenda! Dr. Chodak gives all currently recognized approaches a fair evaluation rather than promoting the one that he may have learned in medical school as the only solution. I am choosing proton therapy for its 20 year history of success and lack of side effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful reference book, January 5, 2011
This review is from: Winning the Battle Against Prostate Cancer (Paperback)
We received Dr. Chodak's "Winning the Battle Against Prostate Cancer" in our mail today, and already we're into the vast index, looking up pertinent topics.

We appreciate good indexes in any books, and his is excellent with lots of minutiae, details, almost 30 pages of small type references, wonderful amounts of information.

And we appreciate that he refers back and forth to other chapters within the book for further info; appreciate that he opened the book with a Chapter 1 that answers perhaps the most pressing questions a couple might first ask; appreciate greatly the references to the many studies he cites. Plus a thorough table of contents - wonderful information at our fingertips.

Dr. Chodak, an Evidence Based Medicine doctor, is very open to patients trying something outside the box, as long as they know there are no good studies to support such a therapy. He appears to be always right on top of the latest studies out. Therefore, the book will be most useful and read often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference from a respected source, January 15, 2011
By 
OhDannyBoy (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Winning the Battle Against Prostate Cancer (Paperback)
I was a patient of Dr. Chodak's. With this book, I am glad to see he continues to help men with prostate cancer.

Dr. Chodak compiles data from various studies and relies on data from randomized, controlled studies. The book is filled with a lot of tables and charts. There is even a chapter on understanding medical studies. The timeline for prostate cancer is decades. But many of the treatments are relatively new, so there may not be a 15 or 20 year study of survival or recurrence, let alone a 10 year study.

The book covers surgery, radiation and hormone therapy as well as alternative treatments and newer treatments.

This book is invaluable for newly diagnosed individuals or those debating treatment options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of show, July 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Winning the Battle Against Prostate Cancer (Paperback)
I have been reading a bunch of these books on prostate cancer, and this is the best of them. If you are trying to decide about which treatment is best for you, based on the latest studies, this is the book you want. You will be better informed than your urologist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Its OK, April 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Winning the Battle Against Prostate Cancer (Paperback)
This book is good however it doesn't go into detail as much as I would have liked. The book is still good value .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Read., January 15, 2014
By 
Gary Watson (Yokosuka Japan) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Winning the Battle Against Prostate Cancer (Paperback)
I read this after I read 100 Questions and Answers About Prostate Cancer. Provided a lot of the same information but this just did not hook my interest, totally different writing style. It was written more from the medical profession rather than from a personal level trying to understand all the options that are available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Understand your options when dealing with prostate cancer, December 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A well done guide for the newly diagnosed which will help you take control of your treatment by understanding the options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Prostate cancer, October 11, 2013
By 
Tom Knight (PHOENIX, AZ, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Winning the Battle Against Prostate Cancer (Paperback)
Great book, BUT the technology is moving forward so fast this book is already obsolete in a few places and will only get worse with time. Talk to your doctor. BTW, I went with the external beam radiation and the prognosis is good. I have passed the book onto the next victim that I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prostate Cancer, August 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Winning the Battle Against Prostate Cancer (Paperback)
Bought this book for a family member. They loved it! The person said the book was so detailed and interesting that he could not put it down and read the entire book in one day. He told me that the book helped him to better understand his condition, and helped him when talking to his doctors and when asking questions about his condition at the hospital. I highly recommend buying it to anyone that is going through this devasting experience, since it greatly helped my family member.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Winning the Battle Against Prostate Cancer
Winning the Battle Against Prostate Cancer by Gerald W. Chodak (Paperback - December 7, 2010)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.